16 Reviews for DJ/MC Jeffrey Evan Mufson / Jemstar Entertainment

4.7
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Consultation (1)
Do-Not-Play List (1)
MC (1)
One Event Per Day (1)
Microphones (1)
Photobooth (1)
Sound/PA System (1)
Uplighting (1)
Sort by:

1.7

eff arrived early to the ceremony/reception venue and was set up on time. However, he somehow spaced out during the ceremony and played our after-the-first-kiss song at least 30 seconds late, causing an awkward pause and a disruption in the ceremony. I know this may seem like a small detail, but I can’t help but think that the DJ has just ONE job during the ceremony, and that is to play the music on time. From that perspective, he really dropped the ball and we were incredibly disappointed. The weather was unseasonably cold, so the cocktail hour was moved inside and Jeff had to do some extra entertaining. I was away taking pictures, but he was constantly asking my mother when we would be back and urging her to take us away from the photos and come back to the reception. I told Jeff photos would take at least an hour, maybe more, but he said he had never been to a wedding that took an hour after the ceremony for photos. He bugged my mom SO much that she actually left the cocktail hour to find us at the photo spot, and tell us he didn’t know what to do with everyone because we were 40 minutes behind schedule. Once we got back, he was throwing out orders to people lining up to enter the reception. I received a number of complaints and feedback from my bridal party about how off-putting and obnoxiously he was behaving. During dinner, Jeff did an okay job, except that he talked incessantly even though we had specifically asked him not to. Weirdly, Jeff was calling tables up to the buffet and was apparently amused enough at my grandmother’s confusion that he actually walked up to the sweetheart table to joke with us about how she was confused. Once the dancing started, Jeff engaged in a number of behaviors that changed the whole tone of the reception away from what we had wanted: Guests requested songs via text (as Jeff encouraged them to) and Jeff ignored them. Guests approached Jeff and asked to have songs they know we would enjoy and Jeff said no (although we only gave

Profile Picture Heather, 12/30/16, 1 Review
Category: DJ
4.4

Jeff provided great DJ services and coordinated the photo booth at our wedding at a fantastic price. Though I think our wedding was very different from the ones he’s used to (no matter how many times we explained the first look concept to him, he was still very thrown when he saw us taking pictures together before the ceremony!) he did a good job of planning with us in advance and making sure he was creating the atmosphere we were hoping for. Our guests had a great time, and Jeff was a huge part of that!

Profile Picture Janelle, 6/16/16, 8 Reviews
Category: DJ, Event Rentals & Photobooths
Services Used: Microphones, Photobooth, Sound/PA System, Uplighting, Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC, One Event Per Day
5.0

Jeff was a lot of fun. Very energetic and engaged. All our guests had nothing but great things to say about the DJ. Would highly recommend Jeff for anyone's function.

Profile Picture Julie, 4/18/15, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

DJ Jeffery has a great personality, we got along very well. He got people dancing when i was unsure they would. He helped create a beautiful wedding that i will never forget. I am very grateful.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Brenyn, 3/1/15, 4 Reviews
Category: DJ
4.8

Jeff was very nice and very high-energy. We had a good planning session and he definitely played our "must-have" songs when we wanted them to be played. The only thing I'd say we were unhappy about is that we requested quite fervently that no "theme-dances" be played at the reception. We really hate those (chicken dance, electric slide, wobble, macarena, etc.) and specifically requested that they be left out (even if God requested them). We were disappointed when "the Wobble" came on about an hour into the reception. Besides that, everything was great!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Sarah, 5/17/14, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

From the first skype interview to the big day, I was comfortable in my decision to select DJ Jeff as the DJ for my wedding. With only two skype meetings, I was a little worried that my vision of the wedding would not be conveyed, but Jeff asked excellent questions to help him really get to know me and the groom and cater to our night. With trying to plan the wedding from Atlanta, it really helped me to feel comfortable with this process since I wouldn't get to meet Jeff in person. A number of my guests mentioned that the DJ was awesome and did a great job, making the wedding very fun. Though I already knew this, hearing it from others definitely reassured me that everyone had an amazing night.

