DJ Chizzau Reviews

47 | Fairfax, VA
See photos, pricing and details

47 Reviews for DJ Chizzau

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

47

3 User photos

Sort by:
  • Polina

    Polina N. · Married on 06/05/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beyond amazing!

    Chau was great to work with, he was super responsive, extremely personable, accomodating, lively, and caring. The entire process was an easy collaborative effort - he took all my concerns into consideration and addressed all aspects of the day. I am a VERY hands-on person and I felt comfortable enough to hand off all decisions to him. Chau set a great tone for the wedding and hyped up the crowd for key moments. At the end of the night, he even offered to play a few extra songs as the vendors were packing up (and the last guests were leaving) so the night could end on a good note (pun intended). He was very honest with pricing and even took off a charge when he didn't use an extra speaker, I really admire that level of transparency. He will truly make your event special, hire him immediately!

    Sent on 06/09/2021
  • Katrina

    Katrina · Married on 03/06/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome wedding DJ!

    Chau was a pleasure to work with and the perfect fit for our wedding! We hired him for the ceremony, cocktail hour, reception, and even uplighting. He was quickly responsive and very detail oriented. If you're not sure what kind of music to pick for the ceremony he has lots of options to choose from. Plus he was so helpful by answering all the questions we had. Would highly recommend him to anyone. Thanks Chau!!!

    Sent on 04/13/2020
  • Ria

    Ria P. · Married on 02/29/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing wedding DJ!

    DJ Chizzau was incredible! He kept the dance floor at our diverse + multi-generational wedding filled all night long. He managed to entertain requests while knowing what the crowd wanted/needed, and threw a truly wonderful party. We would absolutely hire him again!

    Sent on 03/08/2020
  • T

    Thanh · Married on 10/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ ever!!

    We loved working with Chau! He was so easy to work with and was very flexible! He even provided the uplighting that we needed for the wedding! He was super responsive with emails and always provided us with recommendations or advice when needed! Our guests really enjoyed his work as well! He was able to feel the vibe of the wedding and played music that really got our guests dancing! We would highly recommend Chau to everyone looking for a DJ!

    Sent on 11/15/2019
  • L

    Letta · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVE LOVE LOVE - highly recommend

    I highly recommend this DJ! He asks you with must play songs, do not play songs, and songs for each section of the wedding. He checks with you the schedule and confirming the songs ahead of time to make sure things go smoothly! I really enjoyed his work at my wedding. I sweated so much from dancing! Thank you so much DJ Chizzau! I would highly recommend him to all my friends who are preparing upcoming weddings (and I already did).

    Sent on 09/19/2019
  • Kimie

    Kristina V. · Married on 09/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ideal playlist and DJ

    It's been a month and we wanted to share our amazing experience with Chau.  Fun and good music was part of our top 5 must haves. We did our due diligence, we spoke to and requested multiple recommendations.  We also read through countless online reviews and found Chau to consistently be on top of our must haves! After booking Chau for our event, we found working with him to be completely stress-free!  He was proactive, asked all the right questions (he wanted to ensure the ideal playlist, including our favorite entrance & last song, and how to properly pronounce our parents' names or the introductions) and a perfectionist throughout.  It was clear he was experienced and walked us through many aspects we quite frankly didn’t think of (including timing, ambiance, etc.).  Chau worked tirelessly in his preparation and our evening wouldn’t have been so perfect without his hard work and dedication. We were so confident that he spoke to the venue coordinator without us and discuss the sound system. Thanks Chau for making our wedding day so memorable.  For those interested in a DJ for a wedding (or special event), not only will you (and your guests) enjoy a remarkable experience but you’ll also work alongside a very talented professional.  We definitely recommend! 

    Sent on 10/14/2019
  • Christopher

    Christopher A. · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly Outstanding

    I really cannot praise DJ Chizzau enough. I’ve never encountered a better DJ or and rarely have I met someone more pleasant to work with. He was always quick to respond to my ever changing requests and was able to read the room incredibly well. His ability to blend songs into each other was truly impressive and I had so many guests message me about how great of a DJ he was. I could not be happier with his services.

    Sent on 08/21/2019
  • Yumi

    Yumi · Married on 07/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome DJ

    Chau was amazing to work with. He mixed our two songs that we requested for our first dance seamlessly and it was perfect. We also loved his emceeing. He is so great to work with and super talented. Everyone was dancing all night.

