Elite British DJ Reviews

185 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

185 Reviews for Elite British DJ

Recommended by 100%

185
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

10 User photos

Elite British DJ 1
Elite British DJ 2
Elite British DJ 3
Elite British DJ 4
Elite British DJ 5
Elite British DJ 6
Elite British DJ 7
+ 4
Sort by:
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our photographer recommended Mick to us and we are so thankful we took her advice- Mick is an amazing DJ who clearly knows his business. He got every single person at our wedding reception (and we're talking almost 180 people) out on the dance floor immediately after the grand entrance, which set the stage for a phenomenal party! Not only is he professional, timely, and an excellent communicator, but he also has wonderful suggestions and advice he can offer to make the reception exactly as you want it (and he does not get offended if you decide not to take his advice). We have had wedding guests contact us since the wedding to tell us how wonderful the DJ was....I'd highly recommend him for any DJ needs!!

    Sent on 09/04/2017
  • Z

    Zach · Married on 07/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ Ever! Mick walked us through the whole process of the wedding. He gave us great ideas, and he KNOWS how to please the crowd.

    We met with him 2 months before the wedding, then one week before the wedding, and he was very responsive and personable.

    He gave us some really cool ideas to make our wedding unique and entertaining. If we wasn't for Mick, our wedding would have been just another boring wedding ceremony, BUT, Mick knows how to run the show!

    Don't waste your money on a "part time" DJ! Pay up - your guests will thank you for it!

    Jady & I LOVED the photos and videos you took! THANK YOU MICK!

    Sent on 07/22/2017
  • J

    Jayme · Married on 07/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best DJ!! My fiancé and I lived in different states, and Mick Skyped us, so we could discuss things all together! Mick offered a lot of great ideas - most of which we used! He is awesome, highly recommended!

    Sent on 07/04/2017
  • D

    David · Married on 06/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mick was great. Total pro. Personable on the mic and made great music choices for us. He came highly recommended to us and did not disappoint. Mick even gave us some great ideas to fill unplanned reception time. We lived him and our guests loved him. Thanks Mick!

    Sent on 07/08/2017
  • D

    Daniel · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mick was the DJ for our wedding on 06/10/2017 and he did not disappoint, nor did his reviews. Mick was able to keep the crowd lively and did a great job using our suggested songs along with those he knew were good for the moment. He also has a great sense of humor that is very appreciated. I had many people ask me who the DJ was and for his info...not a single person had any negative comment --- which if you've been to a lot of weddings --- you know how rare that really is. Thanks Mick!

    Sent on 06/29/2017
  • B

    Brigid · Married on 04/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot begin to recommend Mick highly enough. Our wedding was a big one, with 250 friends and family members from every corner of the country and every walk of life, and from the moment that the music started playing, EVERYONE was on the dance floor! Mick's help started long before the dancing began...in the months leading up to the event, he gave us great recommendations for music selections and general logistical decisions. On the evening fo the wedding, he made the room look beautiful with the addition of uplighting, and helped facilitate a seamless transition from one part of the evening to the next. His crowning accomplishment was a set list that had everyone on their feet all night! Mick is your man if you want a DJ who can really read a crowd.

    Sent on 05/15/2017
  • B

    Bernadette · Married on 04/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mick was amazing!! Not only was he was our DJ he was also our emcee. He is very passionate on what he does and has a lot of great recommendations for different types of music during the timeline of your wedding. He is also a great listener and played the songs we wanted. He can even customize certain songs for your ceremony. Our wedding was a few months ago and some of our guests are still raving about the music. After the wedding, he writes about your day on his blog along with a video of photos with your first dance song playing in the background. I LOVED our playlist that he put together and sent us a list of songs that were played. He provided uplights in our reception room and it made a huge difference in the mood lighting. We also had his wife, Julie, as our wedding planner. These duo are the simply the best! Don't look no further and sign on with Mick!

    Sent on 11/01/2017
  • A

    andrea · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mick is AMAZING! I was referred to him by a family friend who had him at their wedding. I actually had both Mick and his wife Julie (she is a wedding planner) for my wedding. Luckily I snatched them up before they got booked as i know they are in high demand.
    I have been to many weddings and Mick is honestly the best in his field. He knows what music will keep people dancing all night and that is what i wanted at my wedding. He went above and beyond to make the night memorable and fun. He also makes himself available for any changes up until the last minute. The night before the wedding I emailed him a song i wanted to make sure was played during dinner and he responded right away and made sure the song was played.
    The day after the wedding Mick sent me a video of our wedding reception with pictures him and Julie had taken and had our first dance song as the background music. He also sent a list of all the songs played at our wedding. That was such a special treat and something I did not expect.
    Mick is worth every penny and if you are able to book him for your wedding you are in for a treat!

    Sent on 04/08/2017
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mick went above and being to create a perfect wedding for us. His attention to detail, thought into every song, and help with lighting and the overall event flow, helped make this a wedding that our guests uniformly called the best they'd ever been to.

