Skip to main content
Weddings

Freedom Run Winery Reviews

Freedom Run Winery

Freedom Run Winery

Lockport, NY
4.1 out of 5 rating, 8 Reviews
View more information

8 Reviews

Rated
4.1
out of 5.0
Recommended by 81% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    3.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.1 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.1 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 8

2 User photos

  • M
    Mary J. Married on 07/31/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    7/31/22 wedding reception

    We just went to a wedding 7/31/22 for our neighbors son and daughter in law. They had over 200 guest with a tent and it was 1 of the most beautiful settings I have ever seen. You would have thought you were in the wine country in CA not 30 minutes from home in WNY absolutely exceptional location.
  • Nicolle
    Nicolle A. Married on 09/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply the Best

    This was hands down the best decision we made for our wedding. The fact that they do one wedding a weekend took so much stress away knowing that we weren't "competing" with other events for time and service. The country house was the best for getting ready and hanging out with my girls before hand not to mention the photos turned out amazing! Our ceremony was in the barn which is stunning with the most minimal decorations. Matt and his staff were so accommodating and showed me multiple set ups for our day. Our reception was in the winery/barrel room. Again I had minimal decorations, who needs them when your backdrop is wine barrels?! When we got back from taking photos in the vineyard/apple orchard we arrived to guests playing lawn games and enjoying the outdoor space and all the wonderful wines, what a great transition! We had space for everyone to dance, relax, hang out at the bar without being terribly spread out but also not being cramped. I have lost count of the number of compliments we received about the venue and the staff. I wish I could get married again just to work this group again!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Susan Married on 08/13/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding reception here this past summer in the barn. It was absolutely perfect. The barn and grounds were so gorgeous and a fun alternative to a large ballroom type reception. Anita is the easiest person to work with! She truly cares about her brides and will do what she needs to so your day will be perfect. My family also rented out the Manor House for the night before and night of the wedding. What a cool place! So beautifully decorated and well maintained. (Plus the wine is great too!) Would highly recommend this location for any couple! Fair price for what you get too compared to other locations we visited!
  • User1857323 2+ years ago
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    This venue has amazing views. My husband and I were looking for a venue that was not just a ballroom in a hotel and somewhere we haven't been several times already for weddings. This venue was perfect for us. It is a little pricey, but worth it. The bartenders were wonderful, very friendly and attentive. Anita (coordinator) was very friendly and always willing to research and follow up when she didn't have an answer. Evan (the other coordinator) was amazing, a ray of sunshine and willing to work to make you as happy as possible. I'm sad the wedding is over so I don't get to bug these two anymore! It does take a more 'hands on' person as you either have to hire a decorator or decorate yourself prior but it doesn't take much to make the place look amazing either in the barn or in the winery. Also, you have to work with both this vendor and a caterer, but it does open up more possibilities on food options to make your wedding exactly what you want and as expensive as you want. I am very happy I went with Freedom Run for my wedding, it was a perfect day.
  • A
    Anne Married on 08/31/2014
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The venue was beautiful and unique. We loved it and all of our guests loved it. The only issue I had with them was resolved. There were some communication issues and the same questions were asked of me and answered multiple times, but the non-responsive party actually left there for another job. The bartenders were fantastic, the wine is delicious and the options for your wedding are endless.
  • Courtney
    Courtney Married on 10/26/2019
    1.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue, horrible management

    I cannot even begin to document all of the occasions the management of this venue left me frustrated, crying and unhappy. At the end of the day, my wedding was AMAZING and everything I wanted, but only because I hired wonderful outside vendors including a day of planner, and worked by behind off for the last year. There were so many things promised that were went back on (upon booking, we were told there were long tables we could use. At another meeting, we were told that wasn't the case - there weren't enough and i'd have to rent them. Then another meeting - surprise! - there was - after we spent $$$ to rent elsewhere). The venue did not provide water service or water glasses, despite being the alcohol/beverage provider (the caterer had to? and I had to buy all the water glasses?) and despite agreeing to spend over $600 to have wine on the tables for dinner, they didn't provide wine glasses (they're a winery?!). So many things seemed like a possibility, but never came to fruition. The venue itself is truly beautiful. The winery is great, the barn can be stunning and view is out of this world. It is a beautiful place for a wedding, but if you choose this venue, be prepared for what you're signing up for. The wait staff the day of was actually really great (shoutout to bartender Jenny!!) but we also overheard staff while in the bathroom that they had no idea they had to work a wedding that night and were frustrated. I loved the fact that there is only one wedding a weekend, but quickly learned that's because we'd need time to do everything. When we came into the barn on Friday to get ready, it wasn't clean. My family personally cleaned every single chair off, swept the floor, cleaned the bathroom, and climbed up a ladder to replace a burnt out light bulb. Disappointing for the price we paid.

