DJ Derek Tobler Reviews

133 | Charlottesville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

133 Reviews for DJ Derek Tobler

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

133

2 User photos

Order by:
  • Mel

    Mel E · Married on 07/24/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome DJ

    Derek was awesome! He was super nice and easy to work with, and put together the perfect playlist for our wedding. He included all of our requests, and filled in the gaps with the best assortment of music. He was also a great emcee to ensure all parts of the night went according to schedule. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 07/26/2020
  • Megan

    Megan Rudd · Married on 01/10/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream dj!

    We found DJ Derek Tobler through our venue & I am so thankful! We unfortunately booked last minute but he was so quick & efficient with all phone calls & emails! He was so helpful, answered all my questions within a timely manner, and very professional! Our reception was the best time EVER, because of him! Our guests loved him, he truly brought the party!!! We got married in January and people are still telling us how much fun they had! Highly recommend this DJ!!! Thanks so much, Derek!!!

    Sent on 06/30/2020
  • Courtney

    Courtney Fredrickson · Married on 11/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Music!

    Derek did such a great job with our music for our wedding! We didn't give him much guidance but he was able to read the room and get people dancing. We come from two different cultures and have different music tastes but Derek was able to blend the two together in a way that definitely felt like it was OUR wedding rather than cookie cutter wedding music. He was also able to add uplighting for a very reasonable amount! Thank you Derek!

    Sent on 12/08/2019
  • V

    Victoria Chan · Married on 10/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best DJ you can find

    I'm not sure what else I can say about Derek Tobler that hasn't already been said in all of this 5 star reviews here. Every good thing said about him is absolutely true.

    I reached out to Derek to DJ my Oct 2019 wedding, and he was very quick to respond. Right off the bat, he was super chill and friendly. I already felt less stress just by talking to him. We had a call with him a couple of weeks before the wedding so he could get a feel for what kind of music we’d like. We really only gave him the basic answers (first dance song, father daughter song, etc), but he immediately knew what kind of crowd we would have based on our personalities and what not. He handled all of our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception music. He was on point with everything. All the music was on time, and there were absolutely no snags.

    The reception was a hit. Seriously, every song was perfect. I say this without any sort of exaggeration, our dance floor was never empty. He kept guests dancing all night. I cannot recommend Derek Tobler enough.

    Sent on 11/14/2019
  • J

    Jake Rush · Married on 10/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Innovative, fun, professional. Dance floor full all night.

    Derek was excellent in every way. He helped us do a silent disco at our venue for the first time, which our guests loved. He choreograph our first dance to a unique song. He made an awesome playlist that kept everyone dancing and that appealed to people with diverse music tastes. He seamlessly emceed, making all announcements and keeping important moments (like speeches and cake-cutting) on schedule. He was also flexible, at one point shifting the order of events to get everyone dancing sooner. And he effortlessly coordinated with other vendors, such as our planner, to ensure he had a minute-by-minute plan for the night. Best of all, Derek gave candid advice whenever we asked for it based on his experience and expertise and was a joy to work with.

    Sent on 10/28/2019
  • Lauren

    Lauren Ortiz · Married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't have good taste in music, but Derek made a good night of dancing despite it!

    Derek is beyond the average wedding DJ. He is truly thoughtful and talented.

    He honored an entire Spotify playlist that was mismatched, random, and cliche. Against all odds, he made it fun. Not only that but he creatively used songs that I was interested in to transition people between dances and toasts. I do not necessarily remember every song he played, but I remember thinking, "WOW! What a great time to play this song." (It was a time we were waiting for people to transition in for the father daughter-dance, and he played a Heaven by the Walkmen, which was a request.)

    He does not belittle your music requests, but enhances them with his own. He was such a great vendor, and I cannot recommend him enough.

    Sent on 12/28/2019
  • Emily

    Emily · Married on 05/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dancing it up All Night!

    Derek was our DJ for our June wedding at the Market at Grelen. He did such a wonderful job throughout our wedding day. Derek was easy to talk to about the details leading up to our big day. He kept everyone dancing during our reception and transitioned different parts of the night very smoothly. Derek goes so far and beyond to make you sure you feel comfortable and are having a blast on your wedding day. We are SO happy and grateful we were able to have him as our wedding DJ

    Sent on 08/13/2019
  • Morgan and Tommy

    Morgan · Married on 03/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our dance floor was full the entire night!!!

    People are still talking about our wedding and a big reason is Derek!! He is the best DJ we could’ve hoped for. Derek spent time getting to know us and what we wanted. After meeting with him we had no doubt that the music would be amazing. We had very specific music for our ceremony and everything went off without a hitch. Same for our reception. Derek read the room perfectly and our dance floor was full the entire night!! Even some of the staff of the venue came up to us and said that our wedding had the best music. All thanks to Derek!!
    If you want your wedding to be unforgettable, DJ Tobler is the way to go!!!

