33 Reviews for Fontainebleau Inn

4.7
out of 5.0
User Photos
todo alt text
todo alt text
todo alt text
+22
Photos
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Chairs (14)
Tables (14)
Tents (14)
Accommodations (13)
Set Up (13)
Bartender(s) (13)
Liquor License (13)
Barware (13)
Bridal Suite (12)
Open Bar (12)
Premium Liquor (12)
Specialty Beer (12)
Champagne Toast (11)
Specialty Wine (11)
Indoor (9)
Clean Up (9)
Dance Floor (9)
Event Planning (8)
Event Rentals (7)
Signature Drink (6)
Audio Equipment (6)
Glassware (6)
Wheelchair Access (6)
Uncovered Outdoor (5)
In-House Bar (5)
Liability Insurance (5)
Wireless Internet (5)
Covered Outdoor (4)
Parking (4)
Furniture (3)
Outside Vendors (2)
House Beer (2)
House Liquor (2)
Scenic Views (1)
Buffet (1)
Cocktail Reception (1)
Server(s) (1)
House Wine (1)
Decor (1)
China (1)
Flatware (1)
Linens (1)
33 Fontainebleau Inn Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

The Fontainebleau is the perfect place for a mid-size wedding in the Finger Lakes. Terri and John are super easy to work with, are highly responsive both leading up to the wedding and during the event, and are incredibly kind and accommodating. They are pros at what they do. Highly recommended for the value and quality of service.

Profile Picture Paloma, 8/25/18, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I got married at Fontainebleau Inn on 8/18/18. The wedding and the whole weekend there was just beautiful and perfect. Terri was super helpful through the whole planning process. She responded to emails within a day or two and was very accommodating to everything we wanted. We stayed at the inn Friday and Saturday night with our parents and siblings. Breakfast both mornings was delicious and it was so relaxing and nice to just be there with family. We had our rehearsal dinner on the patio Friday night and Terri and John were cool with letting us do what we wanted with that. We had Moe's and Ben and Jerry's cater and it turned out really nice. The kids loved it and had so much fun playing in the yard (rolling down the hill) the whole night. Our ceremony Saturday was down by the lake and it was so beautiful. Terri and John were helpful to us and our vendors throughout the day. We had 160 guests and it was a little tight, but with some tables set up outside it worked out fine. We had few complaints. The ceremony chairs were picked up and loaded onto a trailer immediately after our ceremony while we were still taking pictures down there, which was a little awkward. Also, they were pretty strict later in the night- definitely no shots served, they asked people not to chug drinks, and they asked our DJ to turn the bass down at like 9:00. We were respectful and so were they, so we did not have any issues and still had a super fun night. All in all we had such an amazing weekend! We spent a lot of money, but I think it was worth it. The price I listed included rehearsal dinner fees, all the inn rooms for the weekend, ceremony chairs, the portable amp system for the ceremony, the rental of the venue itself, having 1/2 the sides up on the patio (it rained Friday night), and all the alcohol costs for an open bar.

Profile Picture Amelia , 8/18/18, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

After deciding to get married in the beautiful Finger Lakes region, my fiancé and I visited quite a few wedding venues in the area. Even in the middle of winter, when imagination was required, the Fontainebleau, a magical inn on Cayuta Lake, stood out. Throughout the year of planning we worked closely with Terri by email. She was always quick to respond and very organized and helpful. She provided vendor suggestions, as well as layout options for the reception room, alcohol options, timeline templates, etc.

We were lucky to stay at the inn with our families from Friday to Monday over our wedding weekend in June of 2018. John and Terri are fantastic hosts. They were so relaxed the entire time. They offered help when needed but otherwise gave us the freedom to enjoy the beautiful property as we wished. Terri's wonderful, hearty breakfasts for those of us staying at the inn were also superb.

