David Schwartz Photography Reviews

52 | Virginia Beach, VA
See photos, pricing and details

52 Reviews for David Schwartz Photography

Recommended by 100%

52
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • D

    Dowler · Married on 12/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had admired David's work before when he shot my good friends Dawn and Derek Dubbe's wedding and my now sister-in-law's wedding and his work speaks for itself. David is kind and generous with his time from the moment you sit down with him to the last email exchange. He truly does this from the heart and he realizes that each moment is special and you can tell just by viewing his galleries that he cherishes those memories. I was a difficult bride at times (truth) and he bent over backwards to make me feel special and secure (he deserves a MEDAL). I am a teacher and he took that into consideration from day one. You cannot ask for a better photographer in Hampton Roads and my husband and I are extremely grateful for all that he did for us and could not be happier with our photos.

    Sent on 01/06/2017
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 10/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I seriously can't say enough good things about David. He is an amazing photographer. I can't believe how beautiful our wedding photos, bridal portrait and engagement shots turned out. He captured everything, all the details of our day so I can look back and always remember how amazing it was. David is so fun to work with too, he knows just how to capture everything perfectly and how to get the best shots of family and friends. We felt at ease with him all the times we worked with him and he really listened to what shots we wanted to get. He was so easy to work with and there isn't anything I would have changed about the process. I would recommend him to anyone for engagement or wedding photos.

    Sent on 11/03/2016
  • M

    Molly · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From this day forward....
    Not only will you spend your life with your mate, but you will have these photos too. David Schwartz and his assistant Sam, provided excellent service. You spend a lot of time on your wedding day with photographers, and David was a delight. He was professional, fun and unobtrusive. His work is really beautiful. And he adapts to the environment as our outside wedding shifted due to weather to another location. He was prepared and thoughtful. We have only seen (about 80) pictures so far, but know that we are in for a treat when we see all . What we have seen are elegant, touching and lovely. If you are looking for someone to provide excellent custaomer service and a superior product look no further than David Schwartz1

    Sent on 06/01/2016
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 03/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I met David Schwartz back in 2012 when he photographed my friend's wedding. For whatever reason, he and I just clicked and I told him then that when I got married I wanted him to shoot my wedding.

    Fast forward to 2015 and David was the first call I made when planning my own wedding. He and his second shooter Sam were so incredible to work with. They were both so fun and easy going the entire day. My husband and I even did a little off roading in his Jeep to get some cool shots on the farm. I can't wait to see all of the finished photos, because the previews have been one big wow after another. I could not speak more highly of a photographer. Looking forward to many more photo sessions with him, even if it means flying him in!

    Sent on 06/28/2016
  • M

    Mary · Married on 02/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You know how there are a lot of brides who after their wedding say, "I really wish we had gone with a different photographer. I don't like any of our photos!" Well... you will NOT be saying that if you go with David Schwartz Photography! We love our engagement shoot photos, and our wedding photos are even more incredible. David and his assistant really captured the mood of the wedding on film, and there are so many great candid shots of me and my husband and our guests. We will treasure our photos for many years to come! We had a lot of moving pieces for our wedding and a tight timeline (a First Look at one location, followed by the ceremony at a different location, and a reception at a third location!), but David really worked with us and our coordinator to make everything happen as it should, and he made it FUN. We can't wait for our album, and our biggest challenge will be narrowing the field of great shots we want to include. Thanks so much, Dave! We are grateful for the magic you worked! :)

    Sent on 03/07/2016
  • W

    Wayne · Married on 11/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Viewing his photos on his website, you know he takes awesome images, and we were elated with the photos he captured at the wedding. What is not obvious by simply viewing his website is his great personality and how amazing he is with people. He is able to capture the story of a wedding without being invasive, and after the wedding you see so many details that you never even knew he captured. And equally as important, his images captured the emotion of the event. As an amateur photographer myself, I believe my experiences in photography enabled me to more fully appreciate the complexity of what Dave does, and the professionalism with which he does it. In the later part of the day when he took portraits, the position of the sun forced him to take photos in a area of the grounds that were not the most picturesque, but you would never know it in the images. They would be perfectly at home in any high end magazine. My hat is off to you Dave. What a great job! We could not be happier!

    Sent on 11/21/2015
  • E

    Erin · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David Schwartz is all we hoped for in a wedding photographer and more. If you decide to do engagement photos and haven't had professional photos taken before, it can be a bit nerve wracking. David made the shoot fun, relaxing and enjoyable! He had the photos edited and ready to go the next day. A few months later I had my bridal portraits and he made the shoot just as enjoyable despite the 105 degree heat. The photos were also ready the next day and he made it look like it was a 75 degree day! For the big day, David and his assistant captured the happiness, love and joy perfectly! He was easy going and relaxed but got the job done! During the honeymoon, I got a Facebook notification that he had even posted a few of his favorites and the photos brought tears to my eyes! All of my friends and family told me how awesome my photographer was because he got around to each and everyone of them! If you want the best photographer around, I highly recommend David Schwartz!

    Sent on 08/21/2015
  • User5306774 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Isn't it tough making all these decisions? Well, as an indecisive person myself, I'm here to make your life easier. Choose David Schwartz Photography and everything will be incredible.

    As soon as I became engaged, a recently married friend of mine grabbed my arms, looked me in the eyes, and said, "You have to get David Schwartz!" My all-smiles and sunshine friend surprised me with her urgency, so of course, I followed her lead. Thank goodness I did so immediately.

    My mom and I met Dave at his studio, where we were blown away by his work. All photographers exhibit certain qualities in their work- ethereal, dramatic, whimsical, but with David, I thought one word, "wedding." It was an emotion more than a word, and I felt it. His images are beautiful, captivating, and refined. He has a natural talent and eyes that know what looks right in terms of composition, design, and capturing raw emotion.

    Dave photographed our engagement session, my bridal portraits, our rehearsal dinner, and our wedding. We loved having Dave capture all of our occasions (which I highly recommend doing). He's casual and friendly, but also energetic and fun. He's passionate about his work, sometimes even turning his camera around to show you, "Look at this amazing shot," which makes you feel comfortable and even more excited to be there.

    I admit, seeing David's impressive portfolio sets your expectations high. But when those same stunning images are of the people you love, it takes them to a whole new level. Thank you, Dave, for all of the beautiful images we'll treasure for years and years to come.

    Sent on 07/31/2015
  • C

    Constance · Married on 05/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David Schwartz and Sam Tyler are amazing. We could tell at the start of the wedding that the pictures were going to be absolutely beautiful. They are very personable and kept the bridal party in a great mood the entire time...making the process on a stressful day, so much more enjoyable...the few pictures posted the day after the event on his site were just stunning!!!!!
    We are so pleased to have captured the special day with such incredible pictures....my thanks to David and Sam for making the day all the more memorable....

    Sent on 05/20/2015
  • M

    Meredith · Married on 05/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier with David Schwartz and his photography. While we knew immediately upon seeing his images that we wanted him for our wedding photographer, we could not have predicted that he would impact our wedding day in other positive ways too. Dave and his assistant, Sam, made staying on track before the ceremony very easy and even added much needed humor and fun to a time that could easily have been very stressful. Our families were impressed with Dave's professional nature and the ease at which we were able to take family pictures after the ceremony. Additionally, Dave was very very quick posting a selection of images from our wedding day for everyone to view in the few days after the wedding. While we had seen Dave's previous work and chosen him based on that, I think everyone can relate to wondering if their own wedding photos could compare to images on a website. That is not something anyone should worry about with Dave. We love all of our photos! We were also pleasantly surprised at how quickly he was able to have our finished pictures to us and we look forward to purchasing some of his unique products we saw in his studio. I would and do highly recommend David Schwartz to anyone looking for a talented photographer, vibrant images, and a really genuine team.

    Sent on 07/09/2015
  • User5245435 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David and his assistant, Sam, were very flexible and worked with us to execute our surprise wedding. They made us feel very comfortable and relaxed and were a pleasure to work with. The photographs turned out beautifully and they made us look wonderful!

    Sent on 07/09/2015
  • J

    Jocelyn · Married on 12/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David Schwartz is phenomenal at what he does. He is not only an amazing photographer, but beyond great at client interaction. He made us feel comfortable from the very start when we took our engagement photos. He has a way of helping you loosen up, enjoy the process of getting photos taken, while creating memories along the way. He truly felt like our friend by the day of our wedding. He has an eye for the details and that is really important to me. Important details that are easy to not completely take in on the day of the wedding, he beautifully captures. I'll forever have beautiful photos of the treats we ate while getting ready, the program information, table settings, and party favors; the list goes on. He captured it ALL. Photos are EVERYTHING when remembering that special day for years to come and David made everything about our photo memories PERFECT!

    Sent on 02/05/2015
  • User3565423 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David Schwartz is truly a professional! I felt so honored to have such a kind, creative, and talented photographer shoot my wedding for my husband and I. David isn't only just an amazing photographer he is really easy to be around, and you're guaranteed to have a good time with him. His eye is so creative, and truly captures moments that mean the most. Looking at my photo books I can honestly say that each photograph brought back a memory of the day. To me that is important because those our the pictures I want to look back on in 50 years and remember those exact moments. His years of experience truly show the day of the wedding. He is organized and knows exactly what needs to be done, and times everything to the tee so pictures don't get missed. He also makes the effort to get to know the families and the bridal party, which was important to making everyone feel comfortable in front of the camera. I highly recommend David for his beautiful photographs, but also for his experience and expertise in the wedding industry. Thanks David for everything you did for Josh and I we will forever be grateful for the moments you captured on our wedding day!

    Sent on 03/18/2015
  • User4556549 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really can't say enough about David and his photography. I haven't even seen the full album, only the sneak peeks that he has posted, and they are far beyond how I expected my wedding pictures to ever look! I knew they would be good because I had seen his work, but they were really nothing short of amazing. I actually paid extra for him to come outside of his normal business territory, and it was worth every penny and then some! As far as working with David, it is very obvious that he knows what he's doing and also loves his job. He was able to take control of a situation (i.e. a bunch of people wanting to take pictures of the posed family photos - and getting in the way while doing so) without being a jerk about it. He was very easy to work with and he makes you excited to keep taking pictures! He also made it a point to look at my Pinterest boards the day of my wedding, which I thought was very cool. That showed me that he wanted to make sure he got pictures that were important to me along with shots that were important to him. I don't think I could find a negative thing to say about him if I tried! I can't even tell you how many people are STILL coming up to me and complimenting me on how stunning my pictures are, and I'm pretty sure I have three or four people that already plan to book David when they get engaged, and some of them are not even in relationships yet! Overall, really a nice guy who is very easy to work with and takes pictures that will leave you speechless! Thank you for everything David!

    Sent on 11/18/2014
  • S

    skylar · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave is a blast to work with. He has such a unique style and captures every detail and heartfelt moment so you can cherish them forever. I am so glad that I chose him to document our big day!

    Sent on 12/20/2013
  • M

    Melinda · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David Schwartz photography has completely blown our minds!!

    David and Sklyar shot our September 20th wedding at Kings Mill Resort in Williamsburg, Virginia.

    He came highly reccomended by King's Mill, so we opted to use him to capture our special day. We had no idea that we would be getting so much more than just a "photographer".

    David is not only professional, but he is a BLAST to work with. He isn't timid or stand-offish. From the minute he showed up he was "one of us". He quickly befriended the entire wedding party, parents and even relatives. There was never a dull moment during the pre and post shooting of our ceremony. In fact, it went so quickly and David and Skylar came up with most of the poses! David's ability to be direct, assertive yet fun is like no other photographer we have ever experienced. Both of us have been in countless weddings and to be honest, the "photo" part is the biggest pain in our opinion. With David Schwartz Photography on the other hand, it was fun, quick and so easy! As for the pictures you ask? UNBELIEVABLE!!!! We have so many incredible pictures of the ceremony, our wedding party and so many special moments. One picture in particular is of my new husband looking at me in a way that warms my heart in unspeakable ways. The fun, jokes, love and joy were all captured in such an amazing way!

    We would happily recommend David Schwartz photography to ANYONE who is looking for a true professional, who is fun and will give you the most amazing pictures at a reasonable price. A thousand thank you's to you David and Skylar!

    Sent on 10/16/2014
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW, WOW, WOW! The pictures say it all! Absolute professional and worth every penny!!! Please check out Davids web site if you have any doubt! Davidschwartzphotography.com

    Sent on 07/05/2014
  • User3139672 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David was so easy going and fun to work with! My whole family repeatedly commented how great he was working with everyone. We have only seen a few photos from our wedding day so far that he posted on Facebook and so far we are very impressed! I would definitely recommend him to anyone who wants to feel at ease with their photographer on what can be a stressful day!

    Sent on 07/18/2014
  • User3666678 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stop. Look no further. David Schwartz is THE photographer you want for your wedding. His pictures were absolutely amazing! He was able to capture in photographs the emotion and the memorable moments throughout the day that will be treasured for years to come. We have had so many people compliment us on the beautiful pictures of our daughter's wedding and engagement photos. The clarity, angle and color of each image was remarkable. He is a very talented photographer. David was great to work with from the beginning. He was very responsive and communicative through emails, arrived early on the wedding day and knew what looked good in posing family members and bridal party for the formal pictures, which saved a great amount of time right after the ceremony! He was very professional and such a likable guy. We feel so fortunate to have been able to secure David as our daughter's wedding photographer!

    Sent on 08/11/2014
  • K

    kelly · Married on 05/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David and his assistant were absolutely wonderful! From the very beginning, he was always responsive via email and phone and was very attentive and professional regarding all of my questions and concerns. Most importantly, however, the photographs he took of our wedding day were FANTASTIC! We could not possibly be happier with the outcome - we are literally having a hard time picking out the best dozen or so to frame, which is a fantastic problem to have. I could not recommend David more to any prospective brides - not only were the photographs gorgeous, high quality and flattering, but he was fun to work with, professional and very responsive. Cant say enough great things!

    Sent on 07/18/2014
  • J

    Joel · Married on 04/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David was simply awesome. He made me and my wife completely at ease. During my wedding I hardly new he was there and the photos are fantastic! My wife and I are thrilled with the results! During the "professional shots" he had us laughing and enjoying our time with him. My family told me afterwards how much they liked him and how much fun they had.
    Thank you David!

    Sent on 05/22/2014
  • K

    Kellye · Married on 04/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so thankful we found David Schwartz. I can't say enough about how amazing David was to work with. In our very first meeting it was evident that his goal was to document our happy day and that he wanted to make sure that my vision for my wedding was realized. He was very detail oriented and inquired about my dress, and bridesmaids dresses as well as my chosen colors for the wedding. Within minutes I knew that out of all the photography vendors we had met he knew exactly was I was envisioning and would be committed to helping that vision be realized. We had our engagement photo session done in November at the Botanical Gardens which was beautiful just as he had said. The pictures turned out beautifully. He was so patient with us scheduling the date since I had to fly in from South Carolina. He was also patient with my fiancé and I in our first photo session together as a couple. The wedding day photography was also well planned out in terms of his vision for specific photos which also turned out beautifully. He has an amazing eye for the perfect shot for both candid and planned photos. My bridesmaids and family really enjoyed working with him as well. We received our link to our photos and as expected they are better than I could have imagined. Choosing David as our photographer was definitely the right decision and I would highly recommend him to everyone and I have to anyone who mentions they are engaged.

    Sent on 05/22/2014
  • A

    April · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a unique review, considering David is now my cousin! But I will say, with absolute certainty, that I cherish ever picture he has taken of my now husband and I. He is able to capture our personalities and has great direction (that's 1/2 of a good picture).

    We were fortunate to have David shoot our engagement, bridals, rehearsal dinner, and wedding. The contract prices were very reasonable and his website for payment, etc. is very easy to navigate. I have to mention the turnaround time - he's so fast! A lot of his photos are so good they barely need editing. The pictures he has taken literally brings people to tears because they are so real.

    I am beyond happy with his work and cannot wait for our next major life event so he can snap some photos of us :)

    Sent on 10/23/2013
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn't have asked for a better photographer. My husband and I were actually only engaged for 8 months, making the planning time feel more crunched than our other friends' who had over a year to plan their weddings. But David's flexibility was wonderful - we were up in DC, working full time while going to grad school so David started things off great by being flexible and meeting with us on the phone before the wedding to go over things (we're in Washington, DC with the wedding in Williamsburg, VA). The day of the wedding, he and his assistant showed up with great attitudes, even when I threw them for a loop (oops, I forgot to mention to anyone that I wanted a receiving line after the ceremony). They made the whole shooting process during the cocktail hour FUN! It was kind of muggy and hot and we all still managed to have fun with it. I feel like I barely need to say anything about David's photos because they speak for themselves on his website - his work for our wedding was no different. AMAZING. Portraits are beautiful, candids are happy and funny. Captures everything I didn't even think of from our big day. I'd recommend David Schwartz Photography again and again any day.

    Sent on 12/11/2013
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David Schwartz is the most amazing photographer! I loved working with him for my engagement session and wedding. His pictures are unbelievable... I am so glad that I chose him to be my photographer and recommend him to anyone who wants top of the line pictures of their big day! Well worth the price (and honestly, after seeing the photos, I would have paid more). AMAZING!

    Sent on 07/15/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review