Dj Shakey Reviews

64 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

64 Reviews for Dj Shakey

Recommended by 99%

64
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
64 Dj Shakey Reviews
Sort by:
  • E

    Evan · Married on 08/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shakey was an absolute dream to work with. I've danced to her DJ sets many times and knew she had a reputation as a top shelf wedding DJ. When time came for me to find a wedding DJ she was the first person I reached out to. Shakey not only made it incredibly easy to articulate our musical vision for the reception, she also thoughtfully educated us on what works best, musically, for a wedding like ours. Hard to put a value on the confidence that came from knowing that we were working with someone who has thousands of hours of experience doing something so important as setting the vibe for our wedding.

    In the above and beyond category: she also rented us the DJ equipment and soundsystem, set everything up and coordinated with 2 other DJs we also had to make sure that the night flowed smoothly. And it really did. First dance was perfect, the hora was beautiful chaos, and the dance party afterwards had all 3 generations from both of our families shaking it on the floor. I really couldn't be happier with how the music turned out. I'm also not surprised at all, because I knew from the start that Shakey was a true master.

  • M

    Matthew · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Shakey was a fantastic DJ for our wedding-- played a great mix of tunes that reflected our tastes, while still allowing flexibility for requests, etc. Reliable and responsive, she helped make the night a blast!

  • B

    breanne · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Shakey is a gem. She has an encyclopedic knowledge of music, and is really excellent at integrating your personal taste with songs that keep your guests happy. We gave her a list of about 8 or 10 "must plays" and about 25 other suggested songs so that she could get a sense of what we liked -- she played many of the songs we suggested, blended them perfectly with her own selections, and kept the dance floor packed all night. She is also super chill -- she made a few bare bones announcements, but otherwise let the music speak for itself, which is exactly what we wanted.

  • J

    Jennie · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Shakey is an absolute force!!

    It was super awesome to have a DJ with such a broad range of music that could find a balance between our eclectic taste and music for a good portion of our guests who are more top-40 centric. A few months before the wedding, she sent us an extensive list of music styles, bands, and wedding/party standards to choose from. She consulted with us after, making sure we had enough sit-down and dance options for her to work with. She did such an incredible job with what we gave her, as well as accommodating the requests of our guests. And, to top it all off, she worked in a MISFITS song, which myself, so many of my guests, and photographer, were super surprised by and excited to dance to.

    She was also super flexible, as we were still uncertain the day of where to fit the first dance, and was able to accommodate the change in schedule. There was an issue with the volume of her microphone, though it may have been because of the sound system in the venue. It made some of the transitions (first dance to reception, cake cutting, etc.) confusing, but we were able to work with it, and she remained totally calm throughout.

    Thank you for an amazing night!!!!!

  • N

    N · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie is awesome! From the start she told us her goal is to get everyone up dancing and having a good time, and she totally mastered it! She started with a music worksheet where we defined what genres and bands we like and don't like, and she went from there. She is able to read the mood and the vibe of the party and to really make the music fit and enhance the event.

    We were referred to her through a friend who was at a wedding where she DJ'ed and are so happy we were able to get her for ours! She is a lot of fun, knowledgeable, professional, responsive, and overall fantastic. 100% recommend

  • A

    Alex · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Shakey is incredible. She is very easy going, and happy to work with whatever playlist you give her. On top of that, she plays a great set and will have your guests dancing all night long.

  • W

    William · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Shakey is absolutely deserving of her Top Rated status. She's professional, buttoned up and easy to work with.

    She DJed our entire wedding: the ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner, dancing and the after party. The music was flawless throughout.

    Julie's great about getting to know your music tastes and putting together a perfect song list for the party. Her extensive music guidelines worksheet is a perfect starting point for anyone concerned about identifying their own taste (which can be overwhelming for many people!). We also shared a few sample Spotify playlists with her to illustrate what we often play at parties and what our guests are interested in. From there, she put together a seamless setlist for the whole event. She even took into account many of our guest's requests during the party.

    We're both in our late twenties and had a large-ish wedding with 165 guests of a wide range of ages. Julie's music catered to all of them without resorting to 'just standard wedding fair', which was fantastic. Our tastes are varied: 90s pop, Pitchfork style Indie, Mid 2000s hip hop, classic rock, etc. She played everything from Kanye to the Beach Boys without missing a beat. The dance floor was full all night, even after we extended the part another 90 minutes beyond the scheduled end time.

    We couldn't have been happier with DJ Shakey playing our wedding. She's top notch. If you've been hunting for a DJ that'll handle your musical taste or someone to get the dance floor bumping, you've found her.

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Shakey was fantastic at my and my wife's wedding. She could read the crowd perfectly and the music completely worked for the mixed group (parents/grandparents/20-40 years olds.) Every email was returned promptly and she showed up early!! Highly recommend.

  • H

    H · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Music was super important to my partner and I, and we researched a lot of bands and DJs before making a decision. Based on reading the stellar reviews about Julie, we felt pretty confident that we'd made a good choice. We knew we didn't want the cheesy top 40 wedding DJ or an emcee announcing us, and she understood that perfectly. Plus, her services are so reasonably priced, especially compared to some of the other folks we reached out to. Even other DJs we had contacted told us we absolutely had to go with Julie if she was available (essentially praising the "competition" over themselves), so, more positive affirmation. It was straightforward to book with her, and leading up to the day, she was very easy to reach. We ended up giving her a ridiculous list of songs and genres that we liked, which she used as a guide. As an additional complication, we had hired a band to play outside earlier in the evening, so she worked with them to create a seamless transition so there was always music playing. When it came time to the move the party indoors and dance, she straight killed it. It was exactly what we were hoping to achieve - a sweaty dance party with friends and family who didn't want to leave the dance floor (and were actually chanting, "one more song! ten more songs!" when she finished up). The owner of the B&B where the wedding took place didn't even want it to end and asked her to play longer, which she happily obliged. If it's not already apparent, we could not have been more happy with our decision to hire DJ Shakey. She is brilliant! Thanks so much for making our event an incredible and memorable party.

  • User6818818 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Shakey is awesome! Professional,chill,fantastic music selection, took our input on music yet played other songs that had everyone up and dancing. Really made the wedding a complete blast.

  • A

    Abigail · Married on 06/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Shakey was FANTASTIC at our wedding. She had the crowd up and dancing until last orders at the bar, and our guests still wanted more! Professional, reliable, accommodating, she is absolutely excellent and well worth the money.

  • S

    Suzanne · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Shakey (Julie) recently DJ'd our wedding at the Housing Works Bookstore Cafe and she was AMAZING! So easy and fun to work with. She seamlessly included the handful of songs we requested and developed an incredible playlist with a huge variety of music. Every guest was on their feet dancing and commented on how great the music was throughout the night. To top it off, she's also a really lovely and gracious person. Look forward to working with her in future events. If you're looking for a great DJ, Shakey is the one!

  • User6056188 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired DJ Shakey for our NYC wedding reception in December. She was so easy to work with and did an incredible job getting everyone dancing at our reception! Everyone loved her! We ended up extending the time at our venue because everyone was having so much fun! Would definitely hire her again for future parties.

  • D

    Dan · Married on 10/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Shakey was awesome! She did an amazing job DJ'ing our Halloween wedding. She played everything we wanted, came up with lots of great songs on her own, and got into the Halloween spirit (she had a great astronaut costume). You can tell that DJ Shakey is a super-legit Brooklyn music person (she DJs at all kind of hip events including Burning Man, owns a personal collection of thousands of vinyl records, hosts a month record swap meet, even appeared in the video for Big Freedia's "Excuse" which blew my mind). She's the farthest thing away from your conventional boring and/or corny wedding DJ (without being any less competent or responsible) and we love her for it!

  • Jill

    Jill · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From setting up a special mic for the ceremony to picking a perfect last song from our playlist to a lightning fast response time in the planning process and stunningly careful review of the songs we picked, D. J. Shakey did far more than we would even to know to request. An absolute pro. We loved working with her and respect and admire her work as a musician, a D.J. (and mistress of ceremonies), and a mentor and teacher in her work with the Lower East Side Girls Club.

  • S

    Samantha · Married on 04/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ shakey was absolutely incredible! She worked with us on customizing an awesome playlist, mixing our first dance songs perfectly, and helping with the overall flow of the evening. All of our guests were up and dancing the entire evening! Thanks for making out wedding so much fun!

  • A

    April · Married on 12/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Shakey is the best DJ we have ever met! She kept the crowd at our wedding moving at all times and was right on the money with her song choices! If you are having a wedding, sweet 16, etc, you can't go wrong with DJ Shakey! We never wanted the party to end!

  • K

    Kirsten · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Shakey really made our reception a party! Our guests were really engaged and on the dance floor! Even my mom was out busting a move. From dance circles to conga lines that looped around the entire venue (beyond dance floor), our guests were feeling the music and told us what an amazing time they had ("best wedding ever!").

    Julie was awesome to work with from start to finish, from engaging us and working in our songs (from some pop faves, to Nigerian and Ukrainian music for our respective heritages). She also worked with us to arrange for our entrance dances and made some ad hoc adjustments when we realized a few forgotten details day-of. Highly recommend her!

  • R

    Risa · Married on 08/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want the best dance party of your life, DJ Shakey will give it to you! This part of our wedding was the most important to us and we're so thrilled that we worked with her. My husband and I both love music and had a lot of specific ideas in mind for what we wanted played - concentrated mostly on oldies and 80s pop. She completely accommodated our every wish. She was also a real joy to work with along the way; we had a great time chatting with her. Her love for music shines through and she is so knowledgable about it and can pull off any genre or theme you can think of. Julie also helped us deal with any sound system needs with our venue which was extremely helpful. Our guests - young and older - were all really pleased with her choices. We hope to attend another party with DJ Shakey in the near future!

  • S

    Samantha · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Shakey is awesome. We wanted a full on dance party at our wedding, and we shopped around a bit for DJs, only to find a lot of commercial companies. Shakey is a one-woman show, was great at feeling the vibe of our party, and did a great job of satisfying all the various age groups. Everyone had so much fun! She is also just a really cool person, was very responsive and took care of everything. I highly recommend her!!

  • M

    Maureen · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Shakey was an awesome addition to our wedding! We really wanted a big party where everyone danced and had fun all night and that is exactly what Julie gave us. Throughout the whole process she was super responsive and knowledgeable. She had worked our venue a few times which really helped out and took a lot of the guessing out for us.

    We highly recommend Julie!

  • User4111893 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Shakey did such a great job at my sister's wedding after party last year that I asked her to do my own! She was extremely easy to coordinate with and very responsive. She provided a music worklist, allowing you to request songs and artists, which she stuck to during the after party. She had everyone dancing until the last song!

  • M

    M · Married on 04/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie is an amazing DJ with a great selection of music. She really understood the flow that we wanted for our wedding and delivered on keeping the music at the pace we wanted. Everyone raved about the music selection. I gave Julie mostly a general outline and let her DJ skills shine. She really made our wedding day the party we wanted. Thanks Julie!

  • User3721696 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie was super professional. Playing to a variety of age ranges and tastes, she was able to pack the dance floor almost immediately and was able to keep people there. Julie was accommodating to guests' requests without derailing the overall inclusive and banging vibe she established. She instructed the crowd to join in after the first dance had reached it's emotional peak and at created an unexpected moment where my wife and i looked up and were surrounded by loved ones. She played all of the right songs at the right times. Solid jams, solid person. THANKS.

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie (DJ Shakey) did a phenomenal job! She made the process easy, understood exactly what we wanted and executed it perfectly, and was fun and easy to work with all along the way. She has an expansive knowledge of different styles of music, and is versatile and knowledgeable. I would recommend her to anyone.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review