We held a rehearsal BBQ dinner on Friday night on the inn’s patio and the wedding itself on Saturday afternoon. The inn and the grounds were immaculate; all of our guests couldn’t get over the stunning location. The day after the wedding we relaxed at the water’s edge and swam in the lake, reminiscing about the joy and fun felt at the wedding.

On the wedding day itself, Terri and John ran the event seamlessly. They are true professionals. We didn’t have to worry about a single thing. We utilized the salon room to get ready, the lawn for the ceremony, the stone patio for dancing and cocktail hour, and the elegant reception room for speeches and dinner. Terri listened to all of my ideas and requests and executed them perfectly, like serving perfect margaritas and mojitos on specific trays I brought. It was such a pleasure working with Terri and John from beginning to end. They are kind, supportive, and thoughtful individuals. We were truly sad to leave after such a magical few days but will cherish the memories of this incredible event for the rest of our lives.

Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review - Inn
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review - Property
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review - Salon room
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review - Patio
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review - Grounds
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review - Interior
+4
Photos
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review - Beautiful!
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review - Terri's breakfast at inn
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review - Ceremony spot
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review - What a magical wedding
Profile Picture Solara, 6/16/18, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Accommodations, In-House Bar, Clean Up, Event Planning, Event Rentals, Bridal Suite, Liability Insurance, Set Up, Wireless Internet, Audio Equipment, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables, Tents, Parking, Barware, Glassware
5.0

We have just had our son’s wedding at the Fontainebleau Inn. It is a very beautiful place with a stunning lake view. The whole inn setting and the inside decoration are very elegant. The place is well renovated and still has it’s own character and charm. The owners Terri and John were extremely helpful. Terri responded timely to all our emails and questions. They run the place so well. They took care of every small detail before, during, and after the event. Their staff is amazing. We had a wonderful time. We did not need to worry about anything there, everything was taken care of. We had guests from all over the country and from Europe, and everyone was very happy and gave us a lot of compliments on the venue and the reception. We are very happy with the choice we made.

Profile Picture Irina, 6/3/18, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Barware, Glassware, Chairs, Tables, Tents, Parking, Wheelchair Access, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Signature Drink, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Accommodations, In-House Bar, Clean Up, Event Planning, Event Rentals, Bridal Suite, Liability Insurance, Outside Vendors, Set Up, Wireless Internet
5.0

We had heard good things about the Fontainebleau, and even though we knew we wanted to have our wedding ceremony at Cornell, it was 100% worth it to shuttle our guests there afterwards for our reception. The inn is absolutely gorgeous, both inside and out. Even though we had a little bit of rain, having the patio tent made sure that the party kept going, and we got a lot of compliments from the guests. Terri was great to work with, sending very detailed instructions as to what would be required and when in terms of planning, and also helping us with some decisions about the bar and table layouts. At the reception, all the staff were great and everything went totally smoothly. The rooms at the inn itself were also quite nice, and breakfast the next morning was delicious (loved the mini-quiches!). Overall it was a wonderful experience, and we recommend it wholeheartedly!

Profile Picture Sasha, 6/3/18, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We recently had our wedding at the Fontainebleau Inn and could not have imagined a better experience. Not only is the scenery amazing, the innkeepers, Terri and John, are a dream to work with! They provided us suggested vendors, were responsive to all our questions, and clearly know how to handle all the big and little things associated with a wedding. As part of the venue wedding package, we had all the bed and breakfast rooms in the inn for both Friday and Saturday night--the rooms are BEAUTIFUL and so comfortable and it was nice to not feel rushed to get to and from the venue because we were staying right there! Terri and John even made us delicious breakfast both mornings! They have a great salon room so brides and bridesmaids can have hair and makeup people come in and get them ready right on site. The dance floor is a tent covered patio so even if there was bad weather (which we were lucky not to have), you really don't need a backup plan. We had our ceremony at the Lawrence Chapel in the woods next door and most guests walked on the wooded path, but we also rented a golf cart to escort older folks and the bridal party. It could not have been an easier experience! I really cannot think of one bad thing about using Fontainebleau Inn for our wedding, other than the sometimes spotty cellphone coverage, but the wifi is great so it was no problem. It was perfect! Thank you John and Terri for all your hard work!

Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review - View from Master Suite bed and breakfast room
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review - Salon room for getting ready
Profile Picture Molly, 6/2/18, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Signature Drink, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Accommodations, In-House Bar, Clean Up, Bridal Suite, Liability Insurance, Outside Vendors, Set Up, Wireless Internet, Indoor, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables, Tents
5.0

My fiancé and I got married at the Fontainebleau Inn last weekend, and we cannot recommend this venue enough! John and Terri were very responsive from the beginning, gave great advice as to what works best, while also letting us create the wedding of our dreams there. The grounds are beautiful, and we got so many great photos in the driveway, in the field, and down at the dock (my fav!). The banquet hall where we had dinner was just what I had envisioned, and the dance floor outside worked great. I had been slightly worried that the patio flooring would be a problem for people, but this was not the case. Everyone danced all night long! Our families stayed the night at the Inn and couldn't get over how nice the rooms were, and how convenient everything was. We are SO happy we chose the Inn for our wedding and can't recommend it enough!

Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review
+4
Photos
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review
Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review
Profile Picture Abigail, 10/15/17, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Barware, Parking, Wheelchair Access, Audio Equipment, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables, Tents, Accommodations, In-House Bar, Clean Up, Bridal Suite, Set Up, Wireless Internet, Uncovered Outdoor, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
5.0

Our family could not have asked for a more beautiful place to have our daughter’s wedding. The Inn is beautiful, the grounds are amazing and the owners are such a pleasure. The whole wedding party stayed the weekend and were truly treated exceptional. We have been blessed with an amazing memory. Would highly recommend this beautiful venue.

Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review
Profile Picture Linda, 10/7/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
1.8

My husband and I recently had our wedding at the Fontainebleau Inn. We would not select this venue again and would not recommend it to others. We were promised experienced wedding planning and frankly, we did not receive it. We were emailed a 10-page questionnaire where we planned every detail of our own wedding. The questionnaire included numerous questions that many other venues would have handled in a phone call or in person, especially if the venue was advertising experienced wedding planning. The venue has a specific list of caterers that are “acceptable,” which you are required to pick from, all of which are extremely overpriced. The owners, John and Terri can be extremely abrasive and come off as rude. All of our guests expressed feeling uncomfortable in their presence. She and John helped themselves to full plates of food the night of our wedding, which we paid our caterer for. They snuck the plates back to their portion of the inn, being caught by our caterer. Both Terri and John were openly rude to our caterer in front of our guests and my parents, making our caterer feel vastly uncomfortable. After the last guest went through the buffet line, John and Terri demanded that the caterer clean all of the food up, not allowing our guests to get seconds of anything from the buffet. We negotiated with the Fontainebleau that our reception would end at 10:00PM. At 9:40PM John made the call to the staff to begin breaking down tables, collecting centerpieces, and taking linens off from the tables. By 10:00PM there was not a table in the reception room that was usable. We genuinely felt that we were an inconvenience to John and Terri. No discussion with them was pleasant or kind. We felt their disgust with us and the stress from them continued to climb right up until the day of the wedding. The Fontainebleau is an amazingly beautiful venue. The inn itself, the property, the lake, everything is beautiful, however, the owners ruin the experience.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Samantha, 9/9/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We were married in July 2017 at the Fontainebleau Inn in Alpine, New York. Honestly, words cannot fully express how much we loved our wedding at the Fontainebleau, however since this a review, we’ll do our best! :)

First and most importantly, John and Terri were incredibly helpful, friendly and supportive. They helped us with planning and coordination prior to the wedding and then made sure the day of our wedding was absolutely spectacular. On top of that, the Fontainebleau is stunning! The lake is the perfect site for an outdoor wedding and the hall with its beautiful wood paneling and fireplace was perfect for our reception. In addition, our wedding party and family stayed at the Fontainebleau, which allowed us extra time to plan, hang out and just relax. We also have to mention the delicious homemade breakfasts Terri made every morning that were simply amazing! I would highly recommend the Fontainebleau to anyone planning a wedding!

