DJ Derek Tobler Reviews

124 | Charlottesville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

124 Reviews for DJ Derek Tobler

Recommended by 100%

124
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

1 User photo

DJ Derek Tobler 1
Sort by:
  • Amanda

    Amanda Eisner · Married on 11/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing DJ

    Derek was so great at our wedding - he had the crowd, both young and old, on the dance floor all night and all of our family and friends were raving about how much fun they had for days after the wedding! Derek was a huge player in keeping the evening running smoothly, which we greatly appreciated. Also, even though we had a string quartet during the ceremony, Derek helped out SO much with sound, making sure ourselves and our rabbi were heard by all.

    I also wanted to mention that Derek was so easy to work with during the planning process. He listened to all of our requests, cut our first dance song perfectly, and helped us choose the perfect last dance!

    I HIGHLY recommend DJ Tobler to anyone and everyone!

  • Lauren

    Lauren · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ!!!

    DJ Tobler is the BEST!! We are so thankful he was available for our big day. He plays only the best music that keeps the party going. He was so easy to work with, really helpful with song choices, and always very quick to respond. I would highly recommend him for any event. We thoroughly enjoyed working with him and our wedding wouldn't have been the same without him.
    He also offers dance lessons, which I HIGHLY recommend. We had a wonderful first dance and our guests couldn't stop talking about it. We are so thankful and happy we did the dance lesson because he taught us how to dance and we now have dance moves that will always remind of us our first dance.
    Thank you DJ Tobler for making our evening smooth and giving us memories that will last a lifetime. You are simply the best!!!!!!

  • Paige

    Paige Taylor · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent, professional DJ

    Derek was fantastic! We planned our wedding out of state and he made the process so easy. He was very responsive to our requests and guided us through the process of planning the music for the entire wedding. We ended up just giving him guidelines for the reception and he did a phenomenal job. A great mix of music that had everyone dancing! Would highly recommend!

  • A

    Adam · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have only great things to say about Derek. He was phenomenal to work with. From our first meeting, Derek was engaging and offered great suggestions about the playlist. On the day of, he was responsive to last minute changes (including bad weather) and played an amazing set of songs. Several friends told us after the wedding that they'd wanted to sit down during the reception but never got the chance to because there was never a bad song. Thank you, Derek, for your amazing work.

  • E

    Ella · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    when you are planning a party, you know that you absolutely want to be sure you have great music to keep the atmosphere energetic and to get people moving, and a wedding reception is no exception. If you are looking for someone who will make sure to play the music you love and balance that with keeping your guests entertained and moving on the dance floor, you need look no further then Derek Tobler! My husband and I cannot say enough good things about his wedding DJ skills! During the booking process and leading up to the wedding, he was very attentive to our wishes and requests and made sure we felt comfortable with his process. We met with him ahead of time, and he was very organized but also very flexible. We had a very specific song list we wanted and he made sure to let us know he would absolutely play those, but also that he could create a great mix based on our music preferences if we wished. So whether you have a very specific song list or would rather have someone do that for you, you are in very good hands! We booked a string trio for our ceremony and cocktail hour, so we only asked for him to do the dinner and dancing, and he was phenomenal! He knew exactly the right moments to introduce people and events and was a fabulous MC, leading people politely and succinctly from entrances, to toasts, to cake cutting and then out to the dance floor for first dance. He also let everyone know when it was last call, when the garter/bouquet toss was going to occur and closed the night with our last song. He brought in all his own equipment, as well as did all the set up and tear down, so it was hassle free for us. We could not have been more pleased with Derek! We highly recommend booking him to any couple hoping to make their wedding a roaring success!

  • C

    Cassandra · Married on 06/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was simply amazing for our wedding! We had a multi-cultural wedding with many guests from Spain, and he just knew how to keep the party going! He was extremely easy to work with, easy going, fun, and professional, and we couldn't be happier. I, for one, did not want the party to end, and everyone at our wedding was dancing all night long! We are so happy with Derek, and highly recommend him as our DJ!

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was recommended to by our caterer, Harvest Moon. They raved about how great he was and especially how easy it was to work with him. Naturally, we love taking recommendations but in reading the other positive reviews online it really sealed the deal! Derek truly is the best in the area – he made us feel comfortable and genuinely showed an interest in the style of our wedding in order to perfectly match the music we liked. We received so many complements from guests on how much they enjoyed Derek! We were told when we first started wedding planning that the DJ is the MC for the night and a great DJ will keep the flow of the evening – Derek exceeded our expectations. Highly recommended and worth every penny!!

