Weddings

Double Shutter Photography Reviews

Double Shutter Photography

Double Shutter Photography

Hagerstown, MD
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 36 Reviews
View more information

36 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 36
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
Sort by:
  • C
    Sarah Married on 06/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Working with Erica and Jason was an absolute pleasure. They are very professional but personable at the same time. Also, they were very flexible in picking location/dates with our engagement shoot. They were even able to get my husband (who is not very photogenic) to enjoy getting his picture taken. Our wedding coordinator for the church was very unorganized and I was very worried that we would not make it down the aisle on time and Jason jumped in and in addition to taking pictures (without missing any moments) took over wedding coordination also, and everything went flawlessly. He even sewed my bridesmaid into her dress when her hook broke! Our wedding pictures turned out AMAZING and we have had so many compliments on them! I have already recommended Double Shutter to multiple brides I know, and will use them again without a second though when it comes time for babies! You will not be disappointed with Double Shutter Photography!!!!
  • User2185824 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jason and Erica are some of the best people you will ever work with. I originally found them online and fell in love with their pictures. They had the same photojournalistic style that I had been looking at and the cost was a fraction of the price. When I saw what their package included, engagement shoot, two photographers, four hours of photos before the ceremony time and they would stay until the bride and groom left, all photos, edited, with the rights to print, I was in awe. Most photographers will only give you a certain amount of photos, they won't stay the whole time, a second photographer is extra, etc. Not only is their price and photography fabulous, but they are fabulous people. Prior to the wedding we decided to have our son's first birthday pictures, our engagement shoot, and holiday pictures done. Each time we received our sneak peak and our CD with all our images we were looking for the next opportunity to book. Jason and Erica were lifesavers during our wedding. They go above and beyond being a photographer and step into any role you need them. Jason helped my bridesmaids pin and tape their dresses, he tied the bows on their dresses and my belt, he came prepared with everything, when my mom realized she forgot the crochet hook to button my dress Jason took out a bobby pin and went to work. He stayed by my side the whole night and helped keep me calm. Right before the ceremony he asked what drink my husband and I wanted and as soon as we walked back down the aisle he was waiting with a beer and cranberry vodka for us. Jason was also amazing with our son and kept him happy even if it required acting crazy. Jason and Erica made the perfect team, she would get everyone into place and get the camera ready to snap and Jason would be taking pictures from another angle or trying to get the kids to smile. They are also extremely easy to get in contact with, the easiest out of all of our vendors. I would text or email Erica and she would respond ASAP.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 08/31/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jason and Erica were amazing! I had never heard of them but my cousin suggested them and I am so thankful for that. They were extremely easy to get a hold of. Erica was a huge help in planning my timeline for wedding and allowing time for pictures. During the wedding they were so attentive to detials and to Steve and I, always making sure that there wasn't anything we needed. They are also very funny and personable. I will be using them for pictures throughout our life!!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 07/18/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I hired Erika and Jason for my wedding off of a recommendation from a friend. I have been in several weddings and I feel that they have been the best photographers out of all the weddings I have been in. They were on top of everything before, during, and after our wedding. They made me feel so comfortable and relaxed throughout the whole process. I am grateful for them and will be using them for future events in our lives.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 06/20/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Having Double Shutter Photography as our wedding photographers was the perfect choice! Both Jason and Erica were unbelievably kind, helpful, and skilled. They took fantastic shots at both our ceremony and reception. They captured special moments before the wedding as well, including lots of creative pictures that we hadn't thought of! They were so patient and made sure we got pictures of everything we wanted. We are so impressed with their quick responses to emails and even how helpful they were on the day of the ceremony!! We couldn't be happier with having Double Shutter as our wedding photographers!!
  • K
    Karen Married on 04/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can't say enough about this husband and wife team! Jason and Erica are such a joy to work with! Not only are they great photographers, they also are wedding event professionals. They came prepared (with more things than you would ever think you needed on your wedding day), they were friendly not only with us but all of our guests, and they were there for Nate and I in any way we needed. Jason was there early to get some pictures at the salon, and helped calm my nerves, all while capturing every moment of the day. They are incredibly flexible (we had to reschedule our engagement shoot three times due to the weather) and very personable. They work SO WELL as a team. You can't find very many photography teams at that value, especially when you think about the quality that you are getting.

    We would recommend them to any couple looking for a professional photographer, with a laid back and relaxing approach to making your day absolutely perfect.

    We will definitely be using them in the future for photography needs :-)
  • A
    Alison Married on 11/09/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jason and Erica are an amazing team! They captured every special moment of our wedding and much more. They are great with the kids too. I would highly recommend them for any special occasion. They are so friendly and helped me so much on my wedding day. I can't express enough how great they are!
  • S
    Susan Married on 10/26/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Erica and Jason from Double Shutter are wonderful to work with! They are always professional, but also down-to-earth and fun to work with. They were very flexible and more than willing to work with any ideas we had for our photos. They went above and beyond what we expected as part of their photographer "duties", which impressed us all the more. Our photos were outstanding and we have received so many compliments in them. It was hard to pick favorites! I would highly recommend Double Shutter for your wedding or any other photography needs!
  • K
    Kirsten Married on 10/12/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Erica and Jason were absolutely fantastic- a perfect husband and wife team! We honestly can't imagine our wedding without them! They were extremely flexible and cooperative in coordinating logistics for our out of state wedding. On the wedding day, Erica was great and kept everyone on schedule, and Jason was ready for every bridal malfunction imaginable! AND all the photos are beautiful! We still have a difficult time choosing our favorites! The photo booth was an absolute hit, too!
    Thank you both so much!
  • User1518107 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Double Shutter Photography captured our day perfectly. Our pictures are stunning and nothing was missed.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 09/08/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I just got married September 8th and Erica and Jason were awesome! They work as a team to cover everything and make sure you get as many pictures as possible. They even stay until the end of the reception. I just viewed my gallery of pictures and they are great. I have 1035 pictures in total. Not only do Erica and Jason take great pictures but they are also helpful with the day of wedding details. Jason made sure I got a drink whenever I wanted one; he put the veil in my hair and even sewed a small hole in my wedding dress an hour before our ceremony! I would highly recommend them to anyone! You cannot go wrong with Double Shutter Photography!
  • Hailee
    Hailee Married on 08/24/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Erika and Jason Hinkle were absolutely amazing. They were super accommodating seeing as I was planning the whole wedding from California and even had a location change. Super affordable!! For what I would have had to pay for one person to shoot for about 4-5 hours I got both of them all day! I couldn't have asked for better photographers for my wedding. It was like just having two more friends that just happened to be taking a ridiculous amount of pictures. : ) I ended up with about 720 photos and I love every single one. They were amazing at capturing all of the little moments not just the big ones. Hopefully I'll get to use their services again once we move back to PA.
  • K
    Krista Married on 08/10/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Erika & Jason are AWESOME! We could not have had a better team capturing the memories of our daughter's wedding. Erika met us beforehand and walked us through the details, helping us with the schedule for the day. We shared ideas and examples of the kinds of photos we wanted. They paid attention & got all of those but they went above and beyond our expectations with many more great ideas of their own. They made sure that our wedding photos were not just like all of the other photos on pinterest; they looked for ways to capture the personal details and the things that made this wedding unique. Erika took photos while keeping everything on schedule and under control all day. Jason is full of energy and was willing to do anything it took to get that great shot (including climbing up a tree). We have so many perfect photos to choose from! The photo booth they provided was SO MUCH FUN! We had the full gallery in less than 2 weeks and sent the photo booth shots out with the thank you notes. I have already enthusiastically recommended DoubleShutter to several friends, one of whom is lucky enough to have booked them for September!
  • User1517703 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I was referred to Double Shutter Photography by a co-worker, and I'm glad she made the suggestion. Jason and Erica were absolutely wonderful!! Their pricing was great, much better than others I had checked out. They made our engagement photo session and our wedding so much fun. I can't wait to have another life event that we will need a fantastic photographer for!
  • J
    Jamie Married on 07/20/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Double Shutter Photography is awesome! They are a husband and wife duo that went above and beyond my expectations for wedding photographers. They were incredibly easy to work with because of their flexibility, patience, and overall concern of making the big day as easy on the bride and groom as possible. They went above and beyond what I thought photographers would do, including carrying my wedding dress into my bridal suite, fixing bridesmaids hair, helping to get zippers up, putting the boutonnieres on the guys, and helping to get drinks for the bride and groom during pictures. The quality of their work is incredible! I had the hardest time picking my favorite pictures from the day because there were literally hundreds to choose from. I plan on contacting them in the future for maternity pictures, newborn photos, and any other important moments in my life that I want to capture. They're the best!!
  • C
    Chelsea Married on 06/01/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Double Shutter Photography is fantastic! Both Erica and Jason are professional but also so much fun! They made my weddding day so special! You can tell that they love what they do and truly care about your experience. We absolutely loved our formal and informal shots. The value is fantastic, escpecially considering the included engagement pictures with the wedding photography package. I would recommend Double Shutter to anyone who needs a fun, reasonably priced and talented photgrapher!
  • J
    Jane Married on 05/04/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had both our engagement and wedding photos captured by Double Shutter Photography. Our engagement photos were so much fun and Jason really made us feel comfortable so our pictures look natural and not like we were "posing" too much. Plus we had so much fun! Our wedding day was so magical and every time I look through my pictures I can remember every detail of the wedding because of the great pictures. I would definitely recommend them to all my friends for all special occasions. I can't wait to shoot our "baby pictures" (when the time comes :)
  • A
    Anna Married on 04/27/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jason and Erica were amazing! The two of them spent the whole day with us! We couldn't have asked for more. All of the pictures turned out beautiful! We can't wait to use them again in the future!
  • C
    Courtney Married on 04/20/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Erica and Jason went above and beyond the expectations we had for our wedding! Not only were the photos great, but their presence at our wedding made it even more enjoyable. We had several comments from guests on how awesome they were. They are very professional and attentive to anything you need. We would recommend them in a heartbeat!
  • J
    Julia Married on 03/30/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Erica and Jason Hinkle of Double Shutter Photography were simply amazing to work with. They are enthusiastic and dedicated, providing plenty of personal attention during all phases: pre-wedding shoots, the wedding day, and photo editing. For example, I was able to make special requests to edit and caption some of our engagement photos for wedding favor magnets, and they provided everything I needed promptly, beautifully, and with infinite patience for all my little font changes, etc. On top of that, they offer their services at an amazing value compared to other vendors I priced out. In terms of the photos, they are very adept at working together to set up and capture beautiful, real moments. As someone who is not always super comfortable in photo shoots, they did a great job making me feel comfortable and laugh during the shoots, which really comes through in the photos. I ended up with a great combination of classic, unique, and candid engagement and wedding photos, all flattering, and all beautiful. I couldn't be happier with the result or the process of working with Double Shutter Photography.
  • N
    Vonnie Married on 03/23/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The value you get for the cost of the wedding package is more than expected. This husband and wife team are great!! They were able to capture all the special moments plus some from the day! The team is always professional, flexible to your needs and just amazing to work with! The added benefit is with the package I not only got all my engagement photos but all my wedding photos on a disk to print/share. I would recommend double shutter and can't wait to use them again.
  • User854253 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jason and Erica were awesome! We first met them at a friend's wedding and were impressed so we asked them immediately if they had our wedding date open. Their price was much more reasonable than anyone else in the DC area. They are a little bit out of the way (in PA) so we did book them a hotel the night before. In their cost, it included two photographers (so two angles), all day coverage (Jason came to our room at 6:30am for getting ready photos, and both of them stayed after the reception ended til about 6pm to take more photos of just the two of us), engagement photos, a CD with all rights to the hi-res pictures, and a one-week turn around for edits and internet viewing. The photos turned out great! They have a more classic style of photography which is what we were looking for (as opposed to the photojournalistic style that many people seem to like). Additionally, I had a pinterest page with a bunch of wedding photos that I had wanted to take. Jason and Erica had these downloaded on their phone, and throughout the day, they made sure we got as many of those poses as we could. Another bonus, Jason always made sure we had drinks in our hands at the reception! We loved Jason and Erica and would recommend them to anyone!
  • R
    Joan Married on 04/20/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jasona and erica were great. i loved having the 2 person team, it meant all the moments were caught. My new Grandmother-in-law loved Jason too! they were considerate, helpful and all round quite useful. I just saw my pictures 2 days ago and they were amazing!
  • E
    Elaine Married on 10/23/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!!! The Double Shutter team are the absolute best. I could not have asked for better people to work with. The package they offer is incredible better than any other you will find for two photographers. Our engagement session was awesome and included in the package. Jason and Erica put us at ease, took a huge variety of pictures, and made the wedding day fun. I love what they do and how they do it. I would recommend them to anyone.
  • M
    Michael A. Married on 10/22/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Working with Jason and Erica was a wonderful experience. We loved our engagement and wedding pictures. The quality of the pictures were excellent and we loved that we had so many pictures to choose from. You definitely get a lot for your money, and it's nice because, unlike some other photographers, they don't give you a limited number of hours or pictures before you have to start paying extra. They are with you from the time your special days begins to the time the reception ends. Jason and Erica were also extremely easy to work with. We were easily able to set up a time for our engagement photo session, and they worked with us to get all the pictures we wanted on our wedding day. If we ever needed anything throughout the duration of the planning process or after the wedding they responded to us quickly. Overall, they are a truly talented couple and we are so thankful for the memories they captured for us.