Skip to main content
Weddings

DJ Bruce J "I Do" Entertainment and DJ Service Reviews

DJ Bruce J

DJ Bruce J "I Do" Entertainment and DJ Service

Kitty Hawk, NC
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 104 Reviews
View more information

104 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 104
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

15 User photos

  • Rachel
    Rachel C. Married on 04/09/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience!

    DJ Bruce was incredible! Communication was great throughout the entire process. Bruce was super flexible in rescheduling our May wedding due to COVID and we are so grateful for that. He was able to find the exact versions of the songs I wanted during the ceremony and the music sounded beautiful and exactly how I had chosen it to be. The wedding party introductions went great after Bruce took the time to learn the pronunciations of everyone in the bridal party. DJ Bruce played each song that I had requested, and all of the guests had a blast. The music throughout the whole evening was exactly what we wanted, and everyone was up dancing all night. Definitely recommend!
  • Whitney
    Whitney K. Married on 04/08/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Bruce is the best!

    When looking for vendors for our wedding, Bruce was one of the first people I contacted. He was very quick to respond and was wonderful to work with through the process of planning the music for our day! Bruce went above and beyond to make sure that he had the versions of each song we requested for every moment of the ceremony and reception. He was also great about a last minute change of set up location due to the possibility of rain. Everything was taken care of without any added stress which was wonderful!! Also, the music was a hit from start to finish. Bruce played the songs that we requested but our guests loved that they could make requests as well. We asked some of our guests who are getting married soon if they learned anything to focus on when they are planning and they replied how important the music was to have everyone on the dance floor. To say that Bruce and his playlist were a hit would definitely be an understatement!
  • E
    Eileen T. Married on 10/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    He turned up the party!

    DJ BRUCE didn’t play one bag song! He listened to all our our requests, took requests during the wedding, and stayed away from our Do Not Play list. Everyone was on the dance floor all night long!
  • Alex
    Alex Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best DJ and Experience

    DJ Bruce provided amazing songs outside of the ones specifically requested. He gave the party exactly what they wanted! He is amazing, so thank you to DJ Bruce!
  • Jessica
    Jessica Married on 09/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great service!

    He was very easy to communicate with and played exactly what we wanted! It was a great experience and we would hire him again!
    Thank you!
  • Nicole
    Nicole M. Married on 07/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome party!

    We knew we loved DJ Bruce the minute we met him - he was SO patient with us even with some last minute changes and he did the best job with our reception. We were specific about a lot of music then wanted him to handle a lot of the party and he was PERFECT! Highly recommend!!!
  • Alyxandra
    Alyxandra M. Married on 05/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Book Bruce Now!

    We found DJ Bruce on The Knot while searching for wedding DJs for our 2021 Outer Banks wedding. From the very beginning DJ Bruce was very professional and responded to all of our communications in a timely manner. Bruce made everything from the contract, to submission of payments, to selection of our music a very seamless process. We submitted our music selection about a month prior to the wedding. From our selections, DJ Bruce was able to understand the musical vibe we were going for and he was on point all night! We received many compliments from family and friends about how amazing the playlist was which was no surprise as the dance floor was crowded all night! Two friends told us they made a decision to leave the dance floor to go to the bar whenever a "boring" song came on that they didn't want to dance to... song after song was a hit and they had to force themselves off of the dance floor for a refreshment! Being that this was a destination wedding for us, we unfortunately didn’t get a chance to meet DJ Bruce in person until a few minutes before he introduced us at the reception, but he could not have been kinder. The ceremony music also went off without a hitch and contributed to there not being a dry eye on the beach! Overall, there is not one bad thing we could say about Bruce as a DJ or human being. He played a tremendous role in making our wedding day truly unforgettable and we would highly recommend him to anyone looking to get married in The Outer Banks.
  • N
    Natalie H. Married on 05/22/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect night!

    Dj Bruce was the perfect Dj for us, he helped choose the songs for the reception since we love so many and couldn’t choose and all of our guests couldn’t stop talking about it! Thank you Bruce!
  • J
    Jenna C. Married on 04/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect DJ for wedding on the beach!

    We met bruce at the OBX wedding show back in early 2020 and quickly knew we wanted to book him for our wedding! He is very kind, affordable and offers a great service. The fact he offer mics for the ceremony is a game changer. Since our ceremony was on the beach the wind + noise was a concern but having our officiant micd up made sure all of our guests could hear the ceremony and actually be a part of it! There was a wedding next door the day after us and they did not have the same setup so you could not hear a single word. He is a reliable vendor that works hard and our gusts danced all night! Definitely recommend booking with him!
  • Destany
    Destany Married on 04/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Everybody was dancing all night long!!

    Working with DJ Bruce was absolutely wonderful. He made sure I felt assured that everything would run smoothly while we were going over the plans, and when the day came he surpassed all expectations! The ceremony ran perfectly and the reception music was so so good! Everyone raved about the mixes and how everyone was up and dancing all night long! So so happy we decided to work with DJ Bruce and will recommend him to anyone considering getting married in OBX! it was a dream come true :) thank you Bruce!!
  • Carleen
    Carleen D. Married on 04/23/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best DJ for our dream day!

    I wish we could have DJ Bruce at every single event, no matter the occasion - his knowledge, expertise, kindness, attention to detail, communication, and humor all made him fabulous to work with and truly helped make our wedding as wonderful as it was! We are still getting compliments from our family and friends about what a great job he did during both the ceremony and reception. He kept the ceremony music flowing effortlessly for the guests while they awaited us walking down the aisle, then transitioned to keeping the party rockin' all night long during the cocktail hour and reception. I don't think there was ever a moment where someone wasn't on the dance floor! His wireless services were a must-have for us since our ceremony was up on the beach, and the sound through both the speakers and mic were so clear, even with the windy weather. He was so accommodating to our music choices that we wanted played and was the perfect announcer for our wedding party introductions. It was the best day of my life and we all had an absolute blast - thank you Bruce for being a part of our big day and making it so special!!!
  • Ashley
    Ashley T. Married on 04/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect DJ

    DJ Bruce was on point with all his cues and played great music. Had a great attitude and we enjoyed working with him!
  • K
    Kelly H. Married on 11/07/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    DJ Bruce is who you need at your wedding

    Dj Bruce did such an excellent job with our wedding! He personalized all of the music perfectly and did such a great job with the timing. We had to do a lot of last minute changes due to COVID and he was extremely flexible. I would definitely recommend him for your event!
  • K
    Kelly S. Married on 10/02/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The most fun DJ!

    DJ Bruce was incredible for our wedding day. He did music for our ceremony, and the rest of the evening. We didn't have a lot of specific songs that we wanted played, so I just provided him with some artists and styles we liked and he did an amazing job of playing music we loved that kept everyone dancing. If you are getting married in the OBX, you need DJ Bruce!
  • Caitlin
    Caitlin S. Married on 09/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing DJ!

    DJ Bruce was so awesome, and made our wedding great!
    My now husband is a DJ so selecting someone we really liked was no easy feat. He was so great to work with from start to finish and our guests danced the night away! We would recommend him 10000000/10 !!!
  • Alyssa
    Alyssa T. Married on 05/05/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Five stars is not enough!

    DJ Bruce was an absolutely perfect DJ for our wedding day! He was professional, accessible during the planning process, and so nice! He took the time to learn the pronunciations of our family/bridal party names so introductions went smoothly, he had no trouble finding the song we wanted for our first dance, he played EXACTLY the music we wanted during dinner, and he TRULY got the party going with his reception music! He is a genius! Our guests were dancing all night long thanks to DJ Bruce!
  • Carrie
    Carrie B. Married on 11/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dj of l-o-v-e

    DJ Bruce made our night and kept everyone on the dance floor and in party mode. He KNOWS how to read a crowd - everyone had the best time. From talking through our likes and dislikes, working through the little details that mean everything, and accommodating our Plan B shuffle during the Nor'Easter that kept us inside, DJ Bruce was a pro. He is very highly recommended by other vendors and we know why. I cannot imagine our magical reception without him! Thank you, Bruce!
  • Theresa
    Theresa Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Choice!

    DJ Bruce was so fun to work with. He really took the time to get to know me and my groom. He can definitely read a crowd and keep the party going. Thank you for everything, Bruce!
  • Gabrielle
    Gabrielle S. Married on 09/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome DJ!!

    We all know DJs can make or break your reception... and we are so happy we choose DJ Bruce! Our guests raved about how great he was! He took the time to learn about our guests and be custom to the room. His selections were perfect for our ceremony and reception!
  • Sara
    Sara Married on 08/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Kept the Party Going

    DJ Bruce was an absolute joy to work with from the planning stages all the way through the reception! The dance party never stopped and he didn't miss a single special request. Cannot recommend him enough for anyone wanting outstanding service!
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 06/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Wedding Experience

    DJ Bruce was the absolute best decision we could have made. Our guests to this day still talk about how fun the dance floor was at our wedding and how they've never seen so many people on the dance floor all night! We owe all that to DJ Bruce for keeping the night going. From start to finish, DJ Bruce kept us informed and provided us with a questionnaire so that he knew exactly how we wanted our wedding day and reception to go. We couldn't thank him enough and wish we could do it all over again. Thank you!!

    The Pandak's
  • Alexis
    Alexis H. Married on 05/30/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Music

    DJ Bruce was the best choice we could have made! Our guests danced all night long! He was very accommodating to songs that our guests requested ahead of time! It was so much fun to see each guest get so excited when their song came on. Hire him! You will not be disappointed!
  • Fran
    Fran Married on 05/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So much fun!

    DJ Bruce was so laidback, yet professional at the same time! He played all of our requested songs at the perfect times, and he even allowed my husband (who works in music business) to try out DJing for the first time! We had so much fun, and even though none of were great dancers, that didn’t stop us!
  • Erica
    Erica Married on 05/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceptional DJ!

    DJ Bruce was awesome! He was organized, helpful and all the music went just how we hoped! He played songs that we wanted, but that also kept us and all our guests dancing. Would definitely recommend him to anyone getting married in the Outer Banks. May 10 of this year was a special day, but it wouldn't have been the same without a great DJ! We are so pleased!
  • Erica
    Erica Married on 11/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Play List for Our Wedding

    We hired DJ Bruce for our Nov. wedding at Jennette's Pier. We provided him with some "must plays" and some "do not plays", but were pretty stuck when it came to cocktail hour and dinner. We had 105 guests with a a huge variety of taste in music, and everyone was up on the dance floor from the minute dancing began. We had so many people compliment us on what a great time they had and how good the music was.

    DJ Bruce is professional, responsive, willing to answer any questions, and able to read a room and tell what music will get them up and dancing! He was one of the best parts of our wedding!