Skip to main content
Weddings

DJ Derek Tobler Reviews

DJ Derek Tobler

DJ Derek Tobler

Charlottesville, VA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 145 Reviews
View more information

145 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 145
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

10 User photos

  • Kara
    Kara M. Married on 05/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best DJ Ever

    When Steven and I talked about which vendors to prioritize for our wedding, having a great DJ was our number one priority. We love to dance, and we couldn't wait to bring all our loved ones together on the dance floor. After researching and interviewing many DJ's in the Charlottesville area, Steven and I decided on DJ Tobler, and we could not be happier with our decision!! From the onset, Derek was always extremely timely, kind, and professional in his communications with us. We were able to witness his DJ skills before our wedding at 2 different events, and we were incredibly proud to say he was our chosen wedding DJ. At both events, he brought people of all ages to the floor and took great pride in his job. A few months later, we met again for a dance lesson to help us choreograph our first dance. He was so fun to work with, and we had a dance we absolutely loved by the end of the lesson! He even edited our song to match our moves and incorporated a lift. We met with him again for a combined father-daughter dance, mother-father dance, and final first dance practice lesson, and it went so well! He made us all feel comfortable and have so much fun. We were all confident in our dances by the end of the lesson. The evening before the wedding, I was very stressed to see rain forecasted during our ceremony. I emailed Derek asking if there was any way that he could be a last minute backup music plan for the ceremony in case the string quartet couldn’t play with the rain, and he quickly replied that he would be more than happy to. During the wedding, he clearly took our music tastes and requests into consideration and curated a playlist and energy of our dreams. The mics and sound system functioned flawlessly, and all his announcements were wonderful! The dance floor was full of our loved ones of all ages. To top it all off, he even planned a private dance for Steven and me at the end of the night before our sparkler exit to one of our favorite songs. I give Derek my highest recommendation!
  • Steven
    Steven S. Married on 05/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A True Professional

    With many factors otherwise out of our control, Derek was the one person we could rely on throughout the wedding process. He was the one true professional we worked with, someone who was responsiveness, insightful, flexible, friendly, and clearly experienced. Not only did he help us choreograph a beautiful first dance (with a lift!) with just two lessons, but he helped execute our special night to perfection. By far and away, he was our favorite person to work with in the Charlottesville area, and aside from all the logistics that he assisted in, he helped make our dance floor ~electric~. Seriously could not recommend any vendor higher than Derek; he is a class of his own in Charlottesville.
  • S
    Stefani P. Married on 11/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome DJ!!

    Derek did such a great job DJing our wedding ceremony and reception! He was really easy to work with and made the experience so seamless. He barely needed any direction and did a great job reading the room. He did a perfect mix of music that was fun for all ages. There were no dead periods where the music changed and everyone left the dance floor. He also received minimal song requests because he did such a great job. I would definitely recommend Derek!!!
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Grace
    Grace L. Married on 10/24/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Derek was absolutely wonderful!!

    Derek was wonderful to work with! He is a very talented DJ! Even before we spoke with him, we heard so many great reviews of his work. He is very personable and a really great dance instructor! He came to us in Richmond and taught us how to dance in our first dance. It was SO helpful, and he gave easy directions to follow and practice. We would both highly recommend Derek to be your DJ (and also to teach you how to dance!) We were very thankful for him and impressed with his work!
  • Rechelle
    Rechelle R. Married on 09/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10 Wedding Experience

    We cannot recommend Derek enough! My husband and I originally had a June 2020 date, but because of COVID, we postponed not just once, but twice. Derek was professional and understanding throughout the process, and never made us feel guilty about our decision to postpone. He was organized and checked in with us periodically to make sure we all were on the same page. Derek provided amplification during our ceremony and worked with our officiant and duo to make sure our guests could hear everything during the ceremony which was just beautiful. From the beginning, we told Derek we wanted a big dance party and he sure delivered! His song choices were a great mix of old and new songs, and it didn’t sound like a playlist that was played at another wedding. He catered it to my husband and me. Thank you Derek for making our day a blast.
  • Adrienne
    Adrienne R. Married on 08/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Total Pro!

    Derek is one of several vendors who we needed to reschedule with once our wedding was pushed back a year due to COVID. Derek was completely understanding and, once we were finally leading up to our big day, was just so easy to work with. Both my (now) husband and I have a musical background so the ceremony and reception playlists were of particular importance to us. Derek listened to our vision, made suggestions where needed, and expertly improvised throughout the reception based on how our guests were engaging on the dancefloor. It was a nonstop party with just enough of our preferences injected into the repertoire. He also coordinated perfectly with our wedding venue (Veritas Vineyard & Winery), videographer (Ian's Creations), and the bluegrass band we had playing during cocktail hour and part of the reception (The Whiskey Rebellion). Derek is a total professional and working with him was an absolute pleasure!
  • C
    Chelsea B. Married on 08/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Derek is incredible - Hire him!

    Derek is amazing! He is calm, confident and such a source of ease on your wedding day. He was there through our many music requests and COVID related wedding changes and we are so grateful for him. We also used Derek for dance lessons for our first dance and we absolutely recommend it to everyone! He is a natural teacher and makes that fear of awkwardly swaying in front of all your guests disappear. Hire him now, you will not regret it!
  • Griffy
    Griffy T. Married on 06/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Now We Know Why Everyone Loves DJ Tobler!

    My husband and I agreed that Derek was, by far, our favorite vendor. He was flexible, professional, and extremely knowledgeable - and that was just leading up to the wedding! Derek let me design as much of the day's music as I wanted and seamlessly filled in whatever gaps remained, based on the vibe I was going for throughout the different phases of the wedding day. Derek provided small, wireless mics for the groom and our officiant to wear during the ceremony and also a microphone stand for those coming up to do a reading. He was fun, but not obtrusive or annoying like a lot of other DJs out there. He even got on the dance floor for part of my favorite dance song to help show guests how to do 'The Wobble'! He also fastidiously adhered to our Do Not Play Or I Will Unplug You list of songs. It's no wonder his actual initials are D.J. Tobler. :)
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer S. Married on 05/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect for our wedding

    Derek knew exactly how to execute the right music for the right crowd on the dance floor. The lighting, the monogram, and his ability to get the crowd on their feet was second to none. Working with Derek before the wedding was a total joy and everything was set before the big day. No worries- all fun! The guests (young and old) gave many compliments. I would have Derek back in a heartbeat!
  • Zac
    Zac S. Married on 11/09/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Easy as pie

    I am long overdue for this review. Derek made our wedding so perfect. We spoke on the phone briefly, sent the songs we wanted for the main events and then let him do his thing. Everyone was dancing and having a great time and he was flawless. You have nothing to worry about if you hire him. Thanks again Derek!!!
  • Meredith
    Meredith Married on 10/03/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best DJ in Charlottesville

    Derek DJ'ed for my sister's wedding a few years ago and now mine this fall. He is absolutely the best DJ in Cville. I provided a sample playlist that he used some of and also worked off of it to add more songs. He paced the night perfectly and the dance floor was the place to be! Thank you again!!
  • Mel
    Mel Married on 07/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome DJ

    Derek was awesome! He was super nice and easy to work with, and put together the perfect playlist for our wedding. He included all of our requests, and filled in the gaps with the best assortment of music. He was also a great emcee to ensure all parts of the night went according to schedule. Highly recommend!
  • Megan
    Megan R. Married on 01/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream dj!

    We found DJ Derek Tobler through our venue & I am so thankful! We unfortunately booked last minute but he was so quick & efficient with all phone calls & emails! He was so helpful, answered all my questions within a timely manner, and very professional! Our reception was the best time EVER, because of him! Our guests loved him, he truly brought the party!!! We got married in January and people are still telling us how much fun they had! Highly recommend this DJ!!! Thanks so much, Derek!!!
  • Courtney
    Courtney F. Married on 11/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Music!

    Derek did such a great job with our music for our wedding! We didn't give him much guidance but he was able to read the room and get people dancing. We come from two different cultures and have different music tastes but Derek was able to blend the two together in a way that definitely felt like it was OUR wedding rather than cookie cutter wedding music. He was also able to add uplighting for a very reasonable amount! Thank you Derek!
  • V
    Victoria C. Married on 10/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best DJ you can find

    I'm not sure what else I can say about Derek Tobler that hasn't already been said in all of this 5 star reviews here. Every good thing said about him is absolutely true.

    I reached out to Derek to DJ my Oct 2019 wedding, and he was very quick to respond. Right off the bat, he was super chill and friendly. I already felt less stress just by talking to him. We had a call with him a couple of weeks before the wedding so he could get a feel for what kind of music we’d like. We really only gave him the basic answers (first dance song, father daughter song, etc), but he immediately knew what kind of crowd we would have based on our personalities and what not. He handled all of our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception music. He was on point with everything. All the music was on time, and there were absolutely no snags.

    The reception was a hit. Seriously, every song was perfect. I say this without any sort of exaggeration, our dance floor was never empty. He kept guests dancing all night. I cannot recommend Derek Tobler enough.
  • J
    Jake R. Married on 10/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Innovative, fun, professional. Dance floor full all night.

    Derek was excellent in every way. He helped us do a silent disco at our venue for the first time, which our guests loved. He choreograph our first dance to a unique song. He made an awesome playlist that kept everyone dancing and that appealed to people with diverse music tastes. He seamlessly emceed, making all announcements and keeping important moments (like speeches and cake-cutting) on schedule. He was also flexible, at one point shifting the order of events to get everyone dancing sooner. And he effortlessly coordinated with other vendors, such as our planner, to ensure he had a minute-by-minute plan for the night. Best of all, Derek gave candid advice whenever we asked for it based on his experience and expertise and was a joy to work with.
  • Lauren
    Lauren O. Married on 10/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I don't have good taste in music, but Derek made a good night of dancing despite it!

    Derek is beyond the average wedding DJ. He is truly thoughtful and talented.

    He honored an entire Spotify playlist that was mismatched, random, and cliche. Against all odds, he made it fun. Not only that but he creatively used songs that I was interested in to transition people between dances and toasts. I do not necessarily remember every song he played, but I remember thinking, "WOW! What a great time to play this song." (It was a time we were waiting for people to transition in for the father daughter-dance, and he played a Heaven by the Walkmen, which was a request.)

    He does not belittle your music requests, but enhances them with his own. He was such a great vendor, and I cannot recommend him enough.
  • Emily
    Emily Married on 05/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dancing it up All Night!

    Derek was our DJ for our June wedding at the Market at Grelen. He did such a wonderful job throughout our wedding day. Derek was easy to talk to about the details leading up to our big day. He kept everyone dancing during our reception and transitioned different parts of the night very smoothly. Derek goes so far and beyond to make you sure you feel comfortable and are having a blast on your wedding day. We are SO happy and grateful we were able to have him as our wedding DJ
  • Morgan and Tommy
    Morgan Married on 03/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our dance floor was full the entire night!!!

    People are still talking about our wedding and a big reason is Derek!! He is the best DJ we could’ve hoped for. Derek spent time getting to know us and what we wanted. After meeting with him we had no doubt that the music would be amazing. We had very specific music for our ceremony and everything went off without a hitch. Same for our reception. Derek read the room perfectly and our dance floor was full the entire night!! Even some of the staff of the venue came up to us and said that our wedding had the best music. All thanks to Derek!!
    If you want your wedding to be unforgettable, DJ Tobler is the way to go!!!
  • A
    Abbey D. Married on 03/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best DJ!!!

    DJ Tobler was by far one of the best decisions we made for our wedding! He was kind, respectful, professional, punctual, and organized. He kept people on the dance floor all night, and completely catered to the bride and groom. He thoroughly helped with the planning process and was quick to respond to every question. Working with Derek was an absolute pleasure, and our guests continue to rave about him to this day! He created a fun and energetic atmosphere and made the day completely stress-free. We highly recommend him to anyone looking for the ideal DJ for their big day!
  • Amanda
    Amanda E. Married on 11/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing DJ

    Derek was so great at our wedding - he had the crowd, both young and old, on the dance floor all night and all of our family and friends were raving about how much fun they had for days after the wedding! Derek was a huge player in keeping the evening running smoothly, which we greatly appreciated. Also, even though we had a string quartet during the ceremony, Derek helped out SO much with sound, making sure ourselves and our rabbi were heard by all.

    I also wanted to mention that Derek was so easy to work with during the planning process. He listened to all of our requests, cut our first dance song perfectly, and helped us choose the perfect last dance!

    I HIGHLY recommend DJ Tobler to anyone and everyone!
  • Lauren
    Lauren Married on 10/06/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best DJ!!!

    DJ Tobler is the BEST!! We are so thankful he was available for our big day. He plays only the best music that keeps the party going. He was so easy to work with, really helpful with song choices, and always very quick to respond. I would highly recommend him for any event. We thoroughly enjoyed working with him and our wedding wouldn't have been the same without him.
    He also offers dance lessons, which I HIGHLY recommend. We had a wonderful first dance and our guests couldn't stop talking about it. We are so thankful and happy we did the dance lesson because he taught us how to dance and we now have dance moves that will always remind of us our first dance.
    Thank you DJ Tobler for making our evening smooth and giving us memories that will last a lifetime. You are simply the best!!!!!!
  • Paige
    Paige T. Married on 09/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent, professional DJ

    Derek was fantastic! We planned our wedding out of state and he made the process so easy. He was very responsive to our requests and guided us through the process of planning the music for the entire wedding. We ended up just giving him guidelines for the reception and he did a phenomenal job. A great mix of music that had everyone dancing! Would highly recommend!
  • A
    Adam Married on 09/01/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We have only great things to say about Derek. He was phenomenal to work with. From our first meeting, Derek was engaging and offered great suggestions about the playlist. On the day of, he was responsive to last minute changes (including bad weather) and played an amazing set of songs. Several friends told us after the wedding that they'd wanted to sit down during the reception but never got the chance to because there was never a bad song. Thank you, Derek, for your amazing work.
  • E
    Ella Married on 07/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    when you are planning a party, you know that you absolutely want to be sure you have great music to keep the atmosphere energetic and to get people moving, and a wedding reception is no exception. If you are looking for someone who will make sure to play the music you love and balance that with keeping your guests entertained and moving on the dance floor, you need look no further then Derek Tobler! My husband and I cannot say enough good things about his wedding DJ skills! During the booking process and leading up to the wedding, he was very attentive to our wishes and requests and made sure we felt comfortable with his process. We met with him ahead of time, and he was very organized but also very flexible. We had a very specific song list we wanted and he made sure to let us know he would absolutely play those, but also that he could create a great mix based on our music preferences if we wished. So whether you have a very specific song list or would rather have someone do that for you, you are in very good hands! We booked a string trio for our ceremony and cocktail hour, so we only asked for him to do the dinner and dancing, and he was phenomenal! He knew exactly the right moments to introduce people and events and was a fabulous MC, leading people politely and succinctly from entrances, to toasts, to cake cutting and then out to the dance floor for first dance. He also let everyone know when it was last call, when the garter/bouquet toss was going to occur and closed the night with our last song. He brought in all his own equipment, as well as did all the set up and tear down, so it was hassle free for us. We could not have been more pleased with Derek! We highly recommend booking him to any couple hoping to make their wedding a roaring success!
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message