Drew Bird Photography Reviews

37 | Oakland, CA
See photos, pricing and details

37 Reviews for Drew Bird Photography

Recommended by 99%

37
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

8 User photos

Drew Bird Photography 1
Drew Bird Photography 2
Drew Bird Photography 3
Drew Bird Photography 4
Drew Bird Photography 5
Drew Bird Photography 6
Drew Bird Photography 7
+ 2
Sort by:
  • B

    Barrett · Married on 04/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Drew's talent in creating photo stories is obvious but I'm happy to report that he's also a one in a million person. He is the type of guy you might meet randomly on vacation and then become best friends for a week. This may not seem like an important consideration in choosing a photographer but I would argue that this trait is the most crucial component in the quality of Drew's work. He works diligently to integrate into whatever scene he's capturing in a way I can't quite recall witnessing in other photographers. We were incredibly pleased to see the rapport we had felt with Drew immediately extended to our guests. So not only did we love our photos, but many of our guests ended up with great keepsakes too.

    Given how many travel jobs Drew has, we were also impressed with the excellent communication that was provided in advance of our event. And the turn around on our project was well within what we were quoted.

    Drew is professional, talented, thoughtful, creative and incredibly easy to work with. I would highly recommend hiring him. Who knows, he might even throw a few surf tips in for free!

    Drew Bird Photography 8
  • K

    Krista · Married on 11/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My (now) husband and I got married on November 5, 2017, and we were so happy to have Drew Bird as our photographer. Drew is an amazing photojournalist who I've had the pleasure of working with before when the organization I work for was rebuilding our website (his portfolio extends far beyond weddings), so I had already seen first-hand how his calm and friendly personality could help people feel comfortable in front of a camera.

    Photography was very important to us as far as our wedding planning went, and we knew we wanted our pictures to tell a story of the day and how everyone was feeling, so Drew was the perfect fit. We greatly appreciated his willingness to work within our budget, and it was nice knowing we had someone of his caliber handling such an important part of our day.

    An added plus was that Drew was already familiar with our wedding venue (Deer Park Villa), which is known for it's beautiful redwood grove where we had our ceremony. It ended up being a gorgeous day, and he handled any challenges posed by the sun shining through and shadows from the trees with ease. He was also able to get photos from various angles even though he was working on his own that day - like he was in multiple places at the same time! He was really good at being stealthy and unobtrusive during the ceremony and reception (unlike our videographers who were unfortunately not as experienced), and it was really evident in the candidness of the photos of all of our guests - we loved it! Our whole wedding party had positive things to say about working with him.

    We would highly recommend Drew Bird Photography for any of your photo story-telling needs. Drew's professionalism and talent speaks for itself, and we'll forever treasure the photos that captured our memories from such a special day!

    Drew Bird Photography 9
    Drew Bird Photography 10
    Drew Bird Photography 11
  • J

    J · Married on 04/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We really enjoyed working with Drew! He's extremely professional, personable, and warm (and he's just a really cool guy). We felt very comfortable working with him, both leading up to our wedding and day of. Before the wedding, he was a huge help in planning the timeline. He gave us suggestions for how to structure the day so we'd have plenty of time for the photos we wanted. He also had creative ideas for where to do first look photos and some fun portraits before our ceremony. On the day of the wedding, Drew arrived on time and ready to go, despite the very early start to the day (we had a noon wedding, so the prep started early!). He took beautiful photographs -- in particular, he really captured the beauty of the redwood grove where we got married and the energy of the whole day. We have wonderful pictures of our family and friends during the ceremony and party afterwards. We'd definitely recommend him!






    Drew Bird Photography 12
    Drew Bird Photography 13
    Drew Bird Photography 14
    Drew Bird Photography 15
  • M

    Marjorie · Married on 04/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Drew was so lovely to work with and the photographs he took of our wedding reception were amazing. From the initial consultation to the day of and even beyond, he has been so flexible and accommodating of all our needs. He made a point to get to know us, our tastes, and our vision as a central part of his planning. The day of our reception, he captured so many special moments. And the first time we saw all the photographs it was a beautiful opportunity for my husband and I to relive one of the most special days of our lives. Five stars!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't know where to start-- with Drew as a person or with his photos?! We were recommended by my husband's friend and as soon as I checked out his portfolio, I knew we had found our photographer. His timeless style and documentary-style visual storytelling was exquisite, and I knew that in booking him we'd have no regrets in the years to come of looking through our photos.

    Then! We got to meet with him in person, and let me tell you, he will put you immediately at ease. This gentleman is one of the kindest and warmest individuals and a true professional. My husband and I were in total agreement that this is the person we wanted at our wedding, interacting with our guests and getting all the great shots.

