Dave Norris, Charlottesville-Area Wedding Officiant Reviews

22 | Charlottesville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Dave Norris, Charlottesville-Area Wedding Officiant

Recommended by 100%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

3 User photos

Dave Norris, Charlottesville-Area Wedding Officiant 1
Dave Norris, Charlottesville-Area Wedding Officiant 2
Dave Norris, Charlottesville-Area Wedding Officiant 3
Sort by:
  • S

    Sylvia Thomas · Married on 12/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome Experience!!!

    Mr. Norris performed our ceremony which was small with only our siblings and parents surrounding us. Communication prior was helpful with selecting our vows and what our expectations were. He was on time and spoke with each of us before the ceremony. He took care of getting our license dropped off to the courthouse which was helpful. I highly recommend Mr. Norris for his service.

    Sent on 01/23/2019
  • Caroline

    Caroline · Married on 10/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just what we needed!

    When we found out that our friend could not marry us legally in VA we were sad and worried we couldn't have the ceremony we planned. Then we found out about Dave Norris! Dave helped us legally marry so that we could have our friend "officiate" our wedding in VA. Dave kept in contact with us and showed up the day of the wedding a few hours before the ceremony (after our reveal). He performed a quick and (most importantly) legal ceremony, signed the paperwork, and submitted it to the county court house. He even offered to give our friend pointers on officiating!

    Dave was professional, kind, and on-time! He was exactly what we needed! Thank you!

    Sent on 03/09/2019
  • H

    Heather · Married on 10/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave helped us create just the ceremony we wanted

    Dave was such a delight to work with. He had a calming presence, thoughtful responses to all our questions, and a great sense of humor. He had templates and examples to help us plan our ceremony and he also helped advise us on writing our own vows. He led us through a rehearsal that was efficient but spent plenty of time ensuring we had all our questions answered and felt comfortable and ready to go on the day of. We had guests comment after the ceremony that Dave was just radiating positivity the whole time--we felt it too!

    Sent on 03/10/2019
    Dave Norris, Charlottesville-Area Wedding Officiant 4
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 09/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was awesome! He was so kind and professional and accommodating. Couldn’t have asked for a better officiant! He is really outstanding and made our ceremony as amazing as we could have imagined. Thank you Dave!

    Sent on 09/23/2018
  • Rebecca

    Rebecca · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave officiated our wedding at Old Metropolitan Hall on 8/18/18, and was absolutely amazing. We wanted someone who did non-denominational ceremonies and was flexible with ceremony format, and Dave was the perfect fit. He was easy to work with, professional, has a wonderful presence, and works hard to ensure your ceremony is exactly as you dream. I highly recommend Dave's services for anyone on their big day.

    Sent on 09/25/2018
    Dave Norris, Charlottesville-Area Wedding Officiant 5
    Dave Norris, Charlottesville-Area Wedding Officiant 6
  • Q

    Quinn · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was one of the best decisions that we made for our wedding day! He was professional and fun to work with, and he made the planning process so easy. He helped my husband and I customize our ceremony exactly how we wanted it, and we are still getting compliments on how sweet it was even weeks after the wedding. We would recommend Dave to anybody who is looking for an officiant for their wedding!

    Sent on 06/26/2018
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having Dave officiate our wedding! His friendly, relaxed manner helped put us at completely ease on what could have been a stressful day. He worked with us to come up with a ceremony that felt just right for us. Can't recommend him highly enough!

    Sent on 08/27/2017
  • A

    Allyson · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was the perfect officiant for our wedding! He was very kind and well spoken. When we weren't sure which readings we wanted, he had several different options he offered as possibilities. He gave great suggestions for how to run the ceremony smoothly. My husband and I have families that were raised very differently in regards to religion, but Dave worked with us to find a great balance. People from both sides have said it was a beautiful ceremony that they loved!

    Sent on 08/02/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was fantastic! He was accommodating, patient, and calm, and made sure all of the necessary paperwork was taken care of after our wedding.

    My husband and I had a tiny wedding - nine people in the building including Dave and our photography team - but our ceremony was exactly what we wanted. Dave was so easy to work with and our guests thought the ceremony was beautiful.

    Sent on 06/30/2017
  • L

    Laura · Married on 04/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was the perfect choice for our officiant. He was great with helping us create a ceremony that suited us and even drove down from Charlottesville to Richmond for us. He was always organized and responsive to emails. Thanks Dave!!

    Sent on 05/02/2017
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything that Dave did for us leading up to, and on our wedding day was perfect! I had many people ask me how we knew him because the ceremony seemed so personalized! He is sincerely great to work with, and I'm very glad he was the one to marry us!

    Sent on 04/03/2017
  • J

    Julie · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was fantastic!! He followed our wishes for a short and sweet ceremony and was very helpful at the rehearsal. He kept in touch via email and answered any questions we had. He also took care of our paperwork after the wedding so we did not have to worry about it on our honeymoon!

    Sent on 12/19/2016
  • Courtney

    Courtney · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was amazing! He was exactly the kind of officiant we were looking for. After we spoke on the phone with him the first time, we knew he was going to be perfect for our wedding. He has a great, soft speaking voice and he worked with use to tailor our wedding to exactly how we wanted it. Would highly recommend him if you are getting married in the Charlottesville area!