Skip to main content
Weddings

Duke's Malibu Reviews

Duke's Malibu View more information

Reviews

4.6 out of 5 rating
20 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating
93% Recommended by couples

Awards

20
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • User2991934 Sent on 03/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This is the second event we have hosted at Duke's. It is an all around a fantastic place to celebrate! The staff are extremely helpful while planning the event and they are a pleasure to work with on the day of. We kept it simple and had plenty of room for a dance floor, photo booth and a churro cart. The room lends itself to a warm, happy atmosphere and is perfect for a party.
  • J
    Benn Sent on 09/29/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We just had our wedding rehearsal dinner at Duke’s Malibu this past weekend. Since we were getting married up in the canyons, I wanted something on the water for our rehearsal. We had originally chosen another venue and after starting the process with them, we decided that we weren’t happy. We contacted Duke’s and they couldn’t have been more accommodating! The event staff (Natalie and Madelina) were incredibly helpful in every stage of planning the night/menu and the private room was a perfect size for our needs. The food was terrific and everyone loved the appetizers that we choose...highly recommend the Shrimp Croquettes and Poke Cups!!
  • K
    Katie-Joy Sent on 08/24/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    From start to finish Duke's Malibu was a dream come true for our wedding. Madelina and Natalie helped us plan and stay on track leading up to the wedding. Natalie ended up helping the day of our wedding and we could not have asked for better service. The service was complimented by everybody who attended our wedding, showing that the staff took not only good care of us, but also our guests.
    The food was phenomenal! We had a daytime buffet wedding and we were nervous about how well the food would taste buffet-style, but Duke's again exceeded our expectations. I highly recommend the Duke's Style Fish, it was the highlight of the day.
    The view/location. We originally wanted a night wedding, however I am so glad that we did a daytime wedding and took advantage of this venues amazing view. Duke's also provides the ability to do our wedding photos on the beach.
    I'm unable to express enough our extreme gratitude and happiness with our whole experience at Duke's and with the Events Team.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Sam Sent on 08/12/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our guests were wowed upon entry to the Ocean Room. Throughout our event, we could hear the ocean - and the views were spectacular. The service was top notch - and the food was delicious. From the very first meeting, through all of our planning, the staff was professional and responsive. We had use of a Wedding Suite to get ready, which was a nice touch. We highly recommend Duke's Malibu for your wedding!
  • C
    Carolyn Sent on 05/03/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    When our room was changed due to remodeling we were upgraded at no extra charge as well as being reassured if we really didn't feel the room would work that we could have the original room. I think our server was Adrian- he was awesome, couldn't have asked for anyone better. He let us change table locations, he was relaxed and helpful. When people weren't getting their own drinks he took some around to get people started. Thank you for helping us have a wonderful day.
  • User2125635 Sent on 05/10/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The best location we could have chosen for our wedding! It felt like a magical venue for us, and our guests were impressed with the place, the vibe and the food! We heard many times that it felt like they just were at a 'vacation' / wedding. Planning was easier that expected, thanks to Alessa and the Duke's staff, that made us feel at ease through the entire process and they were great at accommodating all the reasonable requests we had; they answered all our questions in a timely manner and they took care of the basic planning and arrangement of the venue. Also, the ocean provided a magnificent background for the ceremony. We felt that compared to other venues in Los Angeles, the Duke's package price was fair and extremely competitive.
  • User2000020 Sent on 01/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding at Duke's Malibu in December 2014 was absolutely perfect. We had an amazing time and you really can't beat the view! It was absolutely stunning.

    The staff did an excellent job. Madelina, Alessa, and Mia were so helpful through the entire process. Every detail was perfect. They really know what they are doing. I could not have imagined a better day or more perfect location. Everything was so easy- from the smooth set up to the food all being exactly on time, I didn't have to worry about a thing! It was exactly what we wanted, a relaxed atmosphere, a beautiful view, and an elegant wedding. We chose a morning wedding (10am) because we wanted to get the most out of the gorgeous ocean view- we even saw dolphins and sea lions playing in the water.

    I had to focus really hard on the ceremony because I knew if I looked out the window I'd get lost in the view. :)

    The only thing I'm sad about is that we didn't get to enjoy the food. It was delicious and everyone loved it, but we were too excited that we just didn't feel like eating much.

