20 Reviews for Fluted Mushroom and Circuit Center

4.1
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Cocktail Reception (5)
Hors d'Oeuvres (5)
Plated (5)
Server(s) (5)
Tastings (5)
Chairs (5)
Tables (5)
Barware (5)
Flatware (5)
Glassware (5)
Bridal Suite (4)
Clean Up (4)
Bartender(s) (4)
Dance Floor (4)
Drapery (4)
China (4)
Linens (4)
Parking (4)
Wheelchair Access (4)
Event Planning (3)
Premium Liquor (3)
Lighting (3)
Indoor (2)
Lighting/Sound (2)
Set Up (2)
Stations (2)
Champagne Toast (2)
House Beer (2)
Open Bar (2)
Audio Equipment (2)
Event Rentals (1)
In-House Bar (1)
In-House Catering (1)
Buffet (1)
House Wine (1)
Liquor License (1)
House Liquor (1)
Signature Drink (1)
Specialty Wine (1)
20 Fluted Mushroom and Circuit Center Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Hands down the absolute BEST venue and catering. Do no overlook this gem, you'll be sorry if you do. Fluted Mushroom worked with us every step of the way and made my son's wedding fabulous. In fact, weeks after the wedding relatives are still calling to say the wedding venue, food, everything was amazing. Amy and Val ROCK, you will not find two better people. They were always available with any question we had, were very responsive, shared their expertise, were professional and patient. The venue is as gorgeous as it looks online. The food was so very delicious starting with the appetizer course. The salad was fresh and crisp and the entrée was expertly prepared and super yummy. Would totally recommend, wish I had another son and wedding to plan. Thank You Circuit Center AND Fluted Mushroom! Highly Recommend!

Profile Picture Catherine, 1/21/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Perfection. I could not have asked for better coordinators in Amy and Val. Every step of the process was enjoyable. The food was DELICIOUS. The room was GORGEOUS. And it was a dream wedding. Thank you. Thank you! THANK YOU!

Profile Picture Caroline, 11/26/16, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Cocktail Reception, Hors d'Oeuvres, Plated, Server(s), Tastings, Parking, Wheelchair Access, Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Indoor, Bridal Suite, Clean Up, Event Planning, Event Rentals, Lighting/Sound, Set Up, Bartender(s), Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Audio Equipment, Chairs, Dance Floor, Drapery, Lighting, Tables
5.0

They have an option of having the cocktail hour inside or outside in the private courtyard. They offer a parking lot that is free of charge for guests to utilize. Their food is top quality. They have a stage that can be used, or not (nice to have the option). Their location is central in Pittsburgh!

Profile Picture User6165882, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Barware, Flatware, Glassware, Linens, Parking, Wheelchair Access, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, House Beer, Premium Liquor, Bridal Suite, Clean Up, Chairs, Drapery, Tables, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'Oeuvres, Plated, Server(s), Tastings
5.0

The circuit center was wonderful! Our wedding was everything we dreamed of and more! Val was wonderful to work with!

Profile Picture User6958580, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We used the circuit center/fluted mushroom for our wedding and things could not have run more smoothly. Lori is very responsive to your questions throughout the planning process, and you can tell she knows what she's doing! They work very well with your vendors, and their food service was so incredibly efficient. And their food was outstanding-like nothing you would expect at a wedding. We have received so many compliments on the food, service, and the space itself. Also, the venue is a blank slate that you can do just about anything with,which was a lot of fun. Highly recommend!

Profile Picture Lori, 10/26/13, 2 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Catering with the Fluted Mushroom was provided through the Circuit Center, and we were very pleased with the selection. It was hard to narrow down out sit down choices to just two, as everything that we tasted was amazing! They are definitely not one of the economically priced caterers in the city, but you get exactly what you pay for! Wonderful selection of appetizers, (both passed by waitstaff and displayed on tables) and salmon, beef, chicken, and shrimp meals were all very good. Waitstaff was discreet and accommodating to any special guest requests, and caterer was happy to meet some special dietary requests for individuals, with no problem at all. I would definitely use the Fluted Mushroom again!

Profile Picture ABBY, 10/12/13, 4 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

I spent many hours researching caterers and comparing prices and services. When I stumbled upon The Fluted Mushroom, I was worried that it was too good to be true. Not so!! The prices ARE that competitive, the food IS that delicious, and YES, you practically get a "day-off" event coordinator!

After our tasting, we knew that we loved the food, but were worried that once they were serving 200 instead of just 2, the food quality would suffer. That was not the case at all! Our guests raved about the food and offered sincere praise regarding the professional & responsive service staff.

