FilmCars Reviews

48 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

48 Reviews for FilmCars

Recommended by 100%

48
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

28 User photos

FilmCars 1
FilmCars 2
FilmCars 3
FilmCars 4
FilmCars 5
FilmCars 6
FilmCars 7
+ 22
Sort by:
  • A

    Andrea · Getting married on 09/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used a checker cab for our engagement shoot and Film Cars made it so easy. Peter was very communicative and friendly over email, and he sent a driver named Miguel, who was just the best. Miguel arrived maybe two minutes late and was incredibly apologetic (he got held up in traffic), even though we didn't mind at all. He was so enthusiastic and clearly loves driving the 1969 cab we had. Another bonus was that the cab could actually drive us around, so we didn't have to walk back and forth on cobblestone and carry our stuff everywhere.
    I shopped around a lot and Film Cars was by far the best value. They are total pros and the customer service is wonderful. We love the photos and the cab added a special touch.

    Sent on 10/11/2018
    FilmCars 9
    FilmCars 10
  • Angela

    Angela Thompson · Married on 06/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic!

    I can’t say enough good things about Peter and the cab we used for our elopement! To quote my husband it was “the highlight of the day!” (Which he corrected himself and said “a highlight” after I glared at him 😜) The day of our wedding I was a bundle of nerves- once Peter arrived though with his friendly and easy going manner- all the stress of the day melted away! It was such a wonderful experience and I’m so grateful to Peter and his beautiful cab. Highly recommend!!

    Sent on 07/22/2019
    FilmCars 11
    FilmCars 12
    FilmCars 13
  • S

    Susie Choi · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend!

    Hiring FilmCars for our wedding ride was one of the best decisions ever! It was pretty last minute for us, but Peter was SO accommodating--incredibly responsive, so reasonable and highly detail-oriented. Getting a vintage yellow cab to take us to our venue and for our grand wedding exit was probably one of the biggest highlights of our day, and we are so glad we did it! Thank you to FilmCars and especially to Peter for making our day so special!

    Sent on 07/08/2019
  • Tanya

    Tanya Simon · Married on 05/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a treat!

    We rented a vintage Checker Cab for our wedding Memorial Day weekend, and the car was gorgeous - everyone loved it! Peter is just the sweetest, most caring vendor to work with, and was flexible, generous, and really we could not recommend this service and car rental more. Our driver was a delight, knew a lot about the car, and was a great prompter to our guests to sign our car with their well wishes!

    Sent on 06/05/2019
  • Courtney

    Courtney · Married on 05/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend!!

    We hired Peter and his checker cab for 2 hours on our wedding day and could NOT have been happier with both the service and the photos!!
    The car adds so much character and charm to an NYC wedding and Peter is a delight to ride with. Peter went out of his way to accommodate us and made us feel very special on the day. He is very responsive via email and extremely reliable. He made sure every detail was perfect and we had such a great experience with him and the car!
    Highly recommend!!

    Sent on 06/14/2019
  • Jacquelyn

    Jacquelyn A. · Married on 05/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Made our day extra special! One of a kind

    Peter was our driver for our wedding day and he made us feel extra special. He has the best customer service and will exceed all of your needs. He is a one of a kind gem, someone you will never forget. I highly recommend hiring him and the checker cab!

    (Photographer: Sascha Reinking)

    Sent on 06/18/2019
    FilmCars 14
    FilmCars 15
  • Tom

    Tom Cheshire · Married on 03/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible Experience!!

    From the very first time we made contact with Peter we were impressed. His warm, friendly and enthusiastic emails helped put us at ease immediately. We are from England and it's very difficult to know that you're booking the right people from so far away. Peter came highly recommended by our wedding photographer Sascha Reinking and he did not disappoint, in fact he was a real pleasure to have on our wedding day and the service he provided was truly amazing. Peter responded to our emails extremely promptly and did everything he promised and more!
    The car, a 1960's checker cab was the most perfect addition to our wedding day. It made for convenient travel around the city, made us feel extremely privileged with all passers by wanting to take photos and the enthusiasm Peter had telling us stories about the car kept the conversation on the travels engaging and interesting. Peter had a great relationship with our photographer which really helped with organisation, on our wedding day they communicated between themselves which meant that we didn't have to. At the end of our ceremony after we have finished with our photographer, Peter took the time to park up and let us take some photos with our phones. He let us get in the drivers seat and he spent 10 minutes taking photos of us having fun in his amazing car.
    After our wedding day Peter sent us the most heart warming email, with a couple of photos he had taken of our day himself. He could not have given us better service if he tried. Peter had gone above and beyond in every sense and if you are considering hiring his services you will not be disappointed!!
    Peter, we thank you from the bottom of our hearts and hope to see you again when we return to visit New York. All the very best to you, we hope this review helps to get you future business!
    Tom and Alice

    Sent on 03/27/2019
    FilmCars 16
  • Alexandra

    Alexandra R Cassel · Married on 03/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Can't say enough great things about Peter!!!

