Weddings

Doug Smith Designs + Events Reviews

Doug Smith Designs + Events

Doug Smith Designs + Events

Lexington, KY
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 195 Reviews
View more information

195 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 195
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

11 User photos

Sort by:
  • C
    Cecilia P. Married on 06/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Say a little prayer for you.....

    The ONLY decision you have to make, after choosing your significant other, is the wedding planner. And the ONLY right decision is Doug Smith Designs. I am finishing wedding #3 in 3 years and they have been with me every step of the way. Three different venues, different styles, different budgets and different personalities of the couples. Doug Smith and Glenn Blind met, and exceeded, every expectation. I end these 3 years with a tremendous amount of respect and admiration of the professional job they do to make a wedding day the BEST day of your life.

    A recommendation that goes on too long becomes noisy. Let me simply say that if you chose a different wedding planner, I will say a little prayer for you........
  • Megan
    Megan M. Married on 04/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Day-of Coordinator!

    Doug and Glenn were great to work with!
    We chose Doug Smith Events as our Day-of Coordinator based on a recommendation from our venue, The Carrick House, and we are so glad that we did! Doug and Glenn helped with so much from start to finish! They were professional, helpful, flexible, and so talented! The meetings leading up to our day were very organized and really made sure that we weren’t missing anything. Doug and Glenn were very familiar with the Carrick House and their staff which made working with the two even better! They were always open to our ideas and always had great ideas and suggestions for us when we weren’t really sure. They made our wedding weekend so stress free, working with all of our vendors to insure setup, breakdown, and everything in between. We are so thankful for them and everything they did behind the scenes to make sure we had the perfect day! Thank you, Doug and Glenn!!!
  • Kelli
    Kelli L. Married on 02/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Simply Amazing

    Getting Doug Smith and his team to help with our wedding flowers and decorations was one of the best decisions we could've ever made. Doug was AWESOME! He worked diligently and made each detail of our wedding beautiful and worked with what we had or wanted. He even turned our gym, venue space, into an absolute dream. Our day wouldn't have been as perfect as it was if it wasn't for Doug. We were extremely pleased and so happy with everything!
  • LeighAnn
    Leighann A. Married on 08/29/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Made our day a dream!

    Doug and Glenn did an excellent job with my wedding on 8/29/20. I loved everything from my bridal bouquet to each different table centerpiece to our elegant back drop for the ceremony. He listens to your exact vision and brings your dream day to life! Hiring Doug and Glenn as our florist and day of coordinator was the best decision we could have made. Doug has excellent ideas and is so fun to work with. He has a great attitude and can find a way to adapt to pretty much anything. Loved working with these guys and highly recommend!
  • L
    Laura P. Married on 08/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Knowledgeable and did a great job

    Doug did an excellent job with our flowers and trellis. I didn't have too many ideas, but what ideas I did have her was able to make them work. He was easy going, but very knowledgeable about all things wedding.
  • R
    Raine F. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Decision for the Entire Wedding

    The wedding day couldn’t have been more perfect thanks to Doug.
  • Madison
    Madison M. Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Doug & Glenn are royalty in the wedding planning world

