Governor Thomas Bennett House Reviews

22 | Charleston, SC
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Governor Thomas Bennett House

Recommended by 99%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 5.0

4 User photos

Governor Thomas Bennett House 1
Governor Thomas Bennett House 2
Governor Thomas Bennett House 3
Governor Thomas Bennett House 4
Sort by:
  • Alexis

    Alexis · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most enchanting venue!

    I cannot say enough about our wonderful experience hosting our wedding at the Governor Thomas Bennett House!! It is the most unique and gorgeous venue - it was a destination wedding for us so we chose the venue before seeing it in person; pictures simply cannot do it justice. Our guests couldn't stop raving about how magical the whole place felt! We had our ceremony in the garden, cocktail on the grand porch and inside the beautiful home, and reception on the patio. We wanted to showcase the natural beauty of the space and were able to go with more minimal floral design and decor. I also loved that it was right in downtown Charleston - no 30 minute bus ride for the guests. We absolutely loved working with Linda, the venue manager, throughout the year of our engagement. She is so genuinely nice, extremely experienced, and was always happy to offer her expertise. I am so glad we chose TBH for our wedding and would highly recommend booking here if you can get a date :)

    Sent on 11/03/2018
    Governor Thomas Bennett House 5
    Governor Thomas Bennett House 6
    Governor Thomas Bennett House 7
    Governor Thomas Bennett House 8
  • A

    Abi · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unique and Gorgeous

    I knew I would want to get married here the first time I set my eyes on it. I looked at other places but couldn't see it happening anywhere else! This blended my perfect garden wedding with not being too outdoorsy! It's perfect because you can get ready on site and never have to leave. That takes so much stress out of the day. Thanks to Christa and Linda for keeping up with this beautiful venue and making it a dream come true!

    Sent on 10/25/2018
  • E

    Erin · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My mother in law originally was interested in booking this location for our rehearsal dinner but once my husband and I saw photos of their property we knew this was the reception location we had been dreaming of. We booked this location in late 2015 for our May 2017; many people who don't know how popular Charleston is for weddings thought we were acting too hasty but booking this beautiful site early is an absolute MUST. After we sent in our deposit we were told two other couples tried to book as well. Both Linda and Crysta were very helpful in our planning and the execution of the reception. They communicated well and were a delight to work with. They made sure everything on the day of was running smoothly as I got ready with my bridesmaids. The house has a large bridal suite on the second floor that we had in the morning before leaving to go to the cathedral. The house has an extensive property that was recently renovated; there is a large garden with fountain that was a perfect space for our cocktail hour. We had both floors open for guests to tour during the cocktail hour which has a huge hit! Everyone loved the beautiful décor. The other half of the property outside had our tent (tent is NEEDED to protect against the sun!) with our guest tables, dance floor, and band stage. There is a new elevated platform that was perfect for displaying the cake. There is also a secret garden that is perfect size for games and high top tables, where we had our corn hole table sets for guests to enjoy. Overall this was a beautiful location that had everything we needed! Book as early as you can!

    Sent on 05/25/2017
  • D

    dagny · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a feeling this was going to be our wedding venue when I started looking at photos online but after we saw it in person, we knew right away it was absolutely perfect. It stood out even after visiting many other beautiful venues in Charleston. To have the entire stunningly gorgeous historic home for your use all day is so so nice. We made ourselves right at home getting ready on the day-of and pretended it was our house and backyard for the day. The intimacy of the space allowed our 70 person wedding not to feel too small in the space (unlike other more sprawling venues) but they can also accommodate a large guest count easily. The addition of the oyster tabby patio was really nice (installed after we had signed our contract). Christa and Linda were amazing to work with leading up to the event answering any questions and keeping us updated with the patio construction progress. Our guests-mostly from the northeast--were in complete awe of the Thomas Bennett House and gardens and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect backdrop for our wedding day. It really was magical!

    Sent on 04/26/2017
  • Taylor

    Taylor · Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly amazing. We were married in December 2016 at the Governor Thomas Bennett House, and could not have chosen a better time of year or venue! The weather is beautiful in Charleston, and the house is fully decorated for the holidays. It was so beautifully done that every one of our guests could not stop talking about it all weekend... it is absolutely picturesque. It is everything you would hope for a Charleston wedding. Additionally, the staff at the Governor Thomas Bennett House went above and beyond in making our wedding spectacular. During the planning phase, Linda and Christa were so responsive and I felt like they cared so much about each and every one of their brides. They truly make you feel like your wedding is the only event happening during the year. Christa was an amazing help throughout the entire planning year, especially during our 6+ site visits and countless emails, phone calls, etc! God bless her!

    We had 135 guests and it was a great number for the part of our wedding that was held inside. We held our cocktail hour inside the house and on the veranda before the ceremony, then loaded our guests on buses taking them to the ceremony, and we returned to the house for our reception under a tent in the gardens. The schedule was a little out of the ordinary, but our guests loved it and they were able to see the home during the early evening hours as the sun was setting.

    I cannot say enough wonderful things about this venue. We felt like we got so much value for our money- especially in December with the home fully decorated. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you Christa and staff at GTBH!! You will always hold a special place in our hearts.

    Sent on 02/12/2017
  • W

    Whitney · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is absolutely amazing. I feel so blessed to have had our wedding at the Thomas Bennett House!! Both Linda and Christa were amazing to work with throughout our wedding planning process. This venue is also one of the most breathtaking spots ever, it is truly a hidden garden tucked away in downtown Charleston. Our guests were seriously blown away with the beauty. My husband and I loved this venue b/c it allowed for the intimate, southern, garden style wedding we wanted. The venue also was private and away from all of the loud sounds + businesses downtown but only a 15 min walk or $5 uber to all of the local restaurants and bars downtown for those wanting to stay out after the wedding is over. One thing to know is this venue does not allow sparklers and you can't get in until 10 am on the wedding day, but all of that is explained up front. Overall, I couldn't have been happier with the TBH. There is a bridal suite upstairs and man cave downstairs so it was awesome being able to all get there and stay in the same spot all day! SO MUCH EASIER than travel for the wedding party and family. If you are looking for the perfect, southern, charming, and just down right gorgeous venue--look no further!! This place is one of a kind. Thanks so much to everyone at the TBH for ensuring our day had zero hiccups and was the best day ever!!

    Sent on 11/14/2016
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 10/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best wedding venue ever! My husband and I are from New York but are Charleston obsessed. We visited a lot of venues in the area as we knew we wanted a southern wedding. TBH was exactly what we were looking for-- a big white southern home with a porch, beautiful gardens, huge tree, little courtyard in the back for games, space for the vendors to go without being seen. The inside of the home is gorgeous, the bridesmaids were up in the bridal suite all day (awesome photo ops!) and we had our cocktail our on the porch/first floor of the home so everyone had a chance to get a good look at the historic beauty. Christa and Linda were a pleasure to work with, super helpful and accommodating. Our wedding was in October and our guests still talk about it when we see them (3 months later)! Mostly everyone came from NY and this was so different than what they're used to. The home is so beautiful for pictures inside and out. We did family portraits outside of the pretty white gate with the tree in the background and also by the lit hedges in the back. The location is also great because you're in a quiet neighborhood but it's easy for guests to take an Uber from downtown (5 minute ride) and they also have a parking lot if need be. We had our ceremony outside and lucked out with a beautiful day but it also is possible to have both ceremony and reception tented with a walkway tent between the two if it does rain. If you're looking for a wedding that's got southern charm written all over it then the TBH is definitely the venue for you.

