Skip to main content
Weddings

DJ James Mulry Reviews

DJ James Mulry View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
5.0 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
201 Reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

201
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • C
    Chris A. Sent on 05/22/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everything we could’ve asked for and more!

    James is the best! My wife and I had the time of our lives working with James. Music was an incredibly important part of our wedding, as we come from families rooted in music and dancing. He carefully and meticulously worked with us to create a playlist that would allow our friends and family to enjoy themselves on our special day. James is highly professional, thorough, and detailed. We married at the Prospect Park Boathouse, and he knew any and everything about the space. You are in safe and talented hands. Cannot recommend James enough. He had our friends and family partying and dancing till the very end!
  • N
    Nicole G. Sent on 01/02/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hire james

    From the moment we met James, we knew he was going to be the perfect addition to our big day. He was so helpful in building out our timeline, including all of our must-play songs and making us feel so at ease throughout the entire process. His ability to get the party started and keep it going all night long was incredible and exactly what we were hoping for. It was truly a night to remember and one I wish we could relive again and again.

    James, we are so lucky to have been able to work with you. Thank you for helping make our wedding absolutely perfect.
  • V
    Valerie W. Sent on 01/07/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing, must have for your big day!

    If you are considering to hire James - walk, don't run, and book him! I hired James after a recommendation from my (non traditional) venue and had a great kick-off call. He was incredible from one year out up to the day-of the event in every single way. Our wedding was a clash of two cultures -- American Midwest and New York Dominican -- and James was exceptional at following our feedback about mixing country music, bachata, salsa, pop, reggaeton, dembow, oldies, rock, and so much more. And he did it with such ease, grace, and elegance that it felt so natural for everyone attending! Everyone felt included and had the best time. He also provided great suggestions on where to cut-off songs for first dances, as well as how to get the party started when it was time to dance. My only complaint is I wish we had a longer reception for more dancing because I never wanted the music to end! Seriously, must-have for your big day!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • B
    Borian Sent on 11/17/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    James Mulry - The Perfect DJ

    I can’t recommend James enough, he was simply amazing. During the planning process he was very thoughtful, responsive, and thorough. He planned for anything & everything, he walked us through every little detail.

    During the ceremony he MC’d with elegance, had a great sounding & great looking setup, and was able to coordinate 120+ people with poise. He never missed a cue, and was able to coordinate with our live musicians seamlessly.


    When it was time to party, he executed perfectly and we kept a lively dance party going for 3 hours straight. He transitioned beautifully from music that worked for all our guests of all ages, to the final party group at the end (the rowdy youths).

    When we initially found James, we were excited to chat with him because he was a DJ that had played shows in all of our favorite venues around NYC, he knew what a real party was like and how to keep the energy up. What made us choose James after talking to him was his calm, cool, and suave demeanor. We felt confident that he’d make our special evening perfect, and that he did.
  • S
    Sydney C. Sent on 10/29/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    James Brought the Party

    We loved working with James for our October 2023 wedding. We had a lot of offbeat ideas for our playlist, and James found a way to make everything so fun, seamless, and intentional. A personal highlight for me was dancing to "Bizarre Love Triangle" with my 82-year-old grandfather, and watching the crowd light up with each track.

    We had the best night, and so much of the party was a credit to James!
  • Sarah
    Sarah R. Sent on 10/18/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Made the wedding of my dreams come true

    James exceeded all expectations we had. I'm super picky about music and a very particular vision for what I wanted with music (no cliche wedding music, edm heavy, throw in disco classics, keep the crowd going, etc.). James took all my feedback and playlists without complaining about how overbearing I was being and truly put together the best mix of all time. On top of that he brought in a disco ball to light up the barn we were in at M&D Farm! M&D was 3 hours out of NYC and he drove out from Brooklyn to come DJ for us. I can't say enough good thing about James. If you're looking for a DJ hire James!!!
  • T
    Thomas A. Sent on 11/26/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best, hands down

    James is the best! From the beginning of the process he was extremely organized and personable, clearly taking a genuine interest in understanding us and our vision for the wedding. We had multiple musical performances during our ceremony, and he took all of that easily in stride, recommending mic setups, helping people get comfortable with the arrangement on the day of. Just the consummate professional.

