Weddings

Glen Oaks Country Club Reviews

Glen Oaks Country Club

Glen Oaks Country Club

West Des Moines, IA
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 22 Reviews
View more information

22 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 22
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

22 User photos

Sort by:
  • Kenzi
    Kenzi P. Getting married on 05/08/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Glen Oaks was a dream!

    Glen Oaks was a dream wedding venue! We had our ceremony on the croquet lawn, cocktail hour on the beautiful veranda, and the reception inside. Such a unique and gorgeous venue - I loved having different areas and rooms for our guests to go. It truly felt like we had the entire building. The staff is also amazing! Emily - the event coordinator was absolutely fantastic to work with. We emailed back and fourth the entire process and met 3+ times and I have to say she is the most organized/professional human being I’ve ever met. I don’t know how she does it! She is truly the BEST at what she does and she made our day exactly what we wanted with the perfect timeline. She handled our wedding so well even with the difficulties of Covid - we couldn’t have done it without her. I can’t thank her and Glen Oaks enough!

    Glen Oaks Country Club's reply:

    Kenzi,
    Thank you so much for the kind words!!! I truly enjoyed working with you, Konner and Kathi :) I am so glad you and Konner had a perfect day. Thank you for sharing some STUNNING pictures with us :)
    -Em
  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 06/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect venue!

    Glen Oaks worked with us over many, many months to ensure that we had exactly what we needed and wanted on our wedding day. Shannon did a wonderful job taking care of us and we could tell that she genuinely wanted to make sure that we had the most smooth, enjoyable day ever. Our guests were very impressed with everything at Glen Oaks and the food was fabulous. We loved being able to get ready and have both our ceremony and reception all in one place. The whole GO team did a great job ensuring that everything was set up and executed for our perfect day.

    Glen Oaks Country Club's reply:

    Thank you so much Ashely for the kind review! The staff and I loved getting to help you and Logan celebrate your big day, and we're so happy that we could make it so memorable for you both!
    -Shannon
  • Megan
    Megan T. Married on 11/07/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Wedding Venue!

    I can't say enough great things about Glen Oaks! We had originally booked with another country club in Des Moines and with the pandemic things were not being communicated well and we decided to go a different route. THANK GOD Glen Oaks had the availability on our wedding date as we had already booked all of our vendors!!! They did a fantastic job with our wedding especially with switching to Glen Oaks a couple months before our reception. The venue is beautiful, the food was excellent (all our guests were raving about the food especially the parmesan risotto :)), and the service from the staff was incredible! We also loved that we were able to great ready there! It made it so convenient for me and my bridesmaids and we had breakfast and lunch there. Honestly one of the best parts about Glen Oaks is working with their event coordinator, Emily. She made wedding planning a million times easier, especially during a pandemic. She was super responsive to everything, easy to get ahold of, organized, and extremely knowledgeable and gave great recommendations and ideas too. We met with Emily multiple times to go over our wedding and she was always on top of everything. She helped make my wedding day stress free! Overall, we were so happy with our wedding and had the best day ever!!! We could not have done this without Glen Oaks and Emily!

    Glen Oaks Country Club's reply:

    Megan, thank you so much for the kind words! I truly loved getting to know you and your family through the planning process. It is a bonus you guys are members! I get to see you from time to time :) I really appreciate you sharing pictures. They are just STUNNING!
    -Em
  • T
    Taylor D. Married on 09/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dream Wedding Venue

    Glen Oaks is truly the PERFECT venue! I seriously can't say enough great things about Glen Oaks! The indoor and outdoor spaces are immaculate, the food is delicious, and the staff is incredible! We had our ceremony out on the beautiful croquet lawn, the dinner inside, and cocktail hour and dance floor outside on the veranda. Planning a wedding during COVID was stressful, but Emily was excellent to work with during the whole process. We met with her many times to discuss the change of plans each time they arose. I appreciated how knowledgeable and organized she was so I could stress less. Another perk of having your wedding at Glen Oaks is they have their own kitchen, and the food is to die for. All of our guests were raving about how delicious the food was! Our wedding turned out so perfectly, and we have Emily and the other staff at Glen Oaks to thank for that!