    Which is exactly what he did- my guests all raved about his presence and warmth. And even my pre-wedding jitters were no match for Drew's calm, friendly, easy demeanor. We even managed to get in a spontaneous boudoir shoot, which came out beautifully.

    I can't recommend Drew enough - do yourself a favor and book Drew and cross worrying about your photos off the list.

  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Each time that we look at our wedding photos, they are a stunning reminder of a precious day, capturing our emotions as well as the feelings of those who surrounded us. My husband and I highly recommend Drew Bird as the person who took these fantastic photos. We first came across Drew's work while looking through a photojournalism website before our wedding, and immediately fell in love with his beautiful, honest and vibrant pictures. Drew’s artistic talent shines through all his work, not just his wedding photography but also his journalistic and travel photographs. He has an incredible ability to capture rare moments of emotion and expression. Working with Drew was fun and joyful throughout the wedding planning stages - he is relaxed but professional and helped guide us through photographic subtleties that we would otherwise not have considered such as lighting and crowd dynamics. The photos that he created for our wedding bring us so much joy every time we look at them.

  • S

    Steve · Married on 05/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're looking for someone to capture the energy and essence of your wedding Drew is the man. My brother introduced my now wife and I to Drew knowing that we were going to have a destination wedding celebrated over the course of a few days and that we'd want it all documented. His suggestion couldn't have been better, Drew and his assistant were constantly present over the course of 4 days, documenting the interactions of our family and friends in an awesome and candid way, the emotion we felt and saw are brought back each time I look through any of the pictures. His easy going approach and always steady demeanor are clear assets as he navigates through any situation.

    If you want someone who's easy to work with (will travel anywhere, came to Nicaragua for our nuptials), takes incredible images and understands how to tell your story through pictures regardless of the locale, Drew is the individual to get it done.

  • User5460632 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Drew did an absolutely fantastic job on our wedding photos. We wanted more storytelling and capturing the moment than posed photos, but we really got everything with him. Drew is a true photojournalist; his photos tell story of your wedding day. He really worked with us to get what we wanted out of it. We went in saying, "If we get about 30-40 great photos, we will be happy." At the end of the day, we got hundreds of photos that are just beautiful. We highly recommend using Drew.

  • User5039547 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is only one opportunity to capture the importance of an event like a wedding. Thankfully, Drew dashed our anxieties by quickly delivering an amazing set of photos from our San Francisco City Hall wedding. Initially, we were drawn to Drew's photojournalism style and after reviewing the photos, we could not be more pleased with the results. He masterfully juxtaposed our ceremony with the amazing light and architecture of the SF City Hall building.

    Prior to event, communication and planning went very smoothly. Despite neither party being based in SF, he had no issues meeting us there and even did some preliminary scouting the day before. With all the preparation, our photo session went very efficiently. We never felt rushed, and it left us plenty of time to enjoy our day.

    After the event, Drew kept us up to date with the status of the pictures, and delivered them exactly when he promised (and for a very reasonable price).

    Overall, we were extremely happy with Drew's professionalism and most importantly his talent. We will treasure our photos for years to come.

  • User4724820 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Drew was fantastic to work with, and the wedding photos came out amazing. We were pleased with his professionalism and character from day 1. I would certainly recommend him as a photographer.

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a pleasure it was to work with Drew! From the very first meeting, we felt so comfortable with him and could tell that he really loves what he does. He was very easy going, fun to work with, and got along so well with all of the various people involved in the planning process. We had a very large wedding and he and the 2nd photographer that he brought in were able to nicely demonstrate the overall excitement of the large event as well as beautifully capture the more intimate moments of the day. We are so happy with the results and recommend Drew Bird Photography wholeheartedly!

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Drew was outstanding. He did an impeccable job capturing our favorite moments, and his photos really tell the story of our wedding. Every time we look through them we feel like we are reliving the day, and we always seem to discover something new! Not only is his work wonderful and creative, he is incredibly professional. He was somehow everywhere at once at the wedding, capturing all the key and intimate moments, but also unobtrusive. So many of our guests, especially those who recently had weddings (and their own photographers), commented on the fact that he blended in seamlessly, and those who he did interact with had nothing but nice things to say about him.

    Drew's professionalism also extended to the months leading up to the wedding. He always responded immediately to our emails, and he took the time to meet with us twice before the wedding to go over anything and everything we wanted to talk about. Those meetings went a long way in making us feel calm and comfortable about the photography and the event in general, and Drew never rushed us. He was patient and offered advice when we asked, but never intruded on our decisionmaking or told us that we had to do something a certain way. For example, we were not very into the idea of posed shots, and Drew suggested to us a few posed shots that he thought would look really nice, but immediately moved on to focusing on the look and feel that we were going for. We ended up taking the posed shots he suggested, and we are really glad that we did.

    As you can probably tell from this lengthy review, we could not have been happier with Drew and would highly recommend him for any event!

  • J

    Jane · Married on 07/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier that we hired Drew to be our photographer! Drew is extremely warm, kind, calming, patient, honest, knowledgeable, talented, and professional—basically, he is just the type of person with whom you want to share one of the most important (yet potentially stressful) days of your life!

    Throughout the wedding planning process, Drew was an absolute pleasure to work with. A couple of weeks before the wedding, we set up a call to discuss wedding details and what we hoped for in our photographs. Drew was completely open to all of our ideas, but he was upfront about where there might be limitations based on timing, lighting, etc. He also gave us some good tips about how to move through portraits as quickly as possible and how best to schedule the day. The phone call left us feeling like we had a good sense of what to expect the day of the wedding and how to prepare to make things move along most efficiently.

    Drew caught tons of priceless, candid moments during the ceremony and reception, while managing to remain completely unobtrusive. After the ceremony, he was able to pull off an amazing overhead group portrait of my husband and me with all of our wedding guests, which was no easy feat given the number of guests, topography, and harsh sunlight at our mid-day outdoor wedding. We are so pleased with that portrait and all of the other portraits, but the candid shots Drew took during the ceremony and reception were probably the greatest treat for us to comb through after the wedding. Drew was able to capture in photos exactly how our wedding felt to us, and we could not be happier with the beautiful photographs we have to commemorate the day. We could not recommend Drew more highly!

  • L

    Liza · Married on 05/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't say enough good things--Drew was professional and very reliable. It was really important to us that we found a photographer who was amazing at their job (obviously) but also someone we felt comfortable with and wanted to be around---aside from each other, he was the person we spent the most time with on one of the most important days of our life. We had a fantastic time during the photo shoots and that's evident in how comfortable we look in the pictures. He is the perfect mix of directive and setting up a few shots and journalistic and just capturing the moment. We couldn't be more pleased with our wedding photos!

  • User4722934 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am a wedding planner and had the privilege of working with Drew on a wedding this past year. He was incredible and my clients had nothing but positive things to say about him! He put my clients at ease throughout the day and made them feel very comfortable in front of the camera. The pictures turned out absolutely amazingly, so amazing that they are the spotlight on a few pages of my businesses website. Any couple would be lucky to work with Drew for their big day or any important event.

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 04/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning a wedding is an extremely stressful experience and my husband and I chose each vendor carefully. We were extremely lucky to come across Drew and were thoroughly impressed with his portfolio. Drew met with us multiple times prior to the wedding to discuss our style, the event and what our expectations were for the day and the wedding. On the day of, Drew kept us calm and collected as he constructed a beautiful "first look" utilizing our ceremony space and decorations. When Drew took pictures of the two of us, we relied on Drew to create natural pictures using the landscape. They turned out beautifully and don't look like cheesy wedding pictures.

    During the ceremony and reception Drew captured memories of not just the two of us, but all of our guests and the atmosphere and thoughtfully portray a story with his pictures. Since both of our families are large, I was shocked and impressed that Drew took charge to take the family pictures efficiently and beautifully.

    Our guests loved the pictures and said it allowed them to see moments that they missed, which was exactly how we felt. I would recommend Drew to anyone looking for a creative, professional and talented photographer!

  • User3945066 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a fantastic experience with Drew and Drew Bird Photography, and we couldn't be happier with how the photos of our destination wedding in Puerto Rico turned out. Drew was a positive and calming presence on our wedding day, and was extremely easy to work with during the planning process (which was done remotely since we were in different cities). Everyone is raving about the photos, which truly capture the feel of our wedding. Drew managed to capture everything from the sweeping setting to the tiniest details, and I hardly knew he was there. We will treasure the beautiful photos he created for years to come. Highly recommended!

  • L

    Laura · Married on 11/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have nothing but outstanding things to say about Drew and His and Her Photography.
    Some details:

    He's a delight: Drew's easy demeanor and kind spirit were the first thing my husband and I noticed. He seemed very interested in delivering the kinds of pictures we wanted, and wanted to make sure he could deliver (he did!).

    He captures moments not poses: Sure he can do particular pictures if you want him to (and is happily willing), but what set Drew apart from other photographers is how he captures authentic emotions throughout our wedding day. Looking at these photos brings us back to the feelings we were experiencing during the day, it's incredible.

    The guy does crazy impressive things with light: I'm no photographer, but the way Drew captures beautiful images and light when the light seemed less than ideal is kind of awe inspiring.