Profile Picture Christine, 11/11/11, 4 Reviews
Category: DJ
5.0

Jeff Mufson was beyond anything I could have asked for. When I first contacted him my husband was in Iraq and I was just starting to look around for vendors. Jeff took the time to e-mail me throughout Dave's 6 month tour which really showed how much he cared not just about business, but about me! Over the next several months we met unlimited number of times and on his last visit Jeff left and I had NOT even one worry/concern/question- I KNEW that at 7pm my favorite song would play and at 8pm we would do the garter toss--let me tell you--when you are a week away from your wedding day this feeling is PRICELESS!!! Jeff also sent me a book called The Best Wedding Reception Ever-again- I was so shocked to learn that the package at my front door was from my DJ--I mean who does that??? We opted to have Jeff at our rehearsal dinner and it was actually hard to find him all night because he blended in so well I thought he was family not a vendor. Choose Jeff and I promise you will NOT be let down...the DJ really does make or break your wedding and I can say hands down that Jeff MADE my wedding!! I had a COMPLETE blast, so much so that I want to do it all over again!!!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture catherine, 7/2/11, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

From the moment I saw DJ Jeff's picture on his website I knew my search for the perfect DJ had come to an end. Two weeks earlier my grandmother had taken me to an event to audition a DJ she thought would be acceptable, and the horror of off key vocals to casio keyboard beats still haunts me in my sleep. I wiped out the smart phone and started searching the web for an alternative right from that event. After calling maybe 20-30 potential DJ's and getting the same impersonal feel I contacted DJ Jeff. Not only did he take the time to answer my questions and clearly explain what made him unique he actually took the time to meet us in person at the event venue and lay out a custom plan for us all before he asked for one red cent. I knew based upon his personalized media kit that he had a real passion for what he does and that he would treat my wedding with the same care as his own. We hired DJ Jeff on the spot and though he was not the least expensive, nor the most expensive I was certain he would provide the best "bang for our buck". In the end I was proven right. DJ Jeff brought an energy to our party that elevated the whole atmosphere to another level. From making sure the schedule was just right and followed, to helping our family and friends get involved, DJ Jeff was more than I could have ever asked for. He is not your typical wedding DJ, he has the professionalism of a CEO, the energy of a professional athlete, and the personality and stage presence of a Vegas headliner. I cannot put into words what DJ Jeff did for us, we had the wedding party of the century and it is mostly his fault. My bride and I will remember this night for a lifetime as will our friends and family and I can honestly say without DJ Jeff the night could never have been so perfect. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for all that you did and for making our first night together as husband and wife one for the ages!

With Warm Regards & High Praises,
Mr. Lance & Mrs. Kimberly Liberti

P.S. - If anyone has doubts that you are the right DJ for their event have them call or email and we will set them straight, you are a cut above, they broke the mold when they made you!

Profile Picture Lance, 6/11/11, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

I would recommend Jemstar for any occasion that is in need of a great DJ

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Gary, 3/13/10, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

Jeff was amazing at our wedding! I wanted a fun wedding and he made it happen! The dance floor was full the entire time! Thanks Jeff!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Mary Beth, 5/17/08, 1 Review
Category: DJ
4.9

We had a great experience with Jeff. He takes his profession very seriously and worked very hard to ensure that everyone had a great time. He was also very accommodating of any requests. We would highly recommend his services.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Jeff, 6/16/07, 1 Review
Category: DJ
4.9

Jeff from Jemstar helped make our day very special. Easy to work with and very professional

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Pamela, 3/3/07, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

Jeff Mufson was the perfect match for my party. My original dj had a family emergency, and when I called Jeff (not even 2 weeks before my event) he was there to help. I was extremely nervous about the last minute change in dj's, but during my event he was completely in touch with the guests and even kept the adults entertained for the entire evening. I would recommend him to everyone!!!

Profile Picture Krissy, 1/14/07, 4 Reviews
Category: DJ