Devil's Food Catering Reviews

21 | Portland, OR
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for Devil's Food Catering

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

21

6 User photos

Order by:
  • Sarah

    Sarah G. · Married on 12/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best food and drink ever!

    Devil's Food created the most amazing food that our guests are still talking about! Dan was so wonderful to work with and took our vision and made it even better than we could have imagined. I highly recommend Devil's Food, they made our day absolutely perfect!

    Sent on 02/20/2020
  • A

    Arti · Married on 08/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    High Quality Catering

    Devil's Food catered our wedding in August 2019. Having excellent food was at the top of my list of wedding priorities, and Devil's Food was recommended by my wedding coordinator as being the best in the biz. We went on a few other tastings and Devil's Food was definitely a cut above the rest. We worked with James (who now owns the company) and he is truly one of the kindest and most professional wedding vendors we worked with. Our marriage is a fusion of American and Indian cultures, so it was important to us that our wedding food also reflected that. James came up with such a creative menu that showcased Indian flavors and spices while still being familiar and accessible to all of our guests. In the months leading up to the wedding, James was kind enough to invite us in for additional tastings to make sure that we liked the dishes he came up with. The food on our wedding day was somehow more delicious than we even remembered it from our tastings...and that's after being cooked for 150 people!! Our guests are still raving about the zatar crusted lamb chops! We also did our bar service thru Devil's Food and are so happy we did. Our signature cocktails were so delicious, they served wine tableside during dinner for even more personalized service, and James went out of his way to order certain whiskeys that I knew our guests would enjoy. I cannot say enough good things about our experience working with Devil's Food. They made this aspect of wedding planning so easy and enjoyable. If you want high quality catering that is customized to your needs, innovative and delicious, Devil's Food is the way to go.

    Sent on 09/19/2019
  • Rachel

    Rachel B. · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Every guest said it was the best wedding food ever!!!

    We had an amazing experience with Devil's Food Catering. From the start James really listened to what we wanted and came up with a very personalized menu for us. The tasting was fantastic, and the food at the wedding was amazing!! So many of our guests told us it was some of the best food they had ever had. They were easy to work with, professional, fairly priced, and delicious!!!

    Sent on 08/05/2019
  • Cayla

    Cayla · Married on 07/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible food and easy planning!

    We worked with James and he was incredible. He was so easy to work with and made the planning process seamless. We loved being able to personalize our menu and feel like he was great in terms of working with our budget. Devil's Food was the best value for our budget and the food was unforgettable. (Try the polenta, our guests couldn't stop talking about it!).

    I highly recommend them if you don't want to worry about service or quality the day of your wedding.

    Thank you again for everything!
    xoxo
    The Horenstein Crew

    Sent on 09/07/2019
  • Heather

    Heather G. · Married on 07/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious, fun, and easy to work with

    Devil’s Food is simply the best, specifically Dan! He was so knowledgeable and knew the answers to all of our questions (and concerns). Their presentation (including the tasting) is so professional and on point, and it really illustrates their best-in-class service. All of the food was delicious and so many of our guests commented on how good it was. They also have so many interesting and unique options, and they were able to seamlessly pull off “family-style” dining, which is not an easy feat. Dan was so responsive and pleasant to work with, and he want out of his way to accommodate any requests we had. He even stayed late on the day of the wedding to be there for our arrival! Highly recommend - they are definitely the best!

    Sent on 09/09/2019
  • J

    Judie · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our venue provided a short list of approved caterers from which to choose. We set appointments to do two tastings. When we had the tasting at Devil's Food we were blown away by how fabulous each menu item was. Not only that, but the tasting appointment itself was ideal- we were set up in a private dining room at their offices, served wine, and presented with some of the options we'd previously discussed - from appetizers to a light dessert. We were left to enjoy and discuss our impressions amongst ourselves as the meal progressed. My husband and I, (FOB & MOB) as well as the bride and groom LOVED it all! Fast forward to the wedding last Saturday: everything was perfect- delicious food and drinks, impeccable service, and amazing clean up after the reception. I have heard from so many friends that this was the best wedding food they have ever eaten, and maybe the best meal anywhere, ever! Lots of compliments on the appetizers, especially the Pakoras, and on the beef entree. (Our guests were amazed that the beef was perfectly prepared and served for about 170). And so many have mentioned the incredible service. All I can say is that it was everything we'd hoped for and dreamed of. Devil's Food is the best choice for any catering occasion! I want another party just to enjoy their food and service!

    Sent on 09/27/2018
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Devil's Food Catering for our wedding! Our initial tasting was fun, delicious and beautiful! Dan took the time to create a menu full of everything we wanted. All of the guests loved the food! Dan was easy to work with and extremely diligent and hard working. The staff did an amazing job setting up and cleaning up the event. I could not be more pleased with Devil's Food Catering!

    Sent on 06/19/2018
  • T

    Taylor · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked specifically with Dan and he was awesome! He did a great job with walking us through the potential menu to explaining how everything would work logistically. Dan was also there on the day of the wedding and it was very comforting knowing he was in charge. Not to mention the food was phenomenal (pics attached). There was a good selection of different appetizers we could go with that were seasonally relevant and guest were able to choose between salmon, steak, and vegetarian for dinner. Hands down would recommend for any event, and especially a wedding!

    Sent on 01/11/2018
  • A

    Alissa · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Devil's Food was wonderful. We chose them off the 'preferred caterers' list at our venue (Lewis & Clark) and are so glad we did. They put together a gourmet Taco Bar menu for us, and we both agreed that it was the best wedding food we have ever had! It had something for everyone, from our paleo guests to gluten free vegans to kids to folks who like to eat a lot of food. We bought our own alcohol and paid DF a corkage fee to serve it for us. Their staff was easy to work with leading up to the event, and their servers and bar tenders were so thoughtful and friendly. They were the biggest expense of our wedding, but very much worth it for excellent food and great service. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 10/01/2017
  • J

    James · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Devil's Food was on point and nailed every detail, even with the tricky venue. All the guests at our wedding, still to this day, can't stop complimenting the food. Their menu is top notch, with local flavors and seasonal options. Dan was amazing. Super easy to work with, extremely knowledgable, and provides great suggestions. During the wedding the team was always smiling, working hard, and very professional despite it being 80+ degrees and having to work with a big space. Thank you Devil's Food for such an awesome experience!!

    Sent on 11/08/2017
  • C

    Catherine · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are SO glad we had Devil's Food cater our wedding! James was wonderful to work with and the food was exceptional. Everyone raved about it!

    Sent on 09/08/2016
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 03/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a wedding planner, planning my own wedding was quiet the task. When it came time for my husband and I to select our caterer, we knew we had to have Devil’s Food. I have had the pleasure of working with Devil’s Food for many years now on behalf of my clients. I have always recommended them as they have exceptional food, amazing service and help make a wedding run smooth. When it came time for my own wedding, my expectations were exceeded. In working with James he designed a wonderful menu that featured local purveyors, he made recommendations as to where we could think outside of the box and in the end, made the food for our wedding a memorable piece.

    I knew they would do a wonderful job, but what I did not realize is how they handled everything with such grace and ease. We had a pretty large wedding but this did not stop them from making sure each guest felt like a VIP guest. After our wedding we heard from numerous people raving about the food, drinks and service. Devil’s Food helped make it all possible and I can’t recommend them enough!

    Sent on 12/16/2016
  • User4307707 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What more can I say - DFC was amazing. The food was fantastic, the staff were overwhelmingly helpful and kind. Our guests were blown away by their mac-n-cheese bar (who doesn't love mac topped with bacon, pesto, and caramelized onions??) James, the manager, was so accommodating and full of great ideas. DFC catered both our rehearsal and our wedding day and we highly recommend them to EVERYONE!

    Sent on 08/18/2015
  • A

    Alondra · Married on 12/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James from Devil's Food is great to work with! During our tasting he really stood out to us because not only was the food we sampled AMAZING but he was not pushy and seemed to genuinely care about our wedding day. We were looking for food that was "regular people friendly," by this we mean food our family could recognize, but still delicious! Devil's food was just that! People raved about the food---including all the main courses and even the brussel sprouts! Who raves about brussel sprouts?! If you have the ones from Devil's Food you will! Throughout the whole process James was wonderful to work with---he was through and responded quickly. He was also incredibly helpful at getting our design of the room to the art museum, where the wedding was held. I know I made this a bit harder for him by not wanting the tables set up beforehand and out during the ceremony, but he didn't make me feel about it and and was very accommodating and flexible---i really appreciated this. I would highly recommend working with Devil's Food for your wedding if you want solid delicious food!!!!

    Sent on 01/14/2014
  • User3578476 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with James was so fun, and the food was top notch

    Sent on 10/03/2013
  • A

    Amber · Married on 07/03/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Charles and his team catered a wonderful cocktail-style reception for our wedding. The food was delicious, beautifully presented, and their service was seamless. I would highly recommend Devil's Food to anyone who wants perfection in their caterer. We met in person with him twice to get ideas and review the menu. He was very responsive to our requests (vegan, vegetarian, and low sodium dishes), and he really listened and understood what we wanted the food and reception to be. Highly recommended.

    Sent on 08/10/2010
  • Jonquil

    Jonquil · Married on 05/28/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We highly recommend using Devils Food and would use them again in a heart beat. James was lovely to work with and incredibly responsive. During the tasting process their food was far and away the best we tasted. They provided top notch service and support throughout the entire process. Their menu was locally/seasonally oriented and approachable while also being very elegant and classy. We have received universal compliments from family and friends! Devils was also incredibly flexible on the day of the wedding. They were not the most affordable caterer we researched but we are so glad we went with them because of the service and quality of the food. Thank you!!

    Sent on 06/11/2017
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 09/28/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys are so so worth it. James was a really great guy to work with and the food was really really good; we are still hearing raves about how good the food was weeks later. The quality of service and product with these guys is top notch. If I ever cater a big event again, I'm going to contact these guys. They can be a little slow to cash checks and respond to e-mails during their busy season, which is perfectly understandable.

    Sent on 10/16/2014
  • User2704518 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got so many compliments on our dinner and drinks at our wedding. Devil's Food was great. The only reason I gave 3.5 stars on responsiveness was because it often took several emails to get a response back. However, they were always professional and ready to help with whatever they could. They even took down and stored our centerpieces for us! They were flexible with our budget and provided excellent service on our day.

    Sent on 11/10/2013
  • A

    Anna · Married on 08/31/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was delicious, consistent, and unique. We had chicken and waffles and a macaroni and cheese bar, as well as charcuterie and cheese for appetizers. Everyone raved. We paid good money for it, but compared to other reputable full service caterers in Portland I felt like we got a very good value. The staff was a pleasure to work with as well.

    Sent on 10/05/2013
  • User4746126 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Devil's Food is great! We wished they would have offered us samples of their food initally, but as it turns out, their food is as amazing as they described it. They were patient with us, as we worked with a limited budget and changed our mind a few different times. On the big day, the caterers and staff were very friendly, professional and on top of things. Our friends & family are still raving about the food! We also liked that Devils Food used compostable cups, napkins, etc.

    Sent on 11/25/2015