21 Reviews for DJ Mystical Michael

4.8
out of 5.0
21 DJ Mystical Michael Reviews
Sort by:

4.7

My wife and I hired DJ Mystical Michael provided music for our wedding ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner, and reception. He is well versed in his musical knowledge and has vast experience with his work. He was prompt and professional in communication prior to the wedding in order to be prepared and organized for the event. He is a friendly and polite individual who enjoys what he does and let's it show. We have an interracial marriage so our guests were very diverse, something that he handled beautifully. The only reason I did not give him perfect marks would be that he isn't exactly a virtuoso with the microphone, more of the quiet type,so if you need a DJ with a lot of energy and presence perhaps there may be a more appropriate choice. However, he was awesome for us and could be perfect for you.

Profile Picture Joshua, 6/7/14, 1 Review
Category: DJ
3.6

Michael was professional and quick to respond in order to get everything in order for the wedding day. Although, I didn't enjoy that he forgot about a pair of my wedding party during the introduction into the ceremony. That set off the night on a not so great note.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Carolyn, 5/17/14, 2 Reviews
Category: DJ
5.0

Great. Would recommend him to anyone.

Profile Picture User4007149, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

Mike was great. Nice to talk to, helped me in my situation, found me an age appropriate DJ, we danced all night, till I could not stand anymore. The whole place danced! The DJ used all my song suggestions, and that with a sunny saturday in October, made it the best wedding ever.

I am using his services again for my daughter's sweet 16, only she is not so sweet :).

I would definately recommend this service!

Profile Picture Jackie, 10/26/13, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

The DJ was great I danced all night till I could not dance anymore. EVERYONE had a great time. I am using them for my daughter's sweet 16.

Profile Picture Jackie, 10/5/13, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

I couldn't have been happier with the experience we had with DJ Mystical Michael. My husband and I are music enthusiasts so the music at our wedding was pretty important to us. From the first meeting with Michael, we walked away feeling confident in Michael's knowledge and experience. He was extremely helpful throughout the process, offering quality suggestions and insights for our big day. Our wedding wasn't "typical" or "traditional" in some ways and Michael was very accommodating and helpful in the execution of our special day. I will definitely use him again and recommend him to friends. Thank you DJ Mystical!

Profile Picture Christina, 9/7/13, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

We got married on August 17th, 2013. DJ Mystical Michael was phenomenal. We booked him about a year before the wedding. He made sure to contact us throughout the engagement to keep us on schedule with the reception music. He was familiar with our reception venue (The Manor in West Orange NJ) and made sure to provide them with all of the necessary paperwork. He played every single song we requested and made sure to ask us about any potential issues before they came up (made sure we had a signal in case of a bad combination of girl/boy catching the bouquet/garter, checked to see if we were ok with songs with mature subject matter etc.). He checked with us towards the end of the night to make sure there weren't any other songs we were hoping to have played.

He has high quality equipment. He does not use playlists for the entire night, but you wouldn't know based on the way the music plays. He figured out what type of music was getting people dancing and played it. We had multiple dinner courses with time to dance between courses, and he adjusted the music so that it flowed with the pace of the meal. We had people dancing the entire night, even though many of our guests don't typically dance.

Michael was very accommodating with our special requests (announcing my divorced parents separately, cutting into songs at unusual times etc.) and double checked everything with us once we got close to the wedding to make sure we had not changed our mind about anything. I could not have asked for a better DJ. We paid half of what other DJs were asking for and we got compliments throughout the evening and after our event about the quality of the music and DJ.

Profile Picture Elsa, 8/17/13, 3 Reviews
Category: DJ
3.0

I had higher expectations. He brought an additional person. That person was not dressed for a wedding. They didn't get the party involved in the music, or leave the table , ever!
People were feeling uncomfortable and not sure what was coming next.
I specifically asked for him to be the party guru and get people involved and have fun. He wasn't very exciting in his announcements after the introductions were completed.
I paid entirely too much for this service.
I usually would never write something like this however I'm being HOUNDED constantly on email to review his services.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User4031829, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

MIchael did a great job start to finish, he was a standout among the vendors.

Profile Picture Brian, 12/29/12, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

DJ Mystical Micheal did a terrific job at our Wedding. He is very knowledgeable about all types of music and had every song we requested. He is very professional and charges a fair price. He met with my wife and I two weeks before our wedding and went over every detail. He truly wants to make your special day memorable and he did just that for our wedding. Plus he has great sound equipment and cool lights! Check his Website http://www.djmysticalmichael.com/

Profile Picture User2957808, 2+ years ago, 3 Reviews
Category: DJ
4.8

Overall we were really happy with his services and he did a great job. Lots of people were dancing and he was really good about playing the music we wanted. There were a few snags, like when some Christmas music got mixed in with our dinner hour music, but overall it was a really great experience.

Profile Picture User4396033, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

We recently booked DJ Michael for our wedding at the Tides. When we were first looking for a DJ we met with a fellow who owns a DJ company who said he was the "House DJ" at the Tides. He had lots of nice equipment. He claimed he was the only one who would be able to use the PA during cocktail hour. Then we met a few of his DJ's... and therein lies the problem! He was an older guy with a bunch of teenagers working for him, and I immediately sensed a swindle. Less than a year ago my friend was married and the DJ came from a big company and he was very young and kept making mistakes. I was afraid we'd end up with some kid with the biggest day of our life who would mess the wedding up.

So when we first met DJ Michael it was a big relief. He came across as having lots of experience, and even better he has a great love of music and does it all himself. He didn't just shake our hands and take our cash. He sat down with us and over the course of a few months helped us craft an overall set list. On top of his music experience, he is a good announcer. So when the big day came, we were not dissapointed. He really did a great job. I do feel bad because it was an outdoor wedding, and without warning the clouds opened up and he got rained on but he and his assistant quickly gathered his speakers and PA system, moved it all inside. He really kept his cool, and in spite of nature throwing us all a curve ball, kept the ceremony going.

After the ceremony, the music during cocktail hour was excellent. Everyone kept commenting on how good the food and music was. Then during the sit down dinner and reception DJ Mystical Michael took to the microphone to make introductions, announcements, and kept everyone dancing. It was a great night. He even let one of my buddies plug a guitar into the PA and jam out during dinner. Not to mention
that his DJ equipment especially the Bose system was more than enough to fill the space with music and keep the party going. I highly recommend DJ M

Profile Picture User2680474, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: DJ
5.0

DJ Mystical Michael provided music and entertainment for our wedding in 2012. He was a consummate professional and walked us through the entire musical selection process to emotionally guide the event.

Mystical Michael seamlessly played music that appealed to all ages, and his album list included rarities that catered to special requests. The Mystical One was particularly attentive to the dancing young children in attendance at our wedding party that he appeared to lure to his DJ table with bright lights and music.

Thanks to his demeanor and musical selections, he provided hours of entertainment during the wedding ceremony, reception, and after the event. He left such a positive image, that all of the guests in our wedding party continue to talk about him to this day.

Profile Picture Alexander, 5/27/12, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

DJ Mystical Michael provided excellent service at my wedding. He was very professional and made sure everything was to my satisfaction. He invested a lot of time and energy in making my wedding a memorable one. The price was very reasonable too. I would recommend anybody needing a DJ to use his services.

Profile Picture James, 11/13/11, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

DJ Mystical Mike was fantastic to work with. He was professional and kind. He had EVERY song that we wanted included on our play list (and our play list was extremely eclectic) and as requested, he played only the songs that we wanted played. He was easy to work with and I would recommend him to anyone.

Profile Picture Melissa, 10/22/11, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

Michael was very accommodating with all of our demands and changes. He followed our wished to the letter and was very receptive. There were so many details that we almost forgot and would have definitely missed if it was not for Michael. He made our overall wedding experience memorable. It was the dream wedding that we hoped for and the fairy tale that we never imagined we would have. Thank you Michael for all of your help and thanks for that special first dance song ;)

Profile Picture Emmanuella, 8/6/11, 1 Review
Category: DJ
4.9

Mike and his colleague, Tim, did an AMAZING job at our wedding. They were very responsive, flexible when we asked for additional services, and very reasonable price-wise. Tim was our DJ because Mike was unavailable and Tim did an excellent job producing our event. He even made last-minute adjustments to our original program (since we were running late) that preserved the flow of the event. He kept everyone on the dance floor from beginning till last call. BOOK THESE GUYS NOW!!!!

Profile Picture Shilpa, 7/30/11, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

I knew from our first meeting with DJ Michael that he was the DJ for us. His upbeat and lively spirit were so nicely aligned with his down to earth and approachable manner. He is knowledgeable, professional and passionate and was right on point with us every step of the way. He was timely with follow ups and responding to our requests, quick to offer suggestions or possibilities based on experience and was always available to discuss ideas and make changes. One can easily sense that Michael truly loves what he does - for him, it's not just a side gig.

At the wedding, DJ Michael and his assistant were on time, set-up and ready to go leaving us to focus only on getting married. They even handled having to play in two locations without a hitch (outdoor ceremony, indoor reception.) He was great, the music was great and our friends and family danced all night long!

Profile Picture Mark, 7/16/11, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

When our DJ canceled six weeks before our wedding we were really upset since it was a holiday weekend. All DJ's were either booked or out of our price point. When we found Michael and talked to him we were instantly reassured. He was very organized with a calm demeanor. At the wedding he played all the music we wanted to hear and all the music the guests requested. We wouldn't have had the same wedding we did without him. He was great!

Profile Picture Caitlyn, 7/3/11, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

DJ Mystical Michael was awesome! We were going to just run an ipod/computer songlist that our guest's could add to, but out of curiosity, I googled DJ's in the area. The first thing I came across was an earlier Yelp review of Michael that explained our situation exactly... I looked up his website and was hooked. There was an article he wrote on why not to use an ipod and he showed us why during the wedding. After writing him for a quote and getting a quick and friendly response, we met once, emailed a bunch and he rocked it! There were even some songs he pulled out during the wedding that I mentioned in passing and I thought 'how did he know/remember?" We barely stopped dancing the whole night and our guests loved him too!

Once I saw his site I said 'we don't have to look any further' and we did out of curiosity, but nothing out there compared. I don't know what we would have done without him!

Thanks DJ Mystical Michael!

Profile Picture Colin, 5/21/11, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

DJ Michael was very good at entertaining our guests. He was very responsive to my emails and phone calls. He also kept me on my toes about getting things that were needed to be done with him because i would get sidetracked pretty easily with arranging our wedding activities. I would recommend DJ Michael to anyone.

Profile Picture canh, 3/12/11, 1 Review
Category: DJ