    DJ Derek Tobler 2
  • L

    Lois · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek Tobler performed superbly in providing the sound and music for my daughter's wedding. He was so incredibly easy to work with (especially with dealing with rain plans, which required flexibility and speed to respond to changing weather). The sound during the ceremony (under a tent with 230 people) was flawless. Everyone could hear the vows. I totally understand why he has the reputation for being the best in Charlottesville. I never had to worry about a single thing.

  • P

    Patty · Married on 01/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have asked for any more from Derek at my daughter's wedding reception. He was prompt, courteous, fun and just overall the best DJ I have experienced at a wedding. Highly recommended.

  • K

    Karol · Married on 12/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was amazing! We had quite a mix of people in our wedding. We varied ages and varied languages, however Derek was able to get LITERALLY everyone on the dance floor. He was on time, courteous, incredibly attentive with the timing and he made sure the party went on for as long as possible. The part we loved the most was that he even got on the dance floor to help us with some songs. He was a great MC! I will definitely recommend him.

  • J

    Jill · Married on 11/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was an amazing DJ! We had tons of compliments for all of our guests about how he appealed to all ages and types of guests. We could not have been more pleased!!

  • E

    Erin · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek helped make our wedding the best party ever! I've had so many people tell me during and after the wedding how great the DJ was and how he did such a good job playing songs that got all generations up and moving. He also helped make the day run smoothly with the mics for the ceremony, finding a Billy Joel instrumental track for my family to make up a silly song to, & he was so patient before the wedding as I kept changing my mind on what songs to play in the ceremony!

  • J

    Jocelyn · Married on 10/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Worth every penny, without a doubt - Derek had to set up in two separate areas at King Family Vineyard: (1) outdoor wedding on the lawn, and (2) indoor reception in the hall. In both cases, the sound was clear and flawless - we were worried, based on weddings in other states, that the sound for the outdoor wedding would be a challenge. Instead, it was clear and unobtrusive.

    The reception, moreover, went smoothly thanks to Derek's professional guidance throughout. He deftly helped with transitions, toasts, cake cutting, etc - always in the right place with the mic but never the center of attention.

    The dancing (and the music, of course) was a HUGE hit. He got a playlist from the bride and groom, and simply let us enjoy the evening. He worked well with the photography team and the wedding coordinators. A real pro, would definitely hire him again.

  • MrsBeetoBe

    Meghan · Married on 10/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don't hesitate when choosing Derek as your DJ because he was easily one of the best choices we made for our wedding. Leading up the wedding, he was easy to get a hold of and great to work with. He even handled last second changes with complete ease and left me completely worry free the entire day. Derek followed through on every promise including playing our songs exactly as we wanted, allowing our guests to hear the ceremony clearly through the use of microphones, and perfectly feeling the crowd to keep everyone dancing all night long. Derek is everything you could ever ask for in a DJ and we're so happy we chose him.

  • B

    Brittany · Married on 10/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Derek Tobler brought down the house with the music selection, MC'ing, monogram spotlight, flow of the night and great equipment. My wife and I's musical taste would not be considered Top 40. DJ Tobler worked with us to craft a selection of music that appealed to our tastes and the those of our guests. From #1 singles to obscure B-Side hidden gems, DJ Tobler was able and willing to help find us the right songs for all of our most memorable moments. DJ Tobler kept the party going, made amazing intros for the bridal party, played classic rock; all the while being extremely professional, curtious and helpful. My wife and I would highly recommend DJ Tobler for any wedding or event. No matter what your musical proclivity may or may not be, DJ Tobler will find the right mix or music, energy and structure to keep the party rolling!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was the first vendor I booked because I knew I wanted the best. Hiring him was such a good call. The entire wedding ran seamlessly (because he was a fantastic MC) and people were on the dance floor the entire night (which is exactly what I requested). He listened to our requests, but then also got a feel for a crowd and produced an awesome soundtrack. He also was able to edit our first dance song for us. Stop looking and call Derek immediately.

  • C

    Camille · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was fantastic to work with. Not only was he incredibly timely and professional in answering questions and responding to emails, but he was also very helpful and kind. In the weeks leading up to the wedding he took care of any and every detail needed, and on the day of did an incredible job. Our guests loved his presence and music choices, and so did we. Would 10/10 recommend him!

