DJ D-Mac & Associates Reviews

363 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

363 Reviews for DJ D-Mac & Associates

Recommended by 98%

363
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
363 DJ D-Mac & Associates Reviews
Sort by:
  • J

    Joanna · Married on 06/30/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We're so glad we hired Daryl and his team at DJ D-Mac & Associates, who came highly recommended by our wedding coordinator. Daryl's a total pro, who made the planning process easy, with step-by-step instructions for identifying exactly what we wanted for sound and music on our wedding day (and also lighting and photo booth services). On the day of, Daryl made sure the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception speeches ran smoothly and just the way we had planned, without any glitches or delays. And as for the dancing, which was particularly important to us, Daryl did a spectacular job -- weaving together perfectly chosen hits, ensuring that each song flowed smoothly into the next, and wowing everyone with a light show coordinated to the music. We got a ton of compliments from our guests, many of whom said it was the best DJ'd wedding they'd been to.

  • K

    Keara · Married on 06/09/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had DJ Stylus for our wedding and he was perfect! For our ceremony, he was organized and efficient, made sure the audio was set up with microphones and speakers. For the reception, we had an absolute blast. We had SO many people on the dance floor, including people I would have never expected to be out there - he did a great job arranging songs and including the ones that we requested to be played. We had so many guests tell us how great the DJ was and how much fun they had at our wedding, we definitely recommend DJ Stylus for events!!

  • K

    Kylie · Married on 04/13/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience with Daryle (DJ DMAC) & Steven (DJ Stereo Faith)! When we first began searching for a DJ, we were turned off by many vendors who seemed like cheesy wedding DJs. When we found Daryle & Steven, we realized they were totally different, and more in line with what we were looking for. Steven was willing to share some venues he was playing in DC, so we actually got to scope him out at a club beforehand. I think it was definitely to our advantage to have a DJ who is current and still active in many venues in the area, and isn't just limited to weddings. We had multiple phone calls with Steven before the wedding, which really allowed us to fine-tune exactly what we were looking for from our DJ. When we asked for advice, Steven had really helpful suggestions as far as the flow of the night. The only thing that was less than ideal during the event planning was being made to use Basecamp for communication - you get a lot of redundant emails from this system, and it was annoying to search through every individual thread on the platform to find part of a previous conversation. However, I do understand why they use this system - so all of the information is in one place if a backup DJ needs to step in.

    Steven was very aware of our schedule throughout the wedding reception - we appreciated him prompting us when things were coming up (such as cake cutting and parent dances), and checking in to offer us more time when we fell slightly behind schedule. On top of all of that, Steven absolutely crushed the music for the night! It was a perfect mix of classic songs that get everyone on the dance floor, in addition to some more modern music that we wanted. In addition, Daryle & Steven were flexible and helpful when we wanted to add ceremony sound services just a couple of weeks before the event. Also, their pricing was completely reasonable. We truly had a great time dancing with all of our family and friends, & are so happy we went with DJ Stereo Faith!

  • S

    Sean · Married on 11/03/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    * Daryl was really flexible and easy to work with and in the end helped us out with some tough choices

    * Ty (our DJ) was extremely flexible and put us at ease

    * Our intro meeting with Ty left us feeling extremely confident

    * He had great suggestions about flow & timing

    * He worked with the photographer to coordinate send-off

    * He took whatever blueprint we could come up with for him and filled in all the gaps

    * We got a ton of compliments on the music -- the mix & fun of it, and the fact that the volume was never so loud that people needed to yell over it. The leveling was perfect.

    * He did great editing of our (non-traditional) ceremony music and timed them perfectly

    * If DJ D-Mac has people like Ty, I can't recommend them highly enough

    * He was incredibly warm and personable each time we got to interact with him. He's a genuinely nice person.

    * He was the opposite of a cheesy wedding DJ

    * We could choose which DJ was right for us -- the bios, etc.

    * The lighting was also great. We said we didn't want too much and I think they delivered fun but more subtle lighting.

    * D-Mac uses Basecamp for all communication, which was a bit of overkill.

  • Elizabeth

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/23/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had such a wonderful experience with DJ D-Mac. We had D.J. Rhome and he did an amazing job. Every song we really wanted played only happened when we were in the room. Everyone on this team was incredibly organized and easy to work with.

  • J

    Jacin · Married on 09/16/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We originally spoke to Daryle when booking with DJ D-Mac & Associates and he asked us some great questions to narrow down exactly what we needed even though we’d never hired a DJ before. We decide to book a lighting package too and I can’t imagine our reception without Daryle and Neal there to keep the party going. They kept the dance floor packed all night long and it was awesome to have the LED uplights pulsing to the music while the records were spinning. Our guests had so much fun and were talking for weeks about how great the DJ and lighting was.