    Out of all of our wedding vendors, working with Peter was by far the best experience we had - he was extremely responsive and warm, making our big day feel like the most important in his calendar. He was very flexible about the timing and plan, and such a pleasure on the day of. The cab became such an iconic prop in our photographs. Would highly recommend!!!

    Sent on 03/26/2019
    FilmCars 17
    FilmCars 18
  • Shelley

    Shelley Hynd · Married on 10/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Experience!

    I have nothing but good things to say about Peter, and his car. Peter himself is honestly such a pleasure to deal with. He is so warm and friendly, he has so many wonderful stories that he tell as he drives you around, and he's very knowledgeable about the city. The day after the wedding he sent us the most thoughtful email, which was a pleasure to read, not many people would think to do that! The car is stunning. It's in beautiful condition, you would never believe it's as old as it is, and is so comfortable and spacious inside -great when trying to fit a wedding dress in! I really do wish we could have had it for our whole trip, it was such an amazing experience and we could not recommend Peter enough! From my first email to him, he was quick to respond, and offered all the information we could need. Everything about the experience was perfect, even down to the details he wrote on the window. Oh, and our family loved the chance to get a few pictures in the car too!

    Sent on 12/12/2018
    FilmCars 19
    FilmCars 20
  • M

    Meg · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Peter is INCREDIBLE! My husband and I enlisted his help to use a 1968 checker cab as our getaway car after our ceremony in Manhattan. Everything about the rental was perfect. The car is in immaculate/pristine condition and has been well maintained. The driver/owner, Peter, is the sweetest, most genuine person I encountered during our wedding planning process. He is also very knowledgeable about his vehicles and shared fun facts about the taxi during our short drive from the church to Central Park. Peter remained in constant communication with from us from the time we booked the car (July 2017) through our wedding day (July 2018). He contacted us a few days after the wedding wishing us the best and brightest future (something that other vendors would never do!). He also saved the cork from the champagne we drank as we drove off from the church in case we wanted to save it as a memento! The cab added the perfect NYC feel to our day and was quite the head turner! Our photos with the car are beautiful and were such a unique touch to our day! I would highly recommend Peter’s services to all couples looking for the perfect enhancement to their getaway. Peter is truly a class act, and the checker cab was definitely one of the best additions to our wedding day. Thank you Peter!!

    Sent on 08/01/2018
    FilmCars 21
    FilmCars 22
  • M

    Michael · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Peter and his vintage NYC Checkered Cab were the absolute perfect beginning and end to our wedding. The vehicle itself was immaculate and has been restored to its true beauty, including its original meter. On our day, it was very warm, and the air conditioning was fantastic! The beautiful classic car aside though, we (my wife and I) must note how wonderful Peter Yannello (Owner and Driver) is. Peter, you are an absolute delight! And truely helped us enjoy our magical day! Peter really thinks of everything, and worked so well with our photographers. The pictures are incredible.

    So if you are reading this review, you may be considering hiring Peter and/or his company This is an easy decision. Do it! No better way to make an entrance and end the evening.

    Sent on 07/14/2018
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 04/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for unique transportation for your wedding, look no further than Peter at Film Cars! Working with him for our NYC wedding was an absolute pleasure. Not only was he professional and courteous, he goes the extra mile to make you feel like a star. His Checker Cab was the perfect addition to our wedding. He was patient and drove many members of our wedding party from the hotel to the venue outside of Union Square and allowed us to take amazing pictures. It was worth every penny to have Peter and his Checker Cab be a part of our day and I recommend it to anyone having a classic New York wedding.

    Sent on 04/17/2018
  • M

    Megan · Married on 03/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the best decisions we made for our wedding day was having Peter and Film Cars there for our transportation. Peter was so friendly and enjoyable to spend time with while we drove around taking our wedding portraits. Having the classic NYC taxi cab in our wedding pictures added such a unique touch!

    Sent on 04/04/2018
    FilmCars 23
    FilmCars 24
    FilmCars 25
    FilmCars 26
    FilmCars 27
  • A

    Alexis · Married on 10/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Would recommend in a heartbeat!!

