EJ Photography Emily Dowd Reviews

23 | Clarkston, MI
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for EJ Photography Emily Dowd

Recommended by 99%

23
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • D

    Diana · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love, Love, Love Emily!! She is amazing! We had so much fun with her! Easy to work with and will do everything she can to get the kind of shots you want. Never had to worry about her getting everything. Total trust in her! Our engagement pictures were amazing and can't wait to see the rest of our wedding pictures. Can't wait to use her again, for family photos!

  • Stephanie

    Stephanie · Married on 05/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily did the photography for our engagement and wedding. My husband and I were nervous for our engagement session at first because we’re a little camera-shy, but Emily, being very personable, made us feel comfortable, and the photos came out beautiful. She was very flexible in scheduling a day and place for the photos, which we really appreciated. Leading up to the wedding, Emily was helpful in offering her expertise on the day-of timeline about what would work, and what might be stretching it (timewise). The day of the wedding, she kept everyone calm and everything moving. When Emily sent us the wedding photos (~2 months later), we were so, so happy! She managed to capture all emotions going through us that day- happiness, nervousness, excitement. Emily’s photos and personality make her an amazing photographer!

  • H

    Heather · Married on 11/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I first started planning my wedding I knew that choosing a photographer was going to be one of the more difficult tasks. At the end of the celebration, photographs would be one of the only physical keepsakes from our wedding day. I read hundreds of reviews and looked through hundreds of photos in trying to reach a decision. My fiance was possibly even more particular than I was (having worked in a photo lab before, he picked up on some things that I had missed).

    After much discussion, we decided to meet with Emily as she was our top choice. After meeting with Emily we knew we would not need to meet with anyone else. Not only does she take the most amazing pictures, but she is absolutely wonderful to work with!

    We booked Emily for both engagement photos and our wedding day. When we got our e-pics back, I was blown away by how great the pictures were. The day of our shoot was very hot, and I was worried I would look like a mess in some of them. But in the photos you can not tell at all!

    I didn't think it would be possible, but our wedding photos are even better than our e-pics. The day of the wedding was quite busy and emotional, but Emily was able to keep everything moving along at a nice pace without it feeling rushed or like she was bossing us around. She is truly a professional but also lots of fun! The photos from our wedding day are truly spectacular. Emily takes the time to edit and crop each and every photo. As a result each photo is just perfect.

    While the cost might be more than some of the other options, this is definitely a case of you get what you pay for. We had a limited budget for our wedding and probably spent more on photography than we should have, but I do not regret it for a second! I could not be happier with choosing Emily as our photographer.

  • User3393385 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We highly recommend Emily! Both Emily and her assistant Crystal, are very professional, yet personable. They both stayed very calm which helped keep the rest of the wedding day chaos calm. It started to rain, and they kept the whole group calm, and still made all of our picture requests happen. We really had a blast working with them! Our sneak peak photos are beautiful, and we cannot wait to see the rest!

    We know that the photos by Emily will be the perfect reminders of our beautiful wedding day!

  • H

    Hannah · Married on 10/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our pictures turned out beautiful! Emily and her assistant Crystal really spent the time to make sure all the moments were captured. Thank you for capturing our day :)

  • S

    Shannon · Married on 08/06/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend choosing Emily as your wedding photographer! She was amazing! From the moment she arrived, we felt like she was a part of the family.

    We had so much fun taking pictures with her! It started raining during our ceremony so we had to change our photo plans last minute. She was wonderful and turned our alternate location into a really fun photo session. We can't wait to see the photos!

    Emily did a wonderful job keeping everything on schedule and working with all of our requests and my very large family. I would highly recommend choosing her as your wedding photographer!

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 10/23/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily Dowd is the perfect combination of photographer, artist, and business woman. And she is probably one of the nicest, most down to earth people I've met. Book her now; she'll be your favorite vendor!

    We knew Emily would be our wedding photographer as soon as we met her. She was prompt, friendly, professional, and blew us away with her work at our first meeting. I asked to see albums, she showed us albums, we asked to see photos from a full wedding, we got them. She was helpful to me throughout my planning and was great with offering suggestions for other vendors, locations for engagement photos, and our wedding day timeline. She even made a special trip out to Birmingham to scout photo sites for us BEFORE our engagement session.

