DJ Cookie Policy Reviews

13 | Boston, MA
See photos, pricing and details

13 Reviews for DJ Cookie Policy

Recommended by 100%

13

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

1 User photo

DJ Cookie Policy 1
Sort by:
  • Z

    Zoe · Married on 11/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    the best part of the wedding

    I will start by saying my mother actually danced at my wedding and I don't think I have ever seen her dance in my life. The music was perfect, the lighting was perfect. I gave Brett a list of songs I liked which he incorporated throughout the night and also kept to the style I requested- I specifically didn't want to only hear top 40's or over-played party music (ie no cha cha slide). He was really able to read the crowd and choose songs to keep everyone going. He kept on schedule, introduced the various speakers, and even accommodated my last minute request to have a few of my friends perform live, making sure the sound system was equipped for that. He also went above and beyond and was able to play both the ceremony and reception music (at two different locations) and set up/broke down twice, without skipping a beat. People actually came up to me later and said that this was the most fun they have ever had at a wedding, that they couldn't remember the last time they danced so much....Anyway, I couldn't have been happier and would recommend Brett a million times over. He posed with us for a couple photos which included here!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My musical soulmate

    Where can I even begin here?
    I guess what made Brett such a great fit for us was our mutual obsession with music- good dance music to be a bit more specific. My husband and I wanted someone who was willing to think outside the box as far as dance music was concerned. We had a non-traditional, black-tie wedding ( no sit down meal, cocktail party style), and while we hired a violin trio as well as a pianist, we wanted to add an epic dance party element to the second half of our event. It was just that, and more. We chose to leave out the usual wedding dancefloor songs because, well, it's expected. (and we can't stand them)
    Brett is organized, efficient, and so effortlessly cool that my husband and I want him to be our lifelong friend. He came to our house a few weeks before the wedding to go over all the details and get a better feel for our expectations for the night. We were on the exact same page.
    Once he started his set, I never left the room. There were some "soul circles" , a serenade from a very drunk bride to her groom, and the night closed out with Mazzy Star's "fade into you". IT WAS MAGIC. Brett trusted that I knew what my guests would dance to, and he pretty much touched on every genre/artist we had gone over with him.
    It was obviously the best night of our lives, and he had so much t do with that! WE LOVE YOU BRETT!

    DJ Cookie Policy 2
  • C

    CC · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brett was GREAT! He tailored the play list to my husband's favorites as requested. He was such a pleasure to work with to set up the arrangement and a joy to finally meet in person. We would ABSOLUTELY use Brett's services again in a heartbeat. He was perfect for the Surprise 40th Birthday Party but I'm sure he'd be fantastic for any event. You can't go wrong with Brett! THANK YOU Brett!

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Cookie Policy (Brett) was absolutely amazing. When we first chatted with him about booking him for our wedding, we got a sense of calm professionalism that we were excited about. As we got closer to the wedding, we worked with him on a more detailed roadmap for the day, and he gave us the tools to help him make sure we'd be happy with the music selections for each phase of the wedding. On the wedding day itself, he managed the setup of the three very different (one of them pretty difficult) locations of the various phases of the ceremony and reception without any issue, hit every cue, nailed every announcement, and during the dancing, played hot track after hot track after hot track. He completely nailed our music taste and seamlessly blended all the tracks together so the entire night felt like a big dance party. This is a DJ whose music catalog and deejay skill matches his professionalism and execution. Legitimately a must-book.

  • K

    Kevin · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brett was the man! My wife & I were married almost a month ago back In June, and chose Cookie Policy to be our DJ almost a year prior to that. We are based in Philly and the wedding was in RI, so communication via email/phone was what we had to settle for, and Brett made everything easy for us. He was calm, cool and professional, and that rubbed off on us during the [sometimes stressful] home stretch towards the big day. Everything went perfectly, the guests loved the music selections, and Brett even accommodated a requested late night pop-punk singalong after the music was supposed to end 15 minutes prior. All made for an unforgettable night! Thanks again!

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are deciding what DJ to use, STOP RIGHT NOW. Your next step is to pick up the phone, call DJ Cookie Policy immediately and pray that Brett is available on your wedding day.

    Our music was one of the most important components of our wedding. Brett was the first vendor we booked and we cannot recommend him enough. His music choices were great, he blended genres seamlessly, and most importantly, he kept everyone dancing all night.

    We seriously want to hire him again and again just so we can throw kick-ass dance parties all the time.

  • A

    Adam · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brett DJ'd our wedding 2 weeks ago at the Hyatt in Cambridge and he did a great job. From our initial contact he was personable and easy to communicate with. We did a face time chat for him to get to know us as a couple and of the 6 DJ's we spoke with, we felt most comfortable with Brett. He had a worksheet that helped us communicate what type of music we wanted and what kind of event we had planned, and it all came off great. He worked with our playlist (which was heavily 80's) and kept the energy up on the dance floor all night. He was also great with our ceremony, first dance and the other moments in the night when we needed someone guiding us through. We felt like he understood us as a couple and that he wanted to make the night fun for us and for our guests. He even accommodated a last minute addition of a jewish wedding song that I sent him 2 days before the wedding. We appreciated that Brett was the type of DJ whose focus was us and the dance floor, not himself (no crazy hats or glitter vests like some wedding dj's we spoke with). We highly recommend him and were very pleased with our choice. We also ordered uplights from him.

