Skip to main content
Weddings

Dobbin St Reviews

Dobbin St View more information

Reviews

4.6 out of 5 rating
4.6 out of 5 rating
13 Reviews
92% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating

Awards

13
Weddingwire
4.6/5 13 reviews
Google
4.3/5 65 reviews
  • J
    Joyce A. Sent on 07/28/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue

    After visiting all the loft space in NY/NJ that could accommodate our date and number of guests we decided to go w Dobbin St. Their space is beautiful, the pricing is clear and no bs of “admin” added fees and it was the best decision. Terry and his team were a pleasure to work with from the beginning. Our wedding day was beautiful and they worked well with all our vendors. Really recommend this venue and their team.
  • K
    Kailey Sent on 11/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An incredible Brooklyn venue!

    Dobbin St is hands down the most beautiful venue I've ever seen! The entire space is beautiful, from the inside, the roof, and the cute little courtyard. We worked with a few people during our wedding planning process, but everyone at Dobbin was so helpful, especially our planner Raquel! Wedding planning is naturally a nerve wracking experience, but Raquel made the process so stress free! I can't recommend this venue enough!!
  • K
    Kathleen A. Sent on 12/31/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing, highly recommend!

    Dobbin St was everything we could have dreamed of! The team was so helpful throughout planning during Covid and Raquel jumped in at the last minute as our coordinator. She was amazing and everything went off without a hitch! The vendors they recommended were all incredible and it was clear they have a good relationship with these vendors. When it seemed that our videographer was not going to show up, Raquel hit the ground running, calling up her contacts in the industry to get us a plan b if needed. The space is gorgeous and I will never forget the absolutely breathtaking sunset views from the rooftop during our cocktail hour. We cannot recommend this venue enough!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Jessi
    Jessi W. Sent on 08/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dobbin St 360 - Highly recommend!!!

    We had a wonderful experience working with Dobbin St! We loved the venue and our guests really enjoyed having the ceremony on the roof where they could see the skyline with the sunset in the background. The reception downstairs was incredible, and all of the recommended vendors did great. Most of all, we loved the Dobbin 360 experience. Raquel was an amazing help and truly made our experience a dream come true. We highly recommend choosing Dobbin St. for your wedding or event!!
  • M
    Maria Sent on 11/14/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful wedding experience!

    Dobbin St. is truly a gem in the Brooklyn wedding space. Ceremony + cocktail hour on the rooftop (with a view of the skyline and sunset) and dinner/reception inside the main venue and courtyard. The cool, modern venue was the best experience for a wedding in NYC. Plus, the staff at Dobbin St. are very responsive and helpful in the planning process. They answered all of our Qs leading up to our wedding day + always provided recommendations for vendors, decor, etc.
  • A
    Alison Sent on 02/23/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't recommend Dobbin Street enough. They were incredible.
    First of all, the space is absolutely beautiful. You can do a lot with it - or not do a lot, and it still looks amazing. Your wedding won't look like anyone else's wedding, no matter what. The space is a perfect mix of elegant and also unfussy. It has a lot of character, they've paid attention to the details, and it has everything that you'd need or want. (It is sort of DIY - you have to source everything yourself like catering, rentals, flowers, etc - but they help coordinate with the vendors to make everything very smooth )

    Also importantly, the staff is incredibly nice, friendly, and accommodating. They are very responsive, can make great suggestions for vendors, and will work through all aspects of your event with you. They rock.

