Dennis Kwan Photography Reviews

45 | Los Angeles, CA
See photos, pricing and details

45 Reviews for Dennis Kwan Photography

Recommended by 100%

45
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • R

    Russell · Married on 02/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I could not love our wedding photos by Dennis Kwan any more than we do! Dennis has a special gift for capturing everyone at their best and for making you feel completely at ease. He makes sure to get everything--he doesn't miss a single important beat. As far as wedding planning goes he is a "must-have!" You will congratulate yourself for making a stellar decision by hiring him.

    Sent on 08/29/2017
  • J

    JoJo · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm so happy I got to be a DK bride! Dennis came to Nashville for our rehearsal dinner and wedding. He caught the most memorable moments during our speeches at our rehearsal dinner and priceless photos of our special day. He helped my camera shy husband come out of his shell and actually smile! Not the creepy fake one, but his genuine smile. Dennis captured our true happiness on that special day. He always managed to pop up at the right moment, my dad and I practicing our first dance, my maid of honor and her mom getting their makeup done, moments you know happen at every wedding but aren't always captured. He even made the pictures of our food and decor something I want to frame in our home. He is always snapping, and the candids are priceless, of course someone nearly 7 ft tall on the dance floor has the best vantage point! (another plus for him!) We extended our reception past his contract time but he still came out for our sendoff in his pajamas! Dennis has the most wonderful smile its easy to smile back at him and forget you're being photographed. The time I spent with him I really felt like a bridal model and I truly looked like one in the pictures he took. He has such an amazing eye for everything. If he's available, HIRE HIM! Dennis, if you read this, we love you soy much! Thanks for everything!!!!

    Sent on 10/30/2016
  • R

    Renee · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis is truly the ultimate photographer. He is incredibly talented, very professional, with a warm, friendly fun personality! He captured our June wedding at The Breakers in Palm Beach so perfectly! He and his team leveraged all aspects of this gorgeous property easily transitioning from multiple inside and outside locations. Always at the right place and right time to beautifully capture our special moments, but never intrusive which is both unique and quite amazing given his 6ft 5" height! Dennis is highly regarded in the industry, and was recommended to us by our amazing wedding planner Tracy Taylor Ward, who only works with the best. Dennis is is one of a kind...

    Sent on 10/30/2016
  • J

    Julia · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly Fantastic!

    Immediately upon meeting Dennis – we knew he was the one! Not only does he have an incredible eye, impeccable style, and a knack for unique photos; most importantly, Dennis is someone you just want to be around! (This was crucial, as I do not have a good poker face, if I’m uncomfortable there is no hiding it)!

    We were so confidant in Dennis we hired him to do our engagement shoot and entire wedding weekend.

    For our engagement shoot he went out of his way to shoot us at two separate times/locations – early morning in Bryant Park (where we had a first date) and late afternoon in Brooklyn Heights (where we now live). To top it off it was pouring while we were in Bryant Park; Dennis acted as though there wasn’t a cloud in the sky (and as though he wasn’t completely soaking wet). His professionalism during this day showed through in some incredible photos!

    For our wedding, Dennis was by our side the entire weekend in Bridgehampton, NY – from showing up early to photograph our rehearsal through to our day after brunch. Our whole bridal party (including my mother) fell in love with him – it was as though he was just a guest with a camera. He truly captured the essence of our big day, from the littlest details to awesome shots of all our guests on the dance floor.

    We are still having a hard time picking our favorite photographs – we didn’t know we could look this good! ;)

    Sent on 10/30/2016
  • C

    Cara · event on 10/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis Kwan is the best of the best. From start to finish, everything was impeccable. Dennis is an amazing photographer and took the most magnificent photos. He was able to help my husband and I feel relaxed and take photos that really felt like us and showcased both our love for each other and our personalities. We shot in several locations, and along the way he found additional spots where we got particularly great shots. When I got the photos, I simply could not choose among my favorites - they were all so different and so fabulous. I could not be happier with the entire experience. I would absolutely recommend!!