    Sent on 08/04/2019
  • M

    Michael S. · Married on 05/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Music

    DJ Chizzau is absolutely fantastic! We hired him for the audio of the wedding ceremony and to DJ the reception. He made the music selection process very easy by providing examples for each special moment (first dance, cake cutting, etc.). When we realized last minute that we needed a mic and speaker for our ceremony, we asked if he could provide this and he quickly responded that he could. He is extremely professional and responds quickly. As for the reception, WOW he is so good. He can read the room and seamlessly transition between songs. He's great at MCing and taking requests. Our guests were dancing the entire night and many said he is the best DJ they've heard.

    Sent on 06/02/2019
  • User7250306 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic DJ for Weddings or any occasion!

    DJ Chau was amazing at our wedding. He was so nice and easy to work with. Very prepared for all situations. Provided mics and sound for the ceremony, set playlist for cocktail hour and uplighting in addition to standard reception DJing. He worked closely with us to ensure all the songs and styles we wanted were effectively incorporated. Transitions between songs were wonderful. He helped make our wedding special!

    Sent on 06/02/2019
  • C

    Claire · Married on 09/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Chau for our September wedding in Leesburg, and we are so happy we did! Chau was great throughout the whole process. A few months prior to our wedding, Chau sent us an outline to help us organize all of our music, introductions, etc. Once we had all our music, he shared all of the song with us in a Dropbox so we could listen to them and make sure they were right. He also checked in with us a few times closer to the wedding to make sure we were feeling good. The actual wedding was also amazing! Chau arrived early and started setting up. He had all the right equipment, including a lapel mic for our officiant and a handheld mic for our readers during the ceremony. The sound was great! He also had a great set-up for cocktail hour and the reception. When we were running a bit behind schedule, Chau came over and gave us a plan with how to get back on track - and we did! Our crew was dancing the ENTIRE night. We feel really lucky to have found such a great DJ who made the night so fun for us and our guests! Thank you, Chau!!!

    Sent on 09/28/2018
  • M

    Marty · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we began searching for a wedding DJ, we knew that we wanted someone who would be comfortable with a mic while not being cheesy. We wanted someone who would be able to balance accomodating our musical preferences (EDM slant) while also catering to the rest of our guests to keep everyone on the dance floor. Basically, we wanted someone who would be fun, cool, and professional. I was dismayed at how difficult it was to find someone who fit the bill.

    We had a good feeling about Chau the moment we first spoke with him on the phone. We went ahead and booked with him fairly quickly after we first spoke, and he only continued to exceed our expectations with each continued interaction. He was the most responsive vendor we worked with, and answered pretty much every email within hours. We also had no clue what songs we needed to get together, and were vastly relieved when he provided not only a list of songs he needed (e.g. processional, recessional, cake cutting, etc.) but also recommendations for each. When we provided our song selections, we included some songs that were old/unconventional, and were unsure if he'd be able to find them, but none of our selections phased him. We also gave him a list of some songs that we wanted to hear during dancing, and he seamlessly filled in the rest for us to cater to all the different demographics present. He arrived on time, and provided ceremony/cocktail hour/reception music and audio equipment for us, as well as reception MC services and uplighting. Basically, the success of our entire wedding rested on his shoulders, and we were never let down. He kept the night going as our MC, and kept our guests out on the dance floor. A couple of guests were amazed with the fact that Chau was mixing songs and not just playing a playlist, and commented that it was some of the best wedding music they'd ever experienced. All in all, we owe him for a fantastic wedding, and cannot sing his praises enough!

    Sent on 06/29/2018
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Short version: Chau was fun and professional – exactly the mix you want in a DJ and wedding vendor! From the moment we talked to him, we knew we could trust him with our special day – and our instincts were right, because our guests had such a great time on the dance floor!

    Long version: During our video call with Chau, we learned that he had prior experience in clubs and had transitioned into weddings, which we loved because we wanted someone who could read the crowd to keep our guests dancing. He had also worked at the Carnegie Institution for Science before which put us at ease. We hired him through Marquee Artists – we decided to go for uplighting, mics for the ceremony and toasts, and a photo booth through Marquee as well. All were great, but back to Chau:

    I can’t tell you how much we appreciated that throughout the planning process, Chau was super quick to respond to our emails and would check in on us when we didn’t respond to his emails (sorry!!). We would have the tiniest, most random question and Chau would promptly respond. When it came time to send him our specific song selections, the checklist he gave us to fill out really helped us think about the flow of events during the reception.

    Once we picked songs, he sent us mp3s to make sure he had the correct version. His attention to detail was especially appreciated regarding our first dance song - when we described how we wanted it to fade out, he responded quickly with his version that had the timing down perfectly. For the reception, we ended up only providing him with about 10 songs along with a few artists we liked, but that was enough for Chau to understand our taste! We also made a few last-minute changes at the reception, which didn’t faze him at all.

    Chau, you made what can be a stressful process EASY. Your personality and professionalism made us feel comfortable right from the start, and all of our guests had so much fun! Thank you!!!

    Sent on 06/26/2018
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having Chau DJ at our wedding! He was incredibly easy to work with from the get-go--responsive, flexible, and accommodating to our last minute decisions. Our guests said they had a great time dancing the night away to his music. You won't regret booking him. :)

    Sent on 06/11/2018
  • Chloe

    Chloe · Married on 03/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired DJ Chizzau based on the reviews here for our wedding on 3/31/2018 in Fort Belvoir. We are 200% satisfied and are glad we found him! We were behind schedule with many things throughout the wedding planning phase and DJ Chizzau worked patiently with us and made sure everything went smoothly. Seriously we didn't know what we were doing because neither of us planned or involved in any kind of wedding before and having an experienced DJ who knew what to do helped us a lot. It was a perfect wedding. I highly recommend him!

    Sent on 04/06/2018
  • M

    My · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have asked for a better DJ for our wedding day than DJ Chau. Chau was so incredibly easy to work with from start to finish. He truly understands the stresses of wedding planning, so we felt like he always kept us in mind and was very catering during the whole process. On the wedding day, Chau executed beautifully. Our guests danced the night away with his music selections. He kept it classy and professional and only spoke to get the crowd going when he needed to. He didn't ramble on like a lot of the other DJs that we've experience at some other weddings we've been to. His equipment were top-notch, and the sound filled up a huge ballroom nicely. Chau was even able to provide us with amber colored uplighting and dance lights which was a big plus and really added to the ambiance of the event. Chau was so kind and pleasant that after all is said and done, and the wedding is over, we actually miss working with him! You will not be disappointed with DJ Chau for your special day!

    Sent on 11/04/2017
  • V

    Viet · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chau was an awesome DJ to work with! Super friendly, put up with all our last minute song changes, and really killed it with the music and keeping people hyped and on the dance floor. Gave us a great price also. Thank you!

    Sent on 10/31/2017
  • N

    Nos · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ ever and a life saver. I believe one of the major keys that our wedding was so wonderful because of his quality of excellent experience and talent. This was our first wedding so we weren't sure what to do or to expected. Selfishly we even requested if he can be our MC at the last minute and he was like "NO problem!" without a hesitation. Working with Chau was super easy. He guided us thoroughly on every songs for each event. He was our one and only DJ, MC, light Specialist and last but not least, he's our wonderful friend.

    Sent on 11/15/2017
  • P

    Pamela · Married on 06/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband met Chau almost a decade ago through a group of friends in the DMV area. He was also a DJ at a few clubs at the time so when we found out that Chau had recently transitioned to being a wedding DJ, we knew he'd be the perfect fit for our wedding. Working with Chau was a breeze during the entire wedding planning process! He definitely stepped it up on our wedding day and we can't thank him enough for providing the life of the party! We had guests come up to us saying how on point the music was that night.

    Chau was professional about everything and flexible as well. We gave him song requests, last minute song requests, as well as a do-not-play list and he stayed within the limitations of our requests. He also saved us on a last minute wedding day fiasco when we found out that our ceremony audio equipment was not going to make it in time of the start of the ceremony. It was a frustrating last minute situation that we had to deal with, but Chau was so accommodating that he provided us with his own equipment just in time.

    So, go with Chau. His services will not disappoint. His pricing points are very competitive and the value that he brings to the table is definitely worth the cost. He also provides MC'ing services as well as a professional lighting package that worked very well with our venue. Thanks again Chau for making our wedding day a blast!

    Sent on 06/24/2017
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 04/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so glad we went with Chau, he gave great suggestions, was very professional leading up to the wedding and the day-of. We couldn't have asked for an easier day-of arrangement.

    Sent on 11/16/2017
  • Karen

    Karen · Married on 10/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about DJ Chau! We didn't put many restrictions on what music to play, so he was able to really read the crowd and play nonstop awesome tunes that people never stopped dancing to. All the songs flowed into each other seamlessly - I barely sat at all once the dancing started! He always was very prompt in replying to emails, and made planning the reception music super easy. At least two of our guests are going to be reaching out to discuss hiring him for their upcoming events, which is really the best compliment of all! Hire him, you will NOT be disappointed.