Photo for Fontainebleau Inn Review
Profile Picture Melissa, 7/23/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6

Gorgeous venue and so happy we had our wedding there. Pricey, and you have to buy alcohol. Also, limited options for caterers, etc. The owners are very specific about how things are done, but we couldn't have been happier with how it all turned out !

Profile Picture Ronnie and Ben, 7/16/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6

Terri and John were fabulous to work with. We were planning the wedding from a few states away without a wedding planner and they helped to make the process easy and stress free. Terri was very responsive and helped to keep me organized of what things I needed to do (and when).

The location itself was fabulous. Our family from out of town stayed in the inn with us, but there was plenty of space to prevent it from feeling too crowded. The Bridal Suite and getting ready room was AMAZING. I can't say enough about the beautiful space John & Terri have put together. We ended up having a rainy weekend for our wedding and although I was disappointed at first, there were so many gorgeous parts of the Inn for photos and beautiful landscaping that we could capture from the oversized porch (safely out of the rain!).

The only negative would be that there was no discount for the bridal suite when you booked the venue (since we were paying a significant amount of the venue and bar to Fontainebleau, a discount on our room for at least the wedding night would have been welcome).

Profile Picture Laura, 5/6/17, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Chairs, Tables, Tents, Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Event Rentals, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Signature Drink, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Barware
5.0

The Fontainebleau Inn provided my husband and I with a wedding that we couldn't have dreamed of. Our wedding, as every couple always wishes, was truly the best night of our lives. From the day we stepped foot on the property and met John and Terri, we knew that everything about the venue was a perfect fit. John and Terri were patient, organized, supportive, professional, and informative throughout the entire planning process. They gave us fantastic suggestions for various venders which saved us a great deal of researching (since we are located about 2 hours away). They coordinated with our caterer, photographer, band, baker, and bus service so that everyone was informed on the schedule of the day. Throughout our wedding evening, they were there to make sure that everything was going as smoothly as it possibly could. What's unique about the Inn, is that there are rooms to stay right at the location. The rooms are spacious, with a beautiful view (lake and courtyard) and included everything (possibly more) than what you would get at a hotel (hairspray, combs, body wash, hair shampoo & conditioner, etc.). Terri and John know exactly how to welcome an engaged couple and their families during this exciting time. Upon asking our family members what they enjoyed most about their stay, they overwhelmingly agreed on the home cooked family breakfast in the large dining room. Saturday and Sunday morning, our families were provided the opportunity to enjoy a delicious, filling breakfast while having time to enjoy each other's company. A wedding weekend can be so busy and at times chaotic, so to have that time to all be gathered at the table, was irreplaceable. If you're looking for a wedding venue that treats your family, the engaged couple, and your guests like family, yet maintains the utmost level of professionalism, this is the venue for you and your significant other.

Profile Picture Bridget, 10/8/16, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We couldn’t have been happier with the Fontainebleau Inn. We had our wedding at the Inn on a Sunday in June 2017. Despite the hectic weekend for Terri and John (they had a wedding the day prior), they were calm and had everything ready to go when we arrived early Sunday afternoon. The Inn was spotless and the grounds were absolutely breathtaking. We needed very few decorations because the Inn and gardens are just so beautiful. All of our guests could not stop talking about how beautiful the venue was and how wonderful of a time they had.

I can’t compliment Terri and John enough on how attentive they were throughout the entire process. They reached out to us throughout the year numerous times, to provide guidance and help us along with the planning process. On the day of the event, 30 minutes before the ceremony, they even quickly changed their plans and moved the entire setup of our ceremony from the top of the hill (under the tent) to the bottom of the hill, when miraculously the rain stopped! Wow – we were so impressed with their knowledge (they have weddings down to a science!), taste, and professionalism. We asked them for a few suggestions and they were spot-on with every single one (decorations, timing, flowers) – helping us to achieve the gorgeous (on a budget) wedding that we’ve always dreamed of.

