Grand Superior Lodge Reviews

27 | Two Harbors, MN
See photos, pricing and details

27 Reviews for Grand Superior Lodge

Recommended by 89%

27

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.4

11 User photos

Grand Superior Lodge 1
Grand Superior Lodge 2
Grand Superior Lodge 3
Grand Superior Lodge 4
Grand Superior Lodge 5
Grand Superior Lodge 6
Grand Superior Lodge 7
+ 5
Sort by:
  • Lea

    Lea Edwards · Married on 07/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue!

    My husband and I loved Grand Superior Lodge! Kate did an amazing job with checking in on us, but never hovered, which is exactly what we wanted from her. She made sure things got done when we weren't even thinking about them! All of the staff were extremely nice as well. We highly recommend Grand Superior Lodge for the amazing people but also the breath taking views!

    Sent on 07/28/2019

    Grand Superior Lodge's reply:

    Thank you for the sweet message, Lea! You made our team's day :) We are so happy you enjoyed the day without thinking about the details! Best wishes to you both!
  • Abby

    Abby · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Summer Wedding


    The weekend was PERFECT!!! We couldn't ask for anything better!! Everyone is saying how amazing Grand Superior Lodge is and how welcoming and helpful the staff are! People were blown away by the venue!! The space was perfect for our wedding!! The size worked out perfectly! Cocktail hour was amazing with the lawn games and the fire pit, that continued after dinner! I can't rave enough about how helpful you were through the whole process and during the big day!

    Sent on 07/03/2019

    Grand Superior Lodge's reply:

    Abby, we cannot thank you enough for your kind review! We are SO happy the big day was perfect and your guests had a wonderful time! Best wishes!! :)
  • K

    Kelsey-Ann · Married on 08/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved grand superior lodge!! Kate was awesome, she responded quickly and was very accomodating. The staff were wonderful and kind and the venue was perfect. We couldn’t have asked for anything better!

    Sent on 09/05/2018

    Grand Superior Lodge's reply:

    Thank you Kelsey-Ann! We hope to see you again soon and again next year on your Anniversary :)
  • A

    Angel · Married on 07/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the most amazing wedding at grand superior. Everyone we worked with were helpful and friendly. Our guests had so many great things to say about the lodge. What a beautiful place. Thank you for everything!

    Sent on 08/03/2018

    Grand Superior Lodge's reply:

    Thank you for your kind note, Angel! It was such a pleasure hosting your family and friends :)
  • M

    Mary and Maureen · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Made it a great day

    They were professional, the food was amazing, and the staff was great. The front desk was so patient as we called multiple times.
    The view was awesome.
    The bon fire with marshmallows every night was a great treat.
    If you are looking foe a beautiful place on the North Shore that isn't too far up the shore, Grand Superior Lodge is a great choice.

    Sent on 11/18/2018

    Grand Superior Lodge's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words, Mary and Maureen! We hope to see you at Grand Superior Lodge again soon!
  • M

    Megan · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    loved having our wedding here, also loved working with Nancy!! Such a gorgeous setting! If i were to do our wedding again, I wouldn't change a thing!

    Sent on 08/16/2017
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 10/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about Nancy and Grand Superior Lodge. They were accommodating, quick to respond to my emails and questions. The planning process was simple because Nancy is very good at her job. The resort was beautiful and easy to decorate. The day of Nancy helped set up, she printed my husband's vows out for us, and she acted as a day of coordinator! Everything ran very smoothly. Dinner was quick and efficient as was the transition from ceremony to cocktail hour. Simply amazing!

    Sent on 10/07/2016
  • Erin

    Erin · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I recently got married at GSL. The north shore has always been incredibly special to my husband and I and this seemed like the perfect spot. From the very beginning staff was very helpful and friendly. Even right before the wedding some things started happening and the staff at GSL was flexible and eager to help in any way they could. All we heard from our guests the whole evening was "this was the perfect wedding" and guests couldn't stop telling us how beautiful the resort was. We worked with Nancy and she was absolutely amazing. My husband is a big craft beer drinker so when it came time to pick kegs she was on top of getting us prices and lists of local craft brews. I cannot thank GSL enough for making our wedding perfect!