    Freedom Run Winery's reply:

    We are sorry to hear that Courtney was less than 100% happy, but were delighted to hear that at the end of the day, her wedding was, in her own words, "AMAZING and everything that she wanted”.  We understand that tensions can run high leading up to a successful completion of that special day, but at the end of the day Courtney & Konor's wedding was amazing because of the team work that went into making it so. That includes the management of Freedom Run Winery, and the hard working professionals which make up our Team, including the on-site caterer - Ava’s Table at the Vineyard. Of course there are countless hours that every Bride puts in, to ensure that her dream wedding comes to fruition as she imagines it.   We always hope that what we do is appreciated, and for the most part, our 5 star reviews give us validation. Of course we can’t please everyone, but were surprised at being given such a low rating.  We wish that we had been given the opportunity before reading it in a review on Wedding Wire, to respond to the Bride's comments, as quite often little concerns grow if not discussed.

    Freedom Run Winery has been owned and operated by the Manning Family since 2005 as a working winery offering a rustic authentic experience. We pride ourselves at focusing on every detail of our business, from producing award winning wine, to being the venue of choice for many weddings and special events. We even have an on-site caterer who creates delicious food, and offers accommodation in the Vineyard Manor House located on the grounds. There were three members of the Manning Family and a full Team of Professionals onsite for this wedding and we can assure you that every detail was seem-less from our prospective.

    Courtney & Konor got married under a draped wooden arbor that was provided by the Father of the Groom, who set it up on the great lawn overlooking our manicured vineyards. After the ceremony, guests proceeded into our elegant Tasting Room which features a pair of granite topped bars, fronted with colorful 'blown glass’ disks, a floating maple ceiling, and bamboo flooring, for a cocktail hour where hors’d oeuvres were passed, and guests enjoyed plenty of wine, craft beer and top shelf cocktails. While waiting for the Bride & Groom to make their entrance, guests also partook in a delicious selection from a charcuterie table set up in our Barrel Room by on-site caterer, Ava’s Table at the Vineyard. Guests entered through  glass doors that are set into a wall of glass, into a double height room lined with barrels, steel tanks, and original art, which is visible from the Tasting Room.

    The Wedding Party and guests then proceeded to our Rustic Barn, for the Wedding Dinner and Dancing. Even though our Barn was built in 1826, it has been preserved yet modernized with ladies & gents bathrooms, a large deck, and is perfect for Wedding Celebrations.  We pride ourselves in holding only one wedding per weekend, and provide access for the Bridal Party to decorate the Barn in any style they desire 'the day before' the wedding.  Courtney & Konor's family and friend’s did a great job of creating a beautiful interior decor with wooden farmers tables, and draped lace and strung lighting from the rafters...and they even swept up after themselves, which is always appreciated. Our policy is to clean the Barn thoroughly on 'the day of' the wedding to ensure that everything is perfect, as the Bridal Party, family and friends often go in and out of the Barn leading up to the nuptials.

    We feel that we go above and beyond, and even at the end of the night when the caterers are the last people in the Barn, they personally packaged and hand delivered all the extra food to the refrigerator in the Vineyard Manor House, where the Bridal Party stayed, so that they could enjoy a nibble after all their guests went home.

    In any case we wish the Bride and Groom our sincerest regret if we were not able to be the cherry on their cake. We hope that other Bride and Groom's will give us the opportunity to show them our many years of great reviews, and check us out for themselves.

    For prospective, all of our elegant venues can be viewed in the galleries at: https://www.freedomrunwinery.com/weddings-and-events
    The Vineyard Manor House offers 3 guest bedrooms for overnight stays and can be viewed at: https://www.freedomrunwinery.com/accommodation
  • S
    Sally Married on 09/02/2017
    1.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    They let their awedding Planner go and they are not honoring anything she agreed to. Very unprofessional.

    Freedom Run Winery's reply:

    Good Morning Sally, We are very sorry to hear that you feel that way. Our Event Team at Freedom Run Winery is more than the lump sum of one person. We gave a chance to an independent contractor to book weddings at our winery, much like you are as a party planner for your clients, but unfortunately, she did not work out. If she offered her personal party planning services, that is something that you could take up with her. The Manning Family stands by our word, and has been in business for over 14 years, offering the most beautiful venues, at a working winery, with our tasting and barrel rooms, rustic barn and manor house. Our reviews speak for themselves, and I am sorry that you were not 100%. Please contact me personally, to address any further specific concerns.

    Respectfully,
    Laura Manning
    CFO, Freedom Run Winery
    Laura.frw@gmail.com