    DJ D-Mac & Associates 1
    DJ D-Mac & Associates 2
    DJ D-Mac & Associates 3
    DJ D-Mac & Associates 4
    DJ D-Mac & Associates 5
    DJ D-Mac & Associates 6
    DJ D-Mac & Associates 7
  • D

    DP · Married on 08/19/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't recommend DJ D-Mac and Associates highly enough!! We specifically requested DJ Stylus because we'd heard his global sets around town and knew that he would be able to cover the range of genres we wanted at our wedding. And, DJ Stylus knocked it out the park!! From beginning to end, he had the ENTIRE wedding reception packed on the dance floor the entire evening--even our friends who never dance! Our reception was far and away the best dance party, ever! DJ Stylus created a fun vibe with incredible mashups of oldies with pop hits, to classic sing-a-longs and romantic slow dance songs, from 90s and 00s jams to new grass to dancehall; he even inspired a lively conga line and later a soul train line to Jackson 5! His range and ability to read a crowd is phenonmenal.

    DJ Stylus was responsive and easy to work with throughout the process. He was familiar with our venue and coordinated directly with the event planner for audio set up such that the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception were seamless. He was open to our ideas and respectful our of do-not-play list. Without a doubt, we'd hire DJ Stylus again and add an extra hour!

  • B

    Brittany · Married on 07/29/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy that we booked Daryle of DJ DMac and Associates for our wedding! (He is the owner of the company/ head DJ). He was referred to me by my sister, who happened to attend the wedding of a friend who had hired him as their DJ. My sister raved about how much fun they had and how she loved his music choices, so I was sold. From the beginning Daryle was professional and responsive. We met him once before the wedding, and then had various conversations via Basecamp and email. Basecamp is a really easy to use project management tool that allows you to store all conversations, wedding playlists, samples of songs, etc in one place.

    We gave some direction as far as the "do not play" songs and also the "must play" but other than that we left it up to him. He did a great job at reading the crowd and changing the music based on the vibe of the room. As the bride, I remember looking around and seeing so many people on the dance floor toward the end of the night and it was so exciting!! I had a few comments from friends/family that it was the best wedding dj they had heard.

    Thank you again to Daryle!! I would highly recommend!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/30/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If there is one thing about wedding planning you need to remember, it's to pick really great vendors. Our wedding was such a hit because of the fantastic work of our DJ, Steven. The timeline of our night got a little off but Steven was flexible and when we sped things up a bit, he got the dance floor going SO quickly. Our guests kept talking about how funny it was that as soon as the dance floor opened up, everyone descended immediately. He had the perfect songs for dinner and we loved all the dance music he played. The owner of the company, Daryle, was also a pleasure to work with. He answered all of our questions very quickly and we genuinely enjoyed talking to him on the phone. Thanks for a great wedding!

  • J

    John · Married on 06/17/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience with DJ D-Mac and Associates, who we found through a recommendation by a friend. Daryle was extremely responsive and friendly while we inquiring about DJ options, songs/music, costs, etc., and Neal (aka DJ Neville C) did a fantastic job at our wedding, which took place in a big courtyard at a historic home in downtown DC.

    In particular, we'd loved how flexible everyone was up until the day of the wedding, which was a little hectic because there was a 60% chance of thunderstorms and we didn't know until a few hours beforehand whether it was going to happen outside in the courtyard or inside the home (which would have required multiple DJ setups and different equipment).
    Neal rocked the wedding, with multiple guests coming up to us during and afterwards to say how much they liked the music. I love the fact that Neal uses vinyl, though he was also able to find a couple of special requests though he played through an iPod (I think). Neal also seemed to be having a genuinely good time himself, which was nice to see.

    Overall, I'd definitely recommend these guys as they know how to throw a good party and make sure everyone's having a good time. They're also very reasonably priced!

  • B

    Brittany · Married on 05/20/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with DJ STYLUS was great from the initial interview down to the wedding day. All it took was one interview to know that he was going to be a great fit. He was very professional and knowledgeable and always answered our questions in a timely manner. During the event, there was not one moment where he was not full of energy. Everyone had a blast on the dance floor and commented on how much they loved the music selection, which was very important given the diverse group. We would not hesitate to recommend DJ STYLUS for your event!

  • T

    Tara · Married on 05/13/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are really into music and knew we wanted a DJ for our reception in order to touch on everyone's tastes. To us, music was definitely one of the most important parts of the day. We were referred to DJ D Mac & Assoc by a friend and contacted Daryl who was super organized and really patient with us as we fumbled through the process to figure out who we wanted to work with. We listened to some posted sets and loved DJ M Dot's; we also liked that she has a weekly so would know how to keep the party going. We met with her in person to go over everything - she's smart, calm, friendly, and knew what she was talking about, so we were set. On the day of the wedding, we got sooooooooo many compliments about DJ M Dot - people were on the dance floor the whole night and loved everything she put down! She was awesome at keeping people there by playing stuff they knew, but leaving out overplayed and cheesy stuff - it was perfect! Thanks, Michal!

