DJ John Jow Reviews

32 | Alameda, CA
See photos, pricing and details

32 Reviews for DJ John Jow

Recommended by 100%

32
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

10 User photos

DJ John Jow 1
DJ John Jow 2
DJ John Jow 3
DJ John Jow 4
DJ John Jow 5
DJ John Jow 6
DJ John Jow 7
+ 4
Sort by:
  • Tiffany

    Tiffany · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't be more thrilled that we chose John to DJ our wedding last weekend. He is absolutely incredible. The dance floor was packed all night from the second it opened up, and we got repeated comments from our guests that it was the best party playlist they'd ever heard. I am a musician, and my husband and I both love music and dancing, so getting the best DJ and the best sound equipment we could was important. John was so successful in creating a lively atmosphere that the bride and groom from a neighboring wedding reception came over to our side at one point to dance!

    John was a consummate professional from the moment we messaged him. He worked around our schedule given we live on the East Coast, was clear and responsive in his communications, and even took the time to sit down with us once we got to California to fine-tune the playlist. His music library is extensive, and he has music to suit all tastes. He arrived and set up early. On top of that, he was just a pleasure to talk to and work with, and his knowledge of Bay Area venues was invaluable, given we were planning remotely.

    The photos, videos, and memories from the dance floor are among me and my husband's most precious souvenirs. We couldn't recommend John more highly, and in fact, have already recommended him to friends of ours who are planning to get married.

    Thanks John!!!

    DJ John Jow 8
    DJ John Jow 9
    DJ John Jow 10
    DJ John Jow 11
    DJ John Jow 12
    DJ John Jow 13
    DJ John Jow 14
    DJ John Jow 15
    DJ John Jow 16
    DJ John Jow 17
  • L

    L · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John was a pleasure to work with. Very down to earth and passionate. Every meeting and discussion was insightful. He went through the process step by step with us making sure to cover every aspect of the wedding that needed musical input. He was very helpful when we did not know what music selections to make. He offered many suggestions but was not pushy and left it up to us to choose the final selections.

    My husband and I and our guests had a great time at our wedding. DJ John Jow is highly recommended.

  • T

    Tuan · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John was highly recommended to us by a friend, and now we know why! Without a doubt, John is a true professional and was an absolute pleasure to work with. When you meet John, you can immediately tell how passionate he is about music and how much experience he has. John was the only DJ we met with, and we loved him so much, we didn't bother looking any further.

    My wife and I had a general idea of what music we wanted to play at our wedding. Just from that alone, John was able to help us hone in on exactly what we like and didn't like to put together an awesome song list from his vast music library. Everyone had an amazing time at the wedding! John is very organized and detail oriented: he took care of everything and helped make our wedding day the most memorable day of our lives.

    Beyond music, John is just a down-to-earth cool guy. He's a foodie like my wife and I, so you know we talked for hours on what places are good in the Bay Area. He also happens to be a Star Wars fan (hope Episode 8 is good!).

    You are in good hands with John!! Wish we could give him more than 5 stars!

  • M

    M · Married on 03/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John Jow is hands down the best there is. Period. The very first vendor we talked to once we were engaged was DJ John Jow. We even changed venue locations when they told us we wouldn’t have John. Just for reference, we booked him 10 months in advance, but told him possible dates, well before that.

    From the very beginning he walked us through every step. There were a few instances where we knew what we wanted, but when we needed a suggestion, he always came up with the perfect track. He was really professional from the moment we started working with him. Knowing how overwhelmed we were, John was super patient and constantly worked with us. On top of that, he spares no expense with his gear.

    On to the big day. We had decided that John provide sound for 3 spots – outdoor ceremony, cocktail & indoor reception. He set me up with this great lapel mic. Everyone in the gallery was able to hear every word. Moving to the cocktail hour was seamless. He had set up a 2nd unit to provide music during the cocktails. Also, John suggested two different playlists– one for cocktail and another for the reception. It delivered a great mixture of sound.
    We also asked John to emcee the reception. He perfectly introduced each member of our wedding party, and when it came to our moment, it was amazing. We seamlessly transitioned directly into our 1st dance. Our 1st dance song was this really hard to find track & somehow he was able to get it for us.
    The rest of the night went by flawlessly. He knew how to read the room perfectly and played our playlist like the mastro he is. By going through and creating our playlist with us beforehand, he had a firm grasp on what our tastes were, and didn’t deviate. He totally made the whole day about us.
    In the end, John was a huge part of our big day. It definitely wouldn’t have gone as smooth if it wasn’t for him. In short, if you’re lucky enough to get John to DJ your wedding, I guarantee he will make it memorable!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 01/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John was recommended to me by my older sister. My husband and I really enjoyed working with John. He was very professional and took the time to make sure we were aligned on the type of music we wanted for our wedding ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception. We met John at his home studio a month or two before our wedding and played through different types of music. John also did our uplighting which looked amazing. During and after our wedding, all of our friends told us how much fun they had and how the music was so great. We highly recommend John!

  • T

    t · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John was a great choice for our wedding. We worked with John prior to the wedding and he was extremely accommodating when it became apparent that we weren't yet prepared to make decisions on the music. Fortunately, he has a large library to select from for any request.

    On the day of the wedding, John was professional, had good recommendations, played the music we discussed and kept a great pace throughout the evening. There were no issues or concerns and he made the day as easy as possible. We are so happy John was a part of our wedding day and would gladly recommend him to others.

  • J

    Jacqueline · Married on 09/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John Jow did a great job with our wedding last September! We had a destination wedding in Hawaii and he was the only vendor we flew in from SF. He was easy, fast, very detailed and thorough to work with and executed flawlessly. From helping us create our playlists before and during our ceremony to our walk-in music to reception and dancing, John ensured everything flowed together. To this day, we're still getting compliments on our music. We worked with John for both music and AV - lighting, mics, speakers, introductions, etc. John made everything happen so smoothly, I highly recommend working with him!

  • S

    Stefanie · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nicest and friendliest DJ I've worked with as a wedding planner! Not only does he give off the "I'm Your Good Friend" vibe immediately, but his skills set were impeccable. I was quite impressed with how quickly he set up his area, considering the amount of equipment he had.

    It's normal to have the timeline veer off track due to someone/something happening to back things up. But John was able to project confidently and warmly on the mic to the guests about the next happenings, closing up any restless gaps of time. Guests were tearing up the dance floor to his beats too!

    You are definitely in GREAT hands with John, as he conveys true professionalism and a stellar attitude throughout the Big Day! You want a wedding pro like him on your team!! :)

  • C

    Christina · Married on 12/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning a wedding/event is hard. No matter how detail oriented you are, you can't think of everything. And why would you want to when you're supposed to be planning and enjoying your wedding day! That's where you rely on seriously great vendors or friendors. I cannot stress enough how big of a difference it makes when you work with vendors who are professional, personable, caring and that you can trust. John Jow is all of this and more. Working with him, I learned that hiring a DJ is so much more than having someone play the music at your event. There is so much more to it that he helped to guide us through. When things don't go as planned, and that will be inevitable for weddings, you want to know that your DJ/vendors can adjust with your best interest in mind. Yes, picking the right songs are important, but John also has done literally a million events and knows also what's not good to play. He also stepped in to MC during parts we needed him. He is such a professional and kind person. Once you meet John (and see that smile) all your stresses will go away. At least until you work on the next thing for your wedding. When it comes to budget, weddings aren't cheap. It's a bit cliche, but you really do get your money's worth with John and Jeff. Find other areas and ways to cut your budget. If you know baseball, he's kind of like the buster posey or catcher of the wedding. He's at the vantage point to see all of it. And he can help adjust when he sees something. So, if you're questioning or debating whether to call John...don't. He books up super fast. There's a good reason why.

  • K

    Karina · Married on 11/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John knows how to get the party started! My husband and I have very different music styles and John found a way to mesh the two together and ensure that everyone had a blast. We met with John before our wedding to review music selections and the process was so easy. He will lead you through all of the times music is needed and make suggestions for you if you're stuck. John is basically a human Pandora. His equipment is and quality of service are top notch!

  • T

    Tim · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ John Jow is the best! We discovered John when he DJ'd our friend's wedding, and I immediately loved the 90s hip-hop music he played. He definitely knew how to get the party going with his music, so we knew we wanted John as the DJ and MC for our own wedding.

    Music and dancing were high priorities for our wedding, and John exceeded all of our expectations - especially given the reasonable pricing. He was very professional and responsive throughout the whole process, and gave excellent advice. He was also very flexible and easy to work with - my favorite part was going to John's studio for a pre-wedding music session, where we listened to various songs to help narrow down the songs I wanted on our playlist.

    John made sure that all of our requests were met, and did a great job of reading the read to play songs that would keep our guests dancing. In addition, John did great as our MC - helping to intro our wedding party and keep our guests updated throughout the night.

    I would highly recommend DJ John Jow for any wedding or party!

  • User6056899 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John was awesome at our wedding and provided a great mix of music that both me and my wife liked. It was also great to work with John, he was very flexible/accomodating to our needs and wants even though it may have been different from my wife's. He walked us through the whole song choosing process and helped made some good decisions about our first dance song, the song selection after or before the ceremony and for our whole wedding really. I like Hip Hop and my wife loves country/oldies and John did a very impressive job at getting a good mix and playing the appropiate music at the right times. Our guests continue to rave about the music that was playing that day. I highly recommend John!

  • B

    Brian · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John is a true professional and gem of a find! Our wonderful coordinator highly recommended John, who she worked with multiple occasions. First of all, she is a meticulous and amazing coordinator, whose recommendations have all been outstanding. John certainly was one of them.

    John was extremely responsive over email and very detailed. His prices were very reasonable and fit within our budget. However, after interviewing 5 DJs, what stood out about John was his passion for the job and for music. He is a professional sound engineer with decades of experiencing DJing and he continues to do this out of love, unlikely others I talked to. When meeting with John before our wedding at his house to sample songs and come up with a playlist for the important parts of the night, we were extremely impressed with his music recommendations as well as sound expertise. We spent almost 2 hours at his personal sound studio in his house planning out each of our entrance songs, first dance, mother/father dances, and of course the dance party playlist.

    For the big day, John and his partner were very professional, arriving at the venue well before people came to set up and ensure there were no issues. The night went beautifully and we knew we chose the right DJ when the dance floor was still completely full at the end of the night, when the venue had to close. We were told by multiple people that our wedding had the best music selection and mixing. There were no dull moments on the dance floor and John did an outstanding job of reading the crowd and picking and pacing the songs. We highly recommend John!

  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 03/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having John as our wedding DJ and would definitely recommend him to others. I was first impressed by John when I heard him DJ a company function. Unlike most events you might go to with co-workers, he had everyone dancing so I approached him about DJing our wedding. He is extremely passionate about music and the energy it can bring to your event. He has an incredible ability to survey the dance floor and adapt the music, on the fly, to match or influence the mood of the party. My husband added that he is like a human Pandora playlist - you tell him what songs you like and don't like and he can predict what songs you will like. Our meeting with John before our wedding was very thorough and detailed which made us feel very comfortable and confident about the music going into our big day. Overall we had a great experience working with John and our wedding dance party was better than we could have imagined!

  • N

    Neil · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John was great! We were pretty unprepared for the music stuff before meeting him. We met him about a month before the wedding and he guided us through the pieces of music we would probably need. He had recommendations and we went over (and listened to) all the music for different parts of the ceremony, first dance, dance with the parents and then everything for the open dance floor. From all the music we chose, he played what the guests liked and danced to and kept the party going. John also had lavalier mics (the small ones that clip onto your lapel) for us to use during the ceremony. Everything went smooth and had no issues. I would recommend John to other friends.

  • K

    Kevin · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ John Jow provided the best service and music to our wedding. He was extremely easy to work with and had a wide variety of music to choose from. Best of all, John's equipment was top of the line and the crisp sound made not only the music sound great but all of the speeches that were made by family and friends. John has been in this industry for a long time and it shows when our wedding came. I did not have to worry one bit about our music, mic or our slide show. Everything worked out flawlessly.

  • R

    Rena · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John was also the DJ at my sister's wedding, so of course he came highly recommended. John's personable attitude and wide variety of music got everyone old and young on the dance floor. It was great to see and everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We will definitely use John's services again when called upon.

  • S

    Sara · Married on 08/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ John Jow dj’ed my wedding in August a few months ago and we could not have been more pleased! He came highly recommended when I was looking for a DJ and I hadn’t realized that I had even attended a number of events where he had dj’ed before. This was no surprise because he is the best at what he does. He is extremely professional, detail oriented and a true expert in his field. We knew we were in good hands when we met up with him for the pre-event meeting. We met up with John thinking it would be 1 hour of going over the 2-3 songs I already had in mind. But it turned into a 6 hour fun-filled beat dropping music session and John guided us through every detail of our event from the music for the outdoor ceremony, indoor reception and even provided a complete list of ~70 songs that we wanted to be played during the after-dinner dancing.

    I truly appreciated John’s expertise for the outdoor reception and the hidden wireless microphones he used for the officiant and groom. Now, when I attend more weddings, I do notice the big handheld microphone (and not in a good) and John was so right! We loved the lights, the sound of his equipment was amazing and we wished we that the night could have gone on longer so we could have heard more of John’s DJing. Our event ran behind schedule on our timeline and John and our coordinator worked flawlessly together to make everything run smoothly.

    Not only did John exceed our expectations with every detail of our event, he was a great MC with the wedding party introductions and announcing. Most importantly, my mom complimented John for his services and great MC voice (and she is extremely hard to please!). We highly recommend DJ John Jow!

  • B

    Brian · Married on 08/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John Jow is hands down the best of the best in DJ's in the bay area. His years of experience in the industry allows him to take weddings to the next level. He takes pride in his work, has exceptional professionalism, and timeliness in getting back to you. He really knows how to get everyone on the dance floor. His knowledge for music genre and library will blow you away. He gets to know each of his customers and has that instant connection to tailor what his clients like. He has an excellent sound system. His flexibility for locals and out of town people was very easy to work with. We were referred by a close friend later to find out a few other friends had used him over the years as well. We would highly recommend DJ John Jow for your wedding or any event needed for music.

  • B

    Bert · Married on 07/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ John Jow is a class act. He DJ'ed my other friends' weddings and I knew he wouldn't disappoint. Before our big day he took the time to meet up with us to get to know us. He then put together a set list of songs for our approval.

    At the wedding reception, I can tell he kept his set up professional. He provided the right amount of lights and the sound that was just right. I've been to other parties and these other DJ's are clueless on how to set up their gear professionally.

    We had a wedding of about 400 people and everyone enjoyed the music. It was a blast and I would recommend John to any party that needs a professional DJ.

  • J

    Joel · Married on 11/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John Jow was an amazing DJ to have at our wedding, and his expertise in the wedding game helped us on our special day. From the get go, we knew that John Jow meant business. From the initial meeting where we planned our song choices, we can tell he cared about our needs and the quality of songs he was going to play. Communicating with him was a breeze and he took care of everything, which allowed us to have no worries about the music portion of our banquet. We had an amazing time dancing and it was all due to John and his team. From the speakers to the lights, he has it all covered! If you want a professional DJ who knows and enjoys what he's doing, hire this man!!!

  • K

    Karen · Married on 10/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John was amazing! He was very professional and pleasant to work with. Not only us loved the music but everyone at our wedding enjoyed it. Thanks for playing all my fave songs and put together all the good ones that both young and old peeps enjoyed. I would definitely recommend you to everyone! You made my wedding so must fun!!!!

  • J

    judy · Married on 07/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our absolute favorite part of wedding planning was meeting with John, envisioning our day with his extensive music collection. His expertise and creativity set us at ease immediately. He is intuitive, fun, and flexible, as he asked pertinent questions about our wedding day.

    He provided music and MC'ing at our wedding ceremony and banquet seemlessly. He did an all-star job in individualizing our day, from our entry music, background/cocktail music, and keeping the dancefloor chanting along to the last song of the night... unforgettable.

    Our family/friends surprised us with an awesome serenade and he worked with them behind the scenes to make sure this worked into our timeline. We are eternally grateful for his thoughtful professionalism, compassion for music and moments...

  • User2720598 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ John Jow is amazing. Anyone looking for a DJ, John is the one. He is very good at what he does. He is so passionate about music. We spent a few hours with him picking out our music for the day of the wedding and I must say it was a lot of fun.

    You might not think music and MC is an important part of the wedding day, but it is... We wish the night didn't end!

    I love love love the lights that he provides! It made a huge difference during the reception.

  • User2738070 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ John Jow....you ROCK!!! thanks for playing awesome music and helping us set up our lion dancers. Everyone had a blast shaking their ( Y ). John was so easy to work with. We had one meeting with him to give him an idea of what kind of music we liked and he compiled an awesome playlist for us. We were also interested in having lion dancers at our ceremony and he coordinated that for us as well. On the day of the ceremony, i totally forgot to coordinate an announcer to announce family members and John stepped up to the plate.

    Thanks again!! :D

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review