    Sent on 10/11/2016
  • J

    Justin · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't recommend DJ Chau highly enough. He was responsive throughout the planning process, very reasonable in his pricing, and fantastic the day of the wedding. Several of our friends and family singled him out specifically for being great at reading the energy of the room and playing great songs. One of my cousins' direct quotes: "I've never been at a wedding where I was so excited for every song that I didn't leave the dance floor for drinks or to catch up with people."

    Planning:
    Planning was a breeze. My wife and I were mostly content to let DJ Chau do his thing. Our parameters were more for general types of music to play at different portions of the evening (lounge and Motown during the cocktail portion, jazzy and lounge stuff during dinner, and top 40-ish dance favorites for the dancing portion). We were more specific about music genres we didn't like and big no-nos (don't transition out of songs after only 1-2 minutes, don't interject with your own commentary). DJ Chau was very understanding as our instructions evolved throughout the process and gave us sample playlists that we could check out in advance.

    Day Of:
    DJ Chau was very professional, well-dressed, was great at helping us stay on time, and of course, was a crowd favorite for his music selection. At one point, a family member asked to give an impromptu speech, which wasn't the kind of curveball my wife and I wanted to deal with in the middle of a reception. But DJ Chau was flexible and great about getting the microphone to the speaker and transitioning the whole portion. He was professional when helping herd guests to different portions of the room for first dance, dinner, etc. and just generally nailed the emceeing portion of things. As for the deejaying, again, I can't say enough about how many compliments we got about his music selection. Everyone had a blast and the dance floor was full the entire night.

    Last Word:
    We can't recommend him more--he simply nailed the event!

    Sent on 09/13/2016
  • L

    Lan · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the best DJ! Chau was easy to work with since day 1. We met twice and he was always quick to respond to our emails. I knew he had great taste in music bc I've heard him spin before. But it was our guests that gave all the compliments about how they loved the music and how much fun they had on the dance floor. He didn't just play songs he mixed them in a way that makes you want to move. We also hired the MC that worked with Chau and that worked out well. These gents make a great team. So glad we chose them for our wedding!

    Sent on 09/26/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Chizzau was the first wedding vendor I booked. He was recommended to me by my cousin. My family is Vietnamese, so having a DJ familiar with Vietnamese music and culture was really helpful. He allows you to completely customize your playlist, which was critical for me because I wanted to have some Vietnamese music during the cocktail hour.

    He is attentive and responsive to all requests. He sets up a dropbox with all of the music that you request so you can go over the actual files. He makes sure to pick "clean" versions of questionable songs if kids/parents will be around. And he totally read the room and was able to keep the party going.

    Also does affordable uplighting if you're not looking to do a ton of decor but want to jazz up the venue a bit. I'm personally more a fan of uplighting anyway, for nighttime ballroom/hotel weddings.

    Would recommend him again in a heartbeat. Thanks Chizzau!

    Sent on 08/03/2016
  • C

    Chuck · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with DJ Chizzau was a pleasure. His communication is clear, friendly and he is quick to respond to questions or concerns. I can dissect my experience with any vendor into three phases: Planning, Day Of, and Post. Chizzau excelled in all three.

    Planning:
    This phase it critical; it's the get-to-know-you, how's-our-communication-going-to-be phase. I talked to several DJs and bands but DJ Chizzau impressed my wife and I with his organized approach for assessing what atmosphere or flow we wanted during each phase of our reception, his flexibility with our busy schedules, and his clear narrative about what we should expect from him during the reception. His approach helped to answer many questions we had about what takes place at a wedding reception and when it happens. My wife and I received previews of our music in advance and when we made a late request for Bollywood music he really came through for us.

    Day Of:
    Exceptional. DJ Chizzau created an amazing playlist out of our eclectic wish list, he was a well-spoken MC, and was perfectly dressed for the evening. He worked alongside our venue coordinator to keep us on schedule. He quietly set up and tore down his equipment without needing anything from us to do so.

    Post:
    We had a very positive experience with DJ Chizzau. He's approachable, friendly and focused when it comes to his work. We even received an email from him after we got back from our honeymoon; that's the kind of attention to detail that goes a long way. I highly recommend him.

    Sent on 12/17/2015