  • H

    Heidi · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek is the best of the best and you will not be disappointed! I've worked with many DJ's over the years, and been to many weddings with sub-par DJ's trying to emcee the event--not the case with Derek. He's top notch and fun, and kept the pace of our reception moving along. Derek considered our playlist 100% and added extras to keep the party hopping. His equipment is also upscale and did not take over the venue. Added bonus was working with him as an awesome dance teacher and his patient coaching with my new hubby as we learned our first dance! Don't hesitate in contacting him--you definitely want Derek's personal touch and experience at your event!

  • B

    Briana · Married on 07/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the first time I emailed Derek requesting information to our last dance on the night of our wedding, he was extremely responsive and professional. Of course my husband and I picked a song on Utube that we fell in love with and insisted be the exact one used for our first dance. Derek was able to make it happen and it sounded great! Throughout the night he incorporated our requests and I never once worried about the music. I highly recommend him!

  • Addison

    Addison · Married on 06/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was one of our favorite vendors we worked with! He had the dance floor perfectly filled from the first song to the end of the night. Several guests have commented to us that they have never seen a DJ so professional and good at making everyone have a great time. He knew exactly what song to play when the time was right without direction from us. Bottom line: Derek's professionalism, sound quality, timing of songs, and ability to keep the dance floor packed were PERFECTION. Derek was SUCH a joy to work with!

  • Mike

    Mike · Married on 05/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was an absolute delight to work with and he made our wedding so much fun! During our first meeting, we knew within 5 minutes that he was "the one" for us! He was easy to talk to, listened to our requests and gave us lots of options and recommendations. He even offered dance lessons!
    We held a few meetings with Derek to discuss our style and requests. We provided him with a basic list of first dance and ceremony selections, along with "must play" songs, and let him take charge of the rest. We had zero reservations about handing over the reigns because he made us feel so confident of his abilities. He was extremely helpful when it came time to make the timeline, giving us ideas on how to keep the party flowing without awkward pauses or down time.
    Derek set up both indoor and outdoor equipment, providing us with music and microphones for the ceremony and his setup was pleasant to the eye, not detracting from the look and decor at all. He arrived with plenty of time to meet with our officiant and get things ready to go. His announcements were great and his voice was perfect! Derek kept the party going and we had a GREAT time. I'm over the moon that we connected with him and highly recommend his services to anyone who will listen!!

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 05/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek is amazing!! He DJed our 5/5/17 wedding. Our wedding date changed and he was super flexible and responsive. Not only did he keep everyone on the dance floor for the big day, but he even let us borrow his truck to drive through the mud and get to the vineyard for pictures. We couldn't have been more happy with our choice to use him!

  • K

    Katherine · Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was an AMAZING DJ! He is a true professional and we were so fortunate to have him as part of our big day! Throughout the planning process, Derek was easy to talk to and made sure everything was perfect for the wedding. He nailed our music choice/requests and our guests couldn't say enough good things about the music for the day. He really understood the vibe we were going for and is truly talented. Every vendor I worked with said how wonderful he was, so I knew before the wedding he would be great, but he really went above and beyond. He was the perfect fit for us. Thank you so much, Derek!!!

  • H

    Hannah · Married on 10/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning my October 2016 Virginia Wedding from Rhode Island wasn't easy. Vendors that were flexible and professional made all the difference. Derek was one of those people. Based on the reviews I fully trusted him at booking. It wasn't until we talked 6 weeks before that wedding that I knew I made the right choice! Derek was incredibly knowledgable, understanding, and decoded my sometimes contradicting opinions on music and agenda. On the day of the wedding he was well versed in what the days events even despite slim to zero direction from the venue. Derek kept everyone dancing all night and made all the difference in harnessing the joy and celebration of the day. We can't thank him enough!

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was a true joy to work with. During the planning process he was extremely helpful in helping us figure out what music we wanted to have and met with us in person to figure out a perfect plan. A few days before the wedding he gave us a dance lesson for our first dance. Everyone was super impressed by our dance moves! We were both very excited to show off our moves and after our lessons with him my husband was interested in doing more!

    Derek was truly amazing throughout the whole night. He did an awesome job mixing in the oldies and the new songs, just like we wanted and he kept the party going! Both our photographer and videographer said to us that they don't usually see that many people on the dance floor all night long and we know that a large part of that was due to Derek! Everyone kept coming up to us after the wedding to tell us how much they enjoyed the music.

    On top of all of that, Derek is just a great person. He is extremely warm and easy to talk to and just overall a very nice guy. Even during the planning process, when other vendors would ask us who we booked for DJ, we would tell them that we had booked Derek and every single one of them said "Oh yes! Derek! He is by far the best! GREAT choice!" This literally happened at least 3-4 times! We HIGHLY recommend Derek as your DJ.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review