    When looking for a venue, I was starting to get discouraged at all the outrageous prices. I reached out to Duke's thinking "there's no way we are gonna be able to afford this" but when I talked to them and got the initial quote, I couldn't believe it. I immediately got excited and thought- "Wow! We can actually do this!"

    If you are considering Duke's as an option... DO IT!! It was an awesome experience and everything was so amazing. A really great venue and, in my opinion, a fantastic value. I cannot recommend it enough.
  • L
    Laura Sent on 10/15/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This review is for the Ocean Room, the banquet and event staff and of course the Food.
    First need to start out by stating that i come from a VERY picky family full of foodies. They know and love good food, there are chefs, pastry chefs and in general people obsessed with the newest and greatest restaurants in la, and around the globe. But to be honest i didnt originally book this location for the food. I booked it for the location, as my son and his bride had a small destination wedding in Hawaii and our large family couldn't attend. So we wanted to continue the beach theme, and Hawaiian ambiance, and this was just a no brainer for the obvious reasons. The VIEWS FROM THE OCEAN ROOM WERE ABSOLUTELY BREATHTAKING. so next came the part to work with the event staff and work out a menu with our modest budget that would try to appease all the foodies in my family... I cant even begin to tell you that it was SENSATIONAL. every single item, detail was paid attention to in every single detail. The buffet was just gorgeous and food, prepared with love and care. Everything was absolutely delicious.
    So if that wasnt enough, of having the perfect location, and the food outstanding, the only thing that could make or break an event, is the staff. and the folks working over at Dukes, Madeline, Alessa, Matt, Deanna, and of course the chef and his kitchen staff were absolutely outstanding. Customer service at its finest. They worked with me on the budget, the menu and of course the decoration and set up, with the kindness and professionalism that you can only hope for. I strongly recommend this as a great location for any event.

    This is an hone
  • M
    Michael Sent on 10/23/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We wanted to take our guests to Hawaii for our wedding. We were taken there by the wonderful people at Duke's Malibu, all of who embody the true meaning of Aloha.

    From the very first meeting, the planning, preparation, and course of the magical evening were joyous and, well, perfect. Not a word to use lightly, but they get it right here at Duke's. They listen to you, graciously correspond with you and your vendors creating your dream vision, they focus on the positive, they are diligent and smart, they are empathetic and kind.

    Alessa, Madelina, Rob and all the staff we shared our night with are lovely people who take care in what they do and genuinely wish for you to be happy; they are a family - an Ohana - wanting nothing but the very best for you on your special occasion. They are always available to not only assist with, but to manage the smallest of details that you may have overlooked or stressed over. Together as a team, they combine their expertise, skill, and compassion to seamlessly bring the relaxed, Island vibe to the magnificent Ocean Room sitting atop the Pacific.

    The location is stunning. Walls of glass open to the endless ocean, and you become one with the glorious sunset. Open windows and a deck perched upon the rocks, the crash of the surf lulls you to memories of Island vacations without a care in the world. This is what we wanted our wedding to be: everybody happy and smiling, enjoying the sea breezes, sipping mai tai's and savoring scrumptious bites. Laughter and love.

    Everything was delicious - from the array of appetizers, the huli-chicken, the fresh Hawaiian fish (that I so wanted), the vegetarian dish created just for us that evening, to the splendiferous signature Hula Pie - our guests raved! The service was spot on and incredibly attentive; everyone was cared for as if we were at an intimate dinner party in a private home. There was never a wait at the bar, we were never rushed, and everyone from the wedding party, t
  • E
    Eva Sent on 05/23/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Duke's was a beautiful location for our ceremony and reception, and the entire team was friendly and efficient. The event coordinators, Alessa and Madelina, laid out my options clearly and offered great advice and vendor recommendations. The entire team who worked our wedding was great and really contributed to the success of our event. The food was spectacular, and the evening's events were expertly handled. We were very pleased and look forward to future celebrations at Duke's.
  • User1602560 Sent on 04/30/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I highly recommend Duke's, Madelina and Alessa, the staff for any event. They made everything about the entire process simple and we had a spectacular event.
  • A
    Allison Sent on 04/10/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Dukes was the best choice for my wedding. They made everything so easy. It was nice not to worry about renting tables, linens, glassware, tableware, etc on my own. They supply it all and delicious wedding food to boot! Not typical wedding food. I also had hula pie for everyone instead of wedding cake which everyone enjoyed. The views are amazing here. You will love your event here!
  • K
    Kevin Sent on 05/08/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Madelina and her staff our wonderful. She met with us several times as was very patient, helpful, and creative in planning our wedding. She even designed a new gluten free menu just for us, which is now available.