    And the results were exactly what we’d hoped! All of our sound went off without a hitch, it sounded great. People in the back during the ceremony remarked that they felt that they were right up there with us. He even sent us a recording of the audio from the wedding, something which we didn’t realize he would have and came as such a lovely surprise.

    When it came to the dance floor, everyone was blown away. He did such a great job of working in the songs we wanted to hear, filling in gaps, managing everyone’s energy. I was honestly stressed out because I knew I had to go chat with friends and family but I simply did not want to stop dancing. People across generations kept the dance floor completely full all night.

    Great guy, absurdly good DJ, he’s unbeatable you simply must hire him.
  • Hanna
    Hanna D. Sent on 08/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    James Mulry - the best Wedding Dj :)

    We are so happy we chose James as our Wedding Dj - we got married at the Brooklyn Winery. Prior to our wedding we spoke with multiple DJs and immediately clicked with James because of his professionalism, being client-focused with a very strong music industry knowledge. Being an international couple, for us it was important to get a DJs who understand our culture and/or can adapt to our preferences and James was the perfect fit in that regards, he knew of so many different traditions across multiple cultures which helped feel immediately comfortable. He also made the whole prep process easy for us, sharing clear instructions/advice prior to the event making sure we have everything we need. During our wedding he also made sure guests were happy and helped our guest speakers/ceremony officiants/other performance be fully set up for success. He created a unique cosy vibe, our friends and family spoke all very highly of James. It was a blast to have him, we love his style and personality. A huge thank you James!
  • I
    Inna Sent on 10/15/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best DJ we could have asked for

    James was the best choice for a DJ and was absolutely everything we could have possibly wanted!!! Our biggest request was to keep people on the dance floor the entire night, and James very much understood the assignment. The entire wedding was an absolute BLAST because of James. He was responsive, kind, and thoughtful throughout the whole process (and during the wedding!). We honestly cannot recommend him more - what an absolute pleasure to work with you James, and thank you so much for an unforgettable party!!!
  • M
    Meredith S. Sent on 09/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stop Your Search - You've Found the DJ

    If you are reading this, go no further with your DJ-search, just pick James, we promise you will not be sorry. My husband and I got married at the end of June, and still get compliments from all of our guests on how amazing the music was from prelude to reception.

    From our initial meeting, James listened to us when we said we didn't want our wedding to feel or sound like any other wedding. We primarily wanted 90s and early 2000s music, but not the songs one traditionally hears on repeat at weddings (think Ludacris, Busta Rhymes, Nelly Furtado etc.). James has an extensive knowledge of music, ranging across decades and genres, and because of that out did himself on the playlist, having everyone (young and old) dancing the entire night, regardless of the song's genre.

    James was also very communicative with each of our vendors which was crucial in making the night go smoothly. There was never a lull in the events or any confusion on where to go and when. We owe a lot of that to James for ensuring that what was going on behind the scenes was communicated to our guests without coming across as pushy or too assertive. As a result, our guests, and ourselves, felt at ease throughout the night, and for that we are so grateful.

    While we could go on, we hope the above sheds a bit of light into how much we adore James and would recommend him to anyone looking for an incredible DJ. We can't wait for the next opportunity to dance the night away with him in the city.
  • Biz
    Biz H. Sent on 07/23/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hire James! He's the best!

    Good news! Your wedding DJ search is over: hire James.

    From the very beginning, it was evident that James is not only a talented DJ with impeccable taste, but also extremely professional, organized, and thorough.

    His systems for preparing for your wedding makes the entire planning process fun and stress-free. His vast experience and knowledge gave us full confidence in him, and he was able to offer tips that improved our planning and the experience of the day.

    A few (of the many!) reasons why James shines: he’s able to execute the timeline without things ever feeling rushed. He’s attuned to and able to manage interpersonal dynamics that may arise. He has stellar equipment and expertise in handling tricky logistical setups. And, on top of it all, he’s able to craft set lists based on your tastes, but with surprises you didn’t even know you wanted (the seamless transition from the White Lotus theme into JLo’s “Waiting for Tonight” during the dance set was bananas).

    Our wedding was at Eastwind Hotel in Windham, New York in June 2023, all events were outdoors, in three different locations. It was not the easiest setup, but James arrived early and handled all the load-in himself. He worked seamlessly with the other vendors: providing audio inputs for the videographer, coordinating with the planner to make sure there was amplification throughout the day. He brought all of his own equipment: great quality mics, speakers, extension cords, etc. He also handled curveballs that came his way: the reception was outside under a tent, and about 30 minutes in it started raining. James kept the party going while moving all of his gear out of the rain. We were completely unaware that he had to multitask, only realizing how brilliantly he had handled the inclement weather after the evening was over!

    Icing on the cake: the day after the wedding, he sent us audio files of the ceremony, the toasts, and the music sets from the cocktail hour, reception, and the dance party. The audio quality is phenomenal, and listening to the recordings brings us right back to the day. It’s such a gift.

    On top of it all, James is kind and thoughtful and a total joy to work with. We can’t wait to go to his next set in Brooklyn! Hire him! You’ll be grateful you did.
  • C
    Christopher M. Sent on 07/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect wedding DJ

    We couldn’t have been happier with James as the DJ for our wedding. He was efficient, organized, personable and catered to our musical tastes so perfectly to help make our evening so memorable. The dance floor was a nonstop party. Planning a wedding can very stressful but there was 0 added stress when it came to James. I basically knew within 5 minutes of our first meeting that we had nothing to worry about when it came to our wedding music. He was also willing to travel 3 hours upstate just for our event. Hire this man!
  • Ian
    Ian P. Sent on 06/28/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Music Taste, Even Better Service

    As a music industry professional, the pressure to get the music just right for the wedding was incredibly important for our wedding - especially for a 250-person party 3 hours from NYC in Coxsackie, NY. Not only did James provide the best curation and sound quality we (and our guests) have ever experienced at a wedding, but his thoughtful and calm demeanor provided us the experience we could’ve asked for. He Is truly special.

    From a curation standpoint, he worked with us to develop the overall sound and feel that fit our tastes but also those of our diverse audience, without relying on the line dances and “wedding hits” that so many other DJs lazily rely on. What felt like a hopeless endeavor because tangible with James’ help, and ultimately very successful. Friends and family, old and young, couldn’t believe how great the music was! I mean this with all sincerity: I’ve never seen a dance floor so packed with so much energy. Shirts being ripped off, ties being connected for a limbo line, songs being sung like anthems. Everything we wanted and more.

    There were a few potential pitfalls with the audio for our wedding. The ceremony was outside next to the Hudson River, which frequents many motorboats and jet skis that could make our service inaudible. Also, the reception hall was large and not necessary built with acoustics in mind. James went the extra mile to make sure ensure the sound quality would be audible for everyone. He arrived early to run 100+ feet of audio cable between the main space and atrium, set up satellite speakers for background level on the sides of the room, used bigger speakers for the ceremony, and even bought extra gear. These pitfalls never became a factor, even with a parade of boats driving by during the ceremony.

    Most importantly, James personable and calm demeanor eliminated any worries we had. He MC’d the important moments, chatted with friends and family, and came over to see if we were having a good time. His personality is the reason we picked him in the first place, but he exceeded our lofty expectations.

    I wish you a fantastic wedding, and if you’re looking for stellar music and an even better experience then James needs to be your DJ.
  • S
    Sarah R. Sent on 07/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    James Brings the Party

    If James is available for your wedding date, book him immediately! James is so fun to work with and has an incredible understanding of what makes a dance floor come alive. We got married at the Valley Rock in Sloatsburg NY in May 2023, and James had people on the dance floor moving (and coming up to us saying best DJ/dance floor at a wedding they'd ever been to). He is also an excellent steward for your event, knowing when to play the songs that will get guests out of their seats, transitioning from music for the "adults" to music for the "kids" in a way that everyone felt like the songs were for them, and ensuring that only those you want to have access to the microphones do. We had a blast at our own wedding and James was such a large part of the reason why.
  • J
    Jamie J. Sent on 04/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hiring James was the best decision we made for the wedding!