    I really appreciated that they were transparent with their pricing. They didn't have a bunch of hidden or add-on fees - it seemed very honest and fair. Wedding budgeting can be stressful, and their approach seemed so welcome after talking with a bunch of different venues that didn't operate that way. And for that location and that pricing, it's a great deal.
    Short story - you should have your wedding / event here - you will love it.
  • K
    Kendra Sent on 10/24/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Enormous thanks to the entire Dobbin St team for being a critical part of making our wedding the best, most memorable experience ever! It was more magical and kickass than we ever imagined! My husband and I got married in July 2017 and everything about this space, the team, and coordination process is awesome. I *highly* recommend Dobbin St as an event venue. Leslie, Sally and the Dobbin St team are a total joy to work with, professional, and respond quickly to inquiries with really helpful information. I appreciated how they proactively reached out throughout my wedding planning process with info about reno/upgrades to spaces (which were fabulous!), recommended vendors, suggestions/regulations for using space. They have exceptionally high standards for the space and want to make sure you and your event team have info you need in advance, which you appreciate as a client and when this is one of the biggest personal life events ever. The team were always so welcoming, cooperative, and collaborative with me, my vendors, and very accommodating and welcoming when my parents were in town and wanted to do a site visit. When I wanted to customize the bar menu a bit, even though they have standard packaging, they were super helpful finding a solution that worked well. They are also quite fair and timely when it comes to communicating limitations and what’s not possible in the space. We really appreciated that! Months later, we still get so many compliments about how beautiful our wedding venue was. The design elements are modern, attractive, perfectly minimalist but with awesome design punches here and there; there is so much personality without being overbearing. We appreciated that we didn’t have to approach the venue like a total “blank slate” and could make use of the “Brooklyn rawness” at the same time. The built-in Bose sound system sounds fantastic. Thank you Dobbin St team for working with me as you did every step of the way. We would do it all over again w/you!
  • Gila
    Gila S. Sent on 10/24/2021
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect spot for our rooftop brunch wedding

    Dobbin St was the perfect venue for our early October rooftop brunch wedding and I couldn't recommend it more highly! Because of Covid, we were very focused on finding a venue that would allow us to host 70-ish guests comfortably fully outdoors, and the Dobbin St rooftop was ideal. Everyone we worked with at Dobbin (with an extra special shoutout to Raquel, our Dobbin St 360 coordinator) was awesome and really went above and beyond to bring our vision to life. We ended up tenting the roof at the last minute and bringing our planned furniture setup in the courtyard indoors because of rain, and everything still went off without a hitch. We also had a morning ceremony and brunch reception, and the Dobbin St team had no trouble coordinating our atypical timeline. The venue itself is lovely, and a great clean slate to make your own. Having the client suite was another really great perk. There's a private bridal area where I was able to do hair and makeup and get dressed, and another separate area where were able to sign our ketubah and marriage license. Both are furnished beautifully and make for great photo ops. The courtyard is adorable and ended up being perfect for our first look, but you could easily use it for a photo booth, lounge area, or whatever else you can dream up. Our whole wedding felt like a dream and it was amazing to actually see all the details I'd been imagining and trying to describe for months come to life. Highly recommend!
  • S
    Simone M. Sent on 07/11/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Day to Remember at Dobbin St

    We had an incredible experience having our wedding at Dobbin St! The venue itself is very stylish and has a beautiful rooftop with a view of the Manhattan Skyline. The team at Dobbin St was very responsive and always did their best to resolve any issues we had with the planning. We appreciated how they also contacted us frequently with info about upgrades to the space, new vendor suggestions and rules for setting up, breaking down and using the space itself. Overall a wonderful experience and we would highly recommend Dobbin St!
  • K
    Katherine Sent on 10/07/2017
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    I would definitely recommend Dobbin St. to any friends getting married in Brooklyn. When we first started looking for a venue, we knew we wanted to stay close to home and we loved the idea of a rooftop ceremony with dinner inside. Dobbin has been decorated in a sophisticated yet minimalist way. The concrete floors and high ceilings contrast well with their paint choices and lighting. If you want a industrial sort of look without feeling cold and impersonal then this is the place for you!

    The rooftop is incredible, with awesome views of Williamsburg as well as manhattan. It's fully decked out with lots of benches and two spaces for bars. It was never difficult to get a drink.

    The Dobbin St. staff we great to work with, and weathered the one bump in the road we had with professionalism and grace. Because they are such a new venue we had received a certain price list for the open bar (in the contract you sign an exclusivity agreement for the open bar) several months before we actually booked it and by that time they raised their prices for the package we wanted. While I didn't end up getting the price I had budgeted for, they did throw in some extras and worked with me until we came to a mutual agreement. That being said, I wrote this off as something that happens when you work with a brand new venue.