    We did a buffet with Ono fish, hulu chicken, and a beef carving station. The food was fantastic and we our guests raved about it.

    The staff was very professional and fun and worked well with our other vendors.

    Above all else, the location is amazing and your guests will not be disappointed.
  • A
    Anne Sent on 08/03/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The setting, the staff, the service, everything was perfect! Can't imagine a more beautiful or happier place to get married and have a wedding reception! To say they exceeded my expectations would be an understatement. Madelina gave us great ideas and even better referrals for the few services that they didn't provide directly. Best value and best experience ever!
  • D
    Danielle Sent on 06/30/2010
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The venue is beautiful. The cost- expensive- I didn't mind the cost, but we hosted parking and I think making us pay per person instead of per car was ridiculous. Also they counted children over age 13 in the cost for parking. The dance floor was a little small- we paid for the largest size...but it actually all worked out (everyone fit). The gave us a screen for our slideshow, but did not provide a projector (although a tv and DVD player were also available).
  • User2584640 Sent on 04/21/2016
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Worked with 3 different people planning event but seemed like it was only one. They always had the most current info and provided me with the same answers to my questions. Flexible to event time to a degree. Very friendly, professional event planners including all staff I encounter working-parking attendants, hostesses, waiters. The food was delicious and presented nicely. Would have liked to get in the room earlier than 30 mins before guests arrived. It was a race to decorate. One complaint! Don't order the burger. It was raw on the inside for all my guests. No one told me until afterwards,
  • M
    Miranda Sent on 07/01/2017
    4.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    Amazing views, awesome service, personal touches!
  • User1131329 Sent on 04/10/2013
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Overall we were very pleased with Duke's for our wedding. The planning process went next to seamless. Their banquet event staff was very accommodating and willing to work with us with anything we asked. The day of the event was the only time I would say we had a few hiccups. During our rehearsal we were told that the women we had been working with the whole time would not be there and that one of her assistance would be the lead on our event. This made us a little on edge, but there was nothing we could do about it. The few things we experienced were nothing to cost the wedding or make it anything short of memorable. But they were still problems that stuck out... all dealing with the catering and food management. During our cocktail hour we had cheese and crackers as one of our appetizers. Unfortunately the crackers never made it out, even after we brought this to their attention. For dinner, we had a pesto pasta as one of our buffet options. However, pesto was not the sauce on the pasta. They still claim that it was pesto, but we know the difference between a white cream sauce and a pesto sauce and what we got was not pesto. But it still tasted good and no one knew the difference (we just knew it was not what we tried and choose during the tasting). The last unfortunate thing to happen was that the cake was not served until 45min after the cake cutting. My mother had to go knock on the kitchen door to ask them to serve it. This was probably the most disappointing and unfortunate thing to happen since at that point people had already started leaving and never got cake. We had an AMAZING cake that we were really excited and hoped to share with our friends and family. There were a few other minor details that didn't happen or had their mistakes. But at the end of the day, we looked past that and we were very happy with the wedding. We got more that we paid for and I would definitely use Duke's again for another event.
  • E
    Erin Sent on 10/11/2007
    3.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Duke's is an excellent venue for your reception- we recommend the evening time slot!
  • A
    Allison Sent on 11/12/2012
    2.1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding day was perfect! The weather cooperated, and we got pictures outside on the beach. The food was fantastic (Duke's even fixed a gluten free meal for one guest), and everything was ready and set up on time. Madelina was great at the rehearsal, and morning of the ceremony, everything was set up as needed. The wait staff was on top of things. The bar tender was super friendly. That being said...

    Everything went so well because I was persistent, I didn't let anything slip through the cracks, and I had a fantastic coordinator, Carrie Mihaljevich - Imagine Wedding & Event Planning. From the time we paid the deposit, to the next deposit 90 days prior to the event getting any email or phone questions answered, a copy of the contract, or an invoice was impossible.

    It was only after contacting the assistant manager that Madelina began to cooperate. It was only one month in advance that we finally got our questions answered. We didn't get our dining credit until two weeks before the wedding - which meant our preselected meals were selected blind. A time of my life that should be exciting and fun became difficult and frustrating. If it wasn't for the great view and fabulous food we would have cancelled with Duke's and found a different venue.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours