Skip to main content
Weddings

Elk Lake Resort Reviews

Elk Lake Resort View more information

9 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 91% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 9
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner

40 User photos

  • E
    Erica Married on 09/15/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect Central Oregon Wedding Spot!

    I cannot say enough good things about Elk Lake. It was exactly what we wanted for a wedding location. The beauty is outstanding and allows you to focus on that, rather than all the other fluff and decor. We wanted a lake/mountain backdrop that would be the main "decorations" of our wedding, and keep everything else simple. The staff at Elk Lake is AMAZING! Cyndi (their event coordinator) is so on top of it and makes sure you get everything you need! The staff took care of everything leading up to the event and day of that I never worried once. The food was delicious and we received multiple compliments on it. We look forward to visit Elk Lake every year to celebrate our marriage and will always hold it close to our hearts.
  • S
    Sabra Z. Married on 08/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Ziegle Wedding

    The most beautiful place to get married. The staff went above and beyond to make my day perfect. My florist never showed up with my flowers and the Elk Lake staff pulled everything together last minute and I wouldn’t change a thing. All my guests and family loved the food! I will definitely recommend having a wedding here. Thank you so much for hosting the best day of my life!
  • Hannah
    Hannah O. Married on 06/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely amazing!!

    We had our wedding at Elk Lake beginning of summer 2018 and it was spectacular! Cyndi was so helpful and on top of it! Very quick with communication I loved it. The venue turned out to be even more breathtaking than imagined :) and the cabins were perfect! Our friends and family who stayed the weekend were thrilled with the accommodations. It was such a wonderful experience working with all of Elk Lake staff and I feel truly blessed to have had our big day there.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Alyssa
    Alyssa A. Married on 09/14/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Loved everything about my experience!

    Darcy and her team made my wedding experience absolutely perfect, I can’t recommend them and Elk Lake enough! When my husband first proposed, the first place we considered was Elk Lake. As a location, the forest and waterfront space is breathtaking, especially for those of us that love the outdoors. The venue is a perfect balance of nature, but with enough amenities that any wedding guests who are used to a big city won’t miss the creature comforts.

    I did shop around before making a deposit, and although there isn’t anything else quite like Elk Lake in Central Oregon, I still found that their pricing was very fair. Being a type A bride, Darcy answered my many questions quickly and was always helpful and honest with anything I asked in the months leading up to our event. On the big day, she made herself 100% available, communicated with my vendors, and made sure that at least a dozen little things were taken care of that I didn’t know were issues until after the day. Her personality is cheerful and calming, and I would absolutely plan another event with Darcy and her team at Elk Lake in a heartbeat!
  • Soon to be FRY
    Emily Married on 07/29/2017
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The team at Elk Lake really went above and beyond to make our wedding spectacular. They were very helpful and accommodating with everything from creating a specific menu to helping guests get from the parking to the venue. There was no request or question that they couldn’t handle.
  • A
    Amanda Married on 08/19/2017
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We went through 3 different wedding coordinators which was a little concerning, but they ended up letting us have a free ride on their snow cat to get in a food tasting, we thought that extra effort was pretty awesome. The food ended up being delicious, the setting was perfect, and after party was a BLAST. Thank you for making our dream wedding come true!
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 07/01/2017
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Incredibly beautiful venue. The staff was very helpful with the setup and organization of our large (180+ person) wedding. We had a wonderful wedding weekend and great stay in the cabins and campground with our guests!
  • L
    Lyndsay Married on 08/26/2017
    3.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    This is a beautiful location to have a wedding and I am very glad I did. The staff were very friendly and the owner Wendy was able to coordinate with our outside vendors to get everything done.
  • J
    Jason B. Married on 09/22/2018
    3.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful location, dog friendly, but a bit overpriced and unorganized.

    We really loved our wedding at Elk Lake! My wife and I are incredibly low maintenance though. We wanted beautiful mountain lake wedding and got what we wanted. Overall, we had a great experience and were able to keep it under $8,500 with the venue being nearly 50% of the cost.

    That being said, there were some things that could have been better. The experience of getting the wedding set-up was pretty unorganized. In fairness to the venue, they transitioned from one wedding coordinator who seemed pretty clueless and unprofessional to one who was more organized, but was still transitioning into the roll. Communication regarding pricing of various services was a bit unclear throughout the process and they were understaffed on the day of the event due to staff "illnesses." However, everything still went off without a hitch.

    We had a great experience, but weddings that have a picky and high-maintenance bride may be better held somewhere else.

    Our only real issue was the cost of the venue: $4,000. If that price included the food, I would have understood, but given the service we were provided, it seemed to be about double what it should have been.

    That fee covered: table cloths, venue set-up, toilet service, the wedding coordinator, someone to set up the sound system, access to the venue for a few hours, and a bartender which we did not utilize. And of course it pays into the actual cost of the reception tent (which has likely been paid for by this point). However, given the amount of weddings they have, the cost is still a bit unjustified.

    We would not recommend ordering alcohol from the venue. Beer options have a 200-400% markup depending on what you want.

    It is also important to note that if you choose to book a wedding in mid to late summer, that wildfire smoke may interfere with the views, and if you book it it early fall or late summer, the lake will likely have receded 20 feet in depth and 40 feet from the alter than how it is in late spring or early summer.

    All in all, we had a great wedding and had a great time with friends, dogs and family. We were able to watch the sunrise over Bachelor for several days and enjoy clean air and wildlife (foxes, coyotes, chipmunks, deer).