    When it ended up being 94 degrees during our engagement photo shoot I was worried about how our photos would turn out. I shouldn't have been - we looked relaxed, happy, and in love when we got our photos back. You would have never known how hot we were! I've never gotten so many compliments on photos. Emily is super creative with ideas for great shots and she's wonderful at helping you look relaxed and happy in front of the camera. Apart from being an amazing photographer, Emily is a Photoshop master. You'll never look better in photos, I promise!

    On our wedding day, Emily was relaxed, fun, funny, and professional. She was a pleasure to spend the day with. Emily makes sure that you get what you want and uses a blend of styles. Whatever photos we asked for, she was happy to shoot for us. We had a fall wedding and I really wanted outdoor photos that showcased the beauty of the season. When we got our 600+ edited wedding photos back, we were blown away. Emily perfectly captured the joy of the day; our pictures were everything I had hoped for and so much more. The candids of us getting ready made me smile, our posed family portraits turned out beautifully (even Grandma was impressed!), and the photos of my husband and I are are amazing - so artistic, and romantic, and the crazy dancing shots she got at the reception made me laugh out loud!

    Emily is so talented. My family and friends can't stop raving about our photos. I can't tell you how many times I've heard, "these are the most beautiful wedding photos I've ever seen!" The artistic treatments Emily added to some of our outdoor photos are simply stunning. Many of our photos look more like artwork than just pictures of my husband and I.

    Emily captured so many priceless memories of the most important day of my life; looking at her photos bring my husband and I such joy - we will treasure them for a lifetime and we cannot recommend Emily enough!

  • bethany

    bethany · Married on 09/04/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As another Wedding Photographer, I could not have asked for a better experience!

    Emily is everything I strive to be in our field, fun, personable, and professional. Being a control freak, it was hard to find someone I could let go with and trust with what I saw as the most important day of my life, and I found that in Emily.

    Our wedding was a 'destination' wedding, so planning was tough, but she is a great communicator and so much fun, I knew the moment we met at starbucks I had made the right choice!

    She kept us on track for photographs, and was everywhere without being noticed.

    If I lived closer, she would be who I went to for other functions and family portraits. She totally becomes part of your family, and I will definatly recommend her to everyone I know in Michigan!

  • D

    Digla · Married on 08/21/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot describe how fabulous Emily is! Booking her was one of the best decisions we made in planning the wedding. She was by far one of our top vendors!

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 10/16/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot more highly recommend Emily. She was able to so beautifully capture every moment of our day, moments I would not have remembered if I didn't have pictures to trigger my memory. From the beginning she was wonderful, always getting right back with us whenever we had questions about anything. She was so wonderful to work with, she just felt like one of our friends just spending our special day with us. Our pictures are so phenomenal and artistic, so much more than wedding photos. We have so many amazing photos we have NO idea how to narrow them down to fit into an album! Without a doubt, my husband and I still say the best decision we made was hiring Emily.

  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 10/10/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily is an absolutely amazing photographer. She was definitely my favorite vendor to work with. We had a very short amount of time to get pictures taken as my husband and I didn't see each other before the ceremony and she did unbelievable work. She took charge and captured better pictures than we could have hoped for. We are thrilled with our photos and show them off any chance we get. Emily will continue to be our photographer for any needs we may have in the future.

  • K

    kalyn · Married on 06/12/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily is the BEST photographer I could have ever asked for. She is so professional and so much fun to have at your event. You never felt that she was in the way, or invading your space. Her turn around time was exactly as stated, even a few sneak peaks early on. Her quality is outstanding but her personality is even better. A year after our wedding Emily documented my pregnancy for me and is now doing my daughters pictures!

  • K

    kalyn · Married on 06/12/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily is the BEST photographer I could have ever asked for. She is so professional and so much fun to have at your event. You never felt that she was in the way, or invading your space. Her turn around time was exactly as stated, even a few sneak peaks early on. Her quality is outstanding but her personality is even better. A year after our wedding Emily documented my pregnancy for me and is now doing my daughters pictures!