In addition, we loved staying at the Inn. The rooms were spotless and the beds were so comfortable. It was so nice to just walk upstairs to our rooms after the wedding! We were so happy that we stayed an additional night with our families as well. It was so wonderful to have an extra day to enjoy the beauty of the Fontainebleau as well as the delicious breakfast that Terri cooks up in the morning!

Profile Picture User7314892, 1+ year ago, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Accommodations, In-House Bar, Clean Up, Event Planning, Event Rentals, Bridal Suite, Liability Insurance, Set Up, Wireless Internet, Barware, Glassware, Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Scenic Views, Uncovered Outdoor, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Parking, Audio Equipment, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables, Tents
5.0

Go for a visit. Meet Terri & John. Soak up the grounds, the house, the view, the love Terri & John have for their home. We knew as soon as we drove down the driveway that this was the place for us. It felt like home.

Profile Picture ELIZA, 10/1/16, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables, Tents, Buffet, Accommodations, Set Up, Wheelchair Access, Barware
3.8

As soon I we saw the Fontainebleau, we knew it was the place that we wanted to get married. The venue provided the perfect setting for the style of wedding we were hoping to have (i.e. vintage charm). The Inn and grounds are absolutely beautiful, and the owners take great care in keeping up the grounds and the decor inside. Throughout all of the planning, I always felt that minimal decorations were needed just because of the natural beauty of the site.

The greatest hurdle I had with this venue was the lack of flexibility during the planning process. I often felt as if my ideas for the way I wanted things set up or the way I wanted things to go were shut down. We were also hoping to have a good selection of local wines and beers for the reception. Unfortunately, for someone familiar with the FLX area, the local wines and beers offered are poor. We were quoted extremely unreasonable prices were the "special order" wines we wanted to get that were not on the list. We ended up not getting the wines due to cost. I understanding that a certain amount of upcharge comes with any venue, but paying more than double for what a case normally costs was not something we were willing to do.

With that said, I must say that everything really went off smoothly the day of the wedding. Despite any difficulties we had during the planning process, the execution went well, and we truly enjoyed our big day. We also received lots of wonderful feedback from our guests.

Our guests that stayed at the Inn during the week loved their time there. We also spent our wedding night at the Inn, which was very convenient and a wonderful place to start off married life. The breakfasts provided in the mornings were wonderful as well.

All in all, we would highly recommend this venue to prospective couples. We loved the way our big day turned out!

Profile Picture Adrienne, 8/13/16, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Event Planning, Event Rentals, Set Up, Audio Equipment, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables, Tents, Barware
5.0

The Fontainebleau Inn was the perfect setting for our wedding. The grounds are beautiful, and the Inn has a gorgeous old-fashioned charm. Our guests were so happy to be there, and after our amazing weekend there, we are left with incredible memories and stunning photos of the Inn and lake.

Beyond that, John and Terri Van Soest at the Fontainebleau Inn are a wedding dream come true. We truly cannot say enough about how incredible they are to work with. They are so experienced, kind and truly helped organize our wedding day in a way that made it perfect. They think of everything, and take true pride in their property. They’ve also invested in many wedding extras (chairs, upgraded facilities) that you’d otherwise have to provide at many venues. We loved the ownership they took in our experience. For example, calling our shuttle drivers to specifically explain directions to their home, answering our phone calls or emails whenever we had an idea about an element we wanted to add to our day, or recommending their favorites from vendors to beers! They truly become the backbone of the entire experience.

If you are looking for a Finger Lakes wedding, seriously consider talking to John and Terri about the Fontainebleau Inn. You will not be disappointed!