    Sent on 05/31/2019
  • A

    Abbey Donahue · Married on 03/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ!!!

    DJ Tobler was by far one of the best decisions we made for our wedding! He was kind, respectful, professional, punctual, and organized. He kept people on the dance floor all night, and completely catered to the bride and groom. He thoroughly helped with the planning process and was quick to respond to every question. Working with Derek was an absolute pleasure, and our guests continue to rave about him to this day! He created a fun and energetic atmosphere and made the day completely stress-free. We highly recommend him to anyone looking for the ideal DJ for their big day!

    Sent on 05/14/2019
  • Amanda

    Amanda Eisner · Married on 11/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing DJ

    Derek was so great at our wedding - he had the crowd, both young and old, on the dance floor all night and all of our family and friends were raving about how much fun they had for days after the wedding! Derek was a huge player in keeping the evening running smoothly, which we greatly appreciated. Also, even though we had a string quartet during the ceremony, Derek helped out SO much with sound, making sure ourselves and our rabbi were heard by all.

    I also wanted to mention that Derek was so easy to work with during the planning process. He listened to all of our requests, cut our first dance song perfectly, and helped us choose the perfect last dance!

    I HIGHLY recommend DJ Tobler to anyone and everyone!

    Sent on 11/09/2018
  • Lauren

    Lauren · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ!!!

    DJ Tobler is the BEST!! We are so thankful he was available for our big day. He plays only the best music that keeps the party going. He was so easy to work with, really helpful with song choices, and always very quick to respond. I would highly recommend him for any event. We thoroughly enjoyed working with him and our wedding wouldn't have been the same without him.
    He also offers dance lessons, which I HIGHLY recommend. We had a wonderful first dance and our guests couldn't stop talking about it. We are so thankful and happy we did the dance lesson because he taught us how to dance and we now have dance moves that will always remind of us our first dance.
    Thank you DJ Tobler for making our evening smooth and giving us memories that will last a lifetime. You are simply the best!!!!!!

    Sent on 10/20/2018
  • Paige

    Paige Taylor · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent, professional DJ

    Derek was fantastic! We planned our wedding out of state and he made the process so easy. He was very responsive to our requests and guided us through the process of planning the music for the entire wedding. We ended up just giving him guidelines for the reception and he did a phenomenal job. A great mix of music that had everyone dancing! Would highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/23/2018
  • A

    Adam · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have only great things to say about Derek. He was phenomenal to work with. From our first meeting, Derek was engaging and offered great suggestions about the playlist. On the day of, he was responsive to last minute changes (including bad weather) and played an amazing set of songs. Several friends told us after the wedding that they'd wanted to sit down during the reception but never got the chance to because there was never a bad song. Thank you, Derek, for your amazing work.

    Sent on 09/22/2018
  • E

    Ella · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    when you are planning a party, you know that you absolutely want to be sure you have great music to keep the atmosphere energetic and to get people moving, and a wedding reception is no exception. If you are looking for someone who will make sure to play the music you love and balance that with keeping your guests entertained and moving on the dance floor, you need look no further then Derek Tobler! My husband and I cannot say enough good things about his wedding DJ skills! During the booking process and leading up to the wedding, he was very attentive to our wishes and requests and made sure we felt comfortable with his process. We met with him ahead of time, and he was very organized but also very flexible. We had a very specific song list we wanted and he made sure to let us know he would absolutely play those, but also that he could create a great mix based on our music preferences if we wished. So whether you have a very specific song list or would rather have someone do that for you, you are in very good hands! We booked a string trio for our ceremony and cocktail hour, so we only asked for him to do the dinner and dancing, and he was phenomenal! He knew exactly the right moments to introduce people and events and was a fabulous MC, leading people politely and succinctly from entrances, to toasts, to cake cutting and then out to the dance floor for first dance. He also let everyone know when it was last call, when the garter/bouquet toss was going to occur and closed the night with our last song. He brought in all his own equipment, as well as did all the set up and tear down, so it was hassle free for us. We could not have been more pleased with Derek! We highly recommend booking him to any couple hoping to make their wedding a roaring success!

    Sent on 09/04/2018
  • C

    Cassandra · Married on 06/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was simply amazing for our wedding! We had a multi-cultural wedding with many guests from Spain, and he just knew how to keep the party going! He was extremely easy to work with, easy going, fun, and professional, and we couldn't be happier. I, for one, did not want the party to end, and everyone at our wedding was dancing all night long! We are so happy with Derek, and highly recommend him as our DJ!

    Sent on 07/07/2018
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was recommended to by our caterer, Harvest Moon. They raved about how great he was and especially how easy it was to work with him. Naturally, we love taking recommendations but in reading the other positive reviews online it really sealed the deal! Derek truly is the best in the area – he made us feel comfortable and genuinely showed an interest in the style of our wedding in order to perfectly match the music we liked. We received so many complements from guests on how much they enjoyed Derek! We were told when we first started wedding planning that the DJ is the MC for the night and a great DJ will keep the flow of the evening – Derek exceeded our expectations. Highly recommended and worth every penny!!

    Sent on 06/29/2018
  • L

    Lois · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek Tobler performed superbly in providing the sound and music for my daughter's wedding. He was so incredibly easy to work with (especially with dealing with rain plans, which required flexibility and speed to respond to changing weather). The sound during the ceremony (under a tent with 230 people) was flawless. Everyone could hear the vows. I totally understand why he has the reputation for being the best in Charlottesville. I never had to worry about a single thing.

    Sent on 05/30/2018
  • P

    Patty · Married on 01/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have asked for any more from Derek at my daughter's wedding reception. He was prompt, courteous, fun and just overall the best DJ I have experienced at a wedding. Highly recommended.

    Sent on 01/19/2018
  • K

    Karol · Married on 12/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was amazing! We had quite a mix of people in our wedding. We varied ages and varied languages, however Derek was able to get LITERALLY everyone on the dance floor. He was on time, courteous, incredibly attentive with the timing and he made sure the party went on for as long as possible. The part we loved the most was that he even got on the dance floor to help us with some songs. He was a great MC! I will definitely recommend him.

    Sent on 02/09/2018
  • J

    Jill · Married on 11/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was an amazing DJ! We had tons of compliments for all of our guests about how he appealed to all ages and types of guests. We could not have been more pleased!!

    Sent on 11/24/2017
  • E

    Erin · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek helped make our wedding the best party ever! I've had so many people tell me during and after the wedding how great the DJ was and how he did such a good job playing songs that got all generations up and moving. He also helped make the day run smoothly with the mics for the ceremony, finding a Billy Joel instrumental track for my family to make up a silly song to, & he was so patient before the wedding as I kept changing my mind on what songs to play in the ceremony!

    Sent on 01/08/2018
  • J

    Jocelyn · Married on 10/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Worth every penny, without a doubt - Derek had to set up in two separate areas at King Family Vineyard: (1) outdoor wedding on the lawn, and (2) indoor reception in the hall. In both cases, the sound was clear and flawless - we were worried, based on weddings in other states, that the sound for the outdoor wedding would be a challenge. Instead, it was clear and unobtrusive.

    The reception, moreover, went smoothly thanks to Derek's professional guidance throughout. He deftly helped with transitions, toasts, cake cutting, etc - always in the right place with the mic but never the center of attention.

    The dancing (and the music, of course) was a HUGE hit. He got a playlist from the bride and groom, and simply let us enjoy the evening. He worked well with the photography team and the wedding coordinators. A real pro, would definitely hire him again.

    Sent on 11/11/2017
  • MrsBeetoBe

    Meghan · Married on 10/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don't hesitate when choosing Derek as your DJ because he was easily one of the best choices we made for our wedding. Leading up the wedding, he was easy to get a hold of and great to work with. He even handled last second changes with complete ease and left me completely worry free the entire day. Derek followed through on every promise including playing our songs exactly as we wanted, allowing our guests to hear the ceremony clearly through the use of microphones, and perfectly feeling the crowd to keep everyone dancing all night long. Derek is everything you could ever ask for in a DJ and we're so happy we chose him.

    Sent on 10/19/2017
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 10/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Derek Tobler brought down the house with the music selection, MC'ing, monogram spotlight, flow of the night and great equipment. My wife and I's musical taste would not be considered Top 40. DJ Tobler worked with us to craft a selection of music that appealed to our tastes and the those of our guests. From #1 singles to obscure B-Side hidden gems, DJ Tobler was able and willing to help find us the right songs for all of our most memorable moments. DJ Tobler kept the party going, made amazing intros for the bridal party, played classic rock; all the while being extremely professional, curtious and helpful. My wife and I would highly recommend DJ Tobler for any wedding or event. No matter what your musical proclivity may or may not be, DJ Tobler will find the right mix or music, energy and structure to keep the party rolling!

    Sent on 02/20/2018
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was the first vendor I booked because I knew I wanted the best. Hiring him was such a good call. The entire wedding ran seamlessly (because he was a fantastic MC) and people were on the dance floor the entire night (which is exactly what I requested). He listened to our requests, but then also got a feel for a crowd and produced an awesome soundtrack. He also was able to edit our first dance song for us. Stop looking and call Derek immediately.

    Sent on 10/30/2017