Geno Photography Reviews

26 | Iowa City, IA
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for Geno Photography

Recommended by 99%

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

22 User photos

Geno Photography 1
Geno Photography 2
Geno Photography 3
Geno Photography 4
Geno Photography 5
Geno Photography 6
Geno Photography 7
+ 16
Sort by:
  • S

    Sarah Hilu · Getting married on 08/01/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thrilled with the whole experience!

    Carrie at Geno Photography was an absolute delight to work with, from start to finish! Prior to meeting Carrie, she was quick to respond to our emails and flexible on finding a day that worked for all of us for an engagement session. Even when inclement weather threatened our ability to take outdoor photos on the day we'd selected, Carrie was willing to problem-solve with us and find alternative locations that ended up working out absolutely beautifully. She naturally put us at ease during the session, which came through in the gorgeous photos she captured and shared with us when all was said and done. Working with Carrie has been such a positive experience. We wish we could justify having another engagement photo session because of her wonderful presence and high-quality end product! Thank you Carrie!

    Sent on 10/21/2019
  • Brooke

    Brooke · Married on 08/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful work

    Carrie did an amazing job and was so flexible and willing to work with my husband and I’s schedule. She made us feel comfortable during our first ever professional shoot and fully delivered from beginning to end, and topped it off with a gorgeous photo album that we will treasure forever!

    Sent on 10/10/2019
  • Sydney

    Sydney Bernard · Married on 08/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Wedding Photographer!

    We loved working with Carrie! She was professional, did lots of personal touches, and worked to stay within our budget. We love the way our photos turned out, got them quickly, and even got the rights to them! She is currently making our wedding album and we are so excited to have such an amazing piece for our home to look at. We are obsessed with her work and professionalism--she did everything to make sure we were comfortable and got the shots we wanted! Thanks Carrie!
    https://www.genophotography.com/blog/2019/8/terry-trueblood-wedding-iowa-city-wedding-photographer-authentic-love-stories

    Sent on 09/15/2019
    Geno Photography 8
  • P

    Paige Dullea · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning results and superb service!

    We can’t even begin to describe how amazing Carrie is! She did our engagement and wedding photos. We were super impressed and loved our engagement session and our wedding photos absolutely took our breath away, her photos have a way of bringing you right back to your special day and capturing all of its essence! Not only is Carrie an amazing photographer but she is an awesome person. Super kind, thoughtful, and caring! She made us feel at ease and very comfortable. We were very grateful to be able to work with her and would highly recommend to anyone!!

    Sent on 09/09/2019
  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing!!!

    Carrie was wonderful to work with! We absolutely love our engagement and wedding photos and received them in no time at all. Communication throughout the process was very easy. We chose a photo + video package and the photography/videography team worked together seamlessly. They captured everything so beautifully and we couldn't be happier with the collection we have to look back on our day.

    Sent on 09/21/2019
    Geno Photography 9
    Geno Photography 10
    Geno Photography 11
  • C

    Chelsey · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful!

    Carrie is so great and easy to work with! She is accommodating and our engagement/wedding pictures were so beautiful. I would highly recommend!

    Sent on 09/09/2019
    Geno Photography 12
    Geno Photography 13
    Geno Photography 14
    Geno Photography 15
  • L

    Lynda · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Professional Photography and Beautiful Memories Captured

    The Geno team captured our wedding day impeccably! We couldn't ask for more.

    Sent on 02/28/2019
  • Y

    Ye · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful person and perfect service!

    We highly recommend Carrie Geno to do your wedding photography. She exceeded our expectations in every possible way. Carrie captured the happiest moments of our BIG day. She is a wonderful person!!! The photos and albums are just out of this world and tell our story so PERFECTLY!

    Sent on 12/16/2018
  • M

    Meredith · Married on 07/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carrie was such a joy to work with! From the beginning she was committed to really getting to know my fiancè and I, even though we live out of state. She was incredibly helpful and accommodating when we had to make big changes to our day-of schedule a few weeks before the wedding. Carrie's work on the wedding day was so efficient that we were ahead of schedule the whole day, and the pictures (which we got back within two weeks!) were absolutely stunning! More than that, I just really liked her as a person - she's kind and witty, yet always professional. I would highly recommend Carrie!

    Sent on 08/08/2018
  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 06/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Experience

    Carrie & Geno Photography were AMAZING. Carrie is responsive and listened to what we wanted, then had so many ideas to make sure our vision was captured. She knows all of the best spots for pictures - even spots I didn't know of and I grew up in IC! She was always helpful and a pleasure to work with, and her assistant, Alex, had a GREAT eye for detail and made sure we were getting the right angles and poses, no hair in the face, no arms or necks looking awkward, no groomsmen slacking off, etc. Also, the picture quality was outstanding. Carrie knows how to capture the moment's light and emotion with ease and grace. I can't express how happy I am we chose her. This was a big part of my budget and I was very nervous to choose, but it was worth every penny.

    Sent on 12/05/2018
  • A

    Amy · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carrie did an amazing job on our Engagement photos and we are really excited to see our Wedding day photos!