    Sent on 10/23/2015
  • User5182897 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis is unbelievably talented!! We felt completely confident with Dennis as our photographer and that feeling was so reassuring and calming. He truly knows how to capture the most unique moments of love, happiness, laughter & sincerity throughout your wedding weekend. Dennis is so great at directing the bridal party and families when taking pictures and makes it easy, efficient & fun. I'm so impressed with his unique ability to capture the perfect lighting in every photo. Dennis has the perfect balance of shooting the romantic and traditional photos, but also makes sure to capture the artistic, fun & unexpected moments. Simply stunning work - I will cherish these photos forever. They exceeded our expectations.

    Sent on 10/29/2015
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love Dennis! We had him photograph our small family wedding on Oct 3, 2015, then had him photograph our big celebration with friends the following weekend. Dennis brought just as much energy and excitement and spontaneity for the actual wedding as he did for the party. The photos were the envy of my friends, who said they wish they had Dennis shoot their weddings. Dennis is professional and calm throughout any bumps in the road (we had a few - our ceremony and photos took place outside, during a nor'easter on the beach in Long Island) and rolled with the punches throughout. One of his photos of us ended up in Huffington Posts' weddings section, as "an incredible shot in horrible weather" :)

    Sent on 01/18/2016
  • B

    Beth · Married on 08/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best photog in the history of wedding photographers. I think his numerous 5 star reviews speak for itself but Dennis was the best person to work with. You really want to pick someone stellar like Dennis to capture moments that you will remember forever after the wedding is over. The engagement shoot turned out stunning and he made our awkwardness translate into gorgeous photos. Dennis has a real eye for finding amazing spots to photograph in. The day of the wedding, Dennis showed up early and spent all day making sure to capture all the moments and got some fantastic shots! Wow! He was really patient when a bunch of drunk people hounded him for photos at the end of the night! Dennis is also really funny, kind, and makes even a terrible photo taker feel comfortable in front of the camera. Thanks so much, highly recommend!

    Sent on 09/15/2015
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Dennis Kwan was the best decision we made in our wedding planning process! From the beginning he was very helpful, responsive, and flexible. We set up a meeting with him in NYC to chat and look at his portfolio, and we hired him the next day. Dennis was more than willing to drive 3hrs to Montauk for our rehearsal dinner and wedding. On our wedding day, Dennis was really on the ball and the pictures turned out amazing. He is so happy and funny, which is exactly the kind of person you want to be around on your wedding day! I had several ideas for photo ops (the Montauk lighthouse, the beach, the dock, on a sailboat, on the deck...) and Dennis was able to do them all efficiently and beautifully. Within 24 hours of the wedding he sent us a few shots from our first look to share on social media right away. Within a week, he had sent over 100 shots from our crazy dance floor (his height definitely enabled him to capture some great dance floor moments that could have otherwise gone unnoticed). The full suite of over 3000 (three thousand, not a typo) were uploaded to a user-friendly gallery within 3 months of the wedding! I should also mention that he is now one of my husbands favorite people to follow on instagram and facebook

    Sent on 10/16/2015
  • A

    Araxie · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis photographed my client's wedding that I coordinated in Nassau, Bahamas earlier this year, and he truly captured not only the love and emotion of the wedding day, but also the beauty of the entire setting. I was completely blown away with his ability to visualise each shot, and with the creativity and inspiration displayed in the final product. Dennis is kind and so accommodating to his clients. It was so lovely to work alongside him and I would recommend him to anyone who wants great quality and a great experience, whether your wedding is near or far!

    Sent on 10/16/2015
  • User4806942 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis was a guest at our son and daughter-in-law's wedding in Mexico. The pictures that he took were our favorite and we wished he had been our photographer!! He captured "the feel" of the special moments with his creative eye and careful use of lighting for the perfect photos.... on the beach and at the evening reception. His pictures were wonderful but his fun and engaging personality were a delightful addition throughout this memorable weekend. I highly recommend Dennis!

    Sent on 02/21/2015
  • User4004192 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Dennis Kwan for my multi-day wedding in the Mayan Riviera in Mexico. He photographed four different events and captured each one beautifully. Here are the reasons I would recommend him, especially for a destination wedding:

    1) His pictures are simply stunning. The way he captures the moment in a photograph is unlike anything I have seen. I have received so many compliments on my photographs both from people who were there in person as well as those who weren't.

    2) He will pretty much travel anywhere to document your special day. It was so nice knowing our photographer was the one thing we didn't have to worry about in the stress of finding wedding vendors abroad.

    3) He gives you TONS of pictures to choose from. Some photographers limit what they give you to a set number but Dennis gave us endless amounts of photos and all digitally so it was easy for us to organize our photos.

    4) He is a re-touching genius. My hair was blowing in the wind like crazy in our ceremony picks but Dennis magically made it look like my hair was perfect!

    5) He is super fun to work with and pushes to make sure he captures everything he can. As a bride, I was overwhelmed and didn't take time to think through what I wanted in terms of photos but I didn't have to. Dennis made sure to get the shots he needed whenever it made sense.

    We are very pleased with our wedding photos and would highly recommend Dennis Kwan Weddings to anyone.

    Sent on 02/17/2015
  • User4509024 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married in Charlottesville, Virginia this past weekend, and Dennis was our photographer for our rehearsal dinner and our wedding day (he also surprised us by taking photos of our rehearsal run through as well). Wedding photos are something you don't want to risk not coming out right, and with Dennis, you can have complete peace of mind! Dennis is amazing! He is very professional and makes you feel completely at ease for the entire day. Somehow he takes the most amazing photos, and you don't even know he's there! We couldn't be more pleased with Dennis and how our photos turned out - we recommend him wholeheartedly! He is worth every penny!

    Sent on 10/28/2014
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The funny thing about Dennis is that, despite being super tall, he totally blends into the wedding. Most of the time I don't think the people realized that he was taking pictures and, as a result, we have the most incredible moments of our wedding captured. Of course he also got all of the standard important shots of the ceremony and the wedding party, but even those have a little more life to them than most wedding pictures that I've seen. He's funny and friendly and he gets people to relax and laugh and be themselves.

    I was initially worried that I'd dealt Dennis a difficult hand because I got married on Martha's Vineyard in October and we had a bit of challenge with the weather, but Dennis made it a total non-issue and delivered beautiful shots despite the spitting rain and the yellow hue cast by the ceremony tent. Bottom line: he knows how to get a great shot without torturing people to get it.

    Oh and then there's the retouching...
    So, full disclosure, Dennis and I have been friends since college. He's been taking pictures of me for over 10 years so when it came to picking a wedding photographer, there wasn't even a question-- we were hiring Dennis. The man takes great photographs, but he also does such amazing retouching that I didn't realize that he was doing it for years. Seriously. I just thought that I looked fabulous in every picture he took of me-- I had no idea. That's how subtle his work is. And that's what I wanted for my wedding-- a photographer who would take care of anything that could be unattractive or unflattering so that I didn't have to spend my wedding worrying about looking good in the pictures.

    So, absolutely hire him if he's available on your date. You'll have such a great wedding knowing that your pictures are in his extraordinarily capable hands.

    Sent on 10/28/2014
  • User3732860 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married in Villefranche sur Mer, a small town in the South of France, this past September and Dennis Kwan was our wedding photographer. His work was in one word exceptional! From our very first meeting months before the wedding he took great time and care to understand our vision for the wedding. He was a pleasure to work with in every aspect. He was able to capture the spirit of our vision and a number of different things we had not thought of all the while being quick, efficient and virtually invisible. There were no extended repeated poses, no awkward moments and no delays, everything was carefully planned and executed while at the same time natural and efficient. Dennis was also a great pleasure to be with, a number of our wedding guests complimented us on how much they liked him. And we have revived numerous compliments from guests and friends about how stunning our wedding pictures are. Not only is Dennis a great photographer he is also a very kind and fun person to be around. My husband and I were thrilled and extremely happy with Dennis and his work! There is no questions if you are getting married you MUST book Dennis Kwan.

    Sent on 10/29/2014
  • A

    Alex · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We met Dennis when he was the photographer at a friend's wedding where my husband was a groomsman. Dennis was so outgoing, had such an easy presence in the crowd (not in the way at all, but still in the middle of the action) and his photos were amazing (we ended up using one of the photos he shot at that wedding as our Save the Date!) He was so good, in fact, that my husband and I (entirely independently) each asked him THAT NIGHT if he would photograph our wedding! :)

    Our wedding was in Tahoe and he did a phenomenal job. He's very easy going but gives a lot of direction, so you don't worry about looking silly. (I get super uncomfortable posing so it was nice to have his explicit directions about what to do.) Numerous people have come up to me since the wedding to tell me how great he was - he just makes everyone feel comfortable, and that is reflected in the photos. Our photos turned out beautifully, and we couldn't be happier! If you're thinking about hiring Dennis, think no more. Hire him.

    Sent on 11/14/2014
  • User3475940 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis worked with all of my close girl friends for their weddings so there was no question I would use him for my photographer as well. His pictures are such high quality and he is great to work with. He makes everyone feel comfortable and at ease and it shows in the pictures. I've already had multiple guests comment on the pictures they've seen. Dennis captured the day perfectly!

    Sent on 09/03/2014
  • J

    Jen · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis did a fantastic job as the photographer for my wedding in July 2014! He arrived early and took thousands of shots throughout the day. He was able to get a variety of before shots of the venue, which was so helpful to look back on after. Dennis has the gift of truly capturing the emotions of the day. His skilled photography included various posed and group shots while others were more spontaneous. The mixture has given us numerous photos to choose from. Dennis was also willing to travel up to Boston to shoot our engagement photos. We enjoyed working with him before the wedding and felt comfortable with him when he arrived the day of. I would HIGHLY recommend Dennis Kwan.

    Sent on 10/31/2014
  • A

    Anna · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis was the photographer for our wedding and he was absolutely amazing! Not only did he get some beautiful shots he made everyone really relaxed which made the pictures even better! I've received so many complements on our wedding pictures. If you are looking for a wedding photographer, I highly recommend him! He's professional, courteous, and an outstanding photographer!

    Sent on 10/29/2014
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 07/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I hired Dennis to photograph both our wedding and engagement session. He is extremely easy to work with, adapted well to our needs, friendly as can be, and made sure that we always had enough time for our shots so we never felt rushed. His work is absolutely amazing and we couldn't be happier with the results.

    Sent on 10/26/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 04/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis is the best wedding photographer, hands down. He has been the number one choice for our family and friends for years. I've had the pleasure of observing Dennis at work firsthand at my brother-in-law's wedding and then at my own. Not only is he immensely talented, he is extremely laid back and personable. His creative spirit shows through the faces in our photos and through his original layouts, direction, and spontaneity. We love the finished product and will cherish these captured moments forever! Just check out his website and prepare to fall in love.

    Sent on 08/11/2014
  • User4061306 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis is truly the best of the best! He's fun to work with, professional and has a great eye. We love ALL 965 of our photos! He went above and beyond, was flexible with where we needed him when, and we loved having him at our wedding!

    Sent on 06/01/2014
  • A

    Andrew · Married on 03/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply stated, Dennis Kwan is everything you want in a wedding photographer.

    He has a clear editorial point of view, a unique style and, most importantly, he feels like a guest at your wedding who just happens to have a camera. Dennis' warm, fun presence put everybody instantly at ease--as a result, he captured some amazing moments that my wife and I will cherish for years to come.

    There are lots of tough decisions to make when planning your wedding. Hiring Dennis isn't one of them.

    Sent on 04/30/2014
  • K

    kevin · Married on 01/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had reached out to Dennis for his photography services, but our budget ended up not being enough, so we asked for any referrals he might be able to provide. Dennis was amazing and gave us multiple second shoot references that he has worked with in the past and fit closer to our budget. He also posted a quick message on a photographers blog to see if anyone else would be interested, in which we got a handful of additional responses. After being told by many others that our budget would never work for a wedding, it was very refreshing to find someone like Dennis that cared enough to help.

    Thank you again for your help.

    Sent on 01/23/2014
  • User3861335 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis is an unbelievable photographer and will without a doubt provide you with photographs you will absolutely love. He has the ability to capture a moment that most photographers often miss. His candid shots are particularly impressive and the quality of his work is exquisite. Dennis is fun and easy to work with, making your special day all about you!! You won't be disappointed and will be left with unbelievable photographs to cherish for the years to come.

    Sent on 01/28/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review