Dumbarton House Reviews

22 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Dumbarton House

Recommended by 93%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • Kate

    Kate · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible Wedding Venue!

    Dumbarton house was a magical place to get married. Hilary Hughes and her staff did an amazing job! I would highly recommend Dumbarton House.

    Sent on 06/03/2019
  • C

    Cassie · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was our first and our last place to select for our wedding! We went for more of a garden themed, yet wanted to stay within DC since most of our guests were coming from out of town and didn't want to opt for a vineyard that would require shuttles to drive everyone out to Virginia. Suzanne who is the event coordinator was very responsive and detailed, and had also worked with some of our other vendors so we were very lucky with that.

    The Dumbarton house is already a beaut that you don't need too many decorations if a garden-themed wedding is what you're aiming towards. We had our wedding in the fall so the leaves made for great, natural decor. You have the option to use upstairs, downstairs, and inside. The house has a great flow to it. Although the house can accommodate up to 150, I would suggest 120 or less to accommodate for dance floor space.

    Sent on 12/08/2016
  • A

    Abi · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married at the Dumbarton House on October 1, 2016, and it was everything we wanted it to be. The coordinator, Suzanne, was so helpful throughout the entire process, answering the numerous questions we had, always in a very timely manner. She was very professional and worked well with all of our other vendors.

    We had 113 guests and a live band, which fit the space very well. We held our ceremony in the North Garden, and it felt secluded and was quiet, definitely did not seem like it was in the middle of Georgetown. The cocktail hour was in the Upper Terrace, and because of the possibility of rain, we tented this area only. The tent was high enough that it didn't feel closed in, and we were happy with the result. The dinner and reception were in the Belle Vue room and the Lower Courtyard. We sat half of the tables outside and the other half in the room, but it really felt like one room. My husband and I would occasionally walk by the Dumbarton House in the months leading up to our wedding, and we were able to see different tent configurations on the property, which helped informed our decisions on the tents.

    This is such a beautiful and historic venue in Washington, DC and we received so many compliments on how classy yet comfortable it felt. The staff was extremely helpful, and we would recommend this to anyone looking for a venue!

    Sent on 10/31/2016
  • C

    Caity · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at the Dumbarton House was totally perfect. The house itself is gorgeous-- we used the gardens for the cocktail reception and the Belle Vue room and patio for the dinner, and everyone was extremely impressed. We chose the Dumbarton House because of the dedicated indoor space (rather than setting up a tent on grass, which made me nervous), its interesting history, its ornate ballroom (we did very little additional decorating), and the attentiveness of the staff.

    Throughout the planning experience, the staff was responsive, flexible, informative, and very nice. During the cocktail hour, my husband (!) and I were trying to find a quiet place to talk in the middle of all the revelry, and a Dumbarton House staff member brought us to a private room away from the crowd and had the catering staff bring us wine and a plate of canapes. This gesture was so sweet and made us feel valued as guests.

    I highly recommend the Dumbarton House! Wonderful value, inspiring history, perfect experience!

    Sent on 10/20/2015
  • A

    Adriana · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dumbarton house was perfect for our wedding. Cocktail hour in the garden was perfect and it was fun for guests to be able to wander through the little museum. The reception hall is fantastic and picturesque. The only thing to consider is that you will have to add the cost of a tent for the patio area (not cheap) and that the tent won't be air-conditioned. The staff was fabulous!

    Sent on 08/21/2016
  • J

    Jean · Married on 08/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would recommend Dumbarton House hands down. We worked with Suzanne, who was so helpful and nice throughout the entire process. We had to do two different walk-throughs, and she was very flexible. The wedding day went great and the scenery couldn't be beat. You really don't need to decorate much b/c the Dumbarton House and their grounds speak for themselves. It was also a great deal compared to other vendors in the area.

    Sent on 09/17/2014
  • User4233626 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Dumbarton House is so beautiful, and the people who run the place are friendly and easy to work with. We only had our ceremony there - in the garden outside - which a lot of people don't realize is possible, so they think the Dumbarton House may be too expensive for them. They really know what they are doing, which was much appreciated by this bride!