    Sent on 01/12/2017
  • M

    Molly · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best venue in Charleston! We booked the Thomas Bennett House sight unseen for our wedding ceremony and reception - and could not have been happier! It is the most beautiful venue and a bit of a 'hidden gem' located in downtown Charleston. Simply gorgeous!
    The house is perfectly charming, southern, historic and romantic - I can't say enough good things! Linda and Christa, the coordinators, are amazing to work with and made wedding planning so enjoyable and easeful. Both Linda and Christa were always available to answer questions promptly, offer suggestions and completely understood our needs and wants. They thought of every detail and made sure the house was perfect in every sense for our wedding - from the landscaping, flowers, lights, fountain, interior... everything! They are both wonderful, friendly, professional and such a pleasure to be around! The day of our wedding both Linda and Christa made me feel relaxed and calm and I knew they had everything in place with our vendors. The bridesmaids spent the entire day upstairs in the bridal suite getting hair and make up done and enjoying brunch and the groomsmen enjoyed the man cave downstairs. It was so special to watch our wedding day come to life right before our eyes and have one place for family and our bridal party to gather together and relax before the ceremony! Even with a couple minor unexpected happenings with vendors, they were there to help and made sure all went seamlessly. They event went as far to bring my husband and I appetizers, bustle my dress and fix my train throughout the afternoon! Our guests are still talking about the venue and what a charming Charleston wedding we had! I can't thank the TB team and our vendors enough for all of their time and efforts to make our day perfect!

    Sent on 06/30/2016
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 06/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    FABULOUS! I absolutely love the Governor Thomas Bennett House! This was such an amazing place to have our wedding ceremony. It's in a great location and the gardens are beautiful. The event coordinator, Christa Lanning, was very personable and easy to work with. I highly recommend this venue.

    Sent on 06/06/2016
  • User4749550 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I booked the house for my bridal portraits venue last minute as my previous venue cancelled. Christa promptly responded to my phone calls and emails the day after I sent a request. Their flexibility is certainly helping in making the whole wedding planning process easier!

    Sent on 09/30/2015
  • K

    Kayce · Married on 10/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you've been dreaming of a Southern Wedding in a charming and timeless home, look no further! The Governor Thomas Bennett House feels like a hidden gem with its tucked away location on Barre Street...hard to believe you're still downtown. The beautiful garden and trees add to the romantic and intimate feel of the grounds. The house is beautiful inside and out with bridal suite on top floor, elegant interior on main floor with free-flying staircase, man cave on bottom floor and spacious piazza overlooking the garden. Plenty of gorgeous spots for photo ops, a photographer's dream! We got use of the entire house and grounds on our wedding day. It felt like ours...like we were getting married in our family home.

    Christa and Linda were a joy to work with. Their promptness, willingness to help and flexibility take Southern Hospitality to another level. It felt like they were family and they really cared about making our day special. Their excitement and passion are contagious. We just loved them!

    Choosing the Governor Thomas Bennett House for our wedding was the best decision we made. We could not have been more pleased and wouldn't change a thing. Even with the rain and brewing hurricane, it was a magical day. Our friends and family will be talking about this house for years to come. The Governor Thomas Bennett House will always be part of our fairy tale!

    Sent on 11/04/2015
  • H

    Heather · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Governor Thomas Bennett House was a beautiful venue for our wedding and the staff there were extremely kind and flexible. We were able to drop off bins of gift bags for our guests days early and having the house to get ready in and be in all day really allowed us to spend time enjoying the property. All though we did go off site for some photographs, there are so many breathtaking places on the premise, inside and out, that your wedding photos will never be dull or boring with this beautiful and timeless back drop. Such a magical place for our special day!

    Sent on 06/19/2015
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 05/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful space and grounds with the easy proximity to downtown Charleston. Parking in front of house. The house is gorgeous and open to get ready and dressed in as well as during your reception. Linda, the venue coordinator, is helpful and prompt. It was a dream, wish I could do it every year.

    Sent on 06/01/2015
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 04/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Gov. Thomas Bennett House is simply stunning! Our wedding story was very unique & half way through planning we decided to elope instead! Scheduling a private ceremony on a Sunday afternoon worked perfectly for us! We were able to get ready in separate rooms, we had our "first look" on the spiral staircase, had a private ceremony on the lawn under the huge oak tree, we set up the cake and champagne on the porch, and even had a short dance down on the patio. Our photographer and videographer were able to walk around and capture the day perfectly. I feel lucky to have had such a beautiful elopement!

