Dear Ceremony Reviews

31 | Ithaca, NY
See photos, pricing and details

31 Reviews for Dear Ceremony

Recommended by 100%

31
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

8 User photos

Dear Ceremony 1
Dear Ceremony 2
Dear Ceremony 3
Dear Ceremony 4
Dear Ceremony 5
Dear Ceremony 6
Dear Ceremony 7
+ 2
Sort by:
  • P

    Paul Yakel · Married on 04/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the family

    We contacted Ben to officiate our ceremony in Utica, NY which was a bit of a distance from where he lives. From the very first phone call, he was fully invested and willing to work with us. Even with the distance (we live in Albany), we felt we had the opportunity to get to know Ben and for him to get to know us as a couple. We took time to Skype and figure out what we wanted out of a ceremony. The first time we actually met was at our rehearsal and for the remainder of the weekend, Ben was part of our family and wedding weekend! His ceremony was heartfelt and genuine and captured everything we wanted to say to each other. Ben was the perfect addition to our perfect wedding weekend! We couldn't have chosen anyone more fitting to kick off our journey together. Thanks, Ben!!

    Sent on 04/18/2019

    Dear Ceremony's reply:

    Awww you guys were so the best! Thank you so much for including me in your wedding day and weekend!!
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely adore Benjamin! He was amazing from the very start. We knew as soon as we met him that he was the one. He is a very sweet man and we would hire him again in a heartbeat. I was a worried bride and Benjamin was there and very responsive to all my emails and calls. He also took the time to walk me through the ceremony many times over the phone. I am glad we decided to have him at the rehearsal the night before. He knew exactly what he was doing and lifted so much weight off our shoulders. We had many compliments on how amazing our officiant was. His voice is so soft and calm which makes the ceremony that more beautiful! We couldn't have found a better officiant for our big day. I highly recommend him to anyone.

    Sent on 08/15/2018
    Dear Ceremony 8
    Dear Ceremony 9
    Dear Ceremony 10
    Dear Ceremony 11
    Dear Ceremony 12
    Dear Ceremony 13
  • C

    Cassandra · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Benjamin was amazing since the first day we talked to him. We "met" him the first time over video chat since we lived 10+ hours away. Benjamin was always very responsive and wrote the most beautiful ceremony. We cannot talk him enough for being part of our magical day!

    Sent on 07/23/2018
    Dear Ceremony 14
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Benjamin is amazing so work with! He is so kind and does a wonderful job writing vows and making your ceremony unique! Thank you so much, it was a pleasure working with you!

    Sent on 10/09/2017
    Dear Ceremony 15
  • J

    Jen · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was the perfect ceremony!! Benjamin was very professional and kind. From start to finish he was very easy to work with! We had many people say how great the ceremony was. We kept it short and sweet. His words were genuine and sincere. We would highly recommend his services!

    Sent on 06/12/2017
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 05/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From start to finish, Benjamin helped make our special day unforgettable! Thank you, Benjamin!

    Sent on 06/09/2017
  • K

    Katelyn · Married on 02/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He was the perfect match for our super small, outdoor wedding. Highly recommend him to everyone I can. Thank you Dear Ceremony!

    Sent on 03/27/2018
  • Emily

    Emily · Married on 10/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ben was wonderful! He was so very nice and I couldn't have imagined a more wonderful ceremony! Definitely recommend!!!

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • T

    Tara · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Benjamin Marlan recently officiated our beach wedding and we couldn't have been happier with his service! We met with Benjamin a few months before our wedding and knew right away that he was perfect for us. He was genuinely interested in every aspect of our wedding, as well as getting to know our personalities, so that he could create the perfect set of vows for our ceremony. He offered suggestions to our ceremony and vows which we loved and incorporated into our big day. We received many compliments from guests commenting on how special and personal the ceremony was! Benjamin also went above and beyond - offering to arrive early and help with any set up that was needed before the wedding started. We highly recommend his services to anyone who is looking for an officiant.

    Sent on 10/03/2015
  • G

    gina · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have gone to other weddings that Ben has officiated and he is always calm, collective and pleasant. Something that is much appreciated on the day of a wedding. He is professional meeting with the couple planning and suggesting ways to make your ceremony what you desiree. No two wedding ceremonies are exactly alike. For my wedding Ben suggested ways to include our family member through a flower exchange it was a nice way for us to include the family members that were not part of the bridal party.
    Having Ben officiant my wedding was also a blessing. My husband and I could not imagine anyone else. We were fortunate to have met through Ben, which made it extra special for us. Having attended a few other weddings that Ben has officiated I could say that he he truly gets to know the couple and helps them to create a ceremony that is personal and special to them. He is the BEST!

    Sent on 08/21/2015
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Upon our first meeting with Benjamin we knew he was the right choice, he is beyond understanding, patient and professional. He understands what a marriage ceremony should be about-family, love and celebration. Our ceremony was absolutely beautiful, all of our family members commented on how perfect it was. Benjamin is amazing!

    Sent on 10/23/2014
  • A

    Adam · Married on 08/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ben was the best officiant we could hope for. Neither my wife nor myself are particularly religious, and Ben was able to tailor a ceremony around our wishes, keeping it very nature-centric. He was responsive, made us feel comfortable, gave advice when needed, and listened to what we wanted. He also prepared a beautiful ceremony in the small window of time we had between hiring him and the date. Ben was absolutely everything we could ask for in an officiant.

    Sent on 10/23/2014
  • J

    Jon and Jodi · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In a phrase....Benjamin literally saved our wedding. We had not known about Ben and had signed on with another officiant who went AWOL 1 month before our wedding. Ben stepped in at a moment's notice and planned the most beautiful, thoughtful, and amazing wedding that exceeded all our expectations. We and our guests loved the entire ceremony. It was designed exactly to our needs and tastes, combining the most heartfelt moments with the perfect mix of laughter. Ben was always available for any questions or requests we had. We cannot express enough how amazing he is and are so thankful that we found him. We feel it was meant to be. (like us...)

    Sent on 08/01/2014
  • User4084414 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Benjamin was a pleasure: he was available, caring and overall a gentle soul.

    Sent on 05/06/2014
  • N

    Noelle · Married on 04/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Given our different faith backgrounds, we knew that getting married in a church or synagogue was not going to be an option for our ceremony. We were looking for a ceremony that took highlights from both our Catholic and Jewish heritages while keeping our marriage as the focal point.

    Benjamin was perfect, he customized our ceremony to fit exactly what we were looking for. We met with Benjamin multiple times before the wedding ensuring that he knew us, our personalities and what we desired making the entire process stress-free and enjoyable.

    It was an absolute pleasure working with Benjamin and we would highly recommend him.

    Sent on 05/09/2014
  • A

    Anthony · Married on 01/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had the pleasure of having Benjamin Marlan officiate at our wedding in NYC. He was the first person to respond to our email and ended up being our first choice.
    Benjamin immediately put us at ease with a polite and gentle nature. We felt a quick confidence in him as we got right down to business with a basic outline for us to review and a quick FaceTime to "meet" (as we live in Austin, Texas).
    We were given numerous vow options that we could choose to add to our ceremony and all were well presented and allowed us to truly personalize the proceedings. One of the most special parts of the day was a reading to include a child into the ceremony. We share a 4 year old son with his two moms and it truly deepened the entire experience in such an unexpected way. Benjamin spoke directly to Ben (our son) and to us and it brought most everyone to tears in a wonderful way. It truly felt like it was written just for us.
    I found Benjamin to be intelligent, sensitive and professional and our family and friends were equally impressed. I would highly recommend hime to anyone!

    Sent on 03/17/2014
  • F

    Fabien · Married on 12/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing! Thank you Ben!

    You made our wedding a very special thing! We will always remember this day and we were glad to have you as our officiant.

    Thank you again!

    Sent on 12/23/2013
  • J

    Jim · Married on 10/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Benjamin was absolutely incredible! Since we were coming to NYC from Texas, he Skyped with us twice in the weeks prior to our wedding, PLUS worked with us extensively via email to make sure our ceremony was absolutely perfect. Couple that with his wonderfully-calm demeanor and second-to-none organization skills? Not only did we have a picture-perfect wedding, but we also have a new friend for life. Five stars aren't enough.

    Sent on 10/31/2013

    Dear Ceremony's reply:

    I love you guys and miss you! Thanks so much for this review!
  • J

    Jesse · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ben was great! Very easy to work with and made our day very special.

    Sent on 10/23/2014
  • User3224359 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He made our day feel extra special. Very sweet, warm and professional.

    Sent on 08/27/2013
  • S

    Steven · Married on 05/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I believe, things happen in life for a reason. I originally contacted Susan Marlan to officiate our wedding. And had she been available, we would have never met Benjamin, her son who we ended up selecting to officiate our wedding. The way he conducted himself; The way he officiated our wedding; It was a very special moment. We can tell he truly wanted to be there; We felt love coming from him when he pronounced our marriage. Benjamin has a very special gift. A way with words and how he touch people's lives. Benjamin has made an everlasting impression on our lives. THANK YOU!!!!

    Sent on 06/06/2013
  • A

    Anh · Married on 05/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Benjamin Marlan of Interfaith Ceremonies officiated our wedding at the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens. Prior to the wedding, we met to discuss the details of the ceremony, and clearly saw how organized and professional he was, he came prepared with a binder of samples from his previous work, vows and even suggestions for readings. As my husband and I sat and listened to Benjamin, to the details of his service and how he personalized it for us, we immediately knew we wanted to book him. We had no regrets! On the day of our wedding, we felt completely confident in his work. Benjamin incorporated special details, such as a flowering offering to our parents, wine sipping, and even a unity tree planting ceremony! Many of our guests complimented the clarity of his speech and the calmness of his tone. Benjamin even took the extra step in advising us about how to obtain the marriage license, which he sent out immediately after we all signed it. We received our certificate about a week after the wedding. I would definitely recommend Benjamin to any couple looking for a sincere officiant, who brought uniqueness to our ceremony.

    Sent on 06/06/2013
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 09/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The ceremony was beautiful and wonderful. He was so calm and organized and really helped us make it through the ceremony. Even the very emotional bits went fine because Benjamin kept us centered.
    I would DEFINITELY reccomend his services to a friend.
    Also his flexibility was awesome. Since we were in Holland and he was over here, he made it very easy for us to get this set up.

    Sent on 09/05/2012
  • User2638223 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Benjamin was amazing. He made our cerimony feel and look flawless. Everything we wanted, he implimented beautifully and guided us through all the emotional aspects. He was gracious and calming and the fanily got along great with him. Absolutely, I would recommend him and his services!

    Sent on 09/05/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review