Doug McBride PhotoCinema Reviews

19 | Des Moines, IA
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Doug McBride PhotoCinema

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

19
Order by:
  • Dulcinea

    Dulcinea · Married on 10/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Experience Fun and Professional!! I will hire him again!

    Doug and his assistant was wonderful! My other wedding photographer canceled on us, and Doug was not only willing to step in and take over with only 5 months to plan, he also offered me a great price for his services. All my fiance's family and friends live on the East coast, so we found out only a month out that they weren't going to make it to Iowa to be at our wedding. Doug quoted me $150 to do the videography (for just our wedding,which is what I had asked for.) Money was tight, so we were unable to pay it. He offered to drop the price another $50 dollars because he know I really wanted to have it for my fiance's family/friends back home. Luckily a wedding gift came in, that allowed us to get him to do the video too. My fiance has issues with bright lights and flash, and Doug was willing to tackle these issues by not using flash for our indoor photos. (A lot of wedding photographers we had originally spoken too, didn't want to touch this issue) He had an assistant there, that he paid out of his own pocket, so that he would be able to cover everything. His assistant was a sweetheart, who took photos but remained in the background, to the point I'd forget she was there. (Our bridal room was small.. so to do that takes talent.) Both Doug and his assistant was amazing. Professional, fun, easy going and a sense of humor. When our wedding party wanted to do some wacky things for our photos Doug and his assistant went with the flow and took the photos. I haven't seen the photos yet. Some of the outside photo locations, I couldn't see the whole picture....but guests watching I overheard them many times saying "Oh that will be a great photo" I will hire Doug again soon!

    Sent on 10/23/2019
  • A

    Angela Christensen · Married on 10/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly wonderful

    My experience working with Doug was wonderful. He was very professional, reasonable priced, and my wedding photos turned out better than I though was possible. I'd recommend Doug to anyone I know.

    Sent on 12/06/2018
  • S

    shaqueta · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug was awesome. He Was very helpful With the ceremony. He was willing to work with us. if you choose Him yoy won't regret it.

    Sent on 07/12/2017
  • C

    Casebolt · Married on 04/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have asked for a better ppl person to do our wedding photos. We a very happy and would use Doug for other things.

    Sent on 07/12/2017
  • T

    Trisha · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married October 22, 2016 at the World Food Prize in Des Moines, IA. Doug was our photographer. We have so many beautiful shots from the day. We were very pleased with Doug's work not only the day of the wedding, our engagement pictures, and the editing of our photos. I also recommend videography. We hadn't planned on having video done on our wedding day and changed our mind last minute. We are so glad now to have a video of all of the special moments from our day.

    Sent on 01/27/2017
  • R

    R · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug was very flexible and did everything we asked. His photos were beautiful and very fun! He's creative and professional, would definitely recommend his service!

    Sent on 01/25/2017
  • C

    Carline · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug, the one suggestion I would offer is to use cell phone for access and also text messaging for quick responses. It's needed in this rapid response society.

    Sent on 01/25/2017
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 09/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug was amazing to work with. I met him at a wedding expo in West Des Moines, and he happened to be free for our date 9/20/2015. We were trying to keep our costs down and he worked with our budget, he did both our photography and videography for us with one assistant over two hours of the day. We got married in Walnut Woods (where he'd also been married back in the day) - he knew the location and was able to knock out our post-ceremony couples pictures quickly, getting us back to the party fast with great results. He was very observant, he got quotes from different family members, when he realized it was my brother in the band, he made sure to get a couple of songs of theirs on video, which when I saw later made me SO happy (I'd forgotten to tell him it was my brother's band). And the turnaround was so fast - we had our discs in hand within a month after the ceremony (possibly a week, but I don't want to talk that up too much, I'm sure it helped that we weren't married in June). We've watched our wedding video at least a dozen times since we got it, and the first time we put it in I called Doug to tell him just how incredibly happy we were with the job he'd done. And now that we're a year and a half past the wedding, I can say even more that the money we spent on his services was completely worth it - I'd choose Doug again for my wedding in a heartbeat!

    Sent on 07/17/2017
  • B

    Brandi · Married on 08/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug McBride was recommended to us by Christiani's Catering and I am so glad that we used him as our photographer for our wedding. My husband is not a fan of having his picture taken and I wasn't interested in spending a ton of time and money on a billion pictures that will only be reviewed in full once every five years or so. Doug provided what we needed: fast and thorough photography services. He got the pictures that we needed plus a few fun ones and he didn't waste time. The best part was that he provided us with digital copies of the pictures so we could print which ones we wanted at any time! Wonderful.

    Sent on 07/05/2017
  • J

    Jonathan · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Really easy to work with. Very friendly. Great pictures. We got them almost immediately after the wedding. Did a great job. We highly recommend him.

    Sent on 07/11/2017
  • K

    Kevin · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great service at a cheap price

    Sent on 07/21/2017
  • S

    Sheena · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug McBride done a spectacular job capturing every single moment of our special day! He brought along another photographer with him so we have amazing shots from different angles! He has a wonderful energetic personality, and very easy to work with. He has very good, different, unique ideas! Glad he was with us all day to put our wedding day into masterpieces!

    Sent on 07/05/2017
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 04/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug was awesome and went with the craziness of the wedding party like it was so easy for him to do! We are very happy with how our pics turned out. He had some crazy ideas that we loved!

    Sent on 07/11/2017
  • L

    Leslie · Married on 09/15/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Very good experience.

    The highlight and full video were very well done. The quality of the picture and sound was amazing. Doug got very special elements brought into the video that added so much to the overall product! Very pleased!!

    Sent on 12/12/2018
  • J

    Jennifer O · Married on 09/09/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommeded

    Doug was a valuable part of making my daughter's wedding a memorable experience. He made the wedding party feel relaxed and made it fun for them which was important to the bride. The photographs were beautiful and captured everything we wanted. We live in Waterloo but the wedding was in Des Moines. Doug recognized our travel schedule and accommodated us. I would highly recommend him.

    Sent on 12/06/2018
  • K

    Katie · Married on 03/05/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have good and bad.....

    The bad:
    1. When the background noise and the music are both playing, it's a little annoying. (One example, when my cousin is singing the Unity Cross song, you can hear her and the music that played over the video.)
    2. The wind, train and sirens that can be heard during our interview.
    3. I would have liked to see more of my guests dancing and enjoying the reception.
    4. The slideshow photos moved a little too fast.

    The good:
    1. You worked with me financially.
    2. You and your boys were a lot of fun and easy to work with at the wedding.
    3. You were willing to do something new for me: same-day edit for the reception.
    4. You kept in contact with me and even let me watch the video and give my input on changes, etc.
    5. We LOVED the individual interviews and the photos with a message from our wedding party -- it was so fun to see what our loved ones had to say!
    6. The quality of the photos were sharp.
    7. The fact that you do cinematography AND photography (I wasn't able to find anyone else, professionally, who did that).
    8. I really could go on and on.

    Thank you very much for working with us, I already have recommended you to others!

    Sent on 01/24/2017
  • User4557586 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was amazing! He dealt well with the large family I had and the flower girl! I could not ask for more. He was amazing! Very responsive and listening to what we wanted.

    Sent on 09/28/2015
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/05/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall, I really enjoyed our experience with Doug! He was professional, and our photos turned out nice! The only thing I wish was that there were more photos with different backgrounds, and more photos with just my husband and me. He would probably do that upon request though!

    Sent on 07/06/2017
  • B

    Brittani Bowman · Married on 09/21/2018

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great service!

    He was very friendly to me and all my guests. Non-intrusive but took all the pictures at each stage of the wedding. A little more expensive than I wanted to pay but that added a level of professionalism that I might’ve regretted by having someone else.

    Sent on 12/07/2018