    Where to even begin?!—Doug & Glenn are royalty in the wedding planning world. There isn’t anything these two aren’t able to do. Any dream you may have for your wedding day they can easily turn into reality!
    We chose Doug’s full wedding coordinator package and it was worth it a million times over. We actually looked into a few other wedding planners before signing with Doug. Many planners were double the price and didn’t offer half of what Doug & Glenn offered. My husband & I were married in Lexington this past September. However, we are both from a town two hours away in South Eastern Kentucky. When beginning the whole wedding planning process, I knew I wanted to incorporate as much “home” into my Lexington wedding as possible. Planning a wedding from two hours away was, at first, overwhelming. Doug and Glenn completely eliminated any concerns and worries that Chase and I had. They were by our side through EVERY step of the process.
    They, of course, were with us in helping to make decisions on all of the “big” things: choosing our perfect venue, deciding on vendors, and finalizing the guest list. The best part of all, though, is that they were also there for the “little things.” Doug came to my bridesmaids’ dress fitting while Glenn took the time to help me decide on the perfect robes to get ready in. They managed every single RSVP, organized the entire rehearsal dinner, and so much more. Not to mention, they went above and beyond to individualize our wedding by helping to bring touches of Eastern Kentucky to it. The fireworks, live painter, and moonshine favors were perfect and truly set our wedding apart from others. There wasn’t any idea or vision I had or asked for on our wedding that they couldn’t bring to life!
    On the day of the wedding, every single thing flowed perfectly. For many brides, their wedding day is perhaps the most stressful day of their lives. Mine, on the other hand, thanks to Doug and Glenn, was the exact opposite. I, along with Chase and our parents, were truly able to be present throughout the entire day and just simply enjoy it while taking in every second of the best day of our lives. There was not one single moment where I was stressed; I knew that Doug and Glenn had everything more than under control. I cannot say enough about their professionalism and expertise in the planning process.
    Doug and Glenn are exactly what you dream up in your mind when you imagine the perfect wedding planners! I have seen so many wedding planners on television and in movies growing up. I always thought, “there’s no way someone like that truly exists or that everything could turn out that perfect.” Doug and Glenn, once again proved me wrong. They are BETTER than what you see in the movies!
    When you have two wedding planners that are really present every single step of the way, your and your spouses dreams come true. I can’t thank Doug and Glenn enough for creating the most picture perfect day for Chase and me. Throughout this year long process of planning our perfect wedding we not only found the two best coordinators in Kentucky we also formed a lasting friendship with Doug & Glenn. We are so happy to have them in our lives to share their guidance, positivity & love for what they do. I will miss our daily phone calls, emails & texts as well as all my D&G time!
    Doug & Glenn, you will forever hold a special place in mine & Chase’s hearts for you are the ones who helped us to begin our forever.
    All our love,
    Madison & Chase
  • Mimi
    Mimi E. Married on 08/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Doug and Glenn were a dream come true for my husband and me!

    Doug and Glenn were a dream come true for my husband and me! We had tried fruitlessly to start planning our wedding for several months before meeting with Doug and Glenn and our only regret is that we didn’t find them sooner!

    Before meeting Doug and Glenn, my fiancée and I struggled to find time to visit venues outside of regular business hours. Not only did Glenn arrange times to visit venues that fit into our busy schedule, but he also suggested several beautiful venues we hadn’t considered which ended up fitting our needs perfectly. Doug and Glenn had excellent contacts and recommended several vendors they knew we could count on - and they did not disappoint!

    Neither my fiancée nor I are planners by nature, but Doug and Glenn helped us stay on top of all the decisions that lay in front of us (even the ones we didn’t realize we needed to make)! We always enjoyed meeting with them both and left each meeting even more excited about our wedding.

    We were also lucky enough to have Doug handle the flowers for our big day and we received nothing but rave reviews from our friends and family. Our bouquets were exactly what I had pictured and the decor at our reception was simply spectacular. Glenn was with us all day on our wedding day and made sure we stayed on schedule. We were able to relax and soak in each moment of our day knowing that everything was in his capable hands.

    We simply cannot recommend Doug Smith Designs and Events highly enough! They were both a joy to work with and we couldn't have done it without them!
  • L
    Leslie G. Married on 01/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Kayla's Wedding

    We used Doug Smith Designs at our daughter's wedding last weekend, and they were great! We had only met with them twice, and they got every detail exactly as our daughter described. They were on reasonably priced, on time and professional and made everything simple and easy. We would highly recommend using them.
  • Alexandria
    Alexandria Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection

    We used Doug Smith Designs + Events for both design and month of coordination. Our experience was perfect. Doug was our initial contact, he was professional, responsive, and immediately put as at ease. Doug is an absolutely amazing and talented designer. Our floral creations were so beautiful they brought tears to my eyes. Everything from my bouquet to the arch at the “alter” to the centerpieces we’re just so stunning. He helped me pick details that helped add that charm we were looking for, but we never felt pressured by him to add more. He was truly focused on what we wanted and what our vision was of our perfect day. I had so many guests tell me that we had the most beautiful wedding they had ever been to, and that was in large part due to Doug. Glenn was our coordinator, and he was phenomenal. I ran into a few hiccups last minute with two other vendors, and Glenn handled those with grace and professionalism. I didn’t have to worry about anything. Not one detail. The day of the wedding, Glenn involved me in as much or as little as I wanted. My and my husband’s wedding day was our time to truly enjoy each moment as they passed. Doug and Glenn are two who you can trust to execute your vision and ensure it’s the best day of your new life together. We cannot thank them enough for all they did. They will forever hold a special place in our hearts!
  • L
    Lori M. Married on 08/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Day of Coordinator Review

    Doug and Glenn were recommended to us for Day of Coordinators. They honestly are a one stop shop, if you can book them for planning, design/floral etc. We got them for day of, and appreciated the knowledge, preparedness and organization to keep our day going, and organizing with all the vendors, while Bride & Groom and wedding parties focus on the day. They work with you on timeline etc. and keep everything flowing.
  • K
    Kelly Married on 07/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Doug & Glenn were so helpful! They helped me think of things I never thought of and they helped with any issues that arose so that I could just enjoy. I could not have done it without them!

    Doug Smith Designs + Events's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words! We loved being a part of your magical day! Doug and Glenn
  • Taylor
    Taylor Married on 06/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Since our wedding, I’ve been asked many times for my #1 tidbit of advice to brides in the midst of wedding planning - without hesitation my #1 piece of advice is to make sure Doug Smith Designs + Events is a part of your big day! Not only are Doug and Glenn (and their team) beyond talented and the upmost professionals with extraordinary organizational skills, but they are AMAZING people. Doug took my flower vision and turned it into an absolute masterpiece, that immediately brought me to tears. Glenn was our wedding month / day MVP. He went over and beyond to accommodate our families and us. In the midst of a small bridal panic, Glenn was a “rock” to my mother and me. There are truly no adequate words to express the gratitude that my husband and I have for Doug and Glenn. Don’t hesitate making them part of your big day, you won’t regret it!

  • Emily
    Emily Married on 06/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Doug & Glenn were great! They made my vision come alive for my wedding, from the custom flower letters they made last minute to hang on the church & reception doors (that I now have hanging in our home), to my three different reception table centerpieces, to my BEAUTIFUL bouqet!!! They were able to take my crazy, pink, & feathery ideas and turn them into something beautiful and elegant. I showed up with pictures and constantly emailed them ideas from websites/pinterest and they made it happen! They were also wonderful working with us to stay within our budget and still bring my vision to life. They worked very hard to make my flowers go the extra mile and took all the flowers from the ceremony and repurposed them at the reception. From our first meeting, I knew Doug "got" my vision and boy did he deliver! He even met me at the flower market so I could show them what I did and didn't like. I can't thank them enough for all their hard work and beautiful flowers! These are your go to guys!!!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 05/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Doug and Glenn far surpassed our expectations for our flowers on our wedding day. The arrangements were stunningly beautiful and were exactly what I had described to them in our initial meetings. They were also the most affordable florist I met with. I highly recommend them.

    Doug Smith Designs + Events's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind words. It was an honor to be a part of your special day.
  • FutureMrsR
    Amy Married on 03/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    With 3 weeks to go to my wedding, I completely forgot the flowers (bouquets, boutonnières, etc) and contacted Doug. With 2 emails and a payment complete, the flowers showed up at my venue. They were SPECTACULAR. I couldn’t have asked for better. Thank you guys again!!
  • J
    Jenna Married on 12/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Doug and Glenn are incredible! Not sure how anyone does it without them! The flowers were impeccable; the centerpieces and bouquets were just gorgeous. We gave some broad ideas, let them take care of the rest, and we were thrilled with how everything came together. The coordination that they provided made the weekend so much less stressful. They had everything planned perfectly and were just telling us where we needed to be and when from the start of the day to the end of the night. Made it SO easy and made for a flawless, fun and unforgettable weekend. My mom still can't believe she actually slept the nights leading up to the wedding because they had everything handled! Anything we needed, they came through, so we were so incredibly thankful we had them coordinating our wedding!
  • J
    Jane Event on: 12/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Doug Smith Designs & Events to do the floral arrangements at our son and daughter-in-law's rehearsal dinner at Tony's of Lexington. Doug was Very Helpful with guiding me on what we should do for the center pieces. The arrangements turned out beautifully and were just what I had pictured in my head. Doug was so easy to work with.
  • K
    Kathleen Event on: 12/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Doug Smith Designs for our corporate holiday dinner party. He has a great sense of style and the floral arrangements were the perfect accent to set our table. It was fabulously festive!





  • K
    Kara Event on: 12/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We sent Doug and Glen a few options of pictures as inspiration for decor regarding our work Christmas party. They more than brought them to life! The table setting was gorgeous. They exceeded our expectations for sure! :)
  • J
    Jessicarose Married on 10/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Absolutely amazing! Doug had everything handled beautifully! I didn’t really know what I wanted. I just showed him a few pictures and let him do his work. Everything was ready on time and perfect!
  • A
    Allison Married on 10/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Can I leave 10 stars? In all seriousness Doug and Glenn are exceptional. I used them for both 30-day out planning, and all florals for our wedding this past October 14, 2017. I knew when I began planing our wedding I wanted to surround myself with not only the best vendors, but also people that I connected with and would be able to keep me calm on the wedding day (I tend to get anxious in large groups, and knew I wanted a calm and relaxed wedding day!). Doug and Glenn took every worry away, and allowed my family and I to enjoy the day without stressing about any details. Every single detail was beyond beautiful, they were able to execute my vision perfectly! So perfectly in fact I am having another bouquet made to keep, it was the prettiest thing I have ever seen!! The process was easy, fun, and I consider them both dear friends. Do yourself a big favor and have these two be a part of your day. Thank you thank you both!! xo
  • S
    Samantha Married on 09/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They were awesome! Our flowers and decor was beautiful and the wedding coordination made everything go extremely smooth!
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the first time we met with Doug I knew we had to have him help with our wedding! I had originally just planned on purchasing flowers from him (and ours turned out beautiful!). However, at our first meeting, he asked if we had though about wedding coordination (which I hadn't!). As he was explaining their services, he brought up details about my wedding that had literally not even crossed my mind, but yet, all of these details were SO important! There was no turning back. I knew he would be a perfect fit for the extra guidance I needed! He was so knowledgeable, full of helpful advice, and willing to help in any way he could. All while not being pushy/judgemental at all! We talked about all my ideas, concerns, and worries and he assured me it would all turn out just fine. From the face-to-face meetings, to the emails, to the day of coordination, to the flowers; everything was perfect. I honestly don't know how we would have gotten through the day without their help. I am a very detail oriented person and he provided us with a timeline for our wedding day which was a game changer. It made me feel so much more organized knowing exactly how much time we had for everything we needed to squeeze in the day. I felt like I was clinging to our two assistants all day (Sarah & Susan). They kept me on track and always made me feel reassured that everything was going like it was supposed to. It's like they could anticipate things before they even happened and I was so grateful for them. They were in contact with our vendors the day of our wedding, making sure set up was going smoothly. All we had to do was show up to the ceremony on time! It made the day so much less stressful knowing that they were handling that aspect. If I had to do it over again, I would choose Doug Smith Designs + Events every time. I felt like it was the best money we spent on our wedding, worth every penny! They are so good at what they do and we were very impressed!
  • A
    Alley Married on 08/26/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Absolutely amazing work! They made everything so easy for us and we were able to rely 100% on them! We loved our flowers and couldn't be more thankful for the designs they created!