Grand View Lodge Reviews

16 | Nisswa, MN
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Grand View Lodge

Recommended by 91% of couples

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.5

Awards

16

6 User photos

Grand View Lodge 1
Grand View Lodge 2
Grand View Lodge 3
Grand View Lodge 4
Grand View Lodge 5
+ 2
Order by:
  • Kayla

    Kayla Kriesel · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream venue!

    Wow. We were blown away by everything from Grand View.

    Throughout the whole planning process Becky & Jaci were so kind, professional, organized and prompt. I know it's their job to help couples plan a wedding, but they go above and beyond and you can tell they truly care about making your day the best experience for you and your guests. We are so grateful for all they did for us!

    The property is obviously gorgeous as were all the spaces we used during our weekend. We had a small wedding of 55 guests. We had the ceremony outside at the Grand Staircase which is so beautiful. However, their new Chapel that can be used as a backup location if weather doesn't cooperate looks awesome as well!

    We had our cocktail hour outside on the lower terrace of the main lodge which we LOVED. We were able to rent yard games for our guests to play, the bar was set up outside and there was a nice fireplace as well.

    Our dinner/reception was held in the Headwaters Dining room in the lower level of the main lodge. What a perfect space this is for a smaller group. Very elegant and intimate feeling. The staff and food were also awesome! We did all of our catering (including dessert and late night food) through Grand View.

    Honestly, I feel so lucky we were able to have our wedding here. It was so fun having our friends and family stay for the weekend and everything exceeded our expectations. Even though we had a smaller wedding, we were treated amazingly throughout everything. If you are considering GVL for your wedding - you will be so happy with your decision to work with them!

    Sent on 11/01/2018
  • B

    Brynn · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an excellent experience working with GVL for our wedding. We faced the extra challenge of planning our wedding from afar, but the GVL team made it easy for us to organize everything from our rehearsal dinner to the ceremony and reception. They also proactively coordinated with our other vendors to ensure that everything was in place and went smoothly on the big day. The team is very friendly and professional, and we enjoyed working with them. Also, as a venue GVL is beautiful, particularly in the summer time. The perfect place for a summer wedding!

    Sent on 08/12/2017
  • J

    Joe · Married on 01/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be more happy with our decision to celebrate our day at Grand View Lodge! The staff was amazing and very helpful in planning all the details. A special thank you to Becky who was our main contact. She was able to walk us through all of the decisions and details and had great suggestions too. We even decided to make a very last minute change in ceremony location that she handled, allowing us to relax and enjoy our day. The food was absolutely delicious! We received numerous compliments from our guests about the venue and food. If you're searching for that place and reading this review, this is our recommendation. Plan a weekend trip to Grand View Lodge and see for yourself. Stay in one of the many lodging options, eat at the restaurants, and if you can, schedule a meeting with one of their wedding planning staff members. It is even a great place to consider if you are planning your day during the off season. We wish those looking the best of luck in their venue search and hope that you will consider GVL.

    Sent on 02/05/2017
  • C

    Catherine · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am very familiar with Grand View Lodge so I know what a good job they do, and they exceeded my expectations. I had the social hour and reception of my wedding at the Gull Lake Center. Also, because I live out of town, most of my guests stayed at GVL. Every staff member was very friendly and accommodating. The cabins are absolutely amazing and updated and the breakfast buffet in the morning is the best---there are so many options. The groomsmen golfed twice while the bridesmaids enjoyed a day at the spa. It was quite the getaway for people!
    Grand View Lodge is breathtakingly beautiful and a perfect location for a wedding!

    Sent on 10/31/2016
  • K

    Kate · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grand View Lodge staff went above and beyond to make our day perfect! Becky, the wedding coordinator, is fantastic!

    Sent on 11/21/2016
  • Megan

    Megan · Married on 11/05/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grand View was awesome to work with - we were there all weekend with friends and family and had an amazing time! We had a delicious dinner at CRU on Thursday night, had our rehearsal dinner on Friday night in Headwaters and on Saturday had our ceremony in the vineyard, social hour in the lobby and reception in the Gull Lake Center ballroom. I want to live the weekend over and over and over again - we all had such an amazing time. Thank you to everyone at Grand View! And for being accommodating to our specific requests. I loved it all so much. The guest cabins are also adorable and there is plenty of selection for a large group!

    Sent on 12/21/2016
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 10/17/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grand View Lodge did a wonderful job! My husband and I loved working with Becky and the staff to create our amazing day! The facility is beautiful and the people are helpful!

    Sent on 11/17/2017
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/01/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grand View Lodge does amazing work with weddings. We got so many compliments from our guests. Becky, our wedding coordinator was so much fun to work with!

    Sent on 10/09/2016
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/04/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at Grand View over Labor Day weekend was perfect! Becky and Karla were so helpful in making my outdoor wedding reception happen. I would do it all over again!

    Sent on 09/18/2016
  • C

    Christa · Married on 06/11/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I got married here just a couple weeks ago. I can't believe there aren't more reviews about Grand View Lodge. I may be biased, but I'm pretty confident it is the most beautiful place to get married ever. You can't beat the Grand Staircase entrance, the tall pines, the rustic elegance and the beautiful Gull Lake. I wouldn't change a thing. Becky and Karla were great to work with, the catering staff was fantastic, the food was delicious (go for the cheesecakes and tortes instead of a regular cake.. save so much money and tastes SO much better!). Make sure to splurge on a great photographer. There are SO many photo opportunities, you will be sorry if your photos don't turn out perfect!

    Sent on 06/21/2016
  • A

    Amy · Married on 10/14/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Becky and her team were amazing! From the moment we arrived at Grand View, we were treated like we were their top priority. They were so efficient, and had things organized, down to the smallest detail. They worked extremely hard to make sure that everything was perfect. I am so thankful for everything they did to make sure that the wedding, reception, dinner and dance far exceeded our expectations. We heard over and over again from guests how impressed they were with the whole weekend.

    Grand View Lodge 6
    Grand View Lodge 7
    Grand View Lodge 8
    Grand View Lodge 9
    Grand View Lodge 10
    Grand View Lodge 11
    Sent on 12/06/2017
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 10/21/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Becky and Jaci so helpful! Grand View Lodge was the perfect setting for our wedding. We got to have a beautiful outdoor ceremony and loved the intimate feel that the Heritage room provided for us and our guests.

    Sent on 11/18/2017
  • A

    anna · Married on 05/31/2014

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    PROS: The resorts wedding coordinator Maggie Mellby was AMAZING and my wedding would not have been the beautiful perfect day that it was without her constant and continuous help throughout the entire process. The food was also amazing and guests could not say enough about how good the food was, and finally the wedding site (staircase) was gorgeous and the staff at our wedding were awesome and nice.

    CONS: The staff that worked for the "Reservation Line" for the resort were, for the most part, extremely rude and unaccommodating. They were extremely snarky and snotty to my guests and myself, obviously they should be polite considering the amount of money everyone was spending on that weekend and the wedding in general. Quite a few of my guests staying at the lodge had this same problem. Also, they did not offer a wedding discount on rooms yet tried to say it was a "wedding rate" so did not include breakfast with the room price even though there was NOT a discount on our rooms.

    I would get married here all over again every year with the overall enjoyment we all had on my big day!

    Sent on 06/15/2014
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 01/12/2019

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Beautiful venue, but stressful planning

    Our wedding day was perfect! Grand View Lodge has that beautifully elegant “lodge in the woods” feel that we were going for. The surroundings are picturesque, the food was amazing, and our guests had fun posting about how nice their accommodations were. :)

    I’m only docking stars because planning with Grand View staff leading up to the wedding was unnecessarily difficult. Our biggest issues were with the reservations staff and the lack of communication between departments. For example, our room block originally charged HIGHER rates than their normal ones! They eventually fixed it after multiple calls to get it sorted out, but didn’t apologize for the error and it was super complicated to get partial refunds for those who reserved under the wrong rates. We consider ourselves pretty laid back people, but there were several issues like this that just didn’t need to be so complicated.

    I’d sum up our experience with GVL like this: While the location and atmosphere were top notch and the end result was flawless, the planning process definitely could have been smoother.

    Sent on 07/10/2019
  • User3423621 · 2+ years ago

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The ceremony was beautiful and the weather was perfect. We had a younger crowd ranging 20-30s and they kept carding everyone multiple times at the tables! I understand it is important, but they were hassling the guests and making everyone uncomfortable. Just beware if you have a younger crowd. The reception lady was a

    Sent on 08/14/2013
  • User4002880 · 2+ years ago

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    We chose Grand View Lodge for its beautiful location and history. We couldn't have been more pleased with how our ceremony turned out. We did have a hard time getting ahold of our wedding coordinator - but once we were able to get ahold of her she was great to work with.

    Sent on 10/17/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review