    Value: My husband and I looked at a number of photographers who were charging much more than Drew. He could (and maybe should) charge more for his work.

    He's unobtrusive: Drew captured a TON of images during our wedding, yet no one seemed to notice him. He was ALWAYS there, but never-ever in the way.

    This chica with high standards doesn't have a single negative thing to say. THANK YOU!

  • User3477126 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience with Drew of His and Her Photography. He offered excellent value and the photos were just gorgeous - we got SO many compliments on them. Drew was very responsive and he even set up a meeting to call/skype my husband and me because we were out of town often for school. Drew did exactly what we asked for, but put in a lot of input to provide us truly lovely photos. He took a ton of pictures of our family and friends enjoying themselves which allowed us to see things we missed on the day itself. He was also willing to do impromptu posed shots for our families. My husband and I loved working with Drew - he helped make our day truly special! He was friendly and very professional - a great photographer.

  • Paola

    Paola · Married on 05/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Drew is a true professional. He was very non-intrusive and I could tell he was capturing some really cool moments on our wedding day. Drew was very organized, creative, and responsive to all of our questions, no matter how minor. He really worked well with us to make sure we got the types of shots we wanted, and gave some great insight and ideas during the planning process. We are so happy and grateful we had the opportunity to work with him in Virginia.

    We really love all of our photos (and so do everyone we share them with)! If you're looking for the perfect photographer for your special day, don't look anywhere else. Drew is it!

    Don't look anywhere else for a photographer. This is it!

  • S

    Shelli · Married on 05/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am a wedding consultant in St. Louis and we hired Drew Bird Photography to photograph a wedding for us. Since he was going to be a destination photographer Drew went above and beyond and did a ton of leg work to make sure that everything went off without a hitch. Drew was a true professional. After looking back through the photos, I am more and more impressed that he managed to not only capture the details, but also the feel of the day without being intrusive. Drew was wonderful to work with and I highly recommend him!

  • Meghan

    Meghan · Married on 03/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Drew with his and her photography does amazing work. I looked at countless photographers and met with a few but I kept coming back to Drew. I was planning my wedding from 4 hours away and he was really flexible and accommodating. We were able to communicate mostly by phone and email and he was always quick to get back to me. We were in town for a meeting at our venue and he was able to meet with us at the last minute.

    Drew doesn't just show up on the day of your wedding, he really takes the time to get to know his clients. He wants to know what type of pictures you like (I sent him a few examples) and what your must have pics are on the day of the wedding. He will help you create a timeline for the day of your wedding. It is really helpful to know that everyone is on the same page since the day goes by so quickly.

    Drew was able to capture all of the major moments of our wedding day and all of the details and quiet moments that I never would have even known about (like the flower girl coloring with her grandfather). It is so important to invest in quality photography with a reliable vendor. I would highly recommend His and Her Photography to anyone getting married.

  • F

    Francine · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Drew was our wedding photographer for our wedding at the Muir beach Overlook. We wanted someone who could capture the moment without making it look posed. We wanted natural, spontaneous photographs that showed emotion and evoked the spirit of the unique ceremony we had planned. Drew was able to capture all that and more. His photographs are stunning. Capturing both the majestic setting of our ceremony and the warmth and intimacy of the gathering. We loved his photojournalist style and his ability to be present without intruding. He is warm, generous and a very gracious photographer and we cherish the photographs he made for us. We interviewed at least 7 other photographers and none unsterile our vision as he did. If you're looking for someone who can capture what is unique about your day (not all that canned wedding stuff) Drew is your guy!

  • User2734588 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy that we worked with Drew and His and Her Photography for our engagement photos and for our wedding! Drew and Alexis did such an amazing job! We really couldn't be happier. They really captured the day in a natural, unobtrusive, yet artistic and beautiful way. If anyone out there is considering working with His and Her Photography, stop thinking about it and just do it. Drew is unbelievably great to work with and takes fantastic photos.

  • H

    Holly · Married on 04/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning a wedding in the DC area is expensive. We found a list of photographers at the WPJA and made a list of our top 6 choices. We gave our list to the best man and told him to narrow down the list. The best man is an amateur photographer and listed Drew as his top choice with the words "created framing, nice story. Great a capturing emotions of people and good retouch skills. Very well done" Drew was professional at the meeting and all correspondence before the wedding. At the wedding, he was like a ninja. I never saw him, but seeing his product, it was obvious he was everywhere.
    Pricing wise, I budgeted the photographer for X amount of dollars. Drew's "Monet" package was $300 over for what I planned, but after seeing the product and comparing to other photographers' pricing, His and Her Photography is an excellent value.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review