Environmental Services Building Reviews

66 | University Place, WA
See photos, pricing and details

66 Reviews for Environmental Services Building

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

66

20 User photos

Order by:
  • R

    Rica · Married on 08/29/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Eena was great to work with! She was easy to work with, very responsive, and helpful in accommodating to my needs. Make sure you book as early as possible as this venue is becoming more and more popular!

    Sent on 08/05/2014
  • D

    Darren · Married on 09/19/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding at the ESB; It turned out to be an amazing location! Everyone loved the venue because of its peaceful and tranquil view. We had the ceremony on the lawn overlooking the water, transitioned to the lobby for cocktail hour and then moved into the great rooms for dinner. Everything flowed well and the ESB staff moved chairs around seamlessly. All the staff at ESB were really responsive to questions and so easy to work with. They made every request we had happen. I am so happy we chose the ESB for our wedding ceremony and reception!

    Sent on 09/28/2015

    Environmental Services Building's reply:

    We are so glad you had a great experience at the ESB. Our staff work very hard to make sure you have everything you need taken care of on your special day! Congratulations on your wedding and many blessings for a wonderful future!
  • P

    Patty · Married on 08/01/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Eena to be extremely helpful and flexible. She also gave us some appreciated tips on decorations, room arrangement, and helped calm our nerves!
    The venue itself was clean and beautiful. The only problem we saw was that the outside patio/dance floor was heavily stained. The staff at the venue did wash it down for us but many of the stains remained and it did look a bit tacky. I would recommend a power wash to keep the patio up to the standard with the rest of the venue.

    Sent on 08/03/2015

    Environmental Services Building's reply:

    Eena is a blessing to have for sure! We are so glad you chose us as your venue for your wedding. We are truly sorry about the patio and the way it looked on your special day. We appreciate your candid response and will do everything in our power to fix the situation for future rentals.
  • User4357474 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue is beautiful. The experience outstanding. Thank you Eena and ESB.

    Sent on 08/28/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/19/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Eena and she was a pleasure to work with as were the staff the day of our wedding. We didn't have any issues and only the only potential hiccup was a policy change that staff were happy to grandfather us in to avoid the change. The venue was beautiful with amazing views of the Puget Sound and the staff great to work with.

    Sent on 07/26/2014
  • W

    Whitney · Married on 09/07/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were not told some of the chairs have arm rests so I purchased enought covers and sashes for all of the chairs only to find out the day of the wedding that about 40 couldn't be used. Also, the cabinets in the kitchen were locked so mid reception we had to find someone to unlock them. Otherwise, the staff was really nice and responded to questions promptly. They even helped break down the tables and chairs at the end of the evening. The venue was beautiful and very reasonably priced!

    Sent on 10/05/2013
  • User3583156 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Could not have imagined a better setting and venue for our wedding. Everyone was very helpful organizing the details.

    Sent on 10/05/2013
  • K

    Katie · Married on 07/03/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved this venue- great place for an outdoor wedding with an absolutely gorgeous surrounding. The staff was very easy to work with leading up to the wedding. They were great in implementing my plan for floor layout and availability of the building when needed. Also, were available to answer my questions in the months leading up to the wedding. The only downside to this venue was that you had to use the chamber's bay grill bartending services. The coordinator there had been great and helpful leading up to the wedding but when it finally came down to the wedding night they did not have champagne available as planned and were not eager to compensate me for their mistake in any way.

    Sent on 10/02/2016

    Environmental Services Building's reply:

    Thank you for your great review of the facility. We are sorry to hear about the situation with Chambers. We will definitely pass the info along to them. Congratulations on your special day! We wish you both the best!
  • J

    Jacinda · Married on 06/18/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The building offers an amazingly unbelievable and beautiful view of the Puget Sound. We rented the whole facility on a Saturday from 9-midnight and paid just $2,300 plus the refundable $500. The staff let me and my maid of honor test out some centerpieces one day without charging us and were quick to answer any questions-- no matter how odd they were. The staff was extremely flexible. They let us hang paper lanterns from the indoor lighting and allowed us to increase the number of hours we wanted to rent the facility after already putting down our down payment. The staff was friendly and professional and was present but didn't meddle on the wedding day. We held our ceremony outside on a day that had hourly weather changes (rain, crazy wind, thunder, lightning, etc.). We really didn't want to hold the ceremony inside and the weather report predicted the rain and clouds would clear by 5, just in time for our 6 pm wedding. The staff was kind enough to allow us up to 3pm the day of the wedding to decide whether they would set up the chairs outside or inside the public service room. They even wiped the chairs down after the last rain right before our ceremony. We enjoyed the small touches of industrial inspired building design mixed with the romantic view and private setting of the walking bridge and the opportunities for our guests to escape the chaos of the wedding and educate themselves on the purpose of the ESB. The venue also offered easy access to Chambers Bay Regional Park, where we were able to take lots of photos with a huge variety of background settings. Our only complaint is that the rental came with access to the venue's audio and visual system. The groom was in charge of deciding whether we'd have the ceremony inside or outside. He forgot to request the wireless microphone and the staff overlooked it as well so, due to high winds (somewhat common at the location), many guests couldn't hear our vows and the ceremony.

    Sent on 07/08/2016
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 07/08/2018

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was incredibly beautiful. And a great price. I would recommend this place to any bride looking for an afforadable, but beautiful setting with diverse terrain for photos. And you can use your own cater which is always a plus. The employees were great to work with as well. I had a wonderful experience.

    Sent on 08/05/2018
  • User3554014 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    This is a beautiful venue and was wonderful for our wedding. We have had a number of guests comment on how beautiful it was.

    Sent on 09/23/2013
  • User4248112 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This was a phenomenal venue for our daughters wedding. The staff at ESB was great to work with and did a great job helping us with good solutions and gave tips and pointers to help keep costs down as it related to the venue. Although it was out of the control of the staff at ESB it was pretty disappointing that the county has made it a requirement that you must use the Chambers Bay Grill for bar service. The ESB is a beautiful option for those who are priced out of the event facilities at Chambers Bay. Too bad that county had to be greedy and require you use their bar service. Keeps the budget minded weddings just a bit more pinched.

    Sent on 07/14/2014
  • User5025977 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Pros: GREAT venue. Good price. Beautiful location. Inside is spacious, clean, well-lit, modern. Has a kitchen. Allows outside catering company (but they need food permit/license for catering). Has AV equipment available.

    Cons: Alcohol service is restricted to only Chambers Bay Grill Bartending.

    Sent on 04/29/2015
  • C

    Chantelle · Married on 08/07/2015

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    The views at this venue are amazing! We had our ceremony and reception all outside on the lawn and it was beautiful the pictures that we have seen so far are amazing. Eena was great working with but unfortunately was on vacation the day of our wedding. With renting the chairs we thought we paid to have them moved but there was only one person moving them so my guests had to help, which is ok but I didn't want them to have to do anything. I paid for coffee and it was kept in the corner inside the building where not many people knew it was available, I wish it would have been placed outside where everything else was set up. Make sure that you get the number of the contact person for after hours, they were suppose to be close by but we couldn't ever find them. But overall the beauty of the venue is worth every dollar you spend!!

    Sent on 09/01/2015
  • G

    Gini · Married on 07/04/2014

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We enjoyed our experience. The setting is beautiful and the Environmental Services Building has all the amenities that a bride could wish for. Our only complaint, its a huge one, is having to use Chambers Bay as our bartender. If we did not know and work with them on a continual basis our bar bill would have been twice the price of the space. I feel this will hinder other couples in the future.
    Eena was wonderful and so was the other staff. Thank you for making our day so special.

    Sent on 07/21/2014
  • User3572758 · 2+ years ago

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    The venue was amazingly beautiful..

    Sent on 10/01/2013