Weddings

East Coast Soul Reviews

East Coast Soul View more information

120 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 120
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

32 User photos

Sort by:
  • Anna
    Anna C. Getting married on 05/08/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Talented, professional and flexible

    ESC put on an AWESOME show for our wedding. The musicians are SO talented and everyone loved them. ESC was easy to work with, professional, communicative and flexible. We would highly recommend them!
  • V
    Vinny F. Getting married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Better than we could have ever imagined!

    There aren't enough words to express to you how amazing teh ECS team is. I'm pretty sure our guests were talking about the band, Torrence and Traci more than us the night of-which is totally fine because they killed it. Several couples at the wedding wanted "the name of the band" because they want to book ESC for their wedding, and our parents and grandparents were brought back to a time of classic music, filled with rhythm and love.

    Aside from the raw talent of the Ensemble, the whole team are some of the most considerate, kind and down to earth people we have met in awhile. The whole team felt like guests and old friends that just happen to be amazing performers and musicians. We are trying to come up with another reason to throw a party just to hire them again.

    From the onset, ECS have been an absolute pleasure to work with. Buttoned up and organized which was equally as rewarding as music the night of.

    Everyone left happy and tired from dancing and smiling. Selfishly, the 3 songs that my husband and I wanted to dance to at our wedding were preformed to perfection, which gave us those rare opportunities where we got to show how much we love each other and dance to songs we loved which made our night special. They nailed it.
  • J
    Julia T. Married on 09/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We love ecs

    We LOVE East Coast Soul! Their performance for our wedding was absolutely amazing! We keep hearing so many compliments from our guests - from their fun range of classics to new hits, to their liveliness and energy bringing people in to dance! We want to get married again and again just to get ECS back!!
  • Nick
    Nick S. Married on 08/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    ECS was awesome!

    East Coast Soul was awesome! We hired them for a 150 person wedding in Maine and they were great to work with from our initial inquiry through the wedding reception. The band was fantastic and made the wedding celebration so much fun. Would highly recommend!
  • Talia
    Talia Married on 08/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highlight!

    East Coast Soul truly made our wedding. The universal compliment from our guests was the music. We are beyond grateful to the entire team for making the planning process so efficient and the day itself so special. There were family members I wholly anticipated to sit down the entire night on the dance floor, smiling, laughing, and making a party train. What talent and energy ECS brought! I would highly recommend them to anyone! (P.S. I later heard that the pianist was covering his keyboard with his jacket so that we could move forward with our outdoor ceremony despite a scattered shower. I would have thanked him that day, but I was oblivious to the fact that it had even rained. Seriously, thank you so much.)
  • Debbie
    Rachel S. Married on 07/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Esc is fabulous!

    Cannot imagine a better band! The talent, the energy, the performance ... they bring it all. The guests LOVED them and were dancing all night... and the professionalism and attention to detail leading up to the event cannot be beat. This is THE BAND!
  • T
    Timothy W. Married on 06/26/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Book this Wedding Band!

    The Atlantic Ensemble at East Coast Soul performed at our wedding in Stowe, Vermont - three weeks later and we are still getting comments about how amazing the band was! And we couldn't agree more! Art and Sean of ECS were so easy to deal with leading up to the wedding - they sent us a detailed questionnaire which made planning a breeze, and they were very responsive to our questions and had tons of great suggestions about dance selections, timing, etc. The cocktail hour music was great and relaxing. We had a pretty detailed list of requests for how we wanted our wedding party intros and the first song introduced, and the band nailed it. Incredible musicians all around. They kept the dance floor packed all night! We cannot recommend East Coast Soul enough!
  • Emily
    Emily R. Married on 05/14/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Must book!

    East Coast Soul absolutely MADE our wedding. A good live band was our #1 priority for our wedding and they absolutely delivered. We were nervous to book without seeing them in person, but the live videos online were very representative of their performance in person (in fact, I think they were even BETTER live). You won't be disappointed if you book these guys!
  • E
    Elena G. Married on 06/26/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highlight of the night!