  • D

    Derek · Married on 04/29/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience with DJ DMac! He made it very easy for us to put together a plan for our DJ services and set us up with one of the DJ's who is part of his group. We ended up working with DJ KC who did an awesome job at our wedding. He worked with us extensively to make sure that he knew the music we wanted and how to MC the reception. His music selection was great; we had numerous guests comment on what a great mix he played, and he kept the dance floor full all night.

  • Wendy

    Wendy · Married on 04/15/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely fantastic! We used Les, one of the DJ's at DJ D-Mac & Associates. She played our wedding reception and was uber responsive and professional. I especially liked that Les requested a list of "must play" and "do not play" songs in advance of our event. This allowed us to hear all of our mandatory songs and prevented any of our "no" songs from playing. I appreciated both Daryle and Les' responsiveness in the weeks and days leading up to our event. Daryle kept everything organized for us in Basecamp, which allowed us to to easily track communication. Les pro-actively reached out to confirm dates/times/venue logistics, etc. She worked with our planner and on-site point of contact to confirm her arrival time and allowed several hours for set up and testing. 5 stars all around!

  • B

    B · Married on 03/31/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ STYLUS made our magical night even more memorable! DJ D-MAC & Associates was professional, prompt and honestly they are the best DJ service in the DMV area.

    DJ Stylus was patient, accommodating and super knowledgeable! We really enjoyed meeting him and discussing the wedding and our style. Music is really important to my husband and I so we picked a broad range of songs for ceremony, cocktail hour and the reception. He knew exactly what we were imagining to set the mood so he added his own mixes and gave us the best song suggestions. It was a blast planning with him through their Basecamp project tool, which is super easy and efficient. Planning for wedding music with DJ Stylus is a memory we'll never forget, and I haven't even mentioned the 15-20 minute montage to Jay-Z that he mixed for us, our guests went wild ;)

    Sent on 05/06/2017

    DJ D-Mac & Associates's reply:

    Good times in Charlottesville! So many Roc diamonds thrown up for the Jay-Z medley. Thanks for having great taste in music, venues and vendors. Made my job easy! - DJ Stylus
  • D

    Dorothy · Married on 03/25/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One issue I tend to have with wedding vendor reviews is that there seems to be grade inflation. Thus 5 star ratings are given out so frequently that it loses meaning. I am trying to provide some context with my review to let other people delineate between different high quality vendors. DJ DMac came highly recommended from Sandra at Clarendon Ballroom, which is where we had our ceremony and reception, and he delivered. We don’t have especially sophisticated taste in music, but knew that the music is key to setting the mood and keeping people on the dancefloor, which was important to us. He also did the lighting, and I think is highly capable of doing more than the relatively basic uplighting package that we got. We had a few phone conversations to talk about how the night would unfold, key moments, and the types of music we wanted. One unique note is that we discussed certain types of ethnic music we wanted during the wedding (special request based on my husband’s heritage) and it seems that DJ DMac called an audible and didn’t play that music during the event. Personally I think DJ DMac notice how successful the music he played was and didn’t want to ruin the vibe. I was personally fine with the audible because it worked in our situation, honestly I admire the chutzpah to be independent and focus on the quality of the wedding than the preferences of the wedding party. Overall I am more pleased with the DJ DMac than any other vendor at the wedding.

    DJ D-Mac & Associates 8
    DJ D-Mac & Associates 9
    DJ D-Mac & Associates 10
    DJ D-Mac & Associates 11
  • C

    Christina · Married on 03/04/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys were great, beginning to end! Daryle was really responsive with getting us quote and following up. And our wedding DJ, Ty, made sure all our guests had a great time! We danced all night long and had a blast at our wedding! They have a very professional system and use tech to their advantage when communicating, so everything is at your fingertips for reference!

  • M

    Mel · Married on 11/20/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We contacted DJ D-Mac because of a wedding I had previously attended and was impressed by the music. Daryle was great and easy to work with and was super responsive with communication. We spoke with Daryle over the phone and after discussing our needs he suggested Les Talusan aka The Pinstriped Rebel. Les did an amazing job DJing our wedding! She is very friendly, very easy to work with, and super responsive with communication. We met in person so she could get a sense of our musical taste, and she also gave great suggestions, not only from a music perspective but also the flow for the evening. After meeting her in person we knew she was the perfect fit for us. During our ceremony our officiant was running a bit late and she was able to improvise and add in a couple of extra songs that fit in perfectly with our selection to stall, and the guests were none the wiser. During the reception there wasn't a moment when people weren't dancing, she played all our favorites as well as some great songs we hadn't even thought of. Everyone kept talking about how awesome she was. Maybe we are being biased because it was our wedding, but of all the weddings we've been to she was by far the most talented DJ. Les also seemed to be having just as much fun DJing as our guests had dancing. Our only regret is that we wish the wedding was longer so we could've danced more! If you want to have the best time at your wedding we highly recommend Les!

