David & Sons Fine Jewelers Reviews

19 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for David & Sons Fine Jewelers

Recommended by 98%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 11/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My engagement rings and our wedding bands were all bought here for a reason -- unique beautiful designs and convenient maintenance. I’m complimented all the time about my rings. Great customer service from our first purchase to every time when I drop by to get my rings sparkly clean. Emil and Armin are fantastic and I always try to search for them to do business whenever I visit. In terms of maintenance, they offer quick steam cleaning (depending on who’s there and how busy it is, it’s either immediate or about a 20 minute wait) and recommend an annual deep cleaning (takes about a week or two, usually less). I live close to the Westfield UTC mall so this is pretty convenient for me.

    Sent on 01/02/2017
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance bought my engagement ring from here, and I absolutely love it! He said they were great to work with. They also do a very nice job cleaning my ring every time I stop by. We're looking into purchasing our wedding bands here as well.

    Sent on 12/10/2014
  • User5136348 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This vendor was very receptive and responsive to our needs. Very professional, friendly, and accommodating!

    Sent on 06/09/2015
  • Yung

    Yung · Married on 08/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Fiance was recommended to David and Sons Fine jeweler. We did a year worth of research and felt much more comfortable with David and Sons Fine jeweler. They never pressure you to purchase and they really listen to what your needs are. My fiance with the help of David and Sons Jeweler designed my ring and I absolutely love it! The quality was more than I can ever ask for and the cost of my engagement ring was much more affordable than any other jewelers, especially for the quality. I love that they are not there to make a sale and sell you a bad diamond. David and Sons Fine jeweler is so trust worthy, I wanted a 1.5 carat diamond but my fiance wanted 2 carats, I was set on the smaller diamond but thankfully our jeweler knew what was best and really listened to what my fiance wanted. Needless to say I am love with my 2 carat center diamond and I would absolutely recommend David and Sons Fine jeweler for quality jewelery.

    Sent on 08/04/2012
  • User2759744 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone is very helpful and always are happy to check my stones and provide a cleaning free of charge.

    Sent on 06/16/2013
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 02/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband buys everything from David, the owner at David & Sons. Finding a good, quality jeweler is like finding a good hair dresser (or a mechanic, my husband says.) Once you find a good one, you don't want to go anywhere else! We wandered in one day while we were still dating, and just looked around. I normally don't like pear cut stones, but I saw one that day that was the most exquisite diamond ring I'd ever dreamed of, and the memory of it stuck to me like glue.

    A few years later, my husband surprised me with it in Laguna Beach when he asked me to marry him, and I couldn't believe he had gotten it! Turns out, he had come back the next day to ask David for the number of the ring I'd liked, and David had given him a card with the info on it. He had carried that card around in his wallet all that time, for years!

    Anyways, over the years I know every Christmas I can expect something lovely from David & Sons. Whenever I wear something my husband bought from there, I get comments. Especially about the rings. Just beautiful color, quality and style. Very unique and make the wearer (at least this one) feel very special.

    I highly recommend them & will also add that it really helps to sit & talk with them awhile. Everyone is helpful there but building a bit of a relationship to go over your style & budget really makes a difference so they can find or make something just right for you!

    Sent on 02/21/2013
  • User2100709 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Okay, so my now husband and I left getting rings pretty last minute. As in the day we were flying out of SD to our wedding in NYC. Sebastian, not only helped pickout the perfect rings, but we were able to get them sized in 2 or 3 hours, since their designer is in house. He even cleaned my engagement ring. Best of all, the ring I chose matches almost perfectly to my engagement ring, which is a vintage family heirloom. Friends asked me if it was custom made that way! I am very happy with the service of the store and the quality of the rings.

    Sent on 11/22/2012
  • A

    Allie · Married on 10/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I bought all of our rings here at David and Sons and couldn't be happier. Before we got engaged, we went ring shopping. This was the third store we went too and were already a bit burnt out with the process. But I'm so glad we went in. They were so honest and helpful, it was wonderful. They took the time to discuss diamonds with us and help us understand what we would be buying. I also found a setting I fell in love with except for the detail in the thickness of the band. But since they craft the settings themselves, they were able to make my custom engagement ring for me. It also came with a matching wedding band and I love the entire set. We later went back to find a wedding band for my husband and ended up getting a wonderful deal on a platinum band for him. They were very helpful and great to work with. They've polished up our rings for free too and will continue to do so if we stop in. Overall, it was a great experience and I would recommend them!

    Sent on 12/10/2012
  • User2383776 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David and Sons were able to help my then fiance find the perfect engagement ring! It was a beautiful solitaire in their special setting and they sold it to him wholesale so it was already a great price and they reduced it even more in respect for our tight budget! He bought the wedding bands that day too. They were extremely helpful and responsive and very professional. I appreciated that they did not pressure us in any way and met our needs as best they could.