    I cannot recommend East Coast Soul enough. From the initial conversation with Art and Sean to the final event (just a few weeks ago), if you live in the New England area and you're not working with East Coast Soul, you're doing it wrong! The band was absolutely the highlight of our wedding. Not a single person was sitting during the dancing portion of the evening and we're still getting daily compliments on their incredible music!! Astha BROUGHT THE HOUSE DOWN! I want to relive her singing over and over again.

    Besides the incredible music day-of, Art was such a pleasure to work with pre-wedding day. We went through date changes, venue changes, dancing, no dancing and Art was with us every step of the planning process. He was extremely thoughtful and organized in his responses and we so appreciate his help and support throughout this planning process!

    I hope to be at another event with East Coast Soul soon!!
  • Shelby
    Shelby S. Married on 05/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Wedding Band. Ever.

    East Coast Soul is hands down the best wedding band out there. Their vibe, energy, professionalism and most of all, performance were outstanding! From the moment we chose to work with them, everything ran smoothly. It was a very straightforward process and they worked with us on everything from the ceremony through the reception. We had a string quartet at our ceremony and it really made all the difference. It was beautiful. We had a few of the band members play at the cocktail hour and the vibe was perfect. I can't say enough about the Stax Ensemble at the reception. From the moment they started playing through the end of the night, the dance floor was packed. Their song choices and performance were absolutely amazing and the night was everything we could have imagined and more. Months after the wedding we are still getting compliments on the band and have people telling us they were the best wedding band ever. Highly recommend this fabulous group. Thank you so much, ECS!!!
  • L
    Lindsay Married on 11/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly, highly recommend

    By far the most common thing we heard after the wedding was how great the band was--and more than one person said it was the best wedding band they'd ever seen. We had the Soulsville ensemble, and wanted mostly Motown and similar music, and they delivered. People were on the dance floor all night. The band was great to work with ahead of the wedding, as were they the day of. I highly, highly recommend them!
  • A
    Anne I. Married on 11/02/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best!!!!

    Are you looking for a wedding band that will blow your guest away? Are you looking to have a huge non-stop dance party at your wedding with your friends and family running up to you and saying , "Can I be a groupie for this band?!?!". Then look no further, stop thinking about anything else and book East Coast Soul!

    We were originally introduced to ECS at a friends wedding, and to put it lightly, they were so amazing that I lost my voice the next morning from all the fun the crowd was having. When my fiance popped the question and we were planning the logistics of our wedding, we both knew that we wanted ECS at our wedding. We are so thankful they had an opening, and quickly booked them to be our band.

    Working with the managers of ESC, specifically Sean and Art, was wonderful, stress-free, and effortless. They are prompt, professional, kind, and down to earth. They are willing to work with you for anything in order to make your day shine.

    And then comes the wedding night--and oh goodness did the band deliver! I've never seen a band play with as much heart, soul, and gusto as ESC. They were able to play a diverse array of music to cater to all our guests, young or old(er). Everyone was dancing the night away, and the lead singers truly put on a performance show. They know how to gauge the crowd, which songs to play, and when to bust out the insane dance moves. Yes, this band comes equipped with dance moves too!

    We are so thankful to have had the opportunity of ESC performing at our wedding. They are truly electrifying and provided us with such fun memories that we will cherish for a lifetime. Book them TODAY!
  • laura
    Laura Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best wedding band!!

    We had the stax ensemble and they were AMAZING! Everyone loved them and they entertained the crowd with their dance moves too. I may be biased but they were the best wedding band I’ve ever seen!
  • Emily
    Emily Z. Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Soulsville (East Coast Soul) brings the party!

    East Coast Soul was fantastic! Aside from our venue. the band was the first vendor we booked. We loved the reviews and videos we saw. and got in touch early on. The team is very interested in matching couples with the band that would be the best fit, and we knew this would be Soulsville. We wanted our music to be a highlight and we knew we wanted a combo of motown/soul/minimal top 40s. And they delivered!

