Skip to main content
Weddings

Gabby and Martha Hair & Make up Reviews

Gabby and Martha Hair & Make up

Gabby and Martha Hair & Make up

Falls Church, VA
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 71 Reviews
View more information

71 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 71
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

17 User photos

  • Janet
    Janet R. Married on 10/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A Truly Beautiful Experience

    I can't say enough good things about Gabby and Martha Hair & Makeup! Not only are they magicians, making their clients look beautiful, but they go above and beyond to make you feel special. From the first correspondence, to the trial appointment, to the wedding day, they treat you like you're their only client. Martha and Libby did our hair and makeup for my wedding last weekend and they were both a true joy to work with. They are exceptionally talented, organized and professional. They seek input on what look each client wants and work their magic. After hours of eating, drinking, dancing and photos, my hair and makeup still looked amazing. Thank you both for sharing your talent and making the day extra special!
  • Tala
    Tala Married on 07/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Magical hands

    These ladies are WONDERFUL! Not only are they super talented but they’re also great to be around the time we were done we felt like we’d been best friends for years! The make up and hair were impeccable. They’re very attentive and accommodating and will give you your dream look. I think the only time I was 100% satisfied with my make up was when Martha did it. Don’t look any further if they’re free on your date book them!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 11/06/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Experience! Highly recommend!

    I had such a positive experience working with Gabby and Martha and would recommend them to any bride looking for hair and makeup! They were always very responsive, answered all my questions, and just overall a fun group to be around! All the bridesmaids and myself absolutely loved our hair and makeup. They put so much time and thought into each person's look, giving them exactly what they were looking for!
  • Cathie
    Cathie Married on 09/05/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Glam squad!

    Gabby & Martha are IT if you want to look better than you could ever imagine for your special day! They used every safety precaution during the trial run & on our wedding day. They were so nice and listened to each person as to their likes and dislikes. I don’t think I’ve ever seen my mom look so pretty! I wanted a “glam” look while still looking like “me”...they knocked it out of the park!
  • Pam
    Pam Married on 08/29/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gabby and Martha were amazing!!

    Gabby and Martha were amazing to work with and made me and my family feel and look SO beautiful on my wedding day. They were both so responsive and sweet and really took the time to listen to what I wanted to look like on my day of and went above and beyond my expectations. Gabby is a genius with hair and Martha will literally make you and your bridal party look like a million bucks. I cannot recommend Gabby and Martha enough, thank you both so so much
  • Hannah
    Hannah Married on 07/03/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gorgeous work!

    Gabby and Martha are a lovely team, and were lovely to work with from the start. It took me a while to research and find them, as I was very particular about the hair and makeup look I wanted. The trial experience was absolutely worth it to learn what I truly wanted and didn't want, and they really helped me find my look. On the day of, they worked with my mom and mother-in-law to find their looks, and they looked fantastic! Highly recommend!
  • Kerry
    Kerry M. Married on 03/14/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Job!

    Gabby and Martha were a delight to work with. I found them on Wedding Wire as well as in the credits for the tv show, Married at First Sight. They were very detailed oriented from the scheduling of the hair and makeup trial to the day of the wedding. I am glad that I did the hair and makeup trial before the wedding so they could perfect how my hair and makeup would look on my wedding day and I was extremely happy with how it turned out. They arrived on time the day of the wedding and had everything set up and ready to go. My bridesmaids and I were thrilled with Gabby and Martha's excellent job of perfecting everyone's hair and makeup and we finished on time. I would highly recommend them for your wedding!
  • Rena
    Rena K. Married on 10/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely love Gabby & Martha!

    I contacted Gabby & Martha via Weddingwire after having a bit of trouble finding a makeup artist that was professional, responsive, and had beautiful work. My first initial impression of Gabby & Martha was that they did beautiful hair and makeup and that they were so responsive. I sent a lot of emails and they responded to all of my questions in less than 24 hours, which is super important as a bride who is trying to get everything ready for a wedding.

    On the day of the wedding, Gabby & Martha traveled to the venue and was able to set everything up in our room. I had a really small wedding and wanted to treat my mother and mother-in-law to makeup and hair and they absolutely lovedddddd how beautiful Gabby & Martha made them! My mom, who never trusts anyone with her hair or makeup, was astounded by how amazing she looked in the mirror and it made me smile so much. As for me, Gabby & Martha was able to transform my face and hair into the exact look that I had wanted!

    I highly recommend Gabby & Martha for all your makeup / hair needs!
  • Morgan
    Morgan S. Married on 09/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    They did amazing work!