    My now husband and I aren't huge on dancing/loud music, but needed a DJ for our wedding, and found James through recommendations (and everyone recommends him who knows him for good reason!). Every step of the way James was a BLAST to work with, and made everything easy. On the day of the wedding, he helped everything to flow SO well; the music he played was fantastic and had everyone dancing, including us and our shy-er friends! I cannot recommend James enough to anyone looking for a DJ-this was the best decision we could have made for our special day!
  • Tony
    Tony Sent on 03/29/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best DJ Ever!

    My wife and I just got married at the Wythe Hotel this past weekend. Last year, when we were interviewing DJ's, we liked talking with James the best by far. He was extremely personable, easy to talk to, and a true professional throughout the entire experience. He was probably our favorite vendor we worked with during the entire wedding! He really knew how to read the room and play the right songs and the right time. And all of the timing, from the ceremony, to the speeches, to the reception were perfect. Highly recommended, and I would definitely hire him for my next wedding (just kidding :D)!
  • K
    Kelsey Sent on 03/28/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    You NEED James!

    My (now) husband and I were planning to contract James for our wedding, but decided to elope at the courthouse instead and had James DJ my birthday party at a bar & party space in Bushwick, NYC. As I had formerly worked events at The Wythe Hotel in Brooklyn, I had already seen James DJ tons of weddings and witnessed first-hand his incredible ability to keep people on the dance floor all night long, and he did not disappoint for my birthday party! We had a super diverse mix of personal and professional friends and he kept EVERYONE on the dancing while keeping the playlist super spot on to my music taste (shared via a very eclectic Spotify playlist ahead of the event, so this was no small feat!).
    Texts I received from friends afterwards described our hours spent dancing as 'healing', 'freeing', and an 'absolute blast' - and I could not agree more. So, TLDR: having wedding or just a fun party: you NEED James!
  • K
    Kevin M. Sent on 03/28/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best Wedding DJ in New York

    We worked with James Mulry for our recent wedding in NYC (Second in the Kimpton Eventi), and he was a dream DJ. He made the planning process so easy by offering smart suggestions that matched our desired style. We were looking for a specific tone for the party, and James just "got it" instantly. On the day of the wedding, his DJ skills were flawless--So many guests came up to us saying that it was the most fun they ever had dancing at a wedding. Do not hire anyone else!! James is the best!!
  • Alexis
    Alexis W. Sent on 03/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best dance party

    Hiring James Mulry was one of the best decisions we could have ever made for our wedding. James kept the dance floor alive the entire night, with both families and our friends. We especially loved his recommendations, and the process leading up the wedding was very thorough. James is a pro, and ready to answer any possible questions with a number of thoughtful solutions. I think his background in nightlife helps give James an advantage, and he's the perfect choice if you want a fun contemporary wedding that isn't traditional. We had a blast dancing to everything from Pixies to Sophie to Weezer to Donna Summer. James really spent time getting to know us and our musical taste beforehand, and this was very clear in his DJ set during the reception. We couldn't recommend him enough. If you want your guests to be talking about how fun your wedding was for weeks, definitely hire James Mulry!
  • Krista
    Krista P. Sent on 01/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The G.O.A.T

    I think I'm still recovering from dancing all night at my wedding from almost two weeks ago, and it's all thanks to James. His professionalism, communication, attention to detail, fun energy and knowledge of the wedding industry is unmatched, and he helped us throw the best New Year's Eve party we could have ever imagined. James did not miss a single music cue and kept our guests on the dance floor literally ALL NIGHT. He is the best! Do not look any further for your DJ needs—hire James!!!!
  • D
    David Sent on 01/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dynamite DJ Delivered!

    James Mulry. A music magician. A soldier of sound. A rebel of rhythm. Our great photographer recommended James to us. As soon as we met him, we connected with his energy, his desire to know us as a couple, was extremely well organized, helped plan in advance, listened carefully, and happily made suggestions from his own curated music knowledge. The day of, James was professional, entertaining, spot on paying attention to the vibrant crowd and engaged our family and friends with an ongoing perfect play list. Following the moods throughout the afternoon and evening. James, was most concerned with the music, as any DJ should be. So as wanted and needed, we did not need any fancy ridiculous blinking lights and the silly club atmosphere. James brought sophistication and class to our elegant once-in-a-lifetime moment. He respected and followed the rules of our venue - the beautiful Prospect Park Boat House. He worked outside for the ceremony and seamlessly worked inside for the reception. He also respected our concerns regarding health risks/COVID (We had some immune compromised guests at our wedding). We wish we could have our wedding yearly, in particularly, so we could have James once again be part of our party. He’s a true artist in tune with his surroundings and the beats, symphonies, and hot diggity rock-n-roll he delivered! Everyone should have James part of their event.
  • Maggie
    Maggie S. Sent on 11/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best DJ of all time