    Soulsville did an outstanding job bringing our party to life. People can't stop talking about how great they were! The dance floor was packed the whole night, which is exactly how we pictured our wedding. They performed a stellar Hora for our Jewish wedding and performed all of our first dance songs beautifully. The most exciting thing, though. was the Hey Jude/Shout mashup - we didn't want it to end!

    We are so grateful to the band for making our party so memorable. We highly recommend them! And as someone who did a LOT of research and who has been to a LOT of weddings, I feel that the value of this band is unmatched. Stop your search now!
  • C
    Caroline T. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best band EVER

    ECS is unreal. They are SO MUCH MORE than a band. Not only are they all incredibly talented, they are genuinely kind happy people. Our dance floor was lit because of ECS. Torrence has the voice of an angel and Yuki got in the crowd- people went wild. Do not choose anyone else!!
  • Mary
    Mary Y. Married on 10/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best wedding band ever!

    My husband and I saw East Coast Soul at a wedding one week after we got engaged. We did not have a venue or date yet, but we knew we HAD to have East Coast Soul at our wedding. We immediately reached out to them and they worked with us each step of the way. They were not only helpful and responsive, but they took each of our crazy requests and made our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception music absolutely perfect. I cannot say enough good things about this group. We had every single person up out of their seats on the dance floor the entire night. They aren't just there to provide music, they are there to perform and get the party going. You will not be disappointed at all if you choose this group!!
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth S. Married on 09/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Other than our marriage, ECS was the best part of the whole event!

    East Coast Soul was, without a doubt, the most incredible wedding band we ever could have asked for. We booked them sight unseen after seeing a different ensemble from the band play at another wedding several years ago, and never thought twice about booking a new ensemble without seeing them prior. We had 7 pieces and it was absolutely perfect. They have a very involved form that clients fill out to create the best night possible with the clients' visions prioritized from the beginning. This form and the details are not set in stone, though, so you are free to edit and amend throughout the planning process as your vision changes: this is ideal because not all major music decisions are easy to make from the beginning. The details are not so much that they are overwhelming, though. It is just enough to feel like you as the client have control over the event and the flow, while also giving ECS the freedom to do what they do best. We chose to have the band run the show - we did not have many stipulations or requests, and we are so happy that we had ECS use their best judgment of the night and the crowd to optimize the performance. They handled absolutely everything A/V from the beginning: from a gorgeous guitar playing for the ceremony, to the wedding party introductions, through the first dances (they even changed a lyric in a song for us as well as learned a new song), toasts, and the dance floor. They had suggestions for all of the processionals/entrance songs and we were so happy to have gone with their selections that made more sense than what we had initially requested. Their set list is long, diverse, and fantastic. Everyone was out on the dance floor all night. Their breaks were appropriately timed, they maintained high energy all night, and they got the party going again after people took breaks from the dance floor. They were excited, engaged, and seemed truly happy to be there with us on our special night. Their vocalists even got out on the dance floor with us to engage with the crowd. They did not have any special requests or needs, and were so easy to accommodate and work with from the beginning. ECS was the first thing we booked for our wedding after the venue, and we're so glad we did. This band is well worth it: you'll be happy you booked them and you'll never look back.
  • Beth
    Beth S. Married on 09/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    They Rocked It.

    We had East Coast Soul-Atlantic play at our wedding in September. They were so easy to work with and made planning the musical portion of the evening super easy. We loved that they also played for the ceremony and during the cocktail hour! The reception was so much fun because the band picked amazing songs to play and kept everyone out on the dance floor!! Plus, they were the most reasonably priced band we looked at! Thanks for helping make our wedding so memorable!
  • Lindsey
    Lindsey K. Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best band!

