Fairmont Kea Lani Reviews

6 | Kihei, HI
See photos, pricing and details

6 Reviews for Fairmont Kea Lani

Recommended by 85%

6

4.2 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.1
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 4.3
Sort by:
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 05/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding and honeymoon at the Kea Lani. The entire experience was a dream come true and beyond any expectations. The staff and attention to detail are without compare. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and our wedding pictures are spectacular. All rooms are suites, which our guests thoroughly enjoyed. We had the ceremony at the gazebo which I highly recommend to anyone planning a wedding in Hawaii. It's a beautiful Hawaiian garden with fountains and huge trees which made the ceremony very private and allowed us and our guests to be in the shade and protected from the wind. It is an ideal spot for a wedding and just steps from the ocean.

    Sent on 06/03/2014
  • K

    karen · Married on 08/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Fairmont is a beautiful venue. Rainell was wonderful to work with and I very much appreciated her efforts. While there were some issues, the Fairmont was responsive and respectful to our issues and we appreciated this very much.

    Sent on 08/26/2013
  • R

    Rochelle · Married on 08/16/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Polly was our wedding planner at the Kea Lani; she was absolutely wonderful to work with! We were living in Idaho and in Chicago during the year and half leading up to our wedding in Hawaii but distance was never an issue. I could always get a hold of her or know that she would return my call/email. She would remind of everything I needed to do (order invitations, send them out, contact my photographer, etc.) Her and her staff were nothing but kind and professional for the entire event. The catering was amazing as was the salon where she booked hair and make-up for my mom, sister and myself. She even booked me an appointment for a hair-cut the day after my wedding. She was very flexible with me changing my mind and not knowing what I wanted to do. She never told me we had to do anything a certain way, the entire day was up to us to plan it OUR WAY. Yes, the wedding ended up being over budget but was extremely worth it. I not change a single thing if I were to do it again!

    Sent on 01/10/2008
  • Melissa

    Melissa · Married on 04/17/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had to plan our Wedding ceremony as well as the travel plans for all our guests from very far away... The Fairmont made it easy for us! We had an amazing wedding planner at our disposal who answered every question we had and helped us plan every detail, even activities we wanted to do outside of the hotel. Our event was absolutely amazing and we will have very fond memories for the rest of our lives!

    Sent on 10/31/2014
  • P

    Philip Le · Married on 08/11/2018

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Buyers' Remorse

    My wife and I got married at the Fairmont Kea Lani in August 2018 and it was easily the worst decision all thanks to our wedding coordinator: John A. I didn’t know one person could ruin one wedding like he did ours but let me tell you about ours and see if Fairmont Kea Lani is the right venue for your dream wedding.

    In our wedding package, the Fairmont Kea Lani offered a live musician for ours. My wife and I wanted a live musician for the cocktail hour and expressed this to John and he said he can make it happen. In our wedding contract, it stated there would a live musician. In our notes, there would be a live musician. In our emcee’s notes, there would be a live musician. So on our wedding day, why were there no live musicians and our guests had to listen to Pandora Radio….with COMMERCIALS? If John can’t handle a simple wedding package what makes you think he can handle your dream wedding? John’s lack of attention to detail was on display but it only gets better.

    (Here’s the kicker: John had to ask our emcee/DJ to borrow their sound systems to play any sorts of music to make up for his incompetence and what does he do? Our wedding was on Saturday afternoon in August in the blistering Maui heat. We found out post-wedding that he left all that expensive sound equipment for three days out in the open where anyone can steal the equipment and I’m sure the equipment was damaged by the heat.)

    Our wedding was open bar but some of the specialty drinks (Mai Tais and Lava Flows) were “by consumption”. I had a feeling Fairmont Kea Lani would try to ring up on bill and John Anderson did not disappoint. We didn’t post any signs advertising these drinks but told some guests about these drinks during the wedding. After the wedding, we find out that 72 lava flows and 3 mai tais were “consumed”. These drinks were never consumed. They had runners trying to pass out these drinks during cocktail hour. When these drinks were declined, they were hidden away behind the bartender yet John tried to charge us over $1,000 for these unconsumed drinks. I have been to many weddings in Hawaii including the Four Reasons Maui and the Disney Aulani (on Oahu) and I never seen any alcohol beverages being passed around like that and the wedding couple getting charged like that. When confronting John about this post-wedding, he stated that my guests were “thirsty”. This is not only unacceptable but unethical on John Anderson and the Fairmont Kea Lani’s part. I told him that I wasn’t going to pay that bill and he obliged. He knew what he did was wrong because he got caught red handed. John A. is the opposite embodiment of the Aloha Spirit by trying to squeeze every last penny from you.

    Before the wedding, we asked John A. to store some engagement pictures and the Japanese Folding Cranes display which is essential for any Japanese weddings. These pictures would be displayed at the ceremony then transferred to the reception. During the ceremony, the Japanese Folding Cranes display was no where to be found. There was an empty easel with no crane display. You would think something was missing but then again John’s incompetence comes into play yet again. For an establishment that only does one wedding a day, how difficult is it to store five pictures for a wedding? It took countless man hours to make the display and John A. and his team cannot store and find the display in a timely manner? After the wedding, John stated that he thought the Japanese Folding Cranes display was supposed to only for the reception. If that were the case, then why was he and his staff scrambling to put up the display with two hours left in the reception?

    My wife and I were disappointed that we picked the Fairmont Kea Lani as our dream wedding destination. It was anything but a dream all thanks to one man: John A. After the wedding, John was 100% in denial mode for anything that went wrong and was full of excuses. Anywhere but the Fairmont Kea Lani would have been a better venue. It was supposed to be one of the happiest days of our lives turned out to be one of the worst. We absolutely regretted this decision and we hope our wedding would be a cautionary tale for anyone considering the Fairmont Kea Lani. There are many beautiful wedding venues all around Maui but the services we received at Fairmont Kea Lani was terrible to say the least. The Fairmont Kea Lani may look like a pot of gold but all we received was a lump of coal.

    Sent on 06/11/2019

    Fairmont Kea Lani's reply:

    Aloha Mr. Le,

    We understand how very upset and dissatisfied you are with your experience at our resort last year, as evidenced by the conversations we’ve previously had as well as by the reviews you’ve recently posted on many sites. As confirmed by your return voicemail message to me on Monday, June 10th, I am looking forward to the opportunity to speak with you directly on Thursday, June 13th. If this date is no longer convenient for you, please reach out to me directly (DM or my direct line) and I would be happy to reschedule our call.

    Mahalo for your time,
    Shannah Milstead
    Director, Sales & Marketing

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review