    Sent on 11/27/2017
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Geno Photography was absolutely delightful to work with! They travelled to Minnesota for our wedding, were super accommodating in working with the all the pre-wedding madness that was happening and in traveling to several different locations for the ceremony, reception, and other photos. We got our pictures crazy fast and they were absolutely gorgeous. We couldn't be happier and can't recommend them enough!

    Sent on 10/04/2017
    Geno Photography 16
    Geno Photography 17
    Geno Photography 18
    Geno Photography 19
  • C

    Carrie · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carrie was great to work with. We did engagement pictures in Decorah, Iowa and our wedding was in Des Moines. Loved how both turned out. Carrie was very responsive and always willing to answer my questions right away.

    Sent on 09/12/2017
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Geno Photography did beyond an amazing job with our wedding photos. From the engagement session to the wedding we are amazed with the phenomenal job Carrie did for us!! The photos are unreal - that's how perfect they are. I am having a very hard time deciding which photos to hang on the walls in our home because they are all so good! Truly an artist. Very blessed we booked Carrie and she was able to capture our big day.

    Sent on 09/05/2017
  • K

    Karen · Married on 07/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carrie was amazing! Strong attention to detail and she has a caring demeanor! We truly enjoyed her photography services. Furthermore, the wedding albums we ordered were just fantastic and beautiful. I recommend her to all couples and families needing photography services!

    Sent on 09/12/2017
  • D

    Dani · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carrie did a wonderful job on our engagment and wedding photos. She helped us feel comfortable infront of the camera. We look forward to family photos in the future!

    Sent on 09/12/2017
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carrie was a pleasure to work with! She was able to fit in with the wedding party & match the level of sarcasm flawlessly! Her shots are consistently phenomenal & you can tell that she puts her heart & soul into her work.

    Sent on 10/07/2016
  • Hope

    Hope · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She is so nice to work with, patient and excellent customer service.

    Sent on 10/06/2016
  • J

    Jill · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carrie is an amazing photographer and has a great approach. She is very calm and provides helpful guidance so people don't stand around wondering what to do. Our wedding photos are fabulous and we'll definitely reach out next time we need professional photographs. It was also really easy to understand her package options and handle payments.

    Sent on 12/14/2016
  • B

    Brian · Married on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carrie did an excellent job with the photography of our wedding and the engagement session. Geno Photography provided a wide-range of photos to enjoy, from fantastic candid shots to the key moments of the wedding service. They also did a great job of getting shots of close family members, such as a photo of the groom's parents sitting with their grandchildren in the pews during the wedding. Carrie did a great job of not only capturing the people attending our wedding, but also capturing the happiness and fun enjoyed by everyone that day. She's laid back and you won't even realize she has been there all day. Would highly recommend her to anyone with photography needs.

    Sent on 12/16/2015
  • J

    Jess · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carrie Geno and her assistant were excellent. She worked with me to create a package that worked the best for what we wanted. Our engagement session was excellent and we loved the pictures. She was extremely flexible to plan around when my fiance (now husband) was in town since he lived out of state. Our wedding day went smoothly and Carrie got all of the pictures that I wanted. She kept the photographs going and we ended up ahead of schedule. Carrie also edited our pictures and sent us the link extremely quickly. I know people who have to wait months to get to see pictures and we had all of them within a couple of weeks. I would recommend her to anyone!

    Sent on 08/08/2012
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 08/20/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A photographer is, in my opinion, one of the most important aspects of planning for your big day. In years down the road all you have to look back on are the images of your special day. Geno photography did an outstanding job in capturing those memories on our wedding day. Carrie pays so much attention to the little details that are often forgotten. She has an amazing artistic spin and personal touch that is clearly seen in all of her images. I could not be happier with my photos and would highly recommend Geno photography to anyone looking for a wedding photographer.

    Sent on 04/15/2014
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 06/16/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carrie was the perfect photographer for our wedding and engagement pictures. She made my husband feel comfortable in front of the camera and we absolutely love our photos. She brought a wonderful 2nd shooter who captured many beautiful moments of our wedding day. Her services are expensive, but we are still very glad we chose Carrie- she was well worth it.

    Sent on 08/19/2018
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/15/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The only reason Carrie got 4.5 instead of 5 for professionalism is that she was really laid back (not to be read "lazy"). She was professional in that she did what she did well and knew what she was doing and was easy to work with, but she did not have the aspect of "professional" that sometimes seems serious and methodical.

    Sent on 01/16/2008
  • S

    Sydney · Married on 05/26/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Geno Photography was a great choice we don’t regret. The only faults were she didn’t choose the most flattering poses for me husband I. If she could work with poses that better flatter larger women, and pay a little more attention to detail, like fixing someone’s shirt or hair before taking their picture then I would have given her all 5 star ratings.

    Sent on 08/29/2018
    Geno Photography 20
    Geno Photography 21
    Geno Photography 22
    Geno Photography 23
    Geno Photography 24
    Geno Photography 25
    Geno Photography 26
    Geno Photography 27
    Geno Photography 28
    Geno Photography 29

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review