  • C

    Carrie · Married on 10/11/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I know that there are an endless number of wedding photographers to choose from around the area. Lots of them have very impressive websites and great deals for wedding packages which makes it hard to choose... However, after my wedding (and attending lots of friends' weddings since), I have learned that you can't judge a photographer by their website alone - you really don't get to know them. Emily not only has an incredible talent and creative eye, but she is also one of the most easygoing and sweet people you will ever meet. Your photographer will be with you your entire wedding day - and I was so fortunate to have Emily with me! I couldn't even imagine having a photographer who is pushy, bossy, or unpleasant. Honestly, our entire wedding party (yes, even the guys) talked about how taking pictures was one of their favorite parts of the whole day! Emily is so easy and fun to work with. I think it's pretty obvious that Emily has my highest recommendation!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/27/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily was amazing to work with. From scheduling (and rescheduling) our engagement pictures to adding hours and services to our wedding day package and everything in between, she was able to make our wedding day memories perfect! Our pictures are beautiful and I couldn't ask for anything better. Emily is a treasure :)

  • A

    Amy · Married on 09/06/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily was our favorite vendor by far. Her talent is amazing. Her personality is what drew me to her - she is funny and so easy to get along with. She made my husband open up and feel more comfortable. If she has your date open, book her!!! You will not be disappointed.

    Not only is Emily a great photographer, she is an extraordinary people-person and that is why her clients feel so at ease with her. In return the photos are just stunning. My wedding and engagement photos are timeless and I can't wait to enjoy them for years to come.

  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 05/24/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily is absolutely amazing. I can honestly say she feels more like a friend than a wedding vendor. She arrived at our hotel room right on time, snapping pics from the hallway of the room number before she even came in. She just has such a great aura about her that makes people feel so relaxed and comfortable. I swear sometimes I forgot she was even there b/c she blends in so well and just kind of seems like one of the girls hanging out.

    We received our client login to 793 wedding pics, 4x6 prints of all of those pics, a reprint release CD of all the pics, and a DVD slideshow of the pics set to music (we chose the songs). The slideshow made me cry! We love love love our pics and couldn't be happier!

    We also had engagement pics done by Emily and loved those too. I definitely give her a perfect A+!

  • J

    Julie · Married on 09/01/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not say enough good things about EJ Photography. We not only got to use her for our wedding but now we get to use her to take pictures of of newborn baby. Emily is very professional, well priced, and just a ton of fun! She becomes your friend during the planning process and by the time the wedding comes around you feel so comfortable around her.

  • J

    Jenn · Married on 07/21/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily is the best, hands down. She captured our day so perfectly, and she felt more like a friend than just our photographer. It has been almost 3 years since our wedding, and I still can look at our pictures and album and get the same feelings I had on our wedding day. She is very personable and doesn't make you feel like you are just a paycheck to her; she truly loves what she does and she loves being a part of it all and it shows in her work. I wish I lived closer to have her do our maternity and family pictures!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 05/12/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are very uncomfortable in front of camaras but she worked her magic! We have beautiful pictures and get complements from everyone who sees our album. I could not have picked a better woman to take my wedding pictures! Such a talented artist, she takes shots that other people don't even see or think to! We even have a picture where, according to my husband, we look like super-heros, we just had so much fun. She is very flexible and forgave me for having her sit at the head table with us! Thank you so much Emily!

  • S

    Jackie · Married on 04/21/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily is absolutely amazing. She is so fun and laid back and a joy to have around. She takes amazing photos. She even took a few that I didn't even know she had taken. At our engagement session she really just sat back and let my husband and I do silly things while she took pictures, she did offer some direction which helped break the ice. At our wedding we had so much fun. She even rode on a golf cart with one of my crazy groomsmen to take pictures out on the golf course.
    Emily is so personable I now consider her a friend. I have hired her to take my children's milestone pictures and family pictures. She has also worked for my sister in law. I recommend her to anyone I meet that is planning a wedding. She is now a part of our family and if you were to hire her for your wedding, you would not be sorry with the end results!

  • K

    Kim · Married on 10/10/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily Dowd made me feel like I was one of her good friends from the moment I met her. Her personality is very warm and friendly and her vision is incredible. Her work speaks for itself - she is very talented and really puts a lot of effort into each and every event she shoots. I would recommend her to ANYONE who's getting married, having a baby, graduating high school, etc. She's amazing.

  • G

    Nicole · Married on 10/20/2007

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I really got along with Emily and so did DH. She had a very calming effect on me at our final appointment and on the wedding day, which I felt was very helpful.
    After the wedding, she was very patient with me as we went through numerous changes to our albums but they look absolutely fantastic now that they are finally finished!
    I love Emily so much I wish we lived closer so we could hang out!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review