  • H

    Heather · Married on 11/19/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend DJ D-Mac and Associates! We used DJ Stereo Faith for DJ services (and lighting) during both the ceremony and reception. While we had some mic issues during the ceremony (which was probably due to high winds anyway) the rest of the wedding went off without a hitch and everyone complimented us on the dance music. DJ Stereo Faith was very helpful in guiding us and making suggestions without being pushy, cheesy or too intense, but also taking the time to ask thoughtful questions and go over everything. Definitely recommend and the lighting really added a lot to the dinner and the dance floor!

  • C

    c · Married on 11/12/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose DJ D-Mac & Associates based on the reviews from WeddingWire.com. We worked with DJ Stylus for our event and it was truly a fantastic experience. We didn't have a playlist and only had a few requests for songs that we wanted played. We put our trust in DJ Stylus to come up with a playlist based on the crowd and flow of the event and he was the absolute perfect fit for our wedding. Everyone had such a great time and danced throughout the entire event. He even had our parents and 90 year old grandfather dancing! DJ Stylus was so friendly, professional and simply great to work with. The music selection was spot on with a excellent mix of current and old school classics, from hip-hop to pop to Frank Sinatra. Our expectations were beyond exceeded and we just couldn't be happier. You can't go wrong with D-Mac & Associates for your party or event, you won't regret having them as your DJ. They are definitely top notch and deserve more than 5 stars! Thank you so much for making our wedding such a blast!

    Sent on 11/14/2016

    DJ D-Mac & Associates's reply:

    We packed a lot of partying into a short time. Nothing says a successful night like grandparents getting turned up! - DJ Stylus
  • T

    Tara · Married on 11/12/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    KC did such an amazing job!! Out of everything involved with planning my wedding, the music was pretty high on the anxiety-causing list - I can be pretty picky about it and was worried about having songs that were too cheesy, too "party-like", too weird for the group, etc.... take it from me that you do NOT need to worry about it if you use KC as your DJ! He chose such a great mix of songs based on the suggestions I gave and I got great feedback from both the young and older crowds. Everyone was happy and found something they were happy to dance along with.

    I had a deviation from the schedule and he was so flexible that it felt like nothing had even changed from the plan. He says just the right amount to keep things flowing smoothly, while also not being the center of attention for the event. He's a really nice person who you feel like is there to help you any way he can and just be part of the fun.

    For the planning, he provides a spreadsheet that is super helpful for planning out the timing and where you can put all your "must have" songs and other things like wording for announcements, etc. It is a great tool. He is also very responsive to messages and phone calls.

    With all that said, I would definitely recommend you book with him for care-free planning and a great party! Thanks for making our night so fun, KC!

  • C

    Cate · Married on 11/05/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used DJ Stylus from DJ DMac & Associates for our wedding at the Hay Adams last Saturday and he was awesome!! The dance floor was packed from the first song to the last! I have never seen anything like it. Everyone raved about the DJ and I even saw my 86 year old grandma tearing up the dance floor. We also used them for uplighting and the room look incredible! I highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/11/2016

    DJ D-Mac & Associates's reply:

    A night with the perfect combination of elegance and folks who were ready to get down. It was a pleasure! - DJ Stylus
  • B

    Barb · Married on 10/15/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    To me, music was one of the most important aspects of our wedding and I was determined to find a good DJ that we felt could deliver the type of music and good time that we wanted on our wedding day. We found DJ D-Mac & Associates through a friend, and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice to work with them. They were super easy to work with, extremely professional, and a great value.

    We worked with DJ Ty Russell, who was absolutely wonderful. We met with him before our wedding where we discussed our music tastes and vision for our wedding. He genuinely listened and made sure to deliver what we wanted. We, and our guests, had a fabulous time! There was never a dull moment on the dance floor, and many of our guests, weeks later, are still sending us notes about how much fun they had dancing at our wedding. It was a pleasure working with DJ D-Mac & Associates and we would work with them in a heartbeat. Thank you so much for making our wedding so special!

  • K

    Kristen · Married on 10/07/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So happy we booked DJ D-Mac & Associates! The planning process was so seamless, we loved meeting with DJ Rusty B and he absolutely killed it at the wedding. He did such an amazing job weaving in our favorite music (amazing mashups) and kept all our guests on the dance floor the entire night. Highly recommend!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review