    You do not need to search any further - you should hire East Coast Soul for your wedding! They are INCREDIBLE. We used the Stax ensemble and so many guests made a point of letting us know after the wedding how impressed they were by the sound and physical energy the band brought to the stage. The band played for several hours straight without breaks and kept the dance floor energy up - and we had a blast the entire time. Everyone from our little cousins to our grandparents were on the dance floor absolutely loving the music. And Sean was an excellent emcee the whole night which made the intros, cocktail music, and speeches run perfectly. Not to mention the band was very easy to work with and accommodated all of our requests - including having family members play with them and asking them to learn new songs for our dances. Guests haven't stopped asking for more information on this band for family / friends weddings because they are truly the best band you can hire for your wedding. Don't wait to reach out or they'll be booked for your big day!
  • C
    Ciara B. Married on 09/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    ECS is epic.

    I can't express my love for East Coast Soul more. They made our wedding exactly what we wanted it to be, which was an EPIC party. Not only are they incredible musicians, but outrageously impressive performers as well. We're still getting comments from guests about how incredible they were. Between the song selections, their ability to go with the flow and to fire up the crowd, they are a 12/10 and easily the best band I've ever had the pleasure of experiencing. I'm totally smitten by them and recommend them whole heartedly for your wedding.
  • Nicole
    Nicole T. Married on 09/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible!

    They ARE the Wedding !!! We saw them at a friends wedding and immediately knew we had to have them at ours . Especially the Stax Ensemble staring Giang Luc. He is electrifying !!! People were literally blown away by this band and we have already booked them for an office Xmas party . The team was organized in booking and capturing our style of music and very helpful with playlist for background music when the live band wasn’t playing . Literally the best wedding band ever.
  • M
    Miriam Married on 09/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Loved East Coast Soul!

    We are so pleased with the impact that East Coast Soul made on our wedding day! We booked ECS 3 months before our date; the booking and planning process were so smooth, and they kept us calm throughout. We didn't get a chance to meet the band beforehand, so we went off of online reviews, and a previous client's reference which was helpful and reassuring. They are so talented, were great entertainment at our wedding and played beautifully during our ceremony. We were most impressed with their willingness and ability to include our culture's traditional music, and played an incredible Hora! We are hopeful we will be able to see ECS at a wedding in the future!
  • Andrea
    Andrea K. Married on 08/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So good!!!

    These guys are so f*king good. Honestly, they absolutely killed it - our guests are still talking about how great the band was. They are responsible and responsive in the planning phase, they are very talented musicians, and they know how to party.
  • L
    Lindsay K. Married on 08/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Part Of My Wedding

    Hands down-the BEST decision I made for my outdoor Vermont wedding. I planned my wedding on my own and knew that music was just as important to me as tasty food, but was not sure if a band would understand how to work with my unique and unconventional requests. I started to work with Art and immediately felt comfortable and knew I was dealing with professionals. We went with The Soulsville ensemble and they absolutely blew everyone away. We had an older crowd for guests and we were worried no one would dance, but the dance floor was packed the entire evening. More importantly to me was that I gave them a few songs I needed them to play (which they did, on time and exactly as I had envisioned) but they understood how to navigate the evening and did not need their hands to be held. When planning a wedding on your own, there are a ton of things to think about and plan but ECS was not a bother. They knew what to do and did it better than I ever could have imagined. I want to get married again just to listen to them! ECS will be your smartest and easiest decision for your wedding!
  • Cicely
    Cicely Married on 08/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing band

    I literally cannot stop talking about how amazing this band was at our wedding. I have never danced so much at a wedding and I've never seen so many people both on the dance floor and moving tables to dance on the grass around it! I truly am not just saying that because it was my own wedding - this band was the talk of the entire next morning's brunch. We had the Stax ensemble with Dan and Astha singing and they are some of the most engaging performers I've ever seen. The whole band is so immensely talented and they did an excellent job with learning our first dance song, playing really appropriate (but good!) dinner music, and then turning it UP for the dance party. They also were so awesomely accommodating about traveling and making sure all details were accounted for. Thank you ECS!!!