    Sent on 06/21/2015
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dumbarton House was the perfect setting for our June wedding. We couldn't have asked for a better venue. We held the ceremony in the back garden (120 people), had cocktails on the upper terrace and had a seated dinner in the Bellvue Room/lower terrace. We were initially concerned about the reception being separated into two rooms, but when the french doors are all open, the two rooms flow seamlessly. The event coordinator changed during the course of our planning, but the current coordinator, Susanne, was a pleasure to work with. She was responsive and very helpful throughout the process.

    One thing to note is a tent for the lower terrace is required and the house does not provide any rentals (tables, chairs, etc) so be sure to factor those additional costs in.

    Sent on 07/07/2014
  • S

    Shannon · event on 12/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dumbarton House is a beautiful venue, filled with history and prestige. The staff are very nice and incredibly accomodating!

    Sent on 03/25/2014
  • User3676037 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dumbarton House was a fabulous venue -- lovely space and great staff. The sticker price is a bit high, but staff worked with us to get some discounts through their donation program and preferred vendors. The staff (Carol then Suzanne) were very professional and responsive, and the walk through was very detailed. A+ all around

    Sent on 11/13/2013
  • I

    Izumi · Married on 08/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dumbarton House was a perfect venue for our wedding! The house and garden were beautiful. Missy (events manager) was very kind and helpful! We highly recommend it!

    Sent on 07/29/2012
  • C

    christine · Married on 05/16/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Dumbarton House was a fantastic location and the staff was incredible. I highly recommend having your wedding at Dumbarton.

    Sent on 08/03/2009
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 07/23/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dumbarton House is just gorgeous. We had our ceremony on the back garden centered on the stone niche between the urns. So intimate and picturesque. Our dinner was in the ballroom below, and because of the size of our group, had to tent the stone patio. With the French doors open, you wouldn't think it was two rooms. Dancing was inside, as well as cake cutting. Everything was just perfect. Highly recommend!!

    Sent on 02/01/2007
  • C

    Carrie and Ethan · Married on 09/27/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we first saw Dumbarton House we knew this was where we were going to get married. While the house itself is beautiful, it was the grounds that attracted us. Dumbarton was very accommodating in showing us around and let us stop by multiple times before the wedding to get a proper feel of the venue. We worked with Suzanne who was especially wonderful in answering all of our questions and even offering suggestions when we asked. The staff that worked the event was very professional and accommodating as well.

    The only hiccup was that a few days before the wedding we were informed that the terrace, where we originally had planned to have the cocktail hour, had to have lattice work blocking the banister (and the view) since the banister was loose. While the east garden worked out better in the end, we did have to update relevant vendors just days before the wedding, which added some unnecessary stress. However, this seems to be a rare occurrence. Overall, everything went smoothly and everyone loved our venue and commented on how beautiful it was. We loved it as well and would not hesitate to recommend Dumbarton House.

    Sent on 11/21/2014
  • User3510587 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used the Dumbarton House for my wedding reception in May 2014. I LOVED it! The staff were great to work with, the venue is absolutely beautiful, and every time I visited I just fell in love with it even more. It has a very elegant, yet un-pretentious feel. The vendors that the event coordinator recommended were absolutely wonderful and they are willing to work with you if you have a tight budget (I did). I honestly cannot say enough wonderful things about this place. My reception was just absolutely perfect!

    Some things to keep in mind (not negative, just things to consider):
    -You MUST reserve the venue for an additional 3 paid hours (2 for setup, 1 for cleanup) in additional to your event hours. So keep that in mind for cost calculations.
    -They have a preferred vendors list, but you don't have to use those vendors unless you want a tent. They will only let you use one tent company... and it is pretty pricey. The tent, however, is beautiful and well-constructed so you don't have to worry about quality.
    -

    Sent on 06/10/2014
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/07/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have been more pleased with choosing Dumbarton House for our wedding. The venue is classic D.C. - it's beautiful, offers indoor/outdoor space, and is a historic property that doubles as a museum. It is full of charm and character. We were also extremely pleased with the level of service and professionalism of the staff that week worked with. Suzanne was extremely responsive and accommodating. We had our wedding ceremony in the courtyard, reception in the ballroom with a tented area, and a cocktail hour outside. We also came to the venue a few hours early to take pictures - the setting is really perfect for wedding photos. Also of note are the many delightful hidden rooms in this charming venue. There was space for a bridal suite and a room that was perfect for our ketubah signing ceremony. If you want a classic D.C. wedding, this venue is really perfect.