  • Gia

    Gia · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so happy to have Brett DJ our wedding and he did a great job! From our first meeting, we knew he was the right DJ for us - he was super responsive via email, easy to talk with regarding music and what we had envisioned for the big day, and kept things extremely organized with his online spreadsheet to help us map out the timeline of events and pick the right songs to go along with them. You can tell he's passionate about music, and was more than willing to accommodate our various requests, ranging from oldies to alt rock to dance music. We were more than confident that he'd be able to set the right vibe throughout the night. We also really appreciated his flexibility - less than a month out from the wedding, we decided that we wanted to have a few uplights set up around our venue, and we were so happy that he was able to make that happen on such short notice. Additionally, there were a few times throughout the night where the course of events got a little off schedule, but Brett was able to adjust on the fly and keep things moving throughout the night. We would definitely recommend him, especially to anyone looking from someone that stands out from the typical wedding DJ.

  • H

    Hannah · Married on 05/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having a good dance party was at the top of our wedding priorities and DJ Cookie Policy kept the party going all night. We hired him for a few reasons: 1) He DJ's at local bars we love (Salon, Local 121) and knows how to mix songs so you have one continuous party mix; 2) His personal taste in music is similar to ours (though he is willing and able to DJ for a wide range of musical tastes); 3) Upon meeting him, it was clear he is professional, organized and responsive; and 4) he was able to provide audio for our wedding ceremony (PA system, mics, music).

    Throughout the planning process he was responsive, kind and organized. He gave us a sheet to complete with our "must plays" and "do not plays" as well as details including out wedding party and timeline of events. During dinner he played great, dinner-appropriate music at a good volume. As soon as it was time for dancing, he got everyone on the dance floor, where they stayed all night. He played a great mix of songs that had everyone from grandma to our younger siblings dancing. We would highly recommend him if you are looking to have a great dance party at our wedding!

  • K

    Kristin · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brett kept our guests on the dance floor all night! He had great suggestions and worked with our requests. It was important to us to have a DJ that was fun and could read the crowd and he did just that. Not only was he fantastic at keeping the party going, Brett was professional and super easy to work with. He responded to us quickly which was helpful to us when planning the wedding from California. We highly recommend Brett and are so happy he was available to be a part of our wedding.

  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a sweetheart!! Brett was such a wonderful DJ to work with for our special day!! He was so willing to work with our style, and provided wonderful advice about the day, and made everything so seamless. We had a family member play music during the ceremony, and he worked with him to make everything work, and provided the PA equipment, and helped set up the area!! His professionalism was so evident, and his willingness to work collaboratively was perfect!! An added bonus, his adorable girlfriend was our photographer!! Such a little dream duo!!

  • G

    Grant · Married on 09/23/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brett is awesome. He's incredibly genuine and passionate about what he does, and I can't recommend him enough based on my wedding experience.

    He reads the crowd and ensures the dance floor is having a good time, and we're still receiving compliments and positive stories about how much fun was had that night. He's extremely flexible and open with communication, and the day/night went off without a hitch.

    It's unfortunate how quickly the night went, but I look forward to crossing paths with Brett again. Just a good, good dude.

  • A

    Adelena · Married on 04/23/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We got married at the Benjamin Franklin Institute of Technology (BFIT) on April 23 of this year. We hired DJ Cookie Policy (Brett Lehrman) as our DJ. For starters, how amazing is that name? We’d be lying if we said it didn’t get our attention. However, Brett is more than a DJ with a cool/funny name. He’s a true professional who truly cares about his craft and making sure that your event is special.

    Leading up to the event, we had several calls and email exchanges with Brett to discuss the event. Brett provided a “roadmap” spreadsheet with all of the essentials: timing, family member names, special songs (entrances, first dance, etc.), and “must play” & “do not play” song lists.

    We also set some expectations for how much he would be involved with announcements (just a few) and crowd work (none, which is exactly what we wanted). Brett picked up on our tastes immediately, and he also read the crowd very well. This was all a MAJOR plus for us.

    On the wedding day, Brett showed up early to set up his equipment, and he even helped set up our uplighting. He also set up a separate speaker in the lobby for cocktail hour music, which allowed a seamless transition from the cocktail hour to the reception.

    The cocktail hour/dinner music was light and pleasant, and as dinner wrapped up, the energy levels were turned up. The dance music started with some oldies/classics that the older crowd could enjoy, and it gradually transitioned into higher energy, more modern party music. The music and dancing only got better as the evening went on. By the end of the night, the dance floor was still full. The party animals were still dancing their hearts out and having an amazing time.

    We are eternally grateful to Brett, because he made our day so, so special. If you’re looking for a DJ who will accommodate to your tastes and go above and beyond to make sure your event is filled with great music and great times, we highly recommend DJ Cookie Policy!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review