    Glen Oaks Country Club's reply:

    Thanks Taylor for the kinds words! We love the pictures you shared with us too :) Congrats again!
    -Em
  • Anne
    Anne T. Married on 07/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Choose Glen Oaks for Your Wedding!

    We were handled so professionally and made to feel as our event was the only event happening. From the minute we met with Emily to the day after the wedding, the communication has been top-notch. The service, the flexibility, the staff and the food were outstanding. We will definitely use them again for another event in the very near future!

    Glen Oaks Country Club's reply:

    Thank you for the kind review Anne! I look forward to working with you and your family again for future events :) I hope to see you around the Club sometime!
    -Em
  • Lauren
    Lauren Married on 07/03/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection

    I can’t say enough amazing things about Glen Oaks as a wedding venue. My wedding on July 3, 2020 was absolutely perfect. Emily was SO helpful from day 1. Super attentive and professional. Quick to reply to all emails and never batted an eye at my one million requests. She is top notch and the venue is stunning and all the staff are absolutely the best. Highly recommended this venue to anyone.

    Glen Oaks Country Club's reply:

    Hi Lauren,
    I am so happy I got to work with you and Lee! I appreciate your kind words :) Congrats again!
    -Em
  • Rachael
    Rachael F. Married on 12/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Vendor

    Glen Oaks has been great to work with. My Fiance' and I have been talking to them about using their venue for our wedding. They have been quick to respond and have answered any questions that we have. I am excited to see the beautiful venue in person due to the fact that we don't live in Iowa yet! Great place, beautiful grounds, and easy to talk to!

    Glen Oaks Country Club's reply:

    Rachael,
    Glad that we have been assisting you well and hope that you can share your special day with us!
    -Emily
  • Aubrey
    Aubrey Married on 08/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Very Best

    Glen Oaks Country Club is hands down the best place to have your wedding! Emily, the event coordinator, is so easy to work with. I am not sure how many emails Emily and I sent back and forth… but she never got sick of our communication and was so responsive. She made me feel so confident going into our wedding day knowing that everything would be just as we wanted it to be. The staff at Glen Oaks was very friendly and all of the guests had raving reviews. Glen Oaks is beyond beautiful. If you are contemplating this venue, look no further. Our wedding was absolutely perfect.

    Glen Oaks Country Club's reply:

    Aubrey, thank you for sharing such kind words! I truly didn't mind the communication, I always say there is no such thing as over-communication! It was great working with you and Taylor :)
  • C
    Cassie Married on 11/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect November Wedding!

    We got married in November 2018 and the day was an absolute dream! Emily, who just recently started, was INCREDIBLE! She was attentive, responded to my many questions leading up to the day, met with my mom as I am located in Chicago, and was key to the day running smooth! She helped coordinate and make sure everyone was where they needed to be. The club is beautifully maintained, the food was spectacular, and they know what to expect with weddings which makes planning a breeze. We were very happy with our wedding at Glen Oaks and couldn’t have imagined it anywhere else! The golf course makes for beautiful photos and backdrops. We would definitely recommend Glen Oaks to anyone getting married in the Des Moines area!

    Glen Oaks Country Club's reply:

    Thank you for the sweet words Cassie! It was a pleasure working with you, Patrick and your Mom to make sure that your day went PERFECTLY :) I look forward to you coming back and visiting. I saw your parents at Thanksgiving brunch at the club!
    -Em
  • K
    Kaitlin Married on 10/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A bride and groom's dream come true

    The new event coordinator, Emily, and the entire staff were phenomenal. We had to move our cocktail hour and dancing inside last minute due to weather, but they took care of every little detail without any hassle to us. Our guests keep telling us how much they LOVED the food. We also had a s'mores bar through Glen Oaks, and it was also a huge hit. Emily was really great with coordinating with our other vendors, so we could trust that our vision was executed beautifully. If you want a gorgeous location with tons of options and a team of experienced people who will take care of practically everything, Glen Oaks is that place.