    He is timely, considerate, and knows music AND wedding dancing better than anybody you will ever meet. Thank you Mick!

    Sent on 11/25/2016
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mick was awesome! I come from a family of dancing people- and he kept them on the dance floor all night! Mick provided great suggestions for both ceremony and reception music. He has a great attitude and is a great DJ! If you are looking for someone who is great at getting and keeping the party going then Mick is your guy.

    Sent on 08/19/2016
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment we met Mick he got us excited and pumped and had many great ideas on how to get our guests active and dancing all night long. Come the wedding day everything went perfect from the cocktail hour music to the music ending the night everyone told us how much they loved the music and were dancing all night long. Highly recommend Mick, and the bonus was the special video he sent us with highlights from our wedding right before our honeymoon.

    Sent on 11/07/2016
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 10/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mick is a total professional which was the primary reason we decided to go with him, and we are so happy we did! We had been to a wedding with him a couple of years ago and had a great time, so he definitely came to mind when looking at all of our options. He has tremendous experience and even offered his input and advice in other areas of the planning and timing things throughout the evening. We had SO many compliments from our guests on the energy and music at our event. People absolutely loved our grand entrance and Mick was the mastermind behind how we kicked off the reception. It totally set the tone for a fun and lively reception. He offers his opinions based on his experience and what he has seen work or not work musically at events over the years and he is also very accommodating of your song preferences. For us, one of the most important aspects of hiring vendors was finding people that we knew we would not have to worry about or babysit. Because Mick is so organized and experienced, we knew that was one part of the wedding planning that was off our plates as soon as we hired him. He infused a wonderful energy into our event and we are happy to recommend him to anyone that is looking to throw a really fun party!

    Sent on 10/31/2016
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mick is awesome! Everyone said our wedding had the best music. Mick has been in the business for a long time and gave us a lot of helpful advice for our wedding. He did such a great job keeping the fun vibe and everyone on the dance floor! Thank you mick!!

    Sent on 10/29/2017
  • Z

    Zoe · Married on 09/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So we learned about Mick through a friend referral. We had our initial meeting with him and knew on the spot that we wanted to hire him. He knew exactly what songs to play to make our guests dance and we completely relied on his song choices other than the important first dance, etc. Our wedding guests are still talking about how amazing he was as a DJ. He was fun, entertaining and our dance floor was full so we were happy. Not to mention that we had the most amazing time at our wedding and we wouldn't do anything differently. Absolutely recommend hiring Mick as your DJ, he is the best.

    Sent on 09/28/2016
  • E

    Elly · Married on 08/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have hired Mick for all my wedding and event parties and at this time he has already hosted three of them. He is absolutely wonderful! He knows how to encourage guests on to the dance floor and they always have so much fun. I will continue to ask him to host my functions and I very highly recommend him to host your event. Elly

    Sent on 08/21/2016
  • M

    Mark · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mick was fantastic! He knows how to get a crowd going, brought humor to the night and was very easy to work with. He played all the songs we wanted, didn't go rogue and our guests LOVED him! If you want your night to be memorable and don't want to worry about a DJ that makes it all about himself, HIRE The Elite British DJ. He's The Man. You'll be glad you did!

    Sent on 08/18/2016
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mick was fantastic! He made some great suggestions for ways to make our event unique. He is straight forward and honest, will give you his opinion but will also listen first and foremost to what your preferences are. We really appreciated his guidance and ideas. Added bonus - his wife Julie (The Best Wedding for You) is a coordinator. Hire them both! They work so well together and are tons of fun. P.S. When he recommends the Should Dance, say yes!

    Sent on 09/10/2016
  • C

    Caleigh · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would recommend Elite British DJ to anyone, and everyone who needs a DJ! He was the absolute BEST, and I could not have asked for anything better at my wedding. Mick was more than a DJ, he hosted and kept the party flowing with his great sense of humor. He is exceptional at what he does and well worth the money. All of my friends and family who attended the wedding complimented Mick and the great music he played. I love Elite British DJ and will definately be using his services again.

    Sent on 07/14/2016
  • User6896551 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I hired Elite British DJ for just the reception portion of our wedding day. From the get go, it was clear that Mick knew exactly what did and didn't work at weddings, and what to play to ensure everyone had a good time. On the wedding day, Mick read the crowd and played songs that got everyone up and dancing, and had me cracking up with laughter during dinner. He took requests from the guests, but filtered out those he knew would kill the mood. My husband and I were having so much fun that we didn't want the party to stop! I keep hearing from my guests that it was one of the best weddings they've ever been to, and I know that is in large part due to Mick Scrivener of Elite British DJ.