    Thank you!!
    ~Jennifer & Alan

    Sent on 04/29/2015
  • J

    Julia · Married on 02/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I searched all over Charleston for the perfect wedding venue and fell in love with the Thomas Bennett House. The home and grounds are immaculate and Linda, the venue manager, is a pleasure to work with. She is very accommodating and the vendors in Charleston all love Linda- which is something I wouldn't have known to ask about but is definitely important. I was able to use the upstairs bridal suite to get ready with my bridal party, the gardens for our ceremony, and the house and grounds for the reception. It is also nice to have flexibility on catering and bar services as Charleston has so many great companies to work with and so many venues require their overpriced catering and bar packages. I highly recommend the TBH to Charleston brides.

    Sent on 03/15/2015
  • L

    Lyndsay · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is, hands down, the most beautiful venue in Charleston and really showed off the Southern charm that I wanted to portray to all my out of town guests. Linda McCormick was a pleasure to work with and her staff was completely professional and helpful. We used the entire house and grounds for the reception. The cocktail hour was in the house and on the veranda overlooking the fountain and lawn. Following the cocktail hour, we still used the house, but moved the reception to the spacious lawn which we used for a giant tent and dance floor, but also had room for smaller tables and couches for those guests that wanted to have a quieter experience.

    Sent on 12/07/2014
  • K

    Kris · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was so beautiful. My daughter selected this venue very early after getting engaged - sight unseen. It was the most beautiful venue on her wedding day. The whole place was decorated beautifully - it was a fairy tale location. I highly recommend it!!

    Sent on 06/25/2014
  • S

    Sara · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We fell in love with this venue from the moment we set eyes on it. It’s beautiful inside and out. Linda was absolutely wonderful to work with. We were able to bring in our own caterer and rentals, which made the wedding more affordable. We got married outside in front of the gorgeous house, followed by cocktail hour on inside and on the balcony. The reception was outside in the gardens. The gardens were lovely and made for beautiful pictures.

    Sent on 11/20/2013
  • A

    Allidah · Married on 05/19/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Really spectacular Charleston home and gardens -- large degree of flexibility on caterer, bar provider, rentals vendor, etc. Linda and her team are a joy to work with. The house is absolutely beautiful and well-maintained.

    Sent on 05/28/2012
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 10/01/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot begin to describe how much I loved Thomas Bennett House; I had the wedding of my dreams. Christa and Linda were so helpful and accommodating every step of the way! All of my guests described the TBH as "enchanting" and one of the most beautiful wedding venues they had ever visited. I loved getting ready in the bridal suite upstairs and my husband and the guys enjoyed the man cave downstairs. Our day could not have been more perfect!

    Sent on 10/18/2016
  • M

    mara · Married on 09/19/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thomas Bennett House is the MOST beautiful venue for a wedding. We looked at several venues in and around Charleston, and while most of them are gorgeous, Thomas Bennett House charmed us right away. It is almost a hidden oasis when you turn down Barre St! The grounds are kept in great condition and the house itself is stunning. We had our ceremony and reception on site - bride + ladies spent the day at the house upstairs getting ready and groom + guys on the ground floor in their perfectly situated "man cave." We got so many compliments on the location and truly because it is so lovely, there isn't much of a need for going all-out with decor and spending a lot on rentals, the house and gardens really speak for themselves (to note, you do have to bring everything from outside vendors - the house and fee is just for the property itself.)

    Working with Linda, the house manager, was lovely. She was extremely flexible with us and really allowed us to feel like we owned the place that weekend. Wouldn't have changed a thing! Thank you, thank you!

    Sent on 10/05/2015
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 06/20/2013

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lovely garden/lawn for small ceremony. Used grotto for elaborate sit down dinner of 22. Hung chandeliers from trees above. Had a great experience!!

    Sent on 12/29/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review