    Gabby and Martha did an AMAZING job on hair and makeup for myself, my bridesmaids, and the moms. They were friendly, professional, and made sure everyone looked GREAT! They handled getting my hair extensions, made sure my tiara stayed on my head, and everyone's hair and makeup was still looking good at the end of the night. I highly recommend them and would work with them again in a heartbeat.
  • Sara
    Sara Married on 07/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great for my small group

    Everything was great from my hair and make up trial, all the way to the big day! They were super responsive to numerous emails throughout the wedding planning process, and accommodating a last minute addition. Since I did not have a wedding party, I also needed to find someone that didn't require me to have 10 people getting hair an make up done, so if you have a small group, they are an excellent choice (although I'm sure they'd do big groups well too!)
  • Krystal
    Krystal Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great experience, flexible

    Gabby and Martha were great to work with. They were flexible on timing, details and styles. I am beyond happy with how my hair and makeup turned out on our wedding day. I am also happy with how all of the bridesmaids turned out. Everyone had different style requirements and Gabby and Martha got them all right.
  • Angelika
    Angelika Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    FANTASTIC to work with!

    Gabby and Martha were truly fantastic to work with!

    From their initial reply back, I could tell that they were the consummate professionals, genuinely cared about their craft, and were warm as can be.

    MY MOH, bridesmaid, and MOB all looked exquisite!! Their H&MU truly did last all night long - 14+ hours and counting! My mom received so many compliments on her hair, including, that she looked like she should be on the cover of Vogue (which she naturally loved)!

    My bridesmaid, who flew in from LA, and is pretty hard to please, LOVED her hair!! Her make-up also looked gorgeous with her skin tone.

    All the girls looked elegant and received so many compliments all night long from the wedding guests.

    Gabby is a high-touch communicator and both the sisters are sweet as can be. They arrived early on the wedding day and were ready to rock and roll. We were on schedule all-day and Gabby and Martha made the H&MU process a breeze!

    Truly a pleasure to work with on your wedding day!
  • Marlayna
    Marlayna V. Married on 03/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Martha and Ilda Made Everyone Feel Fabulous

    I was married on March 16, 2019, and Martha and her associate Ilda did my hair and make up as well as my mother and now mother in law's...and Martha also did my hair and makeup trial a few months before. Martha was wonderful throughout the process and able to easily adapt to any special requests, Gabby was incredibly responsive and helpful in getting all the logistics set up, and they were both just really easy to work with. Plus the fact that they will travel to you and make it so that you have no hair or makeup worries for the day was truly invaluable! I will miss working with them!!
  • J
    J.j. J. Married on 11/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    I loved them!

    Gabby was so wonderful responding to my emails and answering my questions. They were really nice and arrived on time and were very professional and very friendly. All the women were just really great and so talented. I could NOT be more happy with them and TOTALLY recommend them to anyone!
  • V
    Veronica Married on 08/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am not one to wear a lot of makeup or do more with my hair than a bun, but I decided for my wedding that it would be best if I had some professionals help me out. Gabby & Martha had gorgeous pictures online and great reviews so I decided to go with them. They are so nice and easy to work with. The trial was easy to schedule and went really well. They come to you on your wedding day, which was great, considering we had to start things early (8:30 am) to get my hair, my mom’s hair, and the bridesmaids done in time for the afternoon wedding. Martha and Ilda were fabulous. They are so sweet and funny and they really did an amazing job with my makeup and everyone’s hair. My hair and makeup looked even better than the trial. I actually want to start wearing more makeup now after looking at how amazing the wedding photos were. I would highly recommend them.
  • H
    Haley Married on 07/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gabby and Libby drove out to Luray, VA to do hair and makeup for me and my bridal party. They also did my hair and makeup trial a few weeks before my wedding. They were amazing. I felt put together and beautiful. I also felt like myself, despite being very done-up. Gabby, one of the owners of the business, responded within literal minutes each time I reached out to her (which was about a thousand times of having to reschedule). Gabby and Libby are easy-going, fun to be around, professional, and talented all at the same time. I will be honest, I was a little taken aback by the prices at first, but for the quality and experience, it was worth every penny, and honestly a discount considering the service I received.
  • J
    Jason Married on 06/16/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Just wanted to say thank you for providing a great service for our wedding! My wife loved her hair style and it stayed set throughout the whole day (even after hiking around for photos for 3 hours and then dancing).