    Along with a brand new venue came a awesome sound system though. Music sounded excellent and our DJ was very happy.

    Overall we were very pleased with our experience. The venue felt very us, and Leslie and Sally did a great job helping us with seating arrangements, with any questions we had and gave us great recommendations for catering. If I could do it all over again I would choose Dobbin again.
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth Sent on 01/02/2020
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue in Brooklyn

    Dobbin St was the first venue my Fiance and I went to look at. We saw several after and knew that we wanted Dobbin. Kevi was our main point of contact at the venue and she was incredible. She helped us each step of the way (even when it wasn't her job to!) Kevi knew that we were paying for the wedding ourself and that we wanted to stay within our budget. She knows vendors all over the city and connected us with our DoC, DJ, caterers and transportation.
    Dobbin St hosts open house events almost once a month with a bunch of vendors and these were really helpful for us in both meeting vendors but also for us to plan out the space.
    My husband and I wanted a venue that had outdoor space where we could have the ceremony but also wanted a big room where everyone would be in the same space for the reception. The rooftop at Dobbin St is spectacular. Many venues that are not in a hall in Brooklyn are blank slates, but Dobbin actually has some things in house. They offer tables and chairs (both rectangular and circular) so you don't have to rent these things. They also have a whole set of chairs for the roof and ceremony. They have plants and greenery all over the courtyard as well. There isn't a huge need to decorate. Their lighting is great, we didn't rent any extra, just a few uplights through our DJ. They have a sound system already hooked up. They are constantly adding things to the venue as well.
    The only downside to Dobbin is that you have to do your alcohol through them. This can be pricey, however, you don't have to deal with any of it. They are really accommodating with the packages, too. Our bartenders Tommy and Ian were incredible. They were really friendly and made sure to take care of everyone. We rented a Kombucha keg and they served this as well behind the bar.
    It rained on the day of our wedding and the Dobbin Team went above and beyond to set up upstairs on the roof and cover it just in case the rain stopped. They do not have tents on site and we didn't rent since they are incredibly expensive. We ended up having the ceremony inside and it was perfect. Most of our guests said that they actually really liked how intimate it was and we got so many compliments on the venue. I would highly recommend Dobbin St to any New Yorker looking for a small Brooklyn venue with outside space.
  • T
    Tamara Sent on 09/15/2018
    3.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    We had an incredible wedding at Dobbin Street in August, with a seated dinner for 130 guests and plenty of room for a dance floor. The venue is unique (but pricey given you have to bring in rentals), has lots of spaces (we loved the courtyard and the bridal suite was convenient!) and you can truly customize it to your own style. Their recommended catering vendor, Dish Foods, was outstanding and very easy to work with. It rained on our wedding day but we got a tent in advance which allowed us to host the ceremony and cocktails on the rooftop. Overall we were very happy with how things turned out, and for the most part, the team was easy to work with (though they took longer than expected to get back to us over email) but there were a few hiccups.
    1) There is no wiggle room with the bar package. Based on other reviews, we tried to negotiate but there was no flexibility here, which was frustrating when we tried to customize the package and make substitutions.
    2) They told us we needed a specific type of insurance one month before the wedding (we already had a different kind) and insisted on using this brand even though eventually our original insurance worked fine.
    3) They tried to charge us for damages that their preferred tent company inflicted and was already going to cover, and then took 3 weeks to return our security deposit after we bugged them about it.

    Dobbin St's reply:

    Dear Tamara,

    It was a pleasure to host your wedding and we were honored that you chose Dobbin St for your special day. Thank you so much for taking the time to write out a review for us. Unfortunately we feel that there was a bit of a communication era and we would like to respond to each of your points.

    1. Dobbin St does offer two substitutes free of charge in any of our bar packages as stated in our contract.
    2. We simply require a certificate of insurance as stated in our welcome letter thats covers you and the venue for any liability. The insurance we received did not cover the required insurance.
    3. We are sorry if there was a slight delay in returning your security deposit. We were requesting that the tent company agree to cover the cost of the damages they had caused. They have not covered the cost as of yet, however we absorbed the cost and returned your deposit in full. We would never charge a client for any damage from their event that was being covered by a vendor that we recommended.

    Please feel free to reach out to us with any questions or further clarification of your concerns. Again thank you for choosing Dobbin St - your wedding was absolutely beautiful!

    Best,
    The Dobbin St Team
  • S
    Sarah Sent on 06/30/2019
    2.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating

    Not Recommended

    My spouse and I booked Dobbin St. to hold our wedding about a year and a half in advance. The staff we initially met with was fairly informative and pleasant to work with and we negotiated and signed a contract. Unfortunately, we had several issues leading up to the wedding that forces me to advise against holding an event here. We were told patently incorrect information multiple times leading up to the event. For instance, Dobbin St. provided us with the wrong floorplan, incorrect information about serving wine table-side (they told us we couldn't do that, but a few days and emails later they said we could), and inaccurate information about the sound system (to top it off, the microphone they provided kept turning off every couple minutes during the entire ceremony...maybe the battery needed a charge?). On their own, one of these things isn't a huge deal but it kept happening continuously and late in the process so we ended up spending a lot of extra time having to revise based on their mistakes. We also had issues being faulted for damages and recovering our security deposit. They withheld our deposit initially, claiming that our event caused marks on the floor due to taping down wires. The contract specified nothing about certain types of tape so industry standard grafting tape was used. Not only was it unclear to us that there was actually any damage or if it was caused by any tape our vendors used, but this wasn't even reported until 4 days after our event. While trying to sort this out, several of their responses to our questions made no sense or went unanswered. Representatives of Dobbin St. were unprofessional, for example, hanging up on our wedding planner. Ultimately, Dobbin St. did retain part of our security deposit but we received the majority back, although we really never knew that there was actual damage or that we caused it. Overall, I would not recommend Dobbin St. and would be weary of the lack of professionalism and knowledge. The space has a cool vibe, but it's not worth the headache or risk of dealing with the instability and mistakes from the venue that, ironically, isn't expected to do anything other than let their client use the space in accordance with their contractual obligations/rules. It would have been easier, less stressful, and more efficient if they just provided the raw space, put all their rules and procedures in the contract, and remained uninvolved after that.

    Dobbin St's reply:

    Hi Sarah,

    It was a pleasure hosting your wedding at Dobbin St and we thank you again for choosing us for your special day!

    We’re sorry if there were issues with the floorpans or the ones retrieved from AllSeated.com - there was some trouble on our end however this issue has been resolved. We are typically very clear about our bar services including information on our wine service policy (since this is a common request) however again if this wasn’t communicated to you clearly enough, we apologize. After reviewing our emails and conversation with you and your planner there seemed to be no issues brought up in regards to our sound system.

    It is not in our interest to withhold any money or charge clients for damages not caused by their event. It is classic industry practice to investigate any damages, schedule a repairman to evaluate and wait until we receive the invoice from the contractor to determine how much the repair is going to cost. In this instance we found the cheapest way to repair the damages to avoid any discomfort on all fronts. We had one of the managing partners come and fix the floors so we wouldn’t need to hire a contractor which would’ve cost the entire deposit fee. Finally we charged $150 for material and was able to return $850 of your $1,000 deposit.

    On behalf of the team, I would like to apologize for any miscommunication or inconvenience caused during and leading up to your wedding. Here at Dobbin St we strive to ensure our clients leave with nothing but an amazing experience. We are in business of happiness and sadden that you had less than a great experience with us.

    Please feel free to reach out to us with any questions or further clarification of your concerns. Again thank you for choosing Dobbin St!

    Best,
    Kevi Nontasak
    Sales & Marketing Manager
Responds within 24 hours