Susie, the event coordinator was a God-send. She made a point to tell us that her priority was our reception being exactly what we wanted it to be. She was easy to get in touch with, offered great ideas, and was willing to take my vision and make it a reality! She even went the extra mile to purchase a few items that she thought would add to the decor', and she was right - it was absolutely prefect!!!

I would certainly recommend The Fluted Mushroom to other Pittsburgh brides!

Profile Picture Jen, 7/9/11, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

The Fluted Mushroom came highly recommended by various friends, and I would certainly recommend them myself! They were accommodating from the start, giving us freedom with our menu, suggestions when we needed them, and the choice to design our own unique menu.

The owner is fantastic, willing to not only work with your budget- but to make the most of it. The day of coordinator and her staff were incredible, organized, and poised, no matter the situation.

Many of our guests approached us and raved about the food, which made us very, very happy!

Profile Picture Jessica, 12/11/10, 8 Reviews
Category: Catering
4.8

We LOVED our wedding here in May, and guests are still gushing about it! Throughout all of planning, Amy was attentive and quick to respond to all billion of my questions, never making me feel like I was a bother. Closer to our wedding date, Val worked with us to make sure every single detail was exactly as expected. Both ladies were friendly and organized. Dream venue. Such a smooth experience dealing with in-house catering, chairs, napkins, etc. instead of another venue that requires brides/grooms to find those resources on their own. Everything was perfect. Highly recommended!

Profile Picture Alana, 5/26/18, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Cocktail Reception, Hors d'Oeuvres, Plated, Server(s), Tastings, Bridal Suite, Clean Up, Event Planning, In-House Bar, In-House Catering, Set Up, Parking, Wheelchair Access, Audio Equipment, Chairs, Dance Floor, Drapery, Lighting, Tables, Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens, Bartender(s), Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Signature Drink, Specialty Wine
4.7

The food that The Fluted Mushroom supplied us with for our wedding was amazing. We had a sit down dinner and everything came out hot. People are still talking about how delicious the food was.

Profile Picture User3439592, 2+ years ago, 4 Reviews
Category: Catering
4.4

As a wedding vendor, I knew the Circuit Center was exactly where I wanted to have my wedding. We were so pleased with the service and quality of the food. Amy was so pleasant and easy to work with. She answered every single email almost immediately and made sure all of my requests were fulfilled. We are getting so many compliments about the food and as Italians that was very important to us. My father requested a special looking anti-pasto display and they were able to fulfill his vision. There were a couple of minor details I wasn’t pleased with at the reception. I specifically wanted and asked that both bars be open, and when it was time to open again there was only one, and I nearly freaked when I saw all my guests standing in line for a drink. I told Val and she opened the other bar after dinner. We had food stations, which I loved especially the action pasta station. The food was out for exactly one hour, and I feel like it could have stayed open another 20 minutes or so. Overall, we were extremely happy with the Circuit Center and Fluted Mushroom for our wedding.

Profile Picture Lea, 5/6/17, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4

The Circuit Center & Fluted Mushroom were very easy to work with. Whenever we emailed them with a question they were always quick to respond, even late at night sometimes. Dropping off and picking things up was and easy process. The food was excellent when we had our tasting for the two of us and almost just as good when they prepared the 130 dishes for our reception.

Profile Picture Dave & Diana, 6/25/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.3

Overall, this venue was great to work with. Especially Val, she was very responsive and always willing to help.
I did appreciate how willing they were to work with me on certain requests. I am very please overall.

The only negatives I would say is that I was a little bit upset that I was told Grey Goose would be added to my bar at no additional charge when I requested it. However, multiple guests at my wedding came up to me to tell me they couldn't get Grey Goose and the bartenders were telling them it was only for the bride. I just wish if they said it was going to be included, it wouldn't have been a problem for any guests to get it.

Also, I would remind people that the cocktail hour location is outdoors, therefore if it rains on your wedding day like it did for mine, all of your guests will be cramped into the hallways. It is very crowded when you have a larger wedding. I know the weather is out of the venues control, however, I would suggest for them to get a retractable cover over the patio that can be used when the forecast isn't so nice.

Profile Picture User5476490, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Catering
4.0

The woman who helped us was VERY helpful. She made sure everything was on time and on schedule with our timeline. The food was excelled and the bar very nice.

Pros: good food,large hall, good organization.

Cons: they started cleaning up the hall before the event was over, you couldn't add on additional hours to the reception.

Profile Picture Tammy, 6/5/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.4

The Fluted Mushroom provied my wedding guests with impecable service and delicious entrees. I would recommend them to friends and family.

Profile Picture Deanna, 6/30/07, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
2.4

I had a really hard time deciding how to review this place- basically because our day of was so perfect, but our planning process was miserable. My husband and I invested most of our wedding budget in venue and catering and they were by far the worst vendor of ours to work with during the planning process. You will constantly feel like you're doing them a favor, when in reality you're paying thousands of dollars for a service. The day of our reception was absolutely perfect. The service day of was amazing, the food was amazing (and by amazing I mean out of this world- like so good), the venue was amazing- it looks so beautiful once everything is decorated. But dealing with this place for a year was a nightmare. I actually had to find room in my wedding budget to hire my own day of coordinator because they were so awful during the planning process. The owner could care a little more about the customer service his venue provides during the planning process.

Profile Picture Colleen, 11/7/15, 7 Reviews
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'Oeuvres, Plated, Server(s), Stations, Tastings, Chairs, Dance Floor, Drapery, Lighting, Tables
2.3

Brides stay away unless you want tainted wedding memories. The Circuit Center itself as a venue is beautiful and was about the norm for a pittsburgh, NICE venue. The food from the fluted mushroom, if you are looking for just a caterer was very good! These two pieces would get a 4-5 star review. Unfortunately though, to book any event at the circuit center you are forced to work with one of their wedding coordinators. Amy worked with us at the beginning and was wonderful. 0 complaints about her. Unfortunately once we were a few months out to the event, we were switched to the event coordinator, Val who has single handed, ruined my wedding and causes this wonderful venue to get less than 5 stars. Val was unresponsive in emails and would never answer all my questions. She had a full-blown fighting match (i.e. screaming) with our DJ when we came to check out the lighting arrangements and made it super awkward for us. She criticized all of the decorations i brought in, making me feel absolutely terrible! She insulted me, the bride, to my mother's face during the rehearsal. And finally, to top it all off, she tormented our videographer the day of our wedding; called her inappropriate names and threatened to, "drive her business to the ground" and will "make sure she will never get a chance to video another wedding," all because the videographer asked for a different vendor meal. At one point the videographer caught Val on camera calling her a "spoiled little brat" and making threats in which case, Val felt threatened & decided to call the police on our videographer. My hubby and I had to leave our wedding to handle the police situation and to make sure that our vendor, that we paid thousands of $ for to capture our special day, wasnt removed from the property due to this insane event coordinator! Better yet, reviews say Val has been a problem for yrs & the owner wont ever fire her since she's an 'old friend'. Read other review on YELP and Knot.

Profile Picture Shannon, 8/27/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Bridal Suite, Clean Up, Event Planning, Lighting/Sound, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables, Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens, Indoor, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Liquor License, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'Oeuvres, Plated, Server(s), Stations, Tastings, Parking, Wheelchair Access
2.0

I don't even know where to begin here. My venue went from being a dream to being a nightmare. When we went to look at the place, the owner showed it to us. He's very nice and professional; we loved it. But once we signed the contract and put the deposit down, things went downhill. Any questions I had were emailed to a woman who was the event coordinators assistant. When she would answer, her answers were very short, cold and cryptic...not taking the time to actually explain something to me and ending up making me more confused. After a few months of putting up with this, I finally asked that I not go through her and go through the actual event coordinator herself. The only thing better about this was that my questions would be answered a bit more thoroughly and understandable. But, as my wedding date drew closer, there were miscommunications that I feel were not handled respectfully or professionally. I was pretty much being told how my wedding HAD to be; instead of accomodating me on how I wanted my own wedding to be. Then, the event coordinator would make totally false statements. THE DAY BEFORE MY WEDDING, she actually emailed me and called me to "confirm" that I was coming in that morning, when that was NEVER said. Then tried to tell me that I couldn't have my rehearsal that evening, even though it had been planned for a couple weeks. She even tried to say that I said I wanted to have the rehearsal the DAY OF the wedding prior to the ceremony!!!WHAT?! Why would I EVER say that? Everything was "ordered" to me like I had to do exactly what they wanted and what was convenient for them...when we were the ones paying a LOT of $. The day of the wedding, we argued b/c I was told that I had to cut the cake as soon as we were introduced and that I couldn't do it after dinner like I wanted! The people that work there on events need to understand that their customers are paying a ton of money to have their perfect, dream day. Not whatever is convenient for the employees.

Profile Picture User2051810, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
0.5

I just called and spoke with Val. I informed her that I reviewed her menu and was looming for a quote since for the Hyatt on the south side and she said it was too hard to make a quote and requested that I do it myself. Very rude and I will let the Hyatt know as well.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Shameia, 8/16/19, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue