Dirt Flowers Reviews

12 | Dallas, TX
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for Dirt Flowers

Recommended by 90% of couples

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.2

Awards

12

1 User photo

Dirt Flowers 1
Order by:
  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DIRT is amazing! Every single arrangement they create it beautiful but unique. Their product looks just a little different than everything else you see at a wedding and that's what we loved about them most. They are great to communicate with and are happy to make changes and edit plans up until the last minute. They executed everything beautifully and our wedding ceremony and reception was simply glowing due to their perfect touches! Highly recommend for events, gifts, and everything else!

    Sent on 11/08/2017
  • R

    Raelene · Married on 10/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sonya and her team at DIRT is by far the greatest in the Dallas -Ft. Worth area......very professional and so creative - no comparison to anyone around. She and her team were so professional, on time, available for consultations and overall the greatest florist out there......you will not be disappointed with her creativeness and ability to put it all together from start to finish and in between you have a great connection with her and her entire staff......Chris, her husband does the photography and he also is outstanding.....a great team and a great business. 100% and then some satisfied...

    Sent on 10/13/2017
  • A

    Andrew · Married on 02/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DIRT provided beautiful, unique centerpieces in addition to an absolutely stunning bridal bouquet. They knew exactly the look we were going for, and knocked it out of the park. Everyone at the wedding was complimenting the arrangements, and the flowers contributed to an unforgettable atmosphere. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 04/01/2017
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about the work Sonya and the folks at Dirt did for us. I met with 7-8 florists, and I felt that Sonya really understood what I was going for more than any of the rest. It still felt like a bit of a gamble going in, since their initial estimate didn't include nearly as many floral details as the others did (I have a little trouble letting go of control of that sort of thing). Kyra was in touch with me throughout the lead-up to the wedding. She was always easy to work with and got back to me quickly. Dirt also agreed to additional services, like picking up the flowers after the reception and delivering them to a family member's house (there was an additional fee, but it was fair, and allowed us to use the same flowers for the brunch the following morning).

    When we got to the wedding day, Dirt's work exceeded anything I could have imagined. All of the arrangements were incredible. Each centerpiece, corsage, and boutonniere was unique (a big part of the reason we went with Dirt). Sonya absolutely understood what I was looking for, and took it to another level.

    Sent on 12/14/2013
  • User2172828 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They do EVERYTHING HERE! From flowers to custom invitations (which I did). The staff are super helpful and Sonya (owner) can create just about anything you ask of her. She did my flowers, invites, programs, "here comes the bride" batter seating chart and card holder. They are AMAZING.

    Sent on 09/12/2012
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 12/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sonya is a creative genius! We wanted a woodsy, warm feel for our wedding and she made it happen beyond our wildest expectations. The centerpieces were creative and unique -- comprised of mismatched candlesticks, branch bouquets, hanging candles, tree stumps, and lanterns. At our first meeting I walked in with very general (probably too vague to be helpful) thoughts on decor, and she filled in the gaps to create a stunning wintery, but warm ambiance. Her background is in set design, so she has a sweet way of "setting" a room to the themes you're imagining. She's also got a very creative eye and mind -- pushing the limits (in the best of senses!) to create ANYTHING but cookie cutter decor. We were extremely impressed and extremely grateful. Thanks, Sonya!

    Sent on 01/17/2012
  • M

    Mellissa · Married on 09/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely love DIRT's work. I love that Sonya "got" me. She understood that I wanted rustic meets modern and that I wanted plants in recycled cans as my centerpieces. I actually didn't want flowers at all but I saw Sonya's bouquet on the cover of D Magazine and absolutely feel in love with that bouquet of red hypericum berries, peonies, and roses. She was able to almost replicate the bouquet (using coral colored garden roses and peach colored roses instead). I loved Sonya's vision and her team did an exceptional job with the centerpieces. There was a mixture of different types of green plants from ferns to succulents with succulent blooms and different tables had varying height from little tree stumps and scattered with some arranged stones. The effect was elegant and rustic at the same time. I couldn't have been happier with the result because I know (from multiple interviews) that no other florist could have carried off this like Sonya and her team from DIRT. Thank you so much and I am really looking forward to the pictures! Also, I love that I was able to keep some of my plants and have them growing in my home for years to come!

    Regarding Sonya's responsiveness, I personally met with Sonya once and the other correspondences were handled via email (my preferred method of communication). Response was fairly quick.

    Sent on 09/07/2011
  • K

    K Rod · Married on 07/26/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Beautiful Cake Flowers

    I learned about Dirt Flowers from Cretia’s Eatery & Bake Shoppe. I wanted flowers for the cake that I wanted for my wedding. I showed them a picture of what I desired, and they provided me with a quote. When I returned to get the flowers, the quote remained the same; however, it wasn’t shared with me that I need to order the specific flowers I wanted. No fear however, they were able to provide an arrangement that was just as eloquent as the originals. My cake was absolutely beautiful. They service was great, and they were willing to work with me.

    Dirt Flowers 2
    Sent on 09/03/2019
  • N

    Nora · Married on 10/22/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dirt provided unique arrangements for the tables and exquisite bouquets for the bridal party.

    Sent on 10/27/2011
  • M

    Melissia · Married on 11/10/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply beautiful! Sonya was an amazing help! I would recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 11/26/2012
  • R

    Rachael · Married on 07/16/2011

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    I had a really hard time reviewing this vendor. Sonya, the owner, is amazing as what she does. My flowers/decor was perfect for my wedding. That being said, the customer service it lacking. Sonya is very creative and great with that side of the business, but not so much with the business side of it. She would average 2 weeks to respond to an email. Eventually she had her Mom be her assistant to help out with how busy she is, but her Mom pretty much made excuses for no one returning my calls or emails. I added a couple of things to my order about a month before the wedding. I met with her on a Wednesday and she said she would have the final amount to me on Sunday. A couple of weeks went by and I never heard from her. I emailed, but she didn't respond. Then when I final payment was due she emailed me telling me so (even though I didn't know how much it should be) and she said she would get it to me that weekend. A week and a half before the wedding I tried emailing or calling every day, but no one would get back to me. Finally, the Tuesday before my wedding, her Mom picked up the phone and said that Sonya would get back to me later. When they called back with the amount an hour later I said I would be coming by to make my payment and drop off what part of the centerpieces would be going in. Her Mom's repsonse was, "Well, Sonya is REALLY busy and I am not sure if she has time....". I tried to explain that I didn't even need to see Sonya and I just wanted to pay them money! Anyways, their work is amazing, but I hope they get someone other than her Mother to work with the customers because she thinks Sonya's time is more important than the bride's.

    Sent on 08/04/2011
  • JULIANNA

    JULIANNA · Married on 01/12/2019

    1.2
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Save your sanity

    Went to Dirt after reading all these great reviews. One swaying review was a woman who said she was on a budget and was amazed with the size and quality of the arrangement they made on her small budget for her reception tables. My story was not amazing service, size, or prices though.

    I met with them in person, emailed them several photos of types of blooms, ferns, and flowers. One of the 20 or so photos was three large leaves flat on the table with flower scattered. The reason I put that photo in there is I would be great to set a vase on top of the flat leaves instead of on top of a mirror. I explained the venue had super tall ceilings and height was important, I New blooms costed more so I told them I wanted Greenery to save money but maybe one or two flowers to add some color with the green. I expressed all my ideas and thoughts; I told them I love asymmetry and that every reception table could have a different arrangement. I told them I trust them do a good job because that is why they are in business right!? A floral arrangement business should know what they are doing. The girl was very agreeable and said she understood. She told me she could work Winston a budget and could do all the things I wanted but I may need a little bit more budget.... So I trusted her and added $30 per table arrangment. Overall, she left me feeling very confident in their capabilities, Or so I thought....

    Well, it was Friday before the wedding day. My wedding planner showed me a photo of what the arrangements would look like.... and it was picture of three flat leaves with flowers sprinkles on it. No height at ALL. We immediately called Dirt and spoke to the same girl I had met with in August in person at the shop. She kept speaking in circles and was very long winded. As a young Artistic person myself I respect other young artists.... but this time she sounded like she didn’t really know what she was doing or how to simply listen to a fully paid customer.

    I knew I had to be very very specific at this point to get something that wouldn’t look stupid, and was able to help balance the tall cathedral ceiling space. First of all, I do not understand how ONE photo from all the others in the email, the one that was flat, was the one they chose to base the entire arrangement on! I told her on the phone: “What we need is a tall arrangement. how about this... a tall clear vase with greenery that sprays out and up to add more height and width, if you have already bought the tropical leaves then put them on the table.” She said that would cost more if I wanted vases and blooms and blah blah blah.... we argued that we are not paying anymore and to do what they can.

    wedding day:
    Planner was at the venue at 10 am to accept the floral delivery from Dirt Flowers. But what happened was no one showed up at 10, 10:30, etc. and My planner was calling frantically but they kept telling her the driver was on his way. The driver did not arrive until about 11:10 am. He told her that the office staff had directed him to take his order to the church not the reception! Geez, how many times did we go over this plan? They have had this order since last August/September yet they still were clueless the day before about what design they were creating for the centerpieces. And then after text and verbal reminders to them of what was to be delivered and where, they still screwed up on wedding day.

    So My lovely wedding planner, after screaming at them where to take the arrenements, was at the venue frantically putting out the flowers and moss (which had to be separated from big slabs of moss, not neatly cut into strips), and trying not to get dirt all over the tables/floor. At noon she left and flew down the highway and arrived at the church just before 1:00 pm for the wedding ceremony.

    So on Monday, My planner called and complained to the owner (who has been totally unavailable for months) and she explained that there had been staff turnover, that she was sorry, and that she would get to the bottom of why there was such confusion. She also asked how they could "make it right." I suggested Some refund but instead, they delivered a floral bouquet to the house and gave me a $200 credit to get more of their flowers.... The arrangements did not include any flowers.... or look anything like I had given as examples. Partial Refund would have been much more appropriate.

    Bottom line: Save your sanity, and your bang for your buck. Find somewhere else.

    Sent on 02/02/2019

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review