    We can't say enough about Peter and our wonderful experience with Film Cars. Not only did his gorgeous Checker Cab complete our vision for our wedding photos and elevate our day, but spending time with Peter was fantastic. He went above and beyond to make our big day perfect, he allowed us to rock out and blast the Jersey Boys soundtrack when we needed a minute to decompress between photo stops, and when our schedule went awry and we went longer than expected, he was completely flexible in helping us to complete our wedding photos. Hiring Film Cars was a fantastic decision on our part, and whenever we see Peter's car in our neighborhood, we look at that cab with the most fond memories. Thank you again Peter for playing such an integral role in our big day!

    Sent on 01/03/2019
    FilmCars 28
  • M

    Mike · Married on 10/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have asked for a better way to get to our wedding venue than with Peter and his immaculate yellow cab.

    Peter stayed in contact from the moment we found him right up until a phone call and email the day before our wedding. He was beyond accommodating as we arranged our wedding on a fairly short timeline. He even re-arranged his schedule so he could fit us in for our Friday wedding.

    His cab was absolutely gorgeous, and even matched my wife's shoes and flowers. He even put a Canadian flag on the dash! All of our guests loved chatting with him and taking pictures with the cab before we headed out. Once we arrived at our location, Peter was, again, ready, helping the photographer to set up shots and cut down on the glare as the sun came out upon our arrival.

    If you want to add some authenticity to your New York wedding, or you just want to add a piece to your wedding that will cause everyone - EVERYONE - to stop and stare, you've got to hire Peter.

    Sent on 10/16/2017
    FilmCars 29
    FilmCars 30
    FilmCars 31
    FilmCars 32
  • A

    Andrew · Married on 07/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    FilmCars/ New York Checker was the icing on the wedding cake for a fantastic New York City wedding. As an event director by trade I knew I wanted something unique and special to surprise my soon to be husband with - an original checkered cab (which has all the original interior characteristics with modern day air conditioning for our July wedding!!!). After a quick internet search I found Peter and his team. (Coincidentally, a Wedding Planner colleague confirmed he's her go to as well!)

    I received an instant response from Peter with a fair quote and genuine enthusiasm to share his personal pride and joy and complete professionalism. He shared NYC history with us! Peter was prompt, hid the car around the corner in shade as it was a surprise, and once we were off to our ceremony he knew exactly what to say to take our minds off the nerves.

    The checked cab turned heads throughout NYC. An impossible task. It became the most incredible backdrop to our photos and our family and friends loved seeing us arrive in pure nostalgia.

    Coincidentally after booking separately, I found out Peter knew my photographer from their Brooklyn neighborhood. My photog also had wonderful words to ensure me I hired a professional to escort us to the venue.

    The cab was talked about throughout the evening. It was the perfect ride to a perfect evening in NYC. Thank you Peter for sharing your cab with us...I look forward to hiring you and recommending you.

    Sent on 09/28/2017
    FilmCars 33
    FilmCars 34
    FilmCars 35
  • A

    Anita · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment I first corresponded with Peter at Film Cars, I knew I was in good hands. I had reached out to several companies and Peter immediately stood apart from the rest. He was so kind and accommodating, setting up using his classic yellow checker cab (Big Yellow) was an easy and enjoyable process. In a time when you are working with so many vendors, it is nice for one to stand out for being so easy to work with.

    On the day of, we couldn't have asked for more. They were early and ready for us. The cab is gorgeous! It was awesome to have this iconic NY cab in photos and drive around the city with it. Peter was a great host and driver and there was plenty of room for our photographer to sit up front and take photos as we drove to our actual photo destination. We had such good luck that day - a stranger even opened up Gramercy park for us to take photos in it! I can't help but think that Big Yellow was our good luck charm. I would recommend Film Cars without hesitation.

    Sent on 05/25/2017
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was such a pleasure to have Peter of Film Cars as a part of our big day. The entire process of working with him from start to finish was so enjoyable and I could not recommend him more for any transportation needs you might have. I heard about Peter's company from a co-worker who recommended him after using his services for her own wedding and recently for her 10 year anniversary. I had been looking for a vintage cab or car for only a couple of hours to get us around our Greenpoint neighborhood for a few stops on our wedding day that would fit into our budget. Peter was more than accommodating from his first email on and offered up his own car and personal services for a reasonable price and was completely upfront and honest. He is courteous and professional, was always warm, kind, and reassuring in every email, correspondence, and interaction. He was completely accommodating with all of our requests and happily decorated the car for us as part of his services. He was so understanding and whisked us away from all of the commotion for private moments together throughout our ride and evening. Also he did not count the minutes when we went over our allotted time like other drivers would and did not charge us anything beyond our previously negotiated rate. Getting to enjoy just a quiet drive around our neighborhood and getting a break from all of the festivities, family and friends was just what we needed that day. It was so great to just sit and talk with him about music, movies, our honeymoon travel plans, and not worry about the wedding for a few moments. We got so many compliments about the cab all evening, it was a huge hit with our guests and produced some fantastic photos. It was so funny to see complete strangers on the street take photos as we were driving by or try to hail us down for a lift, it really was a once in a lifetime experience! Hope we get to work together with him again one day in the future. Thank you Peter!

    Sent on 04/03/2017
  • K

    Kirsty · Married on 12/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was by far the best part of our wedding day. My husband and I eloped to New York from England to get married in Central Park. It was an absolute fairytale. We got married in December, just in time for christmas. I found Peter and Filmcars by complete accident on Tripadvisor. We were looking for something a bit different to get us around the city as it was just the 2 of us. The USP for us was that the vintage checker cab was used in our all time favourite christmas movie - Home Alone 2. When we saw the car pull up, i was overwhelmed. It has been decorated with ribbons, with just married written on the back window. It gets better - Inside was an ice bucket filled with coca cola (our favourite drink, we don't drink alcohol) and lots of sweet treats. To top it off, Peter has the USA and UK mini flags in the back, and had made a CD with the soundtrack to Home Alone 2! There was no question this gentleman couldn't answer. He has lived a very exciting life, and was filled with stories. He drove us across Queensborough Bridge (mirroring the scene from Home Alone where Kevin hangs out of the taxi window). We were star struck to be in the exact car that had been used in the film! Peter was amazing, and neither of us wanted to get out. We could have sat and listened to his stories for hours. What a guy. To anyone thinking about it, do it. You will absolutely not be disappointed. This will stay with me forever...

    Sent on 07/06/2017
  • A

    Agnes · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Peter you are amazing!!!!
    The classic taxi cab was the perfect way for my husband and I to cap off our wedding ceremony in Brooklyn, but the true gem is Peter!!!! He is so enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the classic taxi cab!!!! It was really nice to learn about the history of the car and he made our ride home soooooo relaxing despite NYC Friday afternoon traffic!!!! The car was beautiful and made our day even more special!!!!! Thank you soooooo much Peter and we are trying to come up with other reasons to rent the taxi cab again!!!!

    Sent on 10/16/2016
  • E

    Eric · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    Peter was amazing! The cab was beautiful and his professionalism and flexibility made the time we spent in the cab amazing. We recommend Peter and his company to anyone and can guarantee you will be completely satisfied!

    Sent on 10/21/2016
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 05/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend Peter & his fabled checker cab! What an amazing ending to our NYC wedding. Peter made the booking process very easy & enjoyable, he is so knowledgeable and we loved the history of the cab as we are film buffs. Also, I found the price very affordable! Plus our photos came out amazing, and he even went out of his way to take some iPhone pics for us at the end of night. He decorated the cab beautifully with a "Just Married" sign on the rear window & cans hanging at the back. He is a safe driver & an unbelievably kind person as well. It's so true that it's the vendors you pick that make your wedding special, and Peter was definitely a testament to that. Thank you so much for a truly magical ride!!

    Sent on 06/02/2016
  • M

    Mary · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Peter is one of the most personable and thorough people I had the pleasure of meeting throughout the wedding planning process. He responded promptly and professionally to every e-mail making him super easy to work with. Despite most of his cabs being out of state for a show, he found an amazing solution to ensure that we had a vintage checker cab on our wedding day.

    His enthusiasm for his fleet of vintage checker cabs is contagious! We were lucky enough to have Peter himself be a chauffer the day of the wedding. He gave us such a wonderful history lesson on the checker cab. He had such a wonderful sense of humor as well. There were no jitters on the ride over to the church due to his personable nature.

    He paid attention to every detail. He even had "Just Married" written across the back windshield, along with cans trailing behind the cab for our departure from the church. The cab and Peter met and exceeded my expectations for our wedding day. You absolutely cannot go wrong when you book with Film Cars!

    Sent on 08/11/2016
  • User5577187 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I contacted Peter, with Film Cars, about driving for our wedding in NYC this October. Prior to the wedding, he thoroughly answered every question I had. His prices were very fair. On the day-of, he showed up before his scheduled arrival time. The car was pristine, and exactly what was pictured in Peter's emails. Peter was incredibly nice and professional. We took many pictures both inside and outside the checker. Peter decorated the car with beautiful yellow flowers on the bumper, and wrote "just married" on the back windshield. It was so charming, and everyone at the wedding commented on how perfect the car was. I would absolutely recommend Film Cars and Peter Yanello, to anyone looking for a reliable, professional, and thoughtful vintage car for events!

    Sent on 11/01/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review