    Sent on 06/28/2016
  • A

    Alison · Married on 05/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you need a DJ, stop looking at yelp for other reviews or other DJ’s and just call Elite British DJ. Mick surpassed all our expectations when he helped us plan the music for our wedding and then made the actual night fun and spectacular. Everything was perfectly timed, the music sounded great, the setup was well-organized, and everyone had a wonderful time dancing. The last thing you want at a wedding is an awkward DJ trying to coax people out onto the dance floor and his efforts falling flat. Mick has flair and a great way of interacting with the crowd, the bride and groom, and the wedding party to make the night so much fun.
    He works with an online form for you to fill on the music for each event at your wedding (processional song, first dance song, last song of the night etc), and then has a place for you to fill in some must play songs, would like to play songs, and do not play songs. Mick was very easy going about helping us choose songs. He would explain why certain songs would work well and certain songs were less successful, but ultimately we always felt that the decision was ours with no pushing from him. We gave him a lot of freedom with our music and he delivered an amazing playlist that we thoroughly enjoyed. We had so many people dancing through the night, and since it was a wedding with people aged from 12-82, we thought that was pretty impressive!
    He’s responsive, professional, actually British, and has a great sense of humor. He had a short vacation but was still available for any questions and always got back really quickly to us. He also had some really good ideas about unique things to try, or good timing for music that got us some great photos and a lot of excitement from our guests. We’ve heard a lot of people say that the DJ can make or break your wedding. If this is the case, then Mick made it for us. His work is truly excellent on all fronts.

    Sent on 05/24/2016
  • R

    Rob · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had Mick DJ our wedding. We were behind on many things leading up to our wedding and Mick made the experience working with him simple and easy. He let us make all our decisions, but did give us a great deal of welcomed advice from his experience from doing this so many, many times. Thankfully in each instance, his advice was really the way to go, keep the flow, add to the excitement of the entire day/night. He made some on the fly suggestions based on how the flow of the evening was going and they were spot on. He really played with how the crowd reacted to everything to make sure our guests had a great time. I was told by many people that this was the most fun they have ever had at a wedding. We thank Mick for that!

    Sent on 05/18/2016
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 04/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mick was the first vendor we picked after we got engaged...we firmly believe that good vibes are essential on the dance floor!

    Elite British DJ came highly recommended and with good reason. Mick was very professional and took all our requests into account using his online platform. As we had a solid English attendance at our wedding, he made sure our guests from "across the pond" had some tunes to boogey to, and let's just say, the Americans were more than happy to participate.

    Mick also gave us great feedback on our wedding timeline while remaining flexible and personable throughout the whole process. If he is available on your wedding day, count your lucky stars and book him. The man knows what he's doing!


    Sent on 08/17/2016
  • J

    Jaime · Married on 04/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW. Just wow. If you are looking for a wedding DJ, your search should end here. Mick made our wedding day spectacular and seamless. He ran the timeline perfectly and allowed us to sit back and enjoy the time with our family and friends. Everyone raved about him and the music, and everyone had a fantastic time! I am so happy that we went with all of his unique suggestions, especially playing Shout! right after the first dance. That was my favorite moment of the entire day. He even took a video of this moment and several pictures throughout the day and made us a beautiful slide show which he promptly sent us the next day after our wedding! Mick truly went above and beyond and we are so grateful.

    Mick was a pleasure to work with from beginning to end. He was very responsive throughout all of the planning phases and very helpful. He helped us make our wedding very personalized to us and also fun for our guests. I was so happy that I listened to his suggestions where we needed them as he is the professional and knows what works best. I couldn't be more pleased that we hired him for our wedding!

    Sent on 05/02/2016
  • B

    Brian · Married on 03/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We unfortunately had thunderstorms start about an hour before the ceremony, but fortunately we had Mick on our side. He helped transform a plain white tent into an amazing place to have a ceremony and all the guests loved it. The music was great and he had the entire wedding party dancing all night. Lastly, not only were his lights and music perfect, but he kept checking in with us to make sure we were ok and we implemented all his suggestions which were awesome. That rain could've really bummed us out but having him there to assure us that everything was going to be ok meant the world to us.

    thanks for a wonderful night!

    Sent on 03/17/2016
  • C

    Chih · Married on 03/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Right from the first meeting, we could tell he was experienced and professional... by his presentation, his website, his tips. He also loved to talk about music, so we could tell he was passionate about what he does. He was the right amount of listening to our ideas and giving his own recommendations. His predictions of how people would react to certain songs were spot on (so LISTEN TO HIM!). He is super organized; I loved his online system where you can you log in and organize your song requests, including prioritizing them from "must play" and "do not play." He also requested a final meeting with us closer to our wedding date to review all our song choices and discuss them, but still leaving us the flexibility of making any last minute choices in the days leading up to the wedding.

    At the wedding, he did not surprise us with anything that he said he would or wouldn't do previously. However he did pleasantly surprise us with a slideshow with a recording of my friends singing a personalized song about us at the reception. When he made announcements, he was well rehearsed, not overly verbose, funny at times, and looked for ways to keep the feel personalized. There were no technical issues (that we knew of); everything worked smoothly and the sound quality was great. We had a ton of guests coming up to us asking how we found him.

    If we were to do it all over again, we would still choose him! (and his wife as coordinator, but that's for a separate review)

    Sent on 03/07/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review