    Sent on 07/13/2015
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 12/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Courtney is great, helpful , and I think truely cares that you enjoy your day. The lodge was excellent in every way. The only problem was the front desk was having problems with our guest room reservations and quoted people the wrong price. Don't worry though Cortney fixes it all. The Chef was fabulous very accomdating. I would use the grand superior lodge for another event.... anyday.

    Sent on 01/05/2011
  • F

    Rachel · Married on 04/26/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grand Superior Lodge is an incredible place to go for a unique outdoor ( or indoor wedding) right Lake Superior. The weekend of our wedding (end of April) there was a big snow storm. The lodge was so great at quickly designing everything into an indoor wedding at last minute, without the stress to any of us in the wedding. It was so cozy and all guests had to do was look out the window and there was the lake about 20 feet away! They assisted us in the location, catering, setting up our party favors, helping people know where to go, and really working with us to design a wedding that was uniquely ours. The lodge accommodates many guests as well, so many of our family and friends enjoyed going to the wedding and using it as an excuse to stay the weekend for a great getaway on the lake.
    Also my grandma was making the cake for our wedding, and because of the snow could not make it all the way up to Two Harbors. Without letting any guests know, or us to panic, they said that they had a cake on hand for every wedding just in case something happened. The cake was amazing and better than most professionals could design-came through for us in a big way!

    Sent on 12/05/2009
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 06/24/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We hosted a destination wedding at Grand Superior Lodge in June 2017 including a Friday welcome party, wedding reception and brunch on Sunday- the entire planning process went so smoothly thanks to Nancy and Jessica! They had a lot of ideas to help us and made sure that everything from decorating, chair and table set up and on to the specially brewed beer toast went exactly as we hoped and better! What a truly magical weekend all our guests had, and we received so many compliments on how much fun everyone had!

    Sent on 07/26/2017
  • B

    Brittnie · Married on 01/24/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grand Superior Lodge was an amazing place to have our wedding. The staff was very helpful in making our day perfect. The only problem we had was the multiple wedding coordinators we had and not a lot of information was relayed to the next person. However, once we met Nancy and all our plans were laid out it was perfect. She made sure everything was done that we wanted and had no hassle on our wedding day.

    Sent on 02/22/2015
  • J

    Jason & Heather · Married on 07/26/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful wedding day at Grand Superior Lodge

    I cannot tell you how many people have said how beautiful Grand Superior Lodge was on the day of our wedding. The ceremony space on the patio was stunning. There were wildflowers, butterflies, and hummingbirds. The view of the lake from the ballroom is exceptional. Everyone was wowed by the food, many saying it was the best wedding food they'd had. And let's not forget that when the power went out, the staff made sure the party went on. They worked so hard to make sure the outage did not drastically impact the wedding and I appreciate it so much. It was a wonderful, wonderful day.

    Sent on 08/16/2019
    Grand Superior Lodge 14
    Grand Superior Lodge 15

    Grand Superior Lodge's reply:

    Jason & Heather, congratulations again and thank you for your descriptive review! You really painted a picture of our Lakeside Patio and all the magic Lake Superior has to offer. We are so very sorry the power went out at the resort, but are thrilled it did not impact your guests experience + fun. We hope to see you again very soon!
  • S

    Scott · Married on 09/01/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect day. The goal was to show up and have no worries and that’s exactly what we had. Great coordination. Everyone who attended said how much fun they had. Food was excellent, bartender Jake was a lot of fun and it was beautiful enough to just hang out on the patio all night. Kate was easy to work with and was flexible because of weather concerns before the rehearsal dinner. All in all a wonderful time and for those thinking of this venue, please consider. Keep in mind I only coordinated the rehearsal dinner and bar portion

    Sent on 09/16/2018

    Grand Superior Lodge's reply:

    We appreciate your positive feedback, Scott! We are thrilled to hear the Rehearsal Dinner planning process and execution were an ease for you!
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 08/31/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grand Superior Lodge was wonderful! They were great at communicating and everything on the wedding day was organized. Everything went very well.

    Sent on 09/11/2018

    Grand Superior Lodge's reply:

    Thank you so much, Amanda! It was a pleasure hosting your wedding weekend!
  • M

    Marie · Married on 12/31/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband (boyfriend back in 2011) and I took our first vacation at GSL back in 2011. I found the resort on a random Google search looking for a fun/romantic spot on the north shore. It is a beautiful resort, and there just happened to be a wedding that 2011 Memorial weekend and a little voice in my head thought it would be pretty cool to get married here!
    So after Eric proposed in 2014 - we quickly booked our New Year Eve Wedding for 12/31/15!
    I should start off with the fact I was a very needy bride! Many specific requests - I wanted to string up lights outside, wanted ice luminaires, Grooms brunch the next morning, hot cocoa bar, many more! Everyone was very helpful with my MANY requests! :) Nancy was a rock star with any issue that came up and was very willing to help anything. At the very last minute (I mean I was getting ready to walk down the isle) six extra guest showed up and the resort put up a table no problem and threw in the extra meals I never ordered. Shout out to our awesome bartender - Jake (Jake from state farm!) and the rest of the amazing staff who stayed all night to clean and was back bright and early for the Groom's brunch we hosted next morning! Our NYE wedding went until 12:30 and the resort cleaned and flipped the entire ballroom for the 9am brunch. It was perfect and Nancy was there for the entire night and all the next morning work hard the whole time.
    My only suggestions for anyone looking to plan their event at GSL - is make sure guest book their rooms as far out in advance as possible. The rates sky rocket as your date approaches. For example - we booked a four bedroom cabin in Feb for about $500 /night for a 12/31/15 reservation. When we looked at prices again for the same four bedroom in September the price had doubled! I wish we would have booked more rooms for our guest in Feb to save everyone a huge chunk of change.
    Overall - amazing party and time! thanks everyone at GSL

    Sent on 01/07/2016
  • A

    Abigail · Married on 06/16/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Overall this vender was very helpful in finding out our need and wants for the ceremony and the reception. We had a great time during the wedding and the planning was very laid back and easy. Nancy was able to get everything together to make a beatiful wedding.

    Sent on 06/28/2017

    Grand Superior Lodge's reply:

    Hi Abigail,
    Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your special day at our Grand Superior Lodge! We wish you all the best and hope to see you and Jake back at our resort for a weekend getaway!
  • A

    Anonymous Person · Getting married on 02/20/2053

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grand Superior Lodge

    The venue is absolutely STUNNING. We had the most gorgeous sunny day and it was absolutely breathtaking. Our guests commented again and again how beautiful the resort is. The patio is a perfect spot to get married, as long as there is good weather. The only issue we had was with the wedding coordinator, Kate Smith. There were multiple occasions where the communication was poor and it caused lots of confusion. When answering our questions, she was short with us and gave different responses to a variety of groups of family which made it difficult to coordinate. Beyond that, Grand Superior Lodge was the perfect place for our big day!

    Sent on 08/20/2019

    Grand Superior Lodge's reply:

    Hello and thank you for the feedback on your wedding day! We are happy to hear you were in awe of the Lakeside Patio view and thought the venue was the perfect place to spend your big day! We would love to connect regarding the areas where we can improve. Since you submitted your review anonymously, you may reach us at 218.728.8060.
  • User1577641 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Very friendly service and the staff at the lodge were ready to meet all of our needs.

    Sent on 07/28/2012
  • M

    Michelle Fontaine · Married on 02/09/2019

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Perfect Lake Superior Winter Wedding!

    We LOVED GSL for our winter wedding. It was a perfect winter wonderland location right on Lake Superior! The food was absolutely delicious and we LOVED that we could have our ceremony, reception and lodging all in one place for the weekend!

    Sent on 02/21/2019
    Grand Superior Lodge 16
    Grand Superior Lodge 17
    Grand Superior Lodge 18

    Grand Superior Lodge's reply:

    Hi Michelle! Your pictures left us with all the cozy feels :) Your wedding was the epitome of winter romance on the Nor-Shore! Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your big day, best wishes to you both!
  • B

    Brandy · Married on 09/04/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue, great service and wonderful food. Not willing to negotiate on room rental fee and cost of rooms for guests is pricey.

    Sent on 08/13/2017
  • A

    Alicia · Married on 07/16/2014

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great time pulled Buffett to quickly

    Sent on 09/17/2014
  • Shannon

    Shannon · Married on 08/31/2012

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Overall this is a great place and very beautiful. We loved having our wedding their and all of our guests liked it as well. Our only complaint is the lodges event coordinator was hard to get ahold of and did not volunteer info and guidance along the way. We had to ask about everything. Also on our wedding day, we did not feel she was around and checking on things to make sure everything we had ordered and were paying for was there and ready. There were a few things that got missed that could have been easily corrected before hand. Otherwise we love Grand Superior Lodge, just the event coordinator needs to be a little more involved or needs more help.

    Sent on 09/19/2012
  • H

    Haley Kessinger · Married on 06/08/2019

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Review of Grand Superior Lodge - Wedding

    Constructive Feedback:
    - Our cabin only came with 2 trash bags. I called around 7am to the front desk to request more, and they told me they would have them delivered in less than an hour. Two additional phone calls later, the trash bags were delivered around noon.
    - At the beginning of the reception, it was VERY warm in the ballroom. My mom discovered that the heat was actually turned on, and had to personally find maintenance to get this taken care of.
    - Neither of us saw the group coordinator until she was coming to say goodbye and make sure there was nothing else we needed. I would definitely recommend having her check-in with the bride and groom much sooner and more frequently. I was planning on having her meet some of our friends so that they would know who to get in touch with if needed, but I wasn't able to do this.
    - Several of the timing things during the reception meal could have been improved. For example, the salad bowls did not have tongs and the bread did not have butter. The tongs and the butter were delivered with the entrees, which was frustrating.
    - I would recommend changing the way that guests get into our room block. It was frustrating to not be able to have guests book their rooms in our block online.

    Positive Feedback:
    - The venue itself is absolutely gorgeous, and the scenes are breathtaking. We can't wait to see our beautiful photographs with this background!
    - Saturday morning myself and a few close friends went to the ballroom at 8am early access. Tracey was in the ballroom starting to set things up. She was extremely helpful in getting things set up the way I envisioned. She also was flexible in fixing some of the set-up instructions that weren't correct (the number of tables on their list said 10 when it only should have been 9). Everything for the ceremony, the reception, and the yard games were all set up perfectly.
    - Alisa at the front desk of Grand Superior was an excellent contact for me throughout our planning process and during the weekend itself. She went above and beyond in helping figuring the confusing guest room blocking. She was always extremely positive and helpful when I had questions.
    - The food was absolutely delicious. All of our guests raved about the quality of the food during the reception.
    - We were very happy with the bartenders at the bar downstairs. They went above and beyond to get guests the drink they wanted.

    Sent on 06/30/2019

    Grand Superior Lodge's reply:

    Hi Haley,

    Thank you for taking the time to write us a detailed review of your experience with Grand Superior Lodge. It was a pleasure welcoming your family and friends for your big day! Ultimately, we are happy you enjoyed the venue, view of Lake Superior, food, and service from our servers and Front Desk team! We also appreciate your additional feedback as we continue to grow at the resort and will contact you directly. We wish you and Melvin the very best and hope to see you again soon :)

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review