    Glen Oaks Country Club's reply:

    Kait,
    Thank you so much for continuing the family tradition of getting married at Glen Oaks. We truly enjoyed working with you and Brandon. You have such amazing taste and really complimented the clubhouse with the decor from Vintage Love Rentals. The best part about member weddings is that I don't have to say goodbye! I will see you around :)
    -Em
  • K
    Kim Married on 09/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Glen Oaks helped make our wedding day everything that we had dreamt of and more! The venue itself is gorgeous and has a stunning view overlooking the golf course. Mallory was absolutely amazing to work with. She was quick to respond, answered all of our (many) questions, and made our wedding day run seamlessly. She even allowed us to drop off decor, signage and my wedding dress the week of the wedding so we didn't have to worry about it on our wedding day. Even the food is amazing; Our wedding guests can't stop raving about how good the food and cake were. We are so happy that we chose Glen Oaks for our wedding reception. It exceeded our expectations and make our wedding day an absolute dream!

    Glen Oaks Country Club's reply:

    Thank you so much, Kim! We loved getting to know you and Sean over the past year. Best of luck and keep in touch!
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 09/30/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Glen Oaks Country Club was the perfect spot for our wedding last September, we chose Glen Oaks for our ceremony and reception! It was absolutely perfect, Mallory the event coordinator was SO helpful, prompt, and great at her job. Everyone from Mallory, servers, bartenders, etc were so professional, caring, and made everything for our wedding perfect!! HIGHLY recommend Glen Oaks and can't say enough good things about them!
  • S
    Sue Married on 09/03/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It is fantastic and the staff is excellent. A wonderful experience and beautiful venue and setting and views.

    Glen Oaks Country Club's reply:

    Thank you so much! :)
  • C
    Carolyn Married on 08/06/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mallory was very knowledgeable about the event space and what would
    Work best for our wedding and guest list. We wouldn't change a thing!

    Glen Oaks Country Club's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words! I loved working with you on your wedding. :)
    -Mallory H.
  • User2997961 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved Glen Oaks! The best part is the patio/ deck for DJ and dancing! Our guests loved it
  • J
    Jackie Married on 04/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mallory, the glen oaks event coordinator, is a wedding GODSEND!!!! She helped me in every possible way and handled all the back ground stuff that makes a wedding perfect, without her I don't know what I would've done! 5/5, If I could do it all again, there is nothing I would change!

    Glen Oaks Country Club's reply:

    Thank you so much! We all love what we do at Glen Oaks! - Mallory :)
  • D
    Danielle Married on 09/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Glen Oaks Country Club was the best place I could have asked for to do my wedding. They say "go big or go home" and this place made it BIG! We had about 45 guests and each one raved about the beauty of the venue and also about the cake and food. Jamie and her team are amazing with coordinating everything and Nicole made an absolutely wonderful cake. They accommodated every one of my requests. They even let me change the location of the ceremony 30 minutes prior to it starting without a single complaint. I love this place. No one would be let down if they chose to do a special event here.
  • K
    Kayla Married on 06/14/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They did a wonderful bringing my dream to a reality. Jamie did a great job organizing and managing everything and everybody! She was a dream to work with!
  • M
    Maria Married on 05/09/2014
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We held our reception at Glen Oaks Country Club in Des Moines. The venue is gorgeous and staff is very helpful. The food they provide is delicious so you don't really have to look for an outside caterer. My fiance and I were very happy with organization and professionalism of everyone. Special thanks to Jamie who took care of the organizational part!
  • Kathryn
    Kathryn F. Married on 01/04/2020
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Reception 2020

    Our ceremony finished sooner than we expected and Glen Oaks was able to accommodate the 30 minute change on the fly. The venue was beautiful and the staff were all very professional and genuinely nice.

    Glen Oaks Country Club's reply:

    Kathryn,
    Thank you for the kind review! It was a pleasure working with you and Tim :) Hope that all is well and you enjoyed your honeymoon.
    Best wishes,
    Em
  • User1911832 2+ years ago
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Beautiful venue and the event coordinator, Jamie, was excellent. If you do choose this location, please be prepared financially.