Profile Picture Katelyn, 7/23/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Barware, Wheelchair Access, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, Liquor License, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Event Planning, Set Up, Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables, Tents
4.8

Our wedding was the most perfect day of my life, and I have no doubt that a huge factor in that perfection was the amazing Fontainebleau Inn. The moment we toured the venue we fell in love, and when we came back to stay I was even more blown away as I took the time to truly absorb the details and surroundings of the Inn. It was amazing having the Inn to ourselves and our wedding party for two nights. We had the rehearsal dinner at the Inn our first night, and we really felt like we were able to make the most of our time there. Swimming in the lake, campfire on the beach, bucolic strolls through gorgeous landscapes, and games in what we nicknamed the “scotch room” (look for the cool leather chairs). It was so exceptionally beautiful and relaxing, and if possible the day of our wedding was even better. Having the ceremony on the grounds by the lake was beautiful, and the dining area is nothing short of exceptional. All of our guests were in awe of the venue. The Inn’s bedrooms are amazing, keeping in line with the historic charm but with all the modern conveniences. It’s obvious the care that John and Terri have for this place (as we could tell the morning after the wedding, seeing staff dusting the decorative plates on the wall and handwiping down the staircases). John and Terri were amazing at helping us plan and execute our wedding without a hitch - and the breakfasts each morning were spectacular. Thank you all so much - it was truly an amazing few days that we will always cherish!

Profile Picture Rachel, 6/30/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Fontainebleau Inn is the first and only venue we looked at for our wedding. Walking through the doors of the Inn we were immediately in love with the charm of the Inn and the location right on Cayuta Lake. John and Terri were great to work with for our June wedding in the Finger Lakes. The Inn itself is beyond beautiful and restored to its original glory. We were married at the Lawrence Chapel which is just a short walk through a wooded path from the Inn. Having all of our events in the same location and staying at the Inn for the weekend provided the intimate feel we were going for. John and Terri are true professionals and know what it takes for a wedding to run smoothly. After booking the venue we were given a "master list" of recommended vendors, table arrangements, bar list and so much more to help keep us organized through the planning process. Whenever we told our other vendors where the wedding was being held they were very excited to be working with John and Terri at the beautiful Fontainebleau Inn once again. If you are looking for an intimate setting right on the shores of the Finger Lakes this is the perfect spot.

Profile Picture Rachael, 6/25/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Indoor, Dance Floor, Decor, Furniture, Chairs, Tables, Tents, Barware, Accommodations, Clean Up, Event Planning, Set Up, Bridal Suite, Bartender(s), Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Wheelchair Access, Cocktail Reception, Server(s)
5.0

I worked with Terri and John from the Fontainebleau Inn for my daughter's wedding. I got prompt responses, they were very accommodating with what we wanted for the wedding. The house and grounds are very well maintained. The Inns original architecture is well preserved and is very inviting. When you use this as your wedding venue, you can use their 6 bedrooms which is great as I had the bridal party and my husband and myself stay there. It gave us great time together to be in the same house. We had brought a wooden arch that my husband had made, shepherd hooks for flowers, candles and holders, name cards, wooden guest board to sign, cupcakes, cookies, pictures and all was easy to place around the Inn, plus Terri had suggestions on where items could go that would look nice. Being this was my first daughter getting married, it was nice to have help and advice, which Terri and John did, but they definitely were not pushy. We had the ceremony outside down by the lake and they told us to drive down to put the arch up and where the best angle would be for the ceremony. The wedding was on Saturday, and we had breakfast made for us Saturday and Sunday mornings both. The atmosphere is terrific, very inviting, friendly and with an antique flare, which I loved. The place is decorated so well yet has the amenities needed like private bathrooms for all the rooms and air conditioning. The staff also were friendly, helpful, cooperative and fun to talk with. I would highly recommend this venue for a romantic wedding or even a getaway for an anniversary. It is terrific!!! Several of the guests were also impressed and wanted to know how we found such a great venue.

Profile Picture Ashley, 5/28/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.1

I really don't know how there haven't been ANY critical reviews of this place. We had a gorgeous wedding there, yes. 100%. It was like a storybook, BUT I think it would be pretty difficult to NOT have a gorgeous, fairy tale-like wedding LAKESIDE in the FINGER LAKES in the SPRING. Especially when there's a beautiful, recently updated historic inn with the ever-popular farmhouse-like reception room.
I would wholeheartedly encourage you to have your wedding at this spot, but please, please, please PLEASE get yourself a TOP-NOTCH coordinator. The morning of my wedding was chaos. Terri was as elusive as could possibly be, granted, she was ( hopefully) working to set up my wedding, BUT every time I had a question, a concern, anything...it was a half-hour procedure to track her down. My procession was a MESS (again, Terri and John nowhere to be found, almost let my groom see me as I came down the stairs for my entrance...). Because of the location, cell reception is nearly non-existent. I was then questioned as to why I didn't just take calls outside (and up the hill, apparently, because that's where you need to go to have your cell work.....gee, I wonder why I didn't want to do that on the morning of my wedding. ESPECIALLY when I was trying not to see my groom.

For the cost (ridiculously high, but we were willing to pay that for the location), the service should be impeccable and it was NOT.

My tips for couples:
-Hire an outside coordinator for the day-of festivities
-Make sure your officiant is ON their game because the Fontainebleau staff will not help. At all.
-If you have things that you want/ need to save, be sure that you take those and keep them yourself (my boxes for all of my votive candle holders (we had DOZENS) were crushed. I was then asked how I would be taking them home.....
-Have a liaison assigned to communicate between you and your spouse if you don't want to see each other the morning of.

Profile Picture User5257288, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Chairs, Tables, Tents, Indoor, Covered Outdoor, Uncovered Outdoor, Clean Up, Set Up, Barware, Glassware, Bartender(s), Liquor License, Open Bar, Signature Drink
5.0

I worked with Terri for more than a year ahead of our wedding. She was consistently responsive, friendly, and professional. She and John worked with every request I had and allowed me to have the wedding of my dreams on a realistic budget. The day of my wedding, I did not have to worry about anything as all the vendors worked directly with Terri.

The property is beautiful, with stunning grounds, a quaint chapel, and a beautiful event space. They only host one wedding a day (often only one in a weekend!) and nothing else occurs on the property which is very private and feels posh. Having my immediate family stay with me in the Bed and Breakfast allowed us valuable time together and a calm space to reconnect.

I cannot recommend The Fontainebleau Inn highly enough. It was the PERFECT location for our unforgettably special day.

Profile Picture User6625171, 2+ years ago, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Indoor, Dance Floor, Furniture, Chairs, Tables, Tents, Accommodations, Clean Up, Event Planning, Event Rentals, Set Up, Bridal Suite, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, House Liquor, Signature Drink, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Barware, Glassware
5.0

If you can book the Fontainebleau Inn for your wedding, you should definitely do it! We were married there at the end of 2015 season and it couldn't have been more beautiful - the leaves were bright orange, red, green, and yellow, making for some incredible photographs on the grounds and in the woods between the Inn and Lawrence Chapel (we were married in the chapel and though you need to reserve that separately, John and Terri are very helpful at letting you know how to go about it; another big plus is the chapel is approved for Catholic ceremonies).
John and Terri provided tons of information that made everything very easy: floor plans for organizing the reception tables, including cocktail hour and band locations; great recommendations for local vendors - our florist (Plenty of Posies), caterer (Word of Mouth), photographer (Danielle Gerristen) and hair/makeup (Fresh) choices were all on their list and all excellent; and a questionnaire that allowed us to outline what we envisioned so that they could execute everything day-of without a hitch. We didn't have a wedding planner and truly didn't need one with John and Terri and their staff overseeing every detail.
Some other highlights - Terri is an incredible cook and everyone who stayed at the Inn were served wonderful breakfasts; John made sure we caught the best light for our group picture overlooking the lake; the Inn has so many lovely spots inside and out - kids can explore outside, couples can have a quiet conversation in the library... and all make for beautiful, unique pictures.
We had our cocktail hour and dance floor outside and even though it was a cold weekend, the tent kept the patio a nice temperature (a patio note - if you make it your dance floor, know that it is stone, so ladies may want to wear lower heels; or you could get a temporary floor put in; or you can put the dance floor inside - lots of good options).
John and Terri are true professionals, really lovely people, excellent hosts.

Profile Picture Elizabeth, 10/17/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Audio Equipment, Chairs, Tables, Tents, Barware, Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Event Planning, Event Rentals, Set Up, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Signature Drink, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Indoor
4.8

We hosted our wedding weekend at the Fontainebleau Inn September 5th, 2014, we thank Terri and John for opening their beautiful home and Inn to us and our guests. They made each of our guests and family feel welcome and relaxed, it has been a few months since our wedding day and we continue to hear wonderful compliments from our guests on our beautiful event.

The first day we visited the property on a snow covered March morning, we knew it was our venue. When you pull onto the drive you see through the Inn's front windows to the lake beyond. The common area's interior woodwork and original design details have been impeccably restored. The ante room off of the entry is where the catering service is offered and we positioned our cake in the bay window overlooking the lake. The dining room boasts dark wooden beams, a large fireplace and bar. French doors open onto the tented patio where we danced through the night. The guestrooms and suites are all renovated with spacious en-suite full baths. With five guestrooms, our close family was able to stay on-site for the wedding festivities.

We held our ceremony on the grounds of the Inn, at the base of the lawn near the lake. For our guests with accessibility concerns before and after the ceremony they were driven down the hill so not to be excluded, it was perfect. Terri and John provided refreshments prior to the ceremony to ensure our guests comfort on the sunny September afternoon.

While we were organized with our planning, Terri and John helped immensely in all facets of our day, they anticipate and understand timelines, lists, details, directions, and most importantly they are calm. Terri and John provided wonderful vendor recommendations who each contributed to one of the most memorable days we have lived so far.
We absolutely recommend the Fontainebleau Inn for your wedding, commitment ceremony or vacation.

PS Terri's breakfast is amazing.

Profile Picture Elizabeth, 9/5/15, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
Services Used: Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, House Beer, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, House Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Indoor, Covered Outdoor, Uncovered Outdoor, Accommodations, Clean Up, Liability Insurance, Set Up, Bridal Suite, Wheelchair Access, Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens, Audio Equipment, Furniture, Chairs, Tables, Tents
5.0

The Inn is an absolutely beautiful venue! The interior, exterior and grounds are very well maintained; the venue is such a perfect mix of upscale, classic, and rustic styles. We had our ceremony outside on the lawn which was perfect, you also can use the chapel that is short walk from the Inn.

What really sets this venue apart from others in the area are the owners, Terri and John are fantastic to work with and really help make sure everything goes smoothly. They aren't wedding planners, but they do provide you with lists of vendors who frequently work at the Inn and request information from you throughout the year that helps keep your planning on track. We planned our wedding from a distance and always received quick and helpful responses via email. We hired most of our vendors from their suggested list and are very happy we did. This helps the wedding day run very smoothly. The vendors have been there before and are familiar with working with Terri and John; this means you and your family/party don't have to spend much time greeting vendors and showing them around. During the day off set up and event John and Terri were somehow both totally invisible and always there when we needed their assistance.

You are required to rent the guest rooms at the Inn for weekend weddings. My husbands family is not from the area and loved their time at the Inn; they continue to rave about the delicious breakfast food and peaceful Inn. We also used the upstairs suite for the bridal party prep. It is the perfect space for hair and makeup with nice natural light coming through the windows. The rooms are beautiful which allowed our photographer to take many getting ready shots.

Profile Picture User4379995, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue