From the Hip Photo Reviews

29 | Aurora, CO
See photos, pricing and details

29 Reviews for From the Hip Photo

Recommended by 100%

29
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

14 User photos

From the Hip Photo 1
From the Hip Photo 2
From the Hip Photo 3
From the Hip Photo 4
From the Hip Photo 5
From the Hip Photo 6
From the Hip Photo 7
+ 8
Sort by:
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josie was wonderful! She was fun, stayed patient and captured some amazing shots. I highly recommend From the Hip!

    Sent on 10/11/2018
    From the Hip Photo 8
  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the first meeting, everyone at From The Hip was kind, friendly and easy to work with. On the big day, we unfortunately had a medical emergency that affected the timeline of events, but Josie our photographer was flexible and professional. She easily rearranged things so we still got all the photos we wanted, including a first look in front on an amazing Colorado sunset. I would recommend From The Hip to everyone I know!

    Sent on 09/09/2018
  • A

    Anahita · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My experience with Nina with From the Hip was exceptional. She did an outstanding job on our engagement photo shoot (I heard from a lot of people that our photos looked like a picture out of a magazine!); and an amazing job on our wedding up in the mountains even though we had some weather complications. I could not have asked for a better photographer. She was very detail oriented, and full of fun ideas to make our photos totally different than every other wedding photo! She went above and beyond what I had expected from my photographer. she even let us use her phone and offered to buy us food while we were stuck on top of the mountain due to lightning. We were a little hesitant since their pricing was higher than what we wanted to spend on our photography, but it was worth every penny and we were super super happy with the outcome! Many of our guests, including both my and my husband's family came up to me after the wedding and told us how good of a job Nina did at the wedding by being a ninja photographer and capturing every moment.
    I strongly recommend her to everyone and will definitely go back to her if I ever needed more professional photos taken for some reason.

    Sent on 08/24/2018
  • Erica

    Erica · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From The Hip is Phenomenal!

    LOVE the whole team at From the Hip! Reviewed 30 photographers webpages, narrowed them down to my top 15 for my fiancé to review and we both picked FTH as our favorite photog style! So, imagine how much sweeter life got for us when they not only were available to shoot our wedding photos but were incredibly professional and friendly during all our interactions with their staff. Josie was so patient, we cancelled our engagement shoot with her twice, both times the week of the shoot because of weather concerns. She could not have been more understanding and on the day our engagement shoot actually occurred and the weather still was not cooperating she could not have been more flexible when I decided on a new location an hour before the shoot was supposed to start. After spending that day with her, getting ready for the wedding with her in room was like sharing the chaos with one more girlfriend not just the wedding photographer. At the wedding Ashleigh and Josie made an incredible team. It was entertaining to watch them work, you can tell they love what they do. I could hear all the cameras clicking but both girls were like ninjas so their active presence didn’t distract from the ceremony or reception activities. And, they refused to leave our wedding without knowing we had gotten all the planned pictures we wanted, even when I was worried rounding up all of my cousins would take to long at the end of our session time and I wanted them to be able to go home and enjoy some well-deserved rest. Instead, Josie helped hunt down every one of my cousins at my wedding from my big family so we could get a group picture together and it is one of my family’s favorite memories from the day. If you want beautiful pictures from a professional company whose staff is friendly, passionate, and hardworking then choose From The Hip! I can’t wait for my next excuse to work with their team again!

    Sent on 10/31/2018
    From the Hip Photo 9
    From the Hip Photo 10
    From the Hip Photo 11
    From the Hip Photo 12
    From the Hip Photo 13
    From the Hip Photo 14
    From the Hip Photo 15
    From the Hip Photo 16
    From the Hip Photo 17
    From the Hip Photo 18
    From the Hip Photo 19
    From the Hip Photo 20
  • C

    Christina · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had Ashleigh and Nina photograph our wedding in the Highlands/Denver a couple weeks ago—we were just so thrilled with the experience and can’t wait to see our beautiful photos. They made us feel comfortable and confident, giving us cues and organizing our wedding party and family quickly and efficiently. They were cognizant of getting our desired shots taken while letting us get the most out of our big day! Everything went so quickly and I wish I could have been in all the places at once—but knowing we’ll have beautiful memories taken by the From The Hip team makes my heart happy.

    Sent on 06/16/2018
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 02/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about this team. We chatted with Danny before booking for our wedding and worked with Ashleigh for our engagement shoot and wedding photos. We got lucky with snow on our wedding day and you'd better believe Ashleigh was stomping around in knee-deep snow to line up the perfect shots. She's a ton of fun to work with, super professional, and she managed to keep us calm while our day ran 45 minutes late. All of our "must haves" and more were captured perfectly plus a ton of detail shots I didn't even know she captured. I still can't believe these magazine-worthy photos are of us!

    We highly recommend this fantastic team!!

    Sent on 03/18/2018
    From the Hip Photo 21
  • E

    Emma · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The BEST there is! From The Hip Photo brings professional to a new level. They are truly experts at what they do. Every moment captured speaks 1,000 words of beauty and joy. Exactly what we experienced on our wedding day, and now we have those moments captured in time to go back and relive over and over again. If you want memories that will last a life time, memories that will bring a smile to your face every time you see them, then From the Hip Photo is the right choice for you. No one else can compare to the level of integrity they put into their work. I am in love with each picture thank you so much From the Hip! XO

    Sent on 08/26/2017
  • D

    Dawn · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier with our wedding photos, all thanks to the From the Hip Photo team! They truly captured every special moment and person at our wedding so that we have keepsakes of our wedding day to cherish forever. I love the mix of candid, unique, artistic, and posed shots they were able to take throughout our day- the skill and creativity that went into every shot sets From the Hip apart from other wedding photographers. We also used them to take our engagement photos, and when some of our first shots weren't exactly perfect for us, they went above and beyond to meet our expectations. We loved working with the From the Hip team & would highly recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 07/23/2017
  • User5182125 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone we worked with was amazing! Ashleigh our lead photographer for the wedding was incredible! Their pictures always turn out amazing, with great color and sharp images!

    Sent on 06/26/2017
  • A

    Alex · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    SIMPLY THE BEST! We adore the entire From the Hip Photo "family"- everyone that works with this team is so incredibly sweet and professional from the photographers to the editing team. We worked with Kristin for our engagement photos and Danny was our photographer for our rehearsal dinner and wedding. We had so much fun working with both of them for all three days and our photos are absolutely GORGEOUS. Danny was honestly amazing at our wedding - nothing felt forced or too posed. He really just captured us naturally and was awesome at "finding the best light" and areas to take pictures (including him climbing through some thorny bushes to get a great shot!). In budget "priorities" the photographer was the most important vendor to me for our wedding and I could not have been happier that we went with FTH- they will be our go-to photographers for every big life event moving forward. Love this team!!

    Sent on 02/09/2017
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with From the HIp Photo. I worked specifically with Nina. She went above and beyond. She answered all my questions, made me feel comfortable and worked with everything I asked for.

    She took the time to help me think outside the box and really capture the important moments! The pictures are BEAUTIFUL!

    From the Hip Photo was very professional and fun to spend the day with. It was important to my Husband and I that we didn't spend all day taking pictures. They did a great job making sure we got all the important shots but being quick and efficient so we could spend more time with our guests at the reception.

    I give them a VERY high recommendation for the quality of work they do. The pictures are beautiful (and I haven't even received the second round of re-touched images yet). We got married downtown Denver and I wanted to capture a very urban feel and look which was accomplished.

    i HIGHLY recommend From the Hip Photo.

    -Kelly

    Sent on 11/15/2015
  • User4648976 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Danny and Nina were amazing! From the very start they were very easy to work with and the communication was great! They have a creative eye and their photos are just beautiful. It was so much fun working with them the day of our wedding. They got some amazing shots and were just a pleasure to be around and work with. I cant say enough good things about working with the crew at From the Hip! We highly recommend!!!

    Sent on 10/06/2015
  • L

    Lin · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding photos are beyond amazing! We love each and every photo. Nina took the time to look through sample photos that I loved so we could recreate exactly what I pictured and she took many others that were better than what I had envisioned. She captured everything from the little detail up to the large landscape of our Arrowhead venue. She has the talent and the eye and made us look good! For our engagement photos, we couldn't come to Colorado since we were living in Miami and crazily enough Danny was coming to Miami for another shoot and carved out some time for our engagement shoot. He was very flexible and pleasant to work with and our photos turned out great!

    When we showed friends and family our photos, they said it looks like a cover of a bridal magazine and we agree. We couldn't believe how well it all turned out. We are extremely glad we went with From the Hip to capture one of the most important days of our lives. We will have priceless beautiful memories that we will cherish forever.

    Sent on 06/02/2016
  • User6102856 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had so much fun shooting with From the hip for our wedding! The artistry and skills are by far THE best! Since our wedding three other couples we are friends with used From the Hip because they liked our photos so much. I would highly recommend using these guys!

    Sent on 12/29/2015
  • Elle

    LMeese · Married on 05/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    While we were conscious of cost in looking for vendors for our May 2015 wedding, one area where we knew we were not spending but INVESTING was in a photographer. We searched high and low for the perfect photographers and found them in FTHP!

    I am VERY detail oriented and was quite tedious in my questions. Nina was gracious, patient, and kind throughout the entire process. I did a boudoir shoot two days before my wedding and my husband LOVED the photos.

    Our wedding photos were perfect. We had oodles to choose from and they captured all of the "must have" photos we requested plus countless more. Our friends and families love the photos as well.

    Our wedding album is in the works and I have no doubt that it, too, will be wonderful.

    I highly recommend From the Hip Photo for ANY type of event that needs to be photographed.

    Sent on 09/30/2015
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys are totally unbelievable.
    They earn all the fabulous reviews that you see here - you will not find more responsive, friendly, and professional people. They treat you like friends and go above and beyond to make sure you felt like you were well cared-for!

    I used From The Hip for my pre-wedding boudoir shoot. It was fabulous. This is a very vulnerable sort of scenario, but Danny made me very comfortable and made it much more enjoyable than I would have imagined. And the pictures are KILLER! They are awesome to work with and you will love your photos.
    Five stars for sure!
    Thanks guys - Rebecca

    Sent on 07/20/2014
  • J

    Jean · Married on 03/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Danny, Nina, and Jessica were all fantastic. We did our engagement shots with Nina and we are not comfortable and she made it fun and the pictures were amazing. When the wedding day came we had nothing to worry about! The proofs are beautiful and I couldn't be happier! Can't wait to work with this team again for future shots!

    Sent on 03/27/2014
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 11/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous photos and such wonderful people! My husband and I fell in love with Nina and Danny's photojournalism approach and were instantly impressed by their complete transparency in regards to wedding package pricing and investment. They were always responsive and were incredibly flexible when it came to scheduling engagement shoots and wedding timelines.

    We actually just received our wedding day proofs and are absolutely thrilled by the details, the lighting and the overall amazingness of the images. They truly let us relive the day through their work. We can't thank them enough.

    Sent on 12/06/2013
  • K

    Kirsten · event on 11/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I searched and searched for a Colorado photographer that would meet our expectations for our engagement photos and wedding photos. I wanted someone who made our wishes their priority and created work that reflected us. I didn't want engagement photos that looked "typical".

    From the Hip Photo is exactly what we were looking for in a photographer and so much more. This locally owned and operated company offers educated photographers with background knowledge, experience, and a customer service element that can NOT be matched. I was originally impressed with their many images reflecting individual style, originality, and personality of the subjects that shine through in every picture. Above all else, the most important element to any service provider is the customer service, and From the Hip blew the competition out of the water! The business owners were also our photographers and they went above and beyond to ensure they knew exactly what we were looking for, ensured that we were comfortable and having fun, and produced a product that was EXACTLY what we wanted. They made it very clear that the most important thing was producing a product that we loved. Their communication is consistent and delightful, they were extremely reliable and flexible (we had to reschedule due to weather and they made the very next weekend work for us on super short notice!), awesome follow up, and their turn around time was so fast! Best of all, there were SO many QUALITY images to choose from the hardest part was determining which amazing images we liked best (even though you get to keep them all)!

    My fiancé and I now have beautiful images that are reflections of us, our relationship, and our lives together. Choosing From the Hip Photo was the easiest decision of our wedding vendor selections!

    Sent on 12/31/2013
  • S

    Sara · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the Hip were everything we could have hoped for from a wedding photographer. Danny and Nina were super easy to work with, and they captured every moment of our big day. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone looking for a photographer for their wedding or for any other purpose.

    Sent on 12/31/2013
  • T

    Talia · Married on 06/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank goodness for From the Hip Photo! We could not be happier with our entire experience working with From the Hip Photo for our wedding in June, 2013. From our first contact to today, From the Hip has been extraordinarily responsive, supportive, positive, creative, and flexible. The process leading up to the wedding day was very smooth, and From the Hip set this nervous bride at ease about the timing of everything while also providing great suggestions for other vendors. We had unique timing for the wedding day itself, and Danny was 100% ready to work with that and provide friendly suggestions about how to maximize photography while also flexing around the schedule. During our glorious wedding day, Danny was beyond sweet and positive, and he was able to expertly capture so many of the most important moments without being "in our faces" or being overly directive. And our photos turned out GORGEOUS!!! We get so many compliments on our wedding photos and wedding album! We will always cherish these photos as mementos of our most beautiful day, and we are deeply grateful to From the Hip Photo for their amazing work and even more amazing spirit!

    Sent on 12/31/2013
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best photographers out there, period. I did a slew of research for a good photographer because it was a high priority for us, so we were willing to spend a big chunk of our budget on the right one. We wanted someone who was creative, fun and wasn't typical. We wanted candid with neat lighting and someone who thought outside of the box and caught nuanced little moments along with artsy, out-of-a-magazine type of shots.

    Danny and Jess (the second photographer) delivered above and beyond what we imagined. First off, their personalities are infectious and really put you at ease -- something that's INCREDIBLY imperative on the day off. Second, they really listened to what we wanted; from the get go Danny took notes on the type of style and vibe we were going for and to have a wedding vendor that listens and knows it's about the couple and not them is so rare. This is exactly what we got from From the Hip. We got married on top of a mountain overlooking the Continental Divide and so we wanted some shots in the Aspen trees, jumping photos, unique looks that would compliment the scenery. Jess and Danny were so game for it all, trudging through the woods with us to find random on tractors and fences to shoot in front of. And they were superb on suggesting poses or places and collaborating with us. These were some of my absolute favorite moments from the day.

    And then there was the awesome "live" photo booth at the reception. Danny had a projector that showed each photo immediately, and guests loved dancing and watching photos being taken and gawking at how silly they were right after the shot was taken. It was amazing instant gratification that people said was even better than getting the print-out strip.

    Bottom line, Danny and Jess made our day so amazing and we have incredible memories and photos because of them. I promise you won't be disappointed!!

    Sent on 10/15/2012
  • User3112621 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I posted this on Yelp but felt like I should post here as well:

    For our wedding we set aside a generous amount for the photographs as we wanted to make sure that the events of the day were captured in a great mix of candid and staged shots. We had the unique opportunity to have both Danny and Nina as our photographers for our engagement/wedding package. Their rare artistic eye was able to capture many special moments throughout both of our sessions. It was clear to us, just by seeing their previous work their natural talent for capturing those special moments that only happen once. Of the numerous photos taken we had a difficult time narrowing down our selection as they all met our expectations.

    Thanks Danny and Nina for capturing our memories!

    Sent on 03/05/2013
  • A

    A. · Married on 07/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In a word...PERFECT! Thanks Danny and Nina for making my day so special!

    Sent on 06/09/2013
  • User2511638 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Danny was such a pleasure to work with. We immediately felt comfortable with him as our photographer. He took a ton of photos but you never really realized he was there. I highly recommend working with From the Hip Photo.

    Sent on 06/28/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review