    We absolutely LOVED James and were so glad that he was a part of our wedding at The Castle by Marlow Events in Red Hook, Brooklyn. Not only does he have exceptional music taste but he was so easy to work with through the whole process. He felt like a friend, super supportive and willing to make it all happen. He was also extremely professional, you can tell he knows exactly what he’s doing on all fronts – from planning to playlist making to emceeing to making sure all of the dads knew how to speak correctly into a microphone. He was able to take my eclectic music taste and make it into an experience that all of our guests loved. I also really appreciated that he vibe-checked with me a few times throughout the night (and gave me final approval on shooting down a cheesy song request that he correctly guessed I would not have enjoyed). And his dance party skills are unmatched. To quote my friend who came up to me mid-party, “All chutes, no ladders.” Could have danced all night. Highly recommend James to anyone considering him. 100000/10.
  • Marisa
    Marisa Sent on 01/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The bessstttt


    If you want your guests on the dance floor all night - you NEED to hire James! My husband and I were picky with who we wanted to DJ because they play such an integral part in the night. We knew we wanted who could manage a crowd and play some amazing music without overpowering our event (ya know what I mean). We met James through our wedding planner and my husband and I instantly fell in love with him. I swear we were talking about how great we thought he was for days after our first meeting. James was so organized, thoughtful, and friendly throughout the entire planning process. He reminded us of deadlines for music choices, provided lists for inspiration and listening, and was incredible about merging our taste in music into something cohesive and fun (we like A LOT of different genres). On the day of, it felt like we had a close friend DJing for us. To no surprise, the dance floor was packed the entire night and we had people commenting all night how amazing the music was (and some maybe liked James a little too much LOL 😉). From reminding me to eat, to transitioning from location to location seamlessly, to laughing with us about a wild guest - James was really just the best. I’m not kidding when I say everyone was on the dance floor, even our “I can’t dance” guests! Thank you James for everything! We miss ya! If you’re looking for the perfect DJ - look no further.
  • Ashley
    Ashley E. Sent on 01/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10 Highly Recommend!

    We were so happy we went with James for all things wedding music. Having never planned a wedding before, my husband and I were completely lost about the flow, timelines, logistics, etc. Throughout the entire process with James, he was so professional and collaborative, answered all of our questions, worked directly with our ceremony musicians the day-of, and went above and beyond to make our day absolutely perfect. As a couple, we opted to forgo a few typical wedding ceremony and reception traditions and James was able to not only be accommodating to our wishes, but also offer innovative and fun suggestions for alternatives. My boomer father (who until our wedding assumed all DJs looked like they were ready to play a 7th grade gymnasium dance in a flat billed hat and jeans) was probably the most shocked when James showed up in a tux looking snappy, dapper, and professional. His vibes and appearance absolutely matched his level of service. Guests are STILL months later complimenting our music and seamless flow of the entire night, all thanks to James!
  • Janivean
    Janivean P. Sent on 05/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    James is the man!!

    James is absolutely amazing! He was recommended to us by our planner and we are so glad that we went with him. We are from different cultures and we wanted songs from both our cultures incorporated into our wedding. During our first meeting James was giving us recommendations based on our cultural backgrounds that we didn't even think about! It really showed how diverse his portfolio is. Also, his worksheet made our job so easy when it was time for us to give him the songs that we wanted. Our wedding venue, Seminary Hill was in the Catskills and even though James is NYC based he was there with us making our special day even better. His choice of songs made every generations in the wedding dance! James is very accommodating and will be there for you. Lastly, we never thought we would be able to listen to the amazing speeches given at the wedding after the event. However, James recorded them and sent them to us! We will cherish those recordings forever!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message