    Sent on 01/14/2013
  • Alicia

    Alicia · Married on 08/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so incredibly happy with the quality of our rings and the service provided by the staff at David & Sons. We looked for months for the right ring and David & Sons had exactly what we were looking for and at an incredible price.

    Thank you!

    Sent on 08/15/2012
  • Mandy

    Mandy · Married on 08/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David and Sons was a great jeweler to work with- we purchased our wedding bands and my engagement ring from them and they were wonderful to work with!

    Sent on 08/27/2012
  • C

    Christine · Married on 07/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We ordered our rings, and they came exactly how we wanted them. The bride's engagement ring was a bit complex, and it still came out looking great.

    Sent on 06/09/2013
  • Bella

    Bella · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OMG! There is no better place for wedding jewelry! Hands down best quality, designs, and prices! They have an in-house jeweler that can do any design you dream up! Plus they are fast!
    They will match prices on loose diamonds you find online. We did this for my center stone and then my fiance custom designed the setting. We designed my two wedding bands and when we came to pick them up they had increased the karats from .5 to .75 because they thought it looked better…yes, please!!! We also ordered my fiance's beautiful thick white gold wedding band here.
    I have already shopped around and have done the work for you. Just go here! :)

    Sent on 07/10/2012
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 04/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my husband was my boyfriend, he always went to David and Sons for jewelry gifts for me (can't complain!). When he wanted to start looking for engagement rings, he went here along with some other places. He said that he just did not get the same quality service with anyone else (big names like Kay Jewelers, Jared, etc) as he did at David and Sons. He already had a main diamond (passed down from a family friend), and he (and his parents) did not want to have to send the diamond out to get set. David and Sons was able to have the diamond set in the store and it was ready within a few weeks (which was good, because my husband proposed on a cruise and only bought the ring about a month ahead of time!). We went there again to buy our wedding rings, and they had a great selection. We both found what we wanted right away, him a tungsten band with carbon inlay, and me a simple white gold band with diamonds around half (to match my engagement ring). The service is impeccable, always going here for fine jewelry!

    Sent on 06/25/2012
  • Katums

    Katie and Ryan · Married on 07/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance bought my engagement ring from David and Sons, and it completely blew me away. They clean my ring anytime we come in for a visit and they did a rhodium dip right before the wedding, which made it look like new! Then, he had a ring my grandfather gave to me turned into a necklace as a wedding present and I was blown away again! We would definitely recommend this jeweler to everyone!

    Sent on 07/16/2011
  • C

    Jennifer · Married on 08/08/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love my engagement and wedding rings that were created and made there. They are absolutely beautiful and I get complements all the time. My husband also loves his ring so much! They are reasonably priced and the quality is stunning!

    Sent on 08/10/2010
  • Lindsey

    Lindsey · Married on 04/30/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We purchased our engagement ring and wedding bands through Davids and Sons. They provided great service and lifetime customer care for the items we purchased. I feel like we received great custom products with very high quality, however extremely pricy. Just be aware they are higher in the pricing bracket. Loved working with them. I would highly recommend them if you are looking for perfect diamonds with no flaws but know you have to pay for that.

    Sent on 02/23/2016
  • E

    Evelyn · Married on 07/16/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had found David and Sons on yelp- large number of 5 star reviews sold me to this place. We went in with only a slight idea of what I wanted (I'm not a typical bride that had pre-chose her diamond ring!), he helped us choose one. We went back several months later when we were ready to purchase the engagement ring- and he remembered it, and was able to find/make it for us. (they had sold the one I liked 4 months ago). He was willing to work with our modest budget, which other stores would only recommended a solitaire. (we wanted more).
    As a result- we purchased the engagement/wedding band for me, and my husbands wedding band from them. Plus- everytime we walk in- they clean the ring for me to- so that it's totally sparkley! :)

    Sent on 10/01/2011
  • Amanda

    Amanda · Married on 05/31/2014

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    While I absolutely love my engagement ring, I had a hard time working with David & Sons. My now husband was adamant about using a local jeweler, so I used google to find a reputable local company. When I went in to choose what I wanted, the salesman kept pushing me to get bigger because "girls always want something bigger than their friends" and other comments along that nature. Needless to say, I am not the type of person who responds well to those comments, nor do I feel that I need to impress anyone with my engagement ring. It is purely a reflection of my husbands love for me and what we could afford. We went back a second time, after I took some time to look at ideas online, and asked them if they could recreate a ring I found online (a simple solitaire with diamonds along the prongs) and they told me no. I think they were looking for an easy sale of their overpriced, thin solitaire setting (seriously, $800 for a 14k white gold solitaire setting). While I am 100% happy with the ring I chose, I still feel that the price was high (even though they use bluenile as a benchmark for prices, I think they specifically find slightly higher priced diamonds. I looked at similar diamonds after we purchased the ring and they were almost $1,000 less, but it was my husbands purchase to make, not mine).

    Sent on 06/21/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review