    Cheers,

    Jason
  • M
    Michelle Married on 06/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gabby and Martha made me and girls look absolutely gorgeous! Everyone was over the moon about our looks. And I kept changing what I wanted w/ both hair and makeup even day-of, and they never batted an eye, just adjusted and moved forward. Never mind the fact that they are both so much fun to be around! I’m absolutely in love with working with these two fabulous ladies. Don’t hesitate to contact them!
  • A
    Alexandra Married on 11/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gabby and Martha, you are an amazing team! Your work is flawless, fresh and natural. Our hair and makeup for my daughter’s Quinceañera surpassed my expectations. Your work ethic, flexibility and tremendous talent is one to admire and beat. Over the years, I have come to realize that it is difficult to find #1 quality, #2 carisma and #3 professionalism...I am convinced you have all three. Thank you so much for making us look and feel like a $Million Bucks$.
    Karla Martinez
  • S
    Su Married on 10/25/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I was so happy with my make up and hair for my both bridal photoshoot. Gabby and Martha did a really good job. We had both sunrise photoshoot sections and they woke up super early in the morning and set up for everything and very professionally. It was so impressive. Thank you very much for your great job!
  • User3461394 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gabby and Martha were amazing from the very beginning until the end!!!! I had a trial with another makeup artist/hairstylist (not gabby or martha) a few months before my wedding and it was a disaster. About 30 minutes after the trial, my hairstyle started to completely fall apart, and I new I had to find someone new. I contacted Gabby and Martha after finding out they had done hair/makeup for a friend's wedding and the pictures were beautiful! Because I live on the west coast I couldn't do a trial until the week before my wedding, but I completely trusted them and they did not disappoint!!!! I ended up having a hair/makeup trial with Gabby and Martha a few days before my wedding and all I had to do was give them a simple description of what I wanted and they completely nailed it! It is incredible how they knew exactly what I was imagining in my head and made it come true with such ease. They made everything extremely simple and professional. They brought all of their equipment and even came to me for the trial, which was fantastic! They were easy to communicate with and sent very timely email responses to all of my (lots!) of questions. I was very nervous about having makeup, because I almost never wear makeup and I wanted it to look natural (many wedding pictures I look at it looks like the bride has WAY too much makeup and I didn't want that to happen). I couldn't have asked for them to do a better job, and they really listened to me and took direction (they weren't pushy about anything and when I said I did or didn't want anything, they listened). On the day of the wedding, my hairstyle and makeup lasted the entire night, and I was so thrilled and couldn't have been happier!! Thank you so much gabby and martha!!!!

    -Jamie
  • M
    Molly Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gabby and Martha Hair and Makeup was one of the BEST choices I made during my wedding planning process. Hair and makeup was a tough decision for me- I get very nervous about what goes on my face as I used to struggle with acne and have some scarring as a result. During my trial, Gabby and Libby listened to all of my concerns and my hopes and dreams for hair and makeup, and they made it a reality. My skin absolutely glowed, every makeup choice Libby made complimented my natural look and made it perfect. Gabby is an absolute miracle worker with hair. I have coarse, difficult hair, but she gave me the up-do of my dreams. My bridesmaids were so happy with their hair and makeup as well- they all looked so gorgeous. Gabby and Libby took the time to listen to what my mother, mother-in-law, and grandmother wanted for hair and makeup and did it perfectly. We got so many compliments about how beautiful everyone's hair and makeup was. Brides, you MUST MUST MUST book with Gabby and Martha. They are truly the experts who can make your bridal dreams a reality. This was simply one of the best decisions I made for my wedding day. Thank you for EVERYTHING, Gabby and Martha!
  • R
    Rachel Married on 09/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gabby and Martha (and their team) were so great!! First, Gabby is super responsive, which is always appreciated. Second, my fiance and I were having a brunch wedding (with me not realizing how long hair and makeup takes), and Gabby worked so hard with me to figure out how to we could get everyone ready in time *without* starting at 4 AM. Gabby also worked with me to figure out the location change, because we couldn't get into our venue until 7:30 AM, but we had to get started on the hair and makeup before that. (Gabby and Martha brought another stylist and an assistant to help keep things moving.)

    My parents came with me to my hair and makeup trial, and Gabby and Martha were so gracious and accommodating. Gabby even did some trial stuff on my mom while I was working with Martha on my makeup, which was so nice of them.

    The reason I chose Gabby and Martha was (a) the good reviews (obviously), and (b) because of the tight time schedule, I wanted people who were used to working together (as opposed to getting separate/standalone hair and makeup people). And post-wedding, I feel pretty vindicated. :-) (We did run a little behind schedule, but given the location change plus the cramped quarters at the venue, that was to be expected.)

    Most importantly, of course, I looked amazing, as did the other gals in the wedding party. ;-) I'm very happy that I chose Gabby and Martha!
  • M
    Martha Married on 07/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gabby and Martha did an absolutely amazing job on me and my bridesmaids at my wedding. My bridesmaids all wanted different looks, and Gabby and Martha made them all look amazing. I was nervous about wearing a lot of makeup, but I could barely tell I had it on and loved how I looked, and my hair got so many compliments! I could not have been happier!!
  • C
    C Married on 07/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gabby and Martha were incredibly professional, talented, and fun to be around! I, as the bride, enjoyed the process of first corresponding with them via email, meeting in person a few months prior to the wedding for the hair and makeup trial, and finally, having them work with me and my family on my wedding day. I felt at ease -- they truly love what they do. They worked with a small handful of women very close to me, including my mom, sister, and mother-in-law. All of us were beyond satisfied with the results. We highly recommend working with Gabby and Martha!