63 Reviews for Dennis Drenner Photographs

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Digital Files (8)
Second Shooter (7)
Multi. Locations (4)
Additional Hours (3)
High-Res Images (3)
Engagement Shoot (2)
Liability Insurance (2)
Proofs (2)
One Event/Day (1)
Toning (1)
Albums (1)
Prints (1)
63 Dennis Drenner Photographs Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Dennis is simply AMAZING! It's hard to put into words how valuable his work was on our wedding day. We wanted to hire a photographer with a photojournalistic style of photography so that we could look back and really relive the day, rather than see a bunch of staged photos that didn't capture the raw emotions of the day. Dennis responded to our initial request quickly and had packages that were a great value. He and his wife speak Spanish, too. I almost didn't feel worthy of his time, considering the high-profile journalistic work he's done in the past-- definitely not your average wedding photographer-- but he is extremely humble :)

He wanted us to have a set list of family photo requests, because beyond those, he wasn't lining people up for "group shots" at the wedding. During the "getting ready" process and throughout the day, Dennis and his wife were so calm, relaxed, and had a good sense of humor-- when you saw them! We barely noticed them throughout the day. But then you see the final photos and realize he was EVERYWHERE! The shots he got were incredible. Dennis got a beautiful candid portrait of almost every guest there. We didn't want photos that were over-airbrushed or "Instagram-filtered" because we felt like that style will go out of vogue over time. I'm not going to lie I was a little nervous beforehand that I wouldn't get "wedding-perfect" photos of myself, but they all turned out beautifully! Dennis keeps things raw-- he captured everyone's tears, wrinkles, sweat, smiles, laughs, and emotions-- but all in the most gorgeous way and we will cherish these photos forever.

Profile Picture Bridget, 8/19/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Digital Files, Additional Hours, Engagement Shoot, High-Res Images, Liability Insurance, Multi. Locations, One Event/Day, Second Shooter, Toning
5.0

Dennis took absolutely amazing photographs for our wedding at Celebrations on the Bay on 9/23/16. Having good pics of the wedding day was my #1 priority and Dennis delivered and then some. I could not have been happier and will truly cherish his photos for the rest of my life!! Visit the link below for proof of the wonderful work he did at my wedding: https://www.facebook.com/DennisDrennerPhotographs/photos/?tab=album&album_id=1270617362978211

Profile Picture Chelsea, 4/22/17, 1 Review
Category: Photography
Services Used: Digital Files, High-Res Images
5.0

Overall, my husband and I were very happy with Dennis Drenner. We first met Dennis when he was photographing our close friends wedding thus we were able to see him work at our friends wedding as well as our own. His photographs are amazing and unique because he is able to capture close moments from a distance. We knew that we would be happy with his work, but what a pleasant surprise the candid photographs were. The photographs make it clear that Dennis is a skilled wedding photographer and photojournalist. After, there was a quick turn-around with the photographs and our photo album.

If you’re looking for a photographer that captures the story of your wedding Dennis Drenner Photography is a great resource. He was very responsive, honest, reasonable, and understood exactly what we wanted. We couldn’t have asked for a better photographer and photographs.

Profile Picture Kara, 10/16/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Dennis' work really speaks for itself and his personality and talent come through on his blog that's actually interesting to read even if you're not shopping for a wedding photographer. After looking at dozens of photographer's websites that all started to look the same we put them up on our flat screen tv in full screen view to look at the photos and it was Dennis' photos that just vibrated with life, like, how am I crying about this strangers wedding! Take a look and you will see how he can capture the emotion and life. My wedding photos look natural and beautiful, they're some of the best photos I've seen of many people in my family. Looking at the moments he captured will bring me so much joy for the rest of my life. He's also a seasoned photographer that's been all over the world working for major news organizations and commissioned projects so really your wedding is small potatoes for him, but he would never act like it because he has more humility in his pinky finger than most people do in their entire being. Dennis graciously gave us advise on many things from the traffic patterns in Baltimore to vendor recommendations. If I was to do it all over I would have booked Dennis first and then asked for his top five wedding venues to find a location for my ceremony and reception (blog post idea Dennis!). I would also recommend not giving Dennis a shot list. Stay away from the lists on pinterest or wedding websites of the 65 photos you must get, he's done tons of weddings, he knows to get photos of the flower arrangements and he should be given the maximum amount of creative license to do what he does, which is capture your wedding in the most luscious higher than life way. Book Dennis now, like five minutes ago, seriously why are you still reading this review go call him!!! :)

Profile Picture Kelli, 10/17/15, 7 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Albums, Digital Files, Prints, Proofs, Second Shooter, Multi. Locations
5.0

Dennis and Karen were both absolutely fantastic to work with, and we couldn't be happier with the results. We were immediately drawn to Dennis' work, to his photo-journalistic style, to his gorgeous portraits, and--most important to us--the candid shots that really captured the spirit and unique energy of each event. His photos looked like something you'd see in a magazine accompanying a feature, and not at all like typical event photos. We didn't need to browse through his portfolio for long before we knew that we wanted to work with him on our wedding.

Logistically, working with Dennis couldn't have been easier. He spent time talking to us about our ideas and our vision, and communication was great throughout the whole process. On the day of the wedding, he and Karen were both extremely nimble, always there to capture a moment without ever being obtrusive. And once everything was wrapped up, he was very quick to deliver all of the files. We're thrilled with the results, and working with Dennis couldn't have been any easier.

Profile Picture Chris, 10/10/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
Services Used: Second Shooter, Additional Hours, High-Res Images, Liability Insurance, Multi. Locations, Digital Files
4.5

Dennis and his wife were lovely. They took beautiful photos of everyone at my wedding and got some really lovely shots of my husband and I on our special day. My only regret was not being more specific about the photos I would have liked taken. While all of the shots were beautiful, we got a LOT of individual candid head shots of our wedding guests. I would have preferred to have had more candid group and family shots. I know if I would have been more clear with Dennis, he would have made sure to have gotten these shots.

Profile Picture User6059823, 2+ years ago, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Digital Files, Second Shooter
5.0

We loved working with Dennis and Karen!

Profile Picture Heather, 5/9/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Dennis and Karen Drenner photographed our wedding and reception at Cylburn Arboretum in May 2015. They are remarkably talented and incredibly easy to work with: zero stress. And we are thrilled with the amazing photos they took of our big day. What’s really amazing is how Dennis and Karen managed to capture so many funny and special moments without anyone really noticing. It’s like they were everywhere but nowhere at the same time. This was perfect. Our wedding was truly a DIY affair and we had many crazy surprises for our guests, during the ceremony, dinner, dessert and the reception. We were beyond thrilled that Dennis and Karen managed to capture everything that we'd worked so hard to pull off -- plus our guests' priceless reactions. We also loved that Dennis already knew of so many beautiful spots to take more formal photos at Cylburn so not a second was wasted scouting out locations. The wedding party and extended family portraits were just beautiful. Dennis directed all 50 (!) of us to the perfect spot, shot the photos very quickly and kept everyone in good spirits, capturing just how relaxed and happy we all were. We are grateful to have such lovely photos and very highly recommend the Drenners to anyone looking to preserve the fun, the emotions, and the people at their wedding or other special event.

Profile Picture Sarah, 5/2/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
Services Used: Second Shooter, Digital Files
5.0

Dennis and his wife(assistant) during the wedding were great; they blended with the ceremony/reception and are very professional, punctual and pleasant. I cannot wait to see the beautiful candid shots of my wedding; I know they will be just great. Thanks Dennis.

Profile Picture Milagros, 5/1/15, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
4.5

Dennis did a fabulous job with the photography for my daughter's Big Fat Greek Wedding.. Dennis works in a photo journalistic manner and really was able to capture all of the emotions of the day.

Profile Picture Melissa, 4/25/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Second Shooter, Additional Hours, Digital Files, Proofs
5.0

Dennis was amazing. We had a surprise wedding, at a restaurant with 100 of our closest friends and family, Dennis was one of ten people that knew what was going to be happening that evening. We did not want the traditional staged pictures, we chose him for his journalist style and ability to capture raw emotion. Our pictures were amazing and perfectly captured the night, the feelings and just overall presence of the night. We couldn't have asked for anything more from him.

Profile Picture Misty, 10/17/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Dennis could not have captured our wedding any better! We are thrilled with the pictures and the emotions he was able to convey through them. His photo-journalistic style captured moments that I wasn't even aware he was photographing. He was unobtrusive but still managed to be in the perfect place at the perfect time. Above all else, his photos truly allow us to re-live such a special day, as they reflect and evoke the joy and celebration shared by everyone.

Profile Picture User4395331, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Dennis was an absolutely wonderful photographer! I originally met him through a friend's wedding, and was so impressed with his work that, as soon as I was engaged, I called to ask about his services. Dennis not only managed to work within our budget, but he also agreed to leave the Baltimore area and travel to our wedding venue in Charlottesville. His photos are gorgeous and perfectly capture the event, and he provided them to us very promptly after the wedding, even though it was mid-holidays! I can't recommend Dennis highly enough--he was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding day.

Profile Picture Sophia, 11/23/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Dennis was nothing but amazing! We got married in Key West and had an original date in September when we had a tragic family loss 4 days before we were to get married. He was totally cool about the craziness that followed. Cancel reschedule and the emails back and forth. He was so gracious and soooo understanding. When we finally ended up getting married 2 months later, Dennis was there. The photos are beautiful! He was so great, like I knew him forever. If you're debating between two, Choose Dennis!!!!

Profile Picture Celeste, 11/15/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Dennis did a wonderful job capturing the day of our wedding. I cannot tell you how many times I look through the album he loaded to his facebook page so we can share a snapshot of the photos with our friends. Everytime i look at the photos I smile as I am able to relive my wedding day. He does a great job of capturing the emotion and excitement of the day from your perspective and your guests perspective. Everyone who looks at the photos tells us what a wonderful job he did and they are only seeing a small selection of the photos we actually received. Dennis was very quick with getting us our proofs and the disc with the photos. When we got back from our honeymoon, which was two weeks, the photos were waiting for us. It was the perfect way to end our honeymoon.

Profile Picture Stefanie, 8/17/13, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Dennis is a great photographer to work with, is very professional, laid-back, and flexible, and his photographs are beautiful.
Dennis arrived about an hour before our ceremony and captured some great photos of both of us getting ready for the wedding. The photos from the wedding ceremony itself were beautiful. He conducted the formal portraits with ease and encouraged everybody to relax, which resulted in some great photos. The photos of the two of us were similarly very well done. He captured many wonderful photos at the reception as well.
In general, his style is photo-journalistic, which suited our tastes very well. At the reception he got lots of candid shots of our guests enjoying themselves, as couples, as groups on the dance floor, and even some great pictures of the kids and babies that attended the reception.
After our wedding, he completed his editing very quickly and had our photos on their way to us in about a week. All-in-all, I was very pleased and would highly recommend Dennis.

Profile Picture Mario, 6/9/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Dennis was one of the first vendors we hired and we made sure to be in touch with him as soon as we knew our wedding date. Dennis had photographed at both my brother's and sister's weddings and my husband and I loved his photojournalist style and laid back demeanor. Dennis was very responsive when I first got in touch and always answered my emails very promptly despite being in Vietnam with a somewhat spotty internet connection! Dennis also has very reasonable prices for the services that he provides.

Leading up to the wedding Dennis was very easy to get in touch with. He was very flexible with working around our schedule and he provided a great suggestion about where to take the bridal party photographs before the wedding. Dennis came into DC to meet at our venue the week before the wedding so that we could get to know each other a bit and we could show him the venue and the way the wedding and reception would flow.

On the day of the wedding, Dennis and his wife/assistant Karen were great to work with. They were punctual, laid back and very easy to get along with. Dennis was very unobtrusive and I really did not notice him taking pictures most of the time!

Now onto the photos themselves...they are fabulous! We really could not be happier with how they turned out. Dennis took literally hundreds of pictures that we love. He really listened to what we wanted in the photos and we got a great mix of portraits and how the event looked, and then lots of fantastic candid shots. I love all the emotions in them and I know these will be pictures we will cherish for years to come. Thank you, Dennis!

Profile Picture Elizabeth, 5/10/13, 11 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Dennis did our engagement photos and wedding photos. He is a super photographer and also a fun person to work with. Professional, always on-time, easy-going, and creates beautiful photographs.

Profile Picture Laura, 4/12/13, 7 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We had an amazing experience with Dennis Drenner Photography! Dennis has photographed 3 weddings in our family so far and each one was perfect! (I hope he is still working when our daughter gets married!)

Dennis really listens to what you want and takes time to get to know you in order to capture your wedding the way you want it recorded.

He caught the feel of our fabulous event. When I saw the preview pictures, the first thing I noticed was how much fun everyone was having. As the bride and groom, you can't possibly enjoy every happy moment as it's happening...Dennis gave us the opportunity to enjoy everyone's joy!

Dennis was easy to work with, responded to questions quickly, and provided us with excellent, efficient service.

We highly recommend Dennis Drenner Photography for any important event you want to capture!

Profile Picture Carrie, 10/20/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Our pictures turned out fabulous, Dennis really captures the mood and gets great candid pictures. I would highly highly recommend him!

Profile Picture Stephanie, 10/13/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography
Services Used: Second Shooter, Engagement Shoot, Multi. Locations, Digital Files
5.0

Hiring Dennis was one of the best decisions we made planning our wedding! We met Dennis several months prior to our wedding and he talked us through his approach to wedding photography. My fiancé and I were impressed by Dennis’s portfolio and professionalism.
On our wedding day, Dennis was terrific. I didn’t want to spend a lot of time taking posed pictures, so he quickly guided our bridal party and family into the perfect shots. Our pictures turned out beautifully. I especially loved all the candid photos he took of our guests. I could not be happier with Dennis and his photographs!

Profile Picture Carrie, 10/6/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Dennis photographed my wedding September 2012 and did an amazing job, althought I expected nothing different! The photos came out beautiful. Dennis was able to capture every special moment of the day from me getting ready, walking down the aisle with my dad, our vows and the fun at the reception! Along with being so easy to work with, he has a innate ability to pull out the emotions of the guests and the day in his photographs.

I am so glad to be able to look back at the photos anytime and remember my wedding day perfectly because of the detail he paid so much attention to. I would recommend Dennis to photograph any wedding or occasion!

Profile Picture Christa, 9/15/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Dennis did a wonderful job at our wedding. He was unobtrusive and for the most part did not interfere with the proceedings at all, but he also spent the time to make sure that we got all of the portraits and family shots that we wanted. The photos all came out great and our families and friends are thrilled with them, as are we.

Profile Picture User2760473, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

I would highly recommend Dennis. He was great to work with throughout the process, from the planning through our reception and afterwards. He is a really cool, laid back guy with an amazing eye. Dennis was also incredibly helpful and responsive to any questions we had.

During the planning process, he helped my husband and i pick with the right package for us to best capture our wedding in photos, this included getting a mini photo studio for our reception. The day of our wedding ended up not exactly as planned, due to a major power outage and incredibly high temperatures, but Dennis was very easy going about all of our last minute changes, which was great. And somehow, despite our sweating through our clothes, he managed to captured us really looking our best.

The mini photo studio that we had was placed on the dance floor and we got tons of great pictures from that. Once the photos were ready, Dennis compiled the mini photo studio pics into a video for us, set to a song of our choosing. It is so much fun to watch! In addition, within a month of our wedding, Dennis provided us with links to our photos, as well as a CD with hi-res images, and prints of each photo. (His albums are really beautiful and once things settle down a bit, i look forward to picking out some photos and having him put together an album for us.)

I cannot say enough positive things about Dennis as a photographer. I look forward to finding another opportunity to use him again and to recommending him to friends.

Profile Picture Anna, 6/30/12, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We've already had several people from the wedding and who have seen the pictures ask us for Dennis' information so they can use him for their own weddings one day. He did an amazing job of capturing so many great moments, and we will cherish the pictures forever. Not only are his pictures phenomenal, but Dennis is an awesome person who is a joy to be around. His passion for photography comes through quickly after meeting him, and we would absolutely recommend him for anyone in need of a fantastic photographer.

Profile Picture Mike and Kelsey, 5/25/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography