DJ PGee Reviews

19 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for DJ PGee

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

19
Order by:
  • C

    Chase · Married on 06/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJPGee was wonderful at providing a fun without being over the top music for the wedding. She followed our "play" and "no play" lists 100% and never overstepped the family or the event. She even did the ceremony music and the cocktail hour music. Great value too! I highly recommend.

    Sent on 07/30/2012
  • G

    gina · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let me start by saying that its so hard to find a good wedding DJ! Most of them are cheesy and have an agenda (even when they claim otherwise). Kim understands good music and is really, really nice and easy to work with. We had a lot of specific music requests (some very obscure) and Kim knew them all (and found some really fun versions/remixes). She perfectly arranged the song list throughout cocktails, dinner and our four hour insane dance party. She did an amazing job!

    Sent on 08/15/2012
  • R

    Renee · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim made our reception such a blast - mixing the traditional elements and hip hop we wanted for dancing, as well as finding appropriate songs by The White Stripes, Cold War Kids, Mumford & Sons, Regina Spektor, and Jeff Buckley to play during dinner so we had a flavor of the music my husband I and love to listen to. Kim also introduced me to some artists I hadn't heard before. I LOVED the music, and had a blast dancing. My Dad and uncle had a great time dancing, as well as our friends. My Dad can't stop talking about what a fun party the reception was. Kim also graciously handled all of my uncle's requests while sticking to our plan that she not take requests unless they were brilliant suggestions.

    Sent on 11/20/2011
  • N

    Meghan · Married on 07/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED Kim, and so did everyone at our wedding - several people tried to hire her for their events while ours was still going on! Kim doesn't do that many weddings per month, so we were very lucky to get her with short notice, and I am SO thrilled that we did.

    We are picky about music and had our eyes on a dance party for our wedding (majority of guests between 20 and 35) that wouldn't alienate older guests, and she delivered perfectly. Indie favs were mixed into the cocktail and dinner hours (where we repeatedly heard, "Oh my god, I can't believe this song is playing at your wedding!"), and the dance floor was crowded from start to finish.

    In addition to being a great DJ and ridiculously affordable (she could easily charge double and it would be worth it!), Kim was wonderful to work with, very funny and sweet and understanding of the last minute changes and questions that randomly pop up right before the wedding. We'd hire her in a heartbeat for any future event, and recommend her wholeheartedly for anyone in search of a wedding DJ that really gets it if you're decidedly not looking for the typical wedding DJ.

    Sent on 07/26/2011
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If the only cheese you love is that which comes from four-legged creatures and you want to shake yo' booty all night long with your guests at your wedding, you can't go wrong with DJ PGee. She eschews all of that standard wedding crap and makes the event a stand-out evening. You won't hear her on the microphone unless you ask her to say anything, unlike some DJs who just seem to want to babble more than play music. Though she specializes in Indie music, she's got it all and mixes it perfectly, and works with you up to your big day to set the perfect tone for the night. Friends are already bugging me for a copy of the setlist only two days after the wedding - she was THAT GOOD at picking out fabulous tunes!

    She is extremely professional to work with, her pricing is fair, and she's a total sweetheart. My father and some friends loved the fact that she was dancing behind the turntables, too! I've already moved her info along to another friend who got married - so I've seen her DJ brilliance twice and can completely vouch for her :)

    Sent on 06/20/2011
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 11/13/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Kim because we were looking for a dj who wouldn't play the usual cheesy wedding music. Happily, she was exactly the right choice! Kim is professional, organized, and responsive. She played both our ceremony and our reception and took our requests into account while reading the crowd the whole night. The music wasn't so loud that we couldn't talk, she didn't spend a lot of time on the mic, and she sent us our fabulous playlist the week after the wedding. Highly recommend Kim!

    Sent on 12/12/2010
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a mostly self-proclaimed music snob, the music for our wedding was one of the most important aspects to me. Kim was absolutely the easiest choice for me as soon as we met. I wanted to avoid any sort of cheese factor, and Kim was obviously on board with that. I also wanted to incorporate music that everyone knows and loves to dance to with some of the more indie and current music that we and our friends like. Kim did a fabulous job. She was very prepared for our initial meeting and was always very responsive throughout the process. Kim also dealt with our lack of a final timeframe until the very last minute and was patient and understanding even when we were slow with the details.

    As for the music itself, it was great. I had some "must plays" and some artists i wanted to work into the day, and Kim took that and ran with it. She did a great job of keeping everyone dancing once dinner was done, starting with Motown and classics that everyone knows and then, as the evening went on, moving into some more current stuff for us and our friends. I was thrilled with the mix, and we got tons of compliments on the music all night long.

    I wholeheartedly recommend DJ PGee/Kim to anyone who is looking for a DJ who avoids the cheesy wedding standards and plays what you and she like while keeping people dancing.

    Sent on 12/04/2010
  • B

    Catherine · Married on 08/28/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ PGee is one of those hard to find wedding DJs. First of all, she's not the typical wedding DJ that so many brides are accustomed to interviewing. When I was planning my August 28, 2010 wedding, I met about twelve different DJs. Most of them were pretty high-priced and shady, with a subtle level of greasiness. They were commercial types, who profit off of high balling brides since the word "wedding" usually drives up costs by 30%.

    Finally my smart now-husband, then-fiance, found DJ PGee. We wanted a cool person, who really knew and loved music, and most importantly, someone we could easily work with (like a friend). Her prices were very reasonable, she was easy to talk to, and an overall nice person.

    Our wedding took place at the Torpedo Factory Art Center in Old Town Alexandria. She arrived early and set everything up, she's a one-woman shop, and as the place closed down at midnight, I could see out of the corner of my eye, DJ PGee hauling out a boat-load of high-end sound equipment that would normally require two men to carry.

    The best part of the wedding was her ability to read the crowd. From what I understand, DJ PGee spins at local clubs, and so this speaks to her ability to size up dancers and those entertained. She kept the dance floor churning all night. We were fortunate because the Torpedo Factory essentially provided us enough floor space for a "club like" atmosphere. It truly turned out to be one.

    She played a great, fantastic mix of old school funk like the Jacksons, to some Motown, and into the latest club mixes that weren't cheesy at all. Even when she played Kei$ha, she played a club mix versus the usual radio version.

    We started off as an untamely, slightly disorganized wedding party of 8 bridesmaids and 8 groomsmen. We asked her to play an intro song for every couple that came down a flight of stairs for intro - and she did it, without any fuss, without any rehearsal, she improvised on the spot and I'm grateful for it. As a musician (violinist) myself, who owns my own classical music company (Applaudir Music), I can truly appreciate how skilled and talented DJ PGee is.

    I highly recommend her without reservation. You'll be glad you did.

    Sent on 09/14/2010
  • J

    Johanna · Married on 10/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As everyone else has said, Kim is great! We felt really comfortable with her from the start. She is very organized and nice. She really made the wedding fun! People were on the dancefloor the whole time which is exactly what we wanted.

    We would use her again for another event and strongly recommend her to our friends.

    Sent on 11/03/2009
  • L

    leanne · Married on 08/29/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Kim! We were looking for a cool DJ who would get what kind of music we liked, be able to read the crowd and keep them happy, and not be at all cheesy. Kim did all of that, and at a very reasonable price. And she was able to figure out to how to play music in all 3 locations of our spread out reception venue, which we were super grateful for. She was very responsive to work with before the wedding, and did a great job on the night. I knew when we had my father in law and my mother out on the dancefloor throwing down to Golddigger that we'd thrown a successful party

    Sent on 09/15/2009
  • E

    Erin · Married on 07/26/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Kim! She has a great sense of humor, and was exactly what we wanted in a DJ. (Have no fears about the stereotypical wedding DJ who embasrasses everyone all night.) When we met with Kim, we gave her a general sense of what type of music we like, and told her we’d get back to her with a couple of specific songs.

    Overall, we did not want to pick a song for every possible moment (last dance, cake cutting, etc.) and told her she had free reign. Not only were we thrilled with her picks ( “We Are Going to Be Friends” by the White Stripes for cake cutting!), but we had several people come up and tell us we’d made great selections. She is professional, very sweet, laid back and absolutely perfect. And to top it all off—she was significantly less expensive than other DJs who were recommended to us. I highly recommend her!

    Sent on 01/16/2010
  • M

    Mary Ann · Married on 05/30/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having DJ PGee (Kim) as our DJ was another great decision we made regarding the wedding! We are both very picky about music and have gone to some weddings where we felt it was a "DJ show" with tacky music. Horrible. Food and music were our TOP priorities. My family loves to dance so we knew we had to have the best. We searched high and low for that perfect DJ and it is exactly what we got with DJ PGee. My husband worked for months on the play list and she was able to mix and even add in a few surprises that made the whole night go smoothly and the dance floor was ALWAYS packed! People are still raving about her and how great our music was. One thing that my hubby and I commented on afterwards is that you barely ever heard her, which is a great thing. I think a DJ is not doing their job if you constantly hear them saying, "C'mon guys, get out on the dance floor". Kim has a real talent and on top of this, she is extremely organized and probably the most responsive vendor ever! I had contacted her back in early 2008 and at that time she was not booking for 2009 yet, but responded quickly and told me she would email me in early August to book. Well, she did not disappoint.

    Our guests had an amazing time due to DJ PGee's incredible talent! Even though we provided a majority of the list she really was the talent behind mixing the music. She DJ's at clubs so she gives your event an extra flair with transitioning in and out of songs. My VERY picky Hubby and his brother (best man) were in awe at how great she kept everyone moving!

    One other thing I would like to point out is that she met with us in person and was totally prepared - brought a song list we could peruse, a sample schedule, and forms she made for us to complete with "Do not play", announcements, etc. I have read reviews that the Bride/Groom don't meet their DJ until the day of and are just assigned one. I can't imagine spending that $$ to just meet them on one of the biggest days of your lives. She was very flexible in meeting with us and spent quite a bit of time going over everything considering this is a part-time job for her. I really appreciate the one-on-one and like that she is doing this b/c she loves it, not just for the $$. You can tell this b/c of how much time she dedicates and that she doesn't devote every weekend to DJing. If you want to ensure your guests have a great time...BOOK HER!

    Sent on 07/15/2009
  • D

    Deryn · Married on 03/28/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was a perfect fit for us. She played the ceremony music as well as reception music and tracked down all of the music we requested. She did a great job with the timing of the processional songs and the recessional. She had the dance floor packed the entire night without playing a single cheesy song. And she's a great value for what she charges.

    Sent on 04/14/2009
  • C

    Carrie · Married on 04/26/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was awesome! She had our dance floor packed the entire night. She's so nice and easy to work with.

    Sent on 06/02/2008
  • M

    Megan · Married on 11/10/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance and I were really worried about having a DJ at our wedding; we both love music, but we didn't want a cheesy, "Wedding Singer"-type man with a mullet and a CD player. I found PG through theknot.com advice boards, where everyone was raving about her. I contacted her early, knowing that she books up quickly.

    Having DJ PG as our DJ was one of the best decisions we made regarding the wedding. She was professional, responded quickly to any calls / e-mails we had, and was extremely easy-going in working with us on a playlist. She has an amazing amount of music, with a wide variety of genres and artists. She kept the party going without talking in between every song or playing the Electric Slide.

    In short, we would both highly recommend DJ PG if you're looking for a low-key, musically-oriented DJ!

    Sent on 11/19/2007
  • E

    Em · Married on 06/16/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was great to work with, always responded quickly and was so nice. She kept the party going!!!

    Sent on 03/30/2008
  • L

    Liz · Married on 12/16/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ PGee was awesome. Her choices were cheesy enough to get people dancing but not the traditional best-inoffensive-elevator-music hits of the 70s, 80s and 90s stuff that normally gets played at weddings. And when it was determined that things would have to be altered & moved around due to caterer failures, she went with it and helped. She played everything we asked and she worked well with our DOC. In addition, she refused to honor one of the groomsmen?s requests of The Thong Song. Brilliant!

    Sent on 02/15/2007
  • Amy Loren

    Amy · Married on 12/29/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The DJ was wonderful. She took all my suggestions, did everything I asked for and even did the ceromony music which went off with out a hitch. PGee is a wonderful DJ and I would high recommend.

    Sent on 01/15/2008
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 08/25/2007

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    a great DJ. Very affordable and organized and GREAT on email. She is low-key and non-cheesy. She will do announcements but generally keeps quiet and works her magic in the background. Overall I was very impressed with her. I am a very detailed person and she had no problem keeping up with all my nitpickiness. Per my request, she kept the dance floor packed all night. My favorite thing was all night people were asking me if I had handpicked all the songs. I hadn't, but it showed she really listened to what kind of music I said I wanted and played accordingly.

    The only downside is that she dj's part-time, so she may not be quite as "polished" as a full-time (ie more experienced) DJ. We had an awkward couple of minutes when we just stood on the dance floor after we were introduced while she hurried to switch from the intro song to the first dance song. I think she was not expecting us to walk that quickly! But this was a minor thing.

    Sent on 09/17/2007