DJ Ceremony Reviews

41 | Jersey City, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

41 Reviews for DJ Ceremony

Recommended by 97%

41
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • D

    Denise · Married on 07/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a fan of DJ Ceremony's 80's events and tribute sets, I was thrilled to hire him as our wedding DJ this weekend. Working with Carlos was one of the best decisions we made when choosing our vendors and the one I was most looking forward to having at the event. We met with Carlos months before the wedding and went over our music preferences. He was incredibly professional and responsive the entire time leading up to the wedding.
    He was there when we arrived at the venue and ready to go. He did an amazing job coming up with the perfect playlist for our big day. I absolutely loved all of his choices and he incorporated a lot of the songs we wanted. Everyone was raving about the music and how he kept the dance floor going all night. He did a great job with introductions and MC-ing the first dance, cake cutting, etc. However, he really just let the music shine - which was exactly what we wanted. I highly recommend him for any event as he is extremely versatile and totally accommodating to any requests that come his way. A pure pleasure to work with!

    Sent on 07/15/2018
  • C

    CLAUDIA · Married on 02/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carlos just DJ'ed at my daughter's wedding, and we were thrilled. He was very responsive to our needs and requests. He was easy to work with and a bargain for what he charges. Carlos even helped us find a pianist for the early part of the evening. I highly recommend him!

    Sent on 03/05/2018
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 02/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with DJ Ceremony was one of the best decisions we made when choosing our vendors for our wedding. From our first email exchange to the end of our wedding night, he went above-and-beyond to help us create the perfect playlist and musical aesthetic we were going for (80's New Wave, lots of Bowie) while keeping everyone dancing. We're still getting compliments and comments from our guests about "our" great musical taste, though my husband and I completely attribute that to DJ Ceremony! Professional, reliable, experienced and just plain cool, DJ Ceremony truly played a major role in helping us achieve our vision and vibe for our wedding. Thank you!

    Sent on 04/01/2018
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Ceremony was awesome! He did amazing job entertaining our guests throughout the evening. He also helped provide equipment for our guest performers during the ceremony and reception. He kept the M.C.'ing to a minimum per our request and was even better at holding off guest requests when they asked for songs from our "do not playlist". He also did a great job of taking our song list and breaking it out into the various phases of the evening (cocktail hour, dinner, dancing, etc.) Once the dancing started, it never stopped! DJ Ceremony did a great job of keeping people out on the dance floor until the very end. We would highly recommend him!

    Sent on 10/31/2017
  • Hilary

    Hilary · Married on 08/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough great things about Carlos. He is extremely professional and strives for perfection. He made sure the music was flowing all night long without any hiccups and our guests keep talking about how much fun they had dancing. He played new songs, fan-favorite dance songs, and all the songs we requested. I didn't have any particular songs in mind for some events such as the garter toss but he chose songs perfectly for those. Carlos is a perfectionist and it shows. We all had an awesome and memorable time. Thanks so much, Carlos!!!

    Sent on 08/20/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I booked DJ Ceremony (Carlos) for our wedding in March. He was great. We met with him to go over all our music preferences and particular artists we wanted played, he liked the same style of music so was very easy to work with. A few months prior to the wedding, I sent over a list of songs we wanted played. He played all the songs from my list. We got so many compliments on the DJ and the music. He went to our venue prior to the wedding to ensure the hookups for the sound worked. He provided the music for our ceremony as well, it was all coordinated perfectly in terms of timing. He was early for the reception, totally professional, totally cool and we would recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ. Thank you Carlos!

    Sent on 04/24/2017
  • M

    melissa · Married on 07/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carlos was great to work with! He played at our wedding not too long ago. We had a blast dancing and we were so happy to see everyone on the dance floor with us. Our guests raved about the awesome playlist. He really listened to what we wanted to hear throughout the evening. Couldn't have asked for a more easy-going, flexible, knowledgable, and professional DJ.

    Sent on 07/18/2016
  • C

    CynthIa · Married on 08/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The DJ was amazing. Everyone at my wedding told my husband and I how we did a good job selecting the DJ. He was professional, he had all of the songs we asked for, and was quick to play the songs people requested.

    Sent on 09/28/2015
  • A

    Ashleigh · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Years ago I had the pleasure of experiencing DJ Ceremony's work while I was photographing a wedding in Brooklyn. I was 'on the clock' yet I couldn't help but dance right along with the guests who, I might add, were ALL on the floor having a blast. When it came time to plan my own wedding he was the first vendor I called and sure enough, he remembered me.

    We met to discuss ideas and he understood exactly what I was looking for and suggested ideas I hadn't thought of. Through the entire process and even up to now, a month after my wedding, DJ Ceremony has been professional, approachable, and endlessly cool. His impeccable taste in music is a total plus too. Duh.

    Sent on 06/11/2015
  • L

    Shrenette · Married on 08/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked DJ Ceremony pretty close to our wedding date.. luckily he was still available. I found him online while searching for someone who had similar musical tastes as we did. Our first meeting with Carlos went well - he had a very calm energy and really listened to our input of music we liked and asked a lot of questions so we could figure out the type of playlist we wanted. He did a really great job on our big day! We had some emergencies that day so unfortunately our reception time got shortened, but he still worked in most of our special requests and knew which were most important. A lot of things were thrown at him last minute and he really held it together and handled them well. He even stayed over a little bit which was really awesome, thank you Carlos!

    Sent on 03/24/2015
  • User4478409 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carlos was professional and very flexible. I provided him with a list of suggested songs for reference and to my surprise he ended up playing a lot of them! Carlos went with the flow and took some song requests from guests. Our party was very intimate and we still managed to dance till our feet hurt:) Thank you, Carlos!

    Sent on 10/16/2014
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carlos just played at my wedding this weekend, and I'm so happy I found him. My guests had a blast at both of our events and people told me they didn't want to leave because they were having so much fun. I played classical, jazz, oldies, and newer hits at my wedding ceremony and reception, so really the whole gamut of musical styles, and it all worked seamlessly thanks to Carlos. I would definitely work with him again if I needed a DJ at another event.

    Thank you Carlos!

    Sent on 07/06/2014
  • User4227581 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It's such a pleasure writing this review for DJ Ceremony. He was a superb DJ for our wedding and we have no hesitations about giving him our highest recommendation. We discovered his website through extensive internet searching, and we immediately felt he'd be a good fit. Just from looking over his list of public events and parties, we could tell that he's both a craftsman and a true musical connoisseur. We geeked out over his love of Indie, Glam Rock, Britpop, and The Pet Shop Boys -- he has a clear, independent, downtown sensibility that's a great antidote to all the corporate DJ outlets with their doppelgänger disc jockeys. We wanted someone who would make our event feel personal and unique. DJ Ceremony didn't disappoint.

    We asked DJ Ceremony for some fairly traditional cocktail hour Jazz and swing standards, some Indie and lesser-known material during dinner, and some gay-friendly club hits and remixes for the dance hour, and he really nailed the whole playlist from beginning to end. He honored our requests for individual songs and for how we wanted the evening to proceed. He used the microphone minimally, and his laid-back presence established a cool atmosphere for all the dance floor excitement that would transpire over the evening.. Our guests danced the night away (I can't think of a moment when the dance floor was empty) and afterwards EVERYONE gave him rave reviews. Both our friends and family members, from across a range of generations, backgrounds, and tastes, said the music was just perfect. He was friendly and professional and stylish from beginning to end. We can't recommend him highly enough. Thanks, DJ Ceremony!

    Sent on 07/06/2014
  • C

    Caitlyn · Married on 01/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I found Carlos after extensive online searching. His professionalism and understanding made us feel super confident that we would have a wonderful wedding. The day of Carlos certainly delivered. He cued music perfectly, even with some untraditional requests, like starting the processional before our kiss, and read the crowd to make sure everyone had a great time dancing into the night. He was wonderful and we had so many guests tell us how exceptional the music was. Carlos is a must for any celebration!

    Sent on 03/10/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 11/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Ceremony helped make our wedding a total blast. We, and our guests were on the dance floor the whole time.

    We met with Carlos several months before the wedding and he took copious notes on our eclectic musical taste (ranging from Talking Heads to Dolly Parton to Le Tigre). Then, on our wedding day, the music we loved magically appeared in a creative and crazily danceable mix that we and our guests are still talking about.

    Carlos was extremely flexible and accommodating. About a week before the wedding, we learned that our ceremony venue (a different venue from our reception) did not have a sound system. Carlos helped us out of this bind by setting up a system at the ceremony & then breaking it down and setting it up at the reception venue. Then, at the reception, when our friends spontaneously organized a wedding schtick (a Jewish tradition where guests perform silly skits for the bride and groom), DJ Ceremony made sure there was an appropriate soundtrack. Finally, he cut off the hora before we collapsed :)

    DJ Ceremony was professional & friendly in all our dealings with him. Even though he is the fun/party part of the wedding, he takes his role seriously & we had utmost confidence in him throughout the process. We'd hire him again in a second!


    Sent on 12/25/2013
  • User3652358 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are thrilled that we chose Carlos to be our wedding DJ ! From our first meeting, we knew we were in great hands. He was warm, passionate about his work, and totally flexible. Carlos was open to any and all suggestions we had (songs we wanted played, special genres, etc.) and wanted to make sure our wedding music truly reflected our tastes. His prices were very reasonable, and he was always quick to respond to e-mails before the wedding. The wedding exceeded our expectations! He and his girlfriend Jessica are an incredibly talented duo. They had our guests up and dancing all night with their awesome music selection. My husband and I loved every song they chose, and were excited each time a new song came on. We also heard from many people how much they loved the music! We would recommend DJ Ceremony to everyone!

    Sent on 11/25/2013
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carlos played a huge role in making our wedding day absolutely perfect. We couldn't be happier with how things went, his professionalism, and his awesome music playlist. He sat down with us very early on and spent a long time discussing our music tastes and the type of atmosphere we wanted at our wedding. He showed up on time and everything went off perfectly- all the while he remained cool, calm and collected. The night wouldn't have been the same if he wasn't at the helm of the DJ table. I would recommend him to anyone.

    Sent on 10/01/2013
  • A

    Angela · Married on 08/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carlos was phenomenal!!!! When we were choosing DJs, I was initially nervous to meet him. From the reviews and his playlists online, it was clear that he had impeccable taste in music. My husband and I wanted our reception to be quirky, and we have a deep love for many corny songs (HINT: "The Devil Went Down to Georgia" was played at our reception). I must admit: I was a little worried that he would make us feel "uncool" for our musical tastes. However, this couldn't have been farther from the truth!!!!

    We knew immediately that he was the perfect choice. After a short meeting, we felt confident that he not only understood our tastes, but that he would help us craft a reception that would make for a memorable night. He even came up with many suggestions that we would have never considered, but that were PERFECT for our night.

    EVERYONE DANCED. They couldn't stop talking about how great the music was. Carlos had a way of weaving songs together to maximize everyone's enjoyment. Nobody could leave the dance floor! He added many songs that weren't on our list, but they were perfect and added an element of surprise even for us. He is a true artist.

    He also did the music for our ceremony!! We blended together two songs, and he handled the transition beautifully. The volume was perfect, and his timing was impeccable.

    On the day of the wedding, he showed up early, set up quickly, and was a pleasure to deal with in every respect. If you are looking for a professional DJ who will read your room and excite your crowd, look no further!!!! We are so thankful that we went with Carlos!!!!!! He made our night perfect.

    Sent on 10/19/2013
  • S

    shawna · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Carlos for our wedding, and he did a fantastic job as our MC/DJ! He really knows how to go with the flow yet keep things on the timeline we discussed. Everyone really enjoyed the music, and he really added to our celebration. I would definitely recommend him.

    Sent on 06/07/2013
  • R

    Roxanna · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carlos was GREAT at our wedding. He was really flexible with the order we wanted to do things, and when he saw our rowdy guests were ready to dance ASAP, he went with it, which resulted in an awesome dance party the whole way through. We got lots of compliments on him from our guests. We'd definitely recommend him!

    Sent on 10/17/2013
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We knew from our first meeting with Carlos that he was exactly what we were looking for in a DJ. Carlos was very knowledgeable and got exactly what we were going for in both the music and the feeling of the wedding. Carlos made great suggestions, especially in regard to ensuring we were able to get all different genereations on the dance floor while staying true to the sound we wanted. Carlos also provided the sound and music for our outdoor ceremony. He did a great job, arriving on time and setting everything up both inside and out without a hitch. Carlos was totally professional and fun to work with. We had SO much fun at our wedding thanks in large part to Carlos!! So many fun memories with friends & family on the dance floor! We couldn't be happier!

    Sent on 11/04/2012
  • B

    Bonnie · Married on 09/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Ceremony was great to deal with. We had a very thorough first meeting where he got to know us and our tastes (which were very similar to his own). He really captured the mood we wanted with all his selections. The wedding was the best night of my life and the music was a huge reason why. I couldn't recommend him any higher! Everyone danced!

    Sent on 09/20/2012
  • J

    Jenkins · Married on 07/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the beginning, Carlos (DJ Ceremony) was friendly, accommodating, and he truly cared about what we wanted. We were wary of the DJ companies that are typically recommended by the venues or other vendors because they tend to be pushy, loud, and sometimes annoying. The last thing we wanted to hear at our wedding was the DJ yelling at people to dance or to "shake their booties" like we heard at the wedding next door to ours. Carlos really gets into the music that he plays, and he creates the playlists with an intelligent and creative passion for music. He also made it clear that he could do whatever we wanted him to do from making announcement or MCing, but we chose to allow his music to speak for him and for our wedding, and it did. If you want traditional music, he can do that well, but we wanted more of an Indie and alternative theme mixed with many of the popular dance and rap songs. No chicken dance or electric slide for us. Thankfully, Carlos meshed perfectly with us from the beginning, and there was literally not one problem the entire time. Thank you DJ Ceremony!

    Sent on 08/10/2012
  • R

    rosa · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Carlos for our wedding solely based on his playlists listed on his website. We liked his sense of appreciation for various genres of music and also got along with him very well. I informed Carlos early on that we would want him to blend (seamlessly) different genres during the night: from indie to pop to classics for the old folks, and he truly delivered. Carlos was an excellent MC as well, and really listened to all of our requests/concerns. Overall, we couldn't have asked for a better Deejay for our wedding and highly recommend his services!

    Sent on 07/03/2012
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 01/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the minute we met Carlos, I knew he would be a great fit for us as our DJ. He has a true process to how he designs the music flow for the night and spent time asking us about our musical tastes and also the general vibe of our wedding guests. He was able to take all that information and boil it down to a few hours of music that kept the dance floor packed from start to finish. We had some very eclectic requests including working in traditional Greek folk dancing, 90’s hip hop, and plenty of music that would keep our overwhelmingly Jersey crowd dancing – not an easy task. He balanced everything perfectly, keeping old (including three 85 year old plus grandmas!) and young alike happy.

    I sent Carlos many many detailed emails in the weeks leading up to the wedding with very specific requests and he was able to juggle all the details.

    Beyond his skills, Carlos is a really nice guy and someone we were happy to entrust such an important part of our wedding to. I would recommend him to anyone.

    Sent on 02/07/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review