Goodtime DJs Disc Jockeys, Karaoke & Photobooth Reviews

15 | Sausalito, CA
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for Goodtime DJs Disc Jockeys, Karaoke & Photobooth

Recommended by 94%

15
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.6
Sort by:
  • C

    Claire · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark was AWESOME! He is very friendly, knowledgeable and affordable. He has YEARS of experience. I booked him for 2 work events and my wedding. All I had to do was send him my playlist and a few instructions, and he knew exactly what to do.

    Thank you Mark!

    Sent on 06/29/2015
  • D

    Daniel · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Mark himself for our wedding. My wife and I enjoyed the easy process of adding music and he shows us how to have everything planned out to the exact minute. He made sure all lights and music was exactly what we wanted. He makes sure my beautiful bride had a wonderful perfect day. I recommend him to everyone.

    Sent on 04/04/2015
  • User4184702 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I engaged Mark Power of Goodtime DJs to provide the music for my daughter’s February, 2014 wedding reception at the City Club in San Francisco. The result was outstanding. We had a group of about 225 people for cocktails, dinner and post-dinner revelry. Mark provided music for each of those three segments.

    I found Mark in the usual way – by searching for DJs online. In the process, I discovered that a lot of pretty flaky people promote themselves as experienced DJs. However, many seem to lack basic disciplines and courtesies such as returning calls and emails – making it difficult to trust them to show up and do a good job for an event as important to me as my daughter’s wedding. However, Mark stood out as just the opposite. He returned calls, met commitments, provided a succinct but comprehensive engagement letter and most important, on the night of the event, he arrived ahead of time, was fully prepared, dressed well and knew his stuff on the sound and music side. Although price wasn’t the driving factor for this event, his charges were very reasonable for what he provided and the quality of his work. Basically – he is a real professional both as a DJ and as a businessman.
    Mark has a very large music collection of all sorts. I also collect and had some specific preferences for the music to be played. He has a very efficient system for exchanging information on what to include in the play list. We had a multi-generation group of family and guests and Mark had something for everyone. He understands the subtleties of music for a party – which songs are good for dancing, which are not, how many fast songs to play vs how many slow songs, how to get the party going and keep it going, etc.

    The final bonus is that Mark is a great singer. He has a wide range of songs he will sing. He did 5 or 6 for our group and they were great. A real talent.

    If I need a DJ for another party, Mark Power will be the first and only person I call.

    Sent on 06/18/2014
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark Hester Power was a wonderful DJ for our daughter's October 5 wedding! Prior to the BIG day he was professionally devoted to creating the exact play list my daughter selected for her ceremony and reception. He made contacts with the family musicians who were performing during the ceremony and went the extra mile to be ready for everything they needed. Mark was a perfect compliment to our spectacular day. You will be pleased with the services he provides.

    Sent on 10/15/2013
  • A

    Angela · Married on 08/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Mark Power from Goodtime DJs for our wedding on August at the Golden Gate Club. He provided all the music for our wedding including the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception.

    Mark was really great from the beginning. We emailed him during the holiday season in December and asked to meet him. We only had a week in San Francisco but Mark was really accommodating and met with us at his house. He was very professional and didn't pressure us into hiring him. He was honest and answered all of our questions. Mark seemed quite experienced and I liked how he told us that the spotlight on our wedding night would be on us and not on the DJ.

    Two months later, we agreed to hire him and it was the one of the best decisions we made. The planning stage was very easy. He was prompt at answering all my emails.

    Mark had a online request website where we could select our music list. It was great because we could work on it, save it and come back to it later. After we selected all of our music, we just clicked on the submit button. It was that simple!

    On the day of our wedding, Mark played everything as planned. It was wonderful not to worry about the music and the sound system. He came prepared and brought his own equipment. He had mics for the officiant during the ceremony and mics for people during speeches..

    Everyone said that our party was the most fun they had. We have Mark to thank for that! After all the serious part of the night was over and it was time for dancing, that was when the music really got started. Mark was able to read the crowd and played what everyone wanted. Everyone including my college friends, my parent's friends and even my grandmother was on the dance floor! He played music that got everyone from all ages to get up and dance. He was very entertaining and helped liven up the party.

    Overall, Mark was a great DJ and I would recommend him for any type of event. Thanks so much for making our wedding so memorable!
    Angela C

    Sent on 10/09/2013
  • P

    philip · Married on 07/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark provided us with outstanding service. He took all of our input well in advance to our wedding and he came well prepared and played all of the music we wanted to hear. He acted as the master of ceremonies and announced each of wedding activities throughout the day. We asked him to provide a Kareoke setup and he did indeed provide all of the equipment and enough microphones for our guest to actively participate. We will strongly recommend Mark and Good Time DJs to our friends.
    Thank you again Mark!

    Sent on 08/13/2013
  • B

    Bettina · Married on 05/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just had to write to say how much I appreciate the professionalism and fun that Mark Hester, with Goodtime Disk Jockeys, brought to my wedding reception. As soon as he arrived, I knew that my entertainment was in good hands and it would be taken care of without me or my family having to worry about a thing. My guests, along with myself and my groom, danced the night away and had the time of our lives! Thank you, Mark for making my special day…that much more special…and worry free.

    Sent on 09/29/2013
  • E

    Elle · Married on 01/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shot a friends wedding and we just loved the way he helped the wedding flow. Great Job!

