DJ Elwood Reviews

43 | Prairie Village, KS
See photos, pricing and details

43 Reviews for DJ Elwood

Recommended by 99%

43
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Elwood knows how to bring everyone to the dance floor. Sean was absolutely perfect for our wedding ceremony and reception. He had every song that I wanted for our non traditional wedding and executed it perfectly. Our reception was amazing, thanks to Sean. I don't recall a part of the night when the dace floor wasn't full of people dancing their butts off. He knows how to please a crowd and makes sure everyone has fun. Not only is he a talented DJ, he was super easy to work with and catered to all my requests. If you want a bumping dance floor for your wedding, then definitely get DJ Elwood for your big day!

    Sent on 06/14/2017
  • T

    Taylor · Married on 09/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sean was amazing from the first appointment we had with him to the end of the reception!

    Sent on 09/09/2016
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 08/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I left the DJ booking to my fiancé, who is a musician and artist. We still didn't have one until a few months out from the wedding, and I was getting concerned. But, I came home from work one day to a beaming smile: he was positive he found the right person to DJ our very unique wedding. I knew from our first Skype chat (we live out of town) that Sean was perfect. We actually have a lot in common with him, and we met up with him when he DJ'd a set in Chicago about a month out from our wedding. Leading up to the wedding, I was so grateful that he was unfazed by our scatterbrains. (Sorry about that, Sean!) And, the music was perfect the day of the wedding. He made our blend of cultures/music styles come together into a cohesive mix that made sense. If you have the chance to book DJ Elwood, don't hesitate! He was fantastic and a pleasure to work with!

    Sent on 08/25/2016
  • User4525391 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sean did an amazing job on so many levels. He did a fantastic job of filtering our song requests based on feedback on his base song list to make the atmosphere of the ceremony & reception what we wanted - highly recommend!!
    - Sean kept the dance floor going until it was time to shut down the venue. We wished we could have had a few more hours of only dancing. Based on the song list he asked us to review, I'm confident he could do this for any couple's music preferences. - We'd gone to weddings where you couldn't hear 90% of the ceremony & were concerned about acoustics. Sean made sure everything was set up properly for the challenging space & everyone could hear the ceremony, even at the back. This was even after a venue change the day of the wedding. - Sean did a great job cuing & managing the typical reception events of announcing the couple, dances, etc. He worked with our coordinator to make sure everything flowed seamlessly. - Two weeks before the wedding, we had a call to walk through the timeline of the day, including our specific song selections for each part. It was a huge relief to know the music was set & someone else was handling it minute by minute. - Sean did a great job of interpreting our tastes & providing background music for the time before the ceremony as guests are arriving, the cocktail hour, dinner, etc. I'm very appreciative of this because he asked for feedback on music for these times & it was one of those things that fell through the cracks on planning. We asked to him to play what he thought was best based on our other song selections, & we are happy we simply left it to him. - His demeanor & attitude made him easy to work with & had a calming effect in a stressful time. He was always quickly accessible by email for comments or suggestions (our preferred method). - Lastly, because weddings can be so expensive, I feel the need to note that in terms of cost, DJ Elwood's wedding pricing is a hell of a deal for the quality of service.

    Sent on 10/25/2015
  • G

    Gina · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so thrilled we selected Sean to DJ our wedding! We purposefully had two dance floors at our reception and they were completely full the entire evening. We had tons of people still on the dance floor when our reception ended, and it's all thanks to Sean! He was great to work with, was an amazing emcee for the evening, kept the reception on schedule and was worth every penny. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 09/19/2014
  • N

    Nathan · Married on 08/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had DJ Elwood as our DJ for our wedding at The Guild on 8/16/14. We couldn't have asked for anything more from Sean and were more than happy with the service. One of the most important aspects of our wedding was the dance party which was even better than we were hoping for. DJ Elwood was great and we couldn't have asked for anything better. We had people making music requests and other demands (turn lights up, turn lights off, more bass, less bass etc) and he was more than accommodating to all of our demands. Great to work with throughout the whole process and would definitely reccomend to others.

    Sent on 09/16/2014
  • M

    Meaghan · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sean did a fantastic job! He was very professional and easy to work with. We gave him a general idea of our music tastes and some must-plays. He made sure to get all of our must-play songs in even though our dancing time was a bit shortened. The dance floor was packed the entire time and everyone loved the music. Could not have asked for a better DJ at our wedding!

    Sent on 07/21/2014
  • User4073583 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0




    I really cannot say enough about Sean- our experience with him, from start to finish was absolutely perfect. I cannot stress how absolutely wonderful our experience was.
    He took special care to include songs that were important to us, including finding my random indie rock requests and college favorites- literally kept the dance party going until our reception ended at 1AM when we had to drag people off of the dance floor. He included some amazing personalized touches that really meant so much to me and my guy.
    It's hard to find a DJ that is cool, you know? Sean has a great mix of being commanding, without being too-much. It's the worst to go to a wedding where the DJ is cheesy or spends too much time on the mic or is just obnoxious. And it literally happens all. the. time. Sean SEAMLESSLY helps your reception move and keeps the energy level high w/o being at all obtrusive to the process. He is great w/ follow-up, super easy to get in touch with and incredibly flexible- he worked with my dad and uncles on the sound that they used to perform bluegrass at the reception between his sets and was just so cool about it. It's really great to have the memories of our reception set to such a great soundtrack- cannot, cannot, cannot recommend him enough.

    Sent on 12/08/2014
  • User4033610 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the very start DJ Elwood was so responsive and helpful. I could text, call or email him with any questions and he responded right away. He was in charge of the music for both our ceremony and reception. We got so many compliments on the music for both. We have a more conservative family but our friends like to get down on the dance floor so we wanted to make sure both crowds would have a great time. Both our friends and family had a wonderful time. We're still hearing about how great the music was. In my opinion the music can make or break the entire night. The night couldn't have gone more perfect! He is so organized which was something else that was important for me. I felt completely comfortable putting our wedding day in his hands. During the reception DJ Elwood played whatever was requested as long as he knew it was ok with us. If he had any questions he was sure to ask me or my husband which I greatly appreciated. I would recommend DJ Elwood to anyone looking for a great DJ for their wedding!

    Sent on 04/13/2014
  • J

    Jared · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sean single-handedly made our wedding a huge hit! We had countless compliments about the DJ during and weeks after our event.

    He worked with us through the entire process and made it painless. We had an extensive list of do-not-plays and Sean honored those requests. We asked that he not do anything "cheesy" or "theatrical" but simply emcee the evening and he did that with professionalism and class.

    Sean knew exactly what to do to keep our night lively and our guests constantly entertained with the music. He cut off our first dance, mother-son, father-daughter dance at the PERFECT time as to not make it drag out and bore our guests. We were extremely happy with his knowledge of when to move things along.

    There was a specific instance where our guests had requested a certain song(s) on our do-not-play list multiple times. Sean expressed this to us and asked our permission to play said songs. We, of course, defaulted to his expertise and allowed the song to play...I have no problems admitting I was wrong and the dance floor was full!

    I cannot understand why someone would use any other DJ. Our guests are still talking about how fun our wedding was, and I have no doubt in my mind that we have DJ Elwood to thank for making our night such a success.

    Book him. Immediately.

    Sent on 11/10/2013
  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sean was an awesome DJ! Not only is he just a really cool, laid back guy and easy to work with, but the music at our wedding was perfect for us. He's extremely versatile and is willing to work with you to make sure all your favorites are played and then sticks with the music type you like throughout the night while weaving in music that's perfect for all ages as well. Our dance party was awesome and got started early and remained strong the whole night because of Sean's dj-ing skills!

    Sent on 12/05/2013
  • M

    Marybeth · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Elwood made our wedding AMAZING! He was there throughout the planning process to help answer any questions we had. We wanted music that would have our guests up and dancing the whole night, but also music that would appeal to anyone--no matter the age. He had JUST the right mix of music! Everyone was up and dancing the whole night, just like we wanted. So many people complimented the DJ and said it was the most fun they have had in a long time. We would change nothing about our experience with DJ Elwood and recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ who cares about your experience and truly wants to make you happy on your big day!

    Sent on 07/23/2013
  • B

    Bobbie · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sean is such a great, cool guy! He put so much effort into understanding what type of music we like and ironing out every little detail along the way. On numerous occasions, we met with him to talk about the event. He is great about emailing back and forth and making himself available to talk. He truly made our wedding reception fun and organized. He is very in touch with the crowd and has a great ability to keep the flow of the night going and make sure everyone is enjoying themselves. Thanks again Sean!!

    Sent on 06/24/2013
  • User3365210 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sean did an excellent job! He was very professional and kept the dance floor dancing all night!

    Sent on 07/01/2013
  • J

    Jane · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a 1920s theme for our wedding, and wanted to have the music to go along with that. Sean was FANTASTIC in working with us to build a playlist that was really fun and set the perfect atmosphere for our wedding. In addition to being a great DJ, he is easy-going and completely professional/reliable. I highly recommend Sean...KC is lucky to have him!

    Sent on 06/14/2013
  • B

    Bryan · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Elwood was exceptional throughout the entire wedding process. We were looking for a professional DJ that we thought could help set the right vibe for our wedding. Sean was always laid back and understanding while providing us with very helpful information during our planning process. He will never leave you hanging on a follow up email or phone call. The day of he was there to guide you through the night without intruding on your party. His announcements were always appropriate and on time. He makes the day about you and not him. We had comments from 3 different generations about how great the music was. He had everyone dancing all night long. We gave him limited direction on what we wanted, but he played everything that we requested and timed the songs perfectly. Great DJ!

    Sent on 06/10/2013
  • L

    Larissa · Married on 04/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment we first met DJ Elwood, he was kind and professional with many options and a great deal of flexibility. He was helpful, never pushy, and offered an excellent resource to be able to give a good idea of the type of music we were looking for.

    He was the most responsive vendor that I worked with in all the planning that went into the wedding. The first time I contacted him (via email) he had responded within minutes, and he quickly responded every time I had any questions. As it can be a very stressful time with many details to worry about, this was an incredible relief!

    On the wedding day, he exemplified professionalism and was extremely helpful in ensuring that things ran smoothly throughout. His friendly demeanor was noticed by several of our guests as well. He ensured that the dance floor was busy throughout the night and kept people engaged in the reception. The range of music that he played throughout the night pleased the younger generation along with the parents and grandparents. He also provided the music for the wedding ceremony, and it was flawless in execution.

    Overall, the quality, value, and service DJ Elwood provided was excellent, and we would highly recommend him as a DJ for any wedding (or possibly other events).

    Sent on 05/14/2013
  • Emily

    Emily · Married on 04/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sean did an awesome job for our wedding a couple weeks ago. So many great things to say about DJ Elwood. First off Sean was one the first and most responsive to get back with me when I started my DJ search. He contaced me right away looking for more information and was ready to meet in person to discuss the wedding. We pretty much decided on Sean the night we met with him and from then on he was so helpful. He assisted us with picking out songs for first dances and recessional songs. He also has a huge list of songs that you can pick to hear at your wedding. I asked Sean to pick prelude music, cake cutting, bouqet toss and garter toss songs and they were all great. He really helped us plan out how the evening was going to go too. He also checked in with us multiple times to see how things were going and to see if we had any questions. We got nothing but compliments from family and friends for his great work. I would highly reccomend DJ Elwood.

    Sent on 04/29/2013
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 10/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sean Elwood was everything we wanted and more. We were probably difficult clients because we know nothing about music, how to plan a wedding, we couldn't agree on the important songs and we like all types of music - so he basically ran the whole show. And we got nothing but compliments! People thought we planned every second of the reception, some even asked me for a copy of the playlist!

    More specifics on his style: Our first interview was via skype, we met in person a couple months later and discussed the informal (no sit down dinner, no seating assignments, etc) of our wedding; He thought it sounded great, very comfortable with the freer laid-back style. Kept in touch very well via email to check in with us until the wedding day. Day of he was extremely professional, kept an excellent mix of music playing, and periodically checked in with us about timing of big things - cake cutting, tosses, etc., in a way that was professional and not intrusive of our time with guests.

    Our main instruction was keep people on the dance floor, and he did a great job of it. We actually had a difficult crowd, but he kept up the variety and responded very well to what kept different groups on the dance floor. People even commented to me that they could tell he was great at judging the crowd and responding to it. I almost went with a DJ who wanted to plan everything down to the minute beforehand - so glad I went with Sean and his adaptable style instead!

    Our wedding was a party, and DJ Elwood is the reason it flowed so well. Thank you!

    Sent on 01/21/2013
  • A

    Adam · Married on 10/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In Short, Sean (DJ Elwood) was awesome and you should book him immediately. You make a lot of decisions when planning a wedding and picking DJ Elwood was perhaps the best decision we made.

    We got a good impression from him right away and it was obvious he took his job seriously. We did a skype meeting before booking him then a face to face meeting (both at his suggestion) on top of numerous back and forth emails throughout the planning process. He even came to the rehersal to get a feel for the space and how the big day would unfold (he was responsible for playing the pre-ceremony and ceremony music and wanted to make sure he got it just right).

    He asked us numerous questions not just about what kind of music we liked but our history, etc. He wanted to get a feel for who we were. On our wedding day he showed up plenty early, did a great job of getting organized and communicated extremely well with our DOC (Day of Coordinator) throughout the ceremony and reception.

    And the music... it was awesome. We provided all the pre-ceremony and ceremony music as well as some of the dinner music but we turned him loose for the dance music and he turned it into a full on dance party, which is exactly what we asked for. Not only were his song choices great but he was spot on with what song to play next as well as the transition between those songs. It flowed very well. We wanted a lot of 90's hip hop and he delivered. The dance floor was packed for the final two hours and we have the amazing pictures to prove it.

    DJ Elwood is great. From our initial meeting thru the final song of the night he exemplified professionalism. We felt very comfortable with him and it was a relief to know our DJ was great, so it was one less thing we had to worry or think about!

    Music and dancing is a huge part of what makes a wedding fun and memorable and if you book DJ Elwood I promise you wont be disappointed!

    Just be ready to dance!

    Sent on 01/20/2013
  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was very nervous to choose a DJ when I found out our friend was unable to be our DJ. We met with DJ Elwood and were so comfortable with him. He was wonderful! We had a lot of random songs we wanted played and he was so flexible and helpful in making sure everything was perfect. He is organized and has great communication throughout the process. We are so happy we went with him and would recommend him to anyone!

    Sent on 01/29/2013
  • K

    Kasey · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thanks to Sean we had an amazing reception! He was so intune with our needs and what the crowd wanted. He kept the energy high all night! We were so blessed to have him!

    Sent on 11/05/2012
  • William

    William · Married on 07/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nothing went as planned on my wedding day (regarding cake, flowers, tuxes not fitting and so on...I have a laundry list!). However, had it not been for the awesome reception because of the great music, I would feel awful about the day right now. DJ Elwood helped with the ceremony music (we had an outdoor ceremony). The guests were 30min late, and since my parents were late that morning, we ended up having no rehearsal and the start of the ceremony was messy. Elwood handled the curve balls so incredibly well. Especially considering how meticulous he was in helping us organize what we needed him to do and how we wanted things to go. He was flexible, understanding and easy to talk to. He really helped guide us and I loved the fact that he spoke to us about realistic expectations. Our wedding was on a big resort and he made sure way in advance that he knew exactly where he was going, what he was doing and where he was going to be. Seeing how organized he was made us so much more comfortable and confident since there wasn't going to be any cell signal that day at the resort. He works exceptionally hard at making sure he has a good understanding of what you want to hear, what you like and what your guests might like. My family is Hispanic and my husband is from the South. We wanted to make sure we played a good mix and balance of diverse music. This is where DJ Elwood got it spot on. For most of the reception, we had everyone from kids, adults and grandparents on the dance floor. He kept the party going and the guests were very happy. People didn't stop dancing and were having such a good time, that when we cut the cake we decided to do it in private with just the photographer. We didn't want to stop the party. Great reception! We definitely highly recommend DJ Elwood!

    Sent on 11/07/2012
  • E

    Emily · Married on 07/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Elwood was WONDERFUL at my wedding!!!

    I am the kind of person who loves music, but I don't know ALL of the songs that I love. I would never be able to give an finite playlist to a DJ, because I honestly just don't know which songs I'd like to hear from moment to moment! So I was nervous to find someone who could "read my mind" even though I couldn't express it. The only thing I WAS sure of, was that I didn't want the cheesy smoke-machines or group-dances (think: cha-cha slide/macarena/etc.). And DJ Elwood was totally onboard with that!

    When we first met, he was so responsive, he came out to our neighborhood to meet with us - other DJ services were too busy to even give us an appointment at their offices! AND his prices were totally fair - much less than other DJ's that I had researched. I felt like he really waned to work with us, and make our day special. That alone, made me like him. But his professionalism and organization made me love him!

    From the get-go, I explained to him that there would be a ton of people there our age (late 20's, early 30's) and that I just really wanted everybody up and dancing! He completely understood. A month or two after we booked him, we sent us an amazing spreadsheet with thousands of songs, for us to comb through and tell him whether or not we loved, hated, or felt indifferent about each particular song. This helped him to understand our tastes in music, so that we could fine-tune our dance selections.

    He was always in touch throughout our planning period, and invited us to send song requests whenever we wanted. Sean met with us a month or two before the wedding again to check out our venue space, and make any last minute changes to our day-of-schedule. He was also very on-point when speaking to the manager of the space about set-up times, etc.

    On our wedding day, everything went smoothly and all the guests were happy. People were dancing everywhere throughout the venue (it was a big space!), and everybody kept telling us that they were having the best time! He played everything we wanted to hear: oldies, hip-hop, even some country for my southern friends! And, most importantly, he kept the crowd moving. That was exactly what I wanted! Such a fun time - I definitely recommend DJ Elwood!

    Sent on 07/17/2012
  • Joe

    Joe · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just got married last weekend on July 7, 2012. Our wedding was for lack of a better term "Urban Chic" and we wanted a dj that would reflect who we are. DJ Elwood was amazing. We love to dance and wanted our wedding to be fun, festive and elegant. We also wanted the music to have a lot of old school soul and funk (think Earth wnd and Fire,Prince and Stevie Wonder). Not only did DJ Elwood deliver what he promised but he was more than accomodating and flexible. He is also extremly organized and he has a great collection of music. We are a diverese couple and so are our friends so tastes and styles of music are always an issue. They say that New Yorkers are hard to please and impress. Well let me be the first to say that not only were we impressed by his skills but we have received nothing but praise and compliments from all of our guests. If you are getting married and are looking for a reception where people will not only want to dance but not want to stop dancing then you must hire DJ Elwood. We did and we have no regrets. He is amazing!

    Sent on 07/14/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review