    Sent on 05/22/2016
  • User3428552 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was at the Dumbarton House in November 2013 and it was wonderful! Our only concerns about the whole day were what you would expect in November in Washington, DC -- which was that it was a little cold. Luckily with Sugarplum, the tent vendor that Dumbarton House uses, our guests were kept warm. The tents and heaters got a little expensive though. The Dumbarton grounds are beautiful and were great for photos of the wedding party before things got started. The grounds and house are also very spacious for doing both a ceremony and reception all at one venue. It's also great having flexibility with catering. 100% recommended!

    Sent on 03/25/2014
  • Anna

    Anna · Married on 05/25/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dumbarton House was a gorgeous venue and I'm glad we picked it. Suzanne, the Rental Events Coordinator, was fantastic-- responsive, patient and knowledgeable. I had a million dumb questions and she always got back to me quickly.

    The venue is very pretty and I liked that we could have the ceremony and reception all on one site. As most of our guests were from out of town we needed a venue that was close to DC proper, and Dumbarton House is just the right balance of being in the city without having the drawbacks, like hearing traffic.

    There are some drawbacks, but that's inevitable with any place. It's a historic property so there are some limitations for what you can do, but nothing unreasonable. It's pricey, but you'll get that anywhere you go in this area. A tent is mandatory if your wedding guests are above a certain number, which further adds to the cost. A venue is really about what fits you and your needs, and for us, it was a lovely fit.

    Sent on 07/01/2014
  • A

    Abigail · Married on 09/17/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception (but not ceremony) at Dumbarton House and got so many compliments from our guests on the beautiful venue! The staff are great to work with, the space itself needs absolutely no decor, and it was a perfect mix of central DC location and private, serene escape. Just be sure that you want a historic home event--there are restrictions on food, wine, decorations, and rental options. All of these are reasonable for maintaining the house, but will place limits on your options. Again, we were incredibly pleased with the party, and would recommend Dumbarton to any couple who wants a relaxed but sophisticated event!

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • D

    Deb · Married on 09/07/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall, we LOVED the Dumbarton House! I can't imagine a better venue in DC for our wedding.

    I do have a few suggestions though.

    It was a real bummer to have that fence put up on the patio weeks/months before the work started. We paid a lot for the venue, and the outdoor space/look is basically what we're paying for. So to have that huge fence go up that has such a significant influence on the view before you even need to do the work seemed a little inconsiderate and like bad management. Surely there could have been a better way to handle the old balustrade.

    Also, I have to say that I think the tent company is taking advantage of you (and your clients). Those prices are outrageous. Of all of the overpriced wedding industry expenses we had for the event, that was the only one that truly seemed unreasonable. Granted, we chose the clear roof tent (which was really important to me), but the cost of the tent was almost as much as the cost of the venue.

    Sent on 09/27/2014
  • User3424881 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue for smaller weddings. Price is not cheap, but not outside of reasonableness for what you receive. It has so many beautiful areas on the property for ceremony, cocktail hour, gardens for children to play, a beautiful ballroom, for photos, etc.

    Sent on 07/28/2013
  • G

    Gloriel Rodriguez · Married on 08/31/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Beautifule venue, terrible service

    The Dumbration house is a very beautiful location, and it turned out exactly how we wanted it. However, in terms of staff at the Dumbarton house, that was a bit of a nightmare. I'd have to call and email a few time before getting a response, and the event coordinator had no idea which room we had booked just days before the ceremony. We were told when we booked that we'd have two rooms to hang out in before the ceremony for the guys and the girls. A week before the ceremony we were told there was renovations going on, and there was only one room available. There was zero communication. That on top of all the other stresses of planning a wedding, was incredibly annoying.

    Sent on 10/03/2019

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review