    Sent on 04/23/2010
  • T

    Danielle · Married on 11/22/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked this DJ when we had to fire our band THREE DAYS before the wedding...they work everywhere in the Bay Area, and luckily he had a DJ available for us. He was absolutely fantastic, did everything we asked, and he worked very hard to make sure we got exactly what we wanted. We've never worked with anyone so determined to fulfill the exact picture we had in our minds -- we'll never book another DJ through anyone else, ever again!

    Sent on 11/26/2008
  • J

    James · Married on 05/05/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such a superb job at djing. They made sure that the music being played was just right for the occasion and made it real special.

    Sent on 05/06/2009
  • H

    Heather · Married on 08/06/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark was great! He played the music we requested and some fun stuff we did not request, he got everyone dancing and kept the night moving right along. Our reception ended up running about 45 minutes longer than we had anticipated and Mark kept on playing! He didn't even miss a beat. He also provided the music for our ceremony, which was a couple of blocks away at The Mission. The transition from venue to venue was seamless and Mark was very efficient at keeping things going. Great DJ, great price!

    Sent on 08/22/2011
  • M

    madison · Married on 09/16/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark was extremely professional and did a great job at our wedding. A lot of people commented about how good the music was!

    Sent on 09/28/2017
  • S

    Sylvia · Married on 08/23/2008

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired this DJ's company for our wedding because we wanted someone with a lot of experience - they have been in business for 24 years and we are glad we chose them - we were very satisfied by the service. We were happy to have the owner Mark to be the D.J. everything was flawless. He arrived an hour prior the ceremony - which was a relief for us - no worries about the DJ being late. He was all set up when the first guests arrived.

    We had met Mark, in person to discuss the details of our upcoming wedding. He gave us so many useful advises. We prepared our wedding itinerary and a music play list - which was very easy to do from their website, so everything went smoothly for the reception.

    Mark is also an excellent Master of ceremony, with professionalism, he knew at all times what to do and when it was time, for 1st dance, cake cutting, toast so we didn't have to worry about anything.

    He had everything we needed for the ceremony (clip on mic for the Officiant) and a portable battery powered sound system for outside in the garden. No extension cords needed across the yard, very well prepared. Then, he had bigger speakers for the reception inside. Mark has all his music in his laptop. The dancing was amazing, he played a great variety of music, which pleased 3 generations of guests.

    Our wedding was semi-formal but we were pleased to see our D.J. wearing a white Tuxedo shirt, black slack and a bow-tie and a vest .

    I have recommend Goodtime to my friends and we have since used them for one of my companies office parties as well.

    Sent on 08/18/2013
  • A

    Alex · Married on 08/20/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pretty sure this is the right vendor - Mark Power's Goodtime DJ out of San Francisco.

    I wanted something pretty basic, DJ-wise, for my wedding in August of 2011 - a guy to show up, use the existing sound system at my reception venue, and play the songs I wanted, all for a competitive price. This is exactly what I got from Mark and his team! Their website is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G - I made my very own custom playlist, and even managed to link specific songs to certain points on the evening's timeline.

    They were very accommodating with specific requests - for example I wanted to play the Monday Night Football theme song when my groomsmen were announced, and they found the track I needed. Every song was played at exactly the right moment, the DJ was unobtrusive during the party, and everything couldn't have been smoother. I highly recommend this vendor.

    Sent on 01/17/2013
  • N

    Nina · Married on 09/04/2011

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I had a bad feeling about him after my first contact. When I inquired about his services I was sent a contract. Maybe that is how he sends the info but it seemed a bit pushy to me. I chose him simply because he was a couple hundred dollars cheaper than my second choice. We contracted Goodtime DJ to do the ceremony and reception, and Mark (the owner!) did both

    He charges to meet you at the venue. You'd think he'd want to check out the venue beforehand. He does not go to the rehearsal, although he'd probably charge if you asked. I tried to discuss the ceremony music with him and he just said oh I just fade it out and acted very nonchalant about it, fine. My Dad had written and recorded a song for me so he was in contact with Mark a couple weeks before. He found out that he would only have one speaker for the ceremony and playing the music off his ipod. Well, I could have done that! My Dad convinced him to bring a second speaker which ended up cutting out during the ceremony anyway and the people in the back couldn't hear.

    Mark was about an hour late and would have been more late if my husband didn't call him. I got a call while getting ready/taking picture and he said he had it in his mind that it started at 6!?! Well it's a good thing we both signed a contract so nobody has to keep anything in their mind!! It was about 4:15 and he was supposed to start playing music at 4:30 and the ceremony to start at 5. My dad had even talked to him the day before and reminded him what time. He tried to tell me that it would start about 30 min late and I told him we only had the photographer for a certain amount of time, was he going to pay for the extra time? I told him so you're not charging us for the ceremony right and we would just start without him and hung up. We really only started 20 min late but there was supposed to be music playing while the guests were being seated. When I walked down the isle he was not set up at the table he was supposed to be at, he was sitting up front next to my brother who was going to be playing a song on guitar. Who wants their DJ sitting up in the front for everyone to see. Plus he was sitting next to the speaker so I don't know how he could have heard the sound. So now I have pictures of my brother sitting next to the dj while he's playing.

    As for the reception, people danced. The music was a bit choppy. Also he didn't play the song we had chosen for out cake cutting. In the end he did not charge us for the ceremony.

    Do your homework and go with your gut...if the dj is doing your ceremony, reception and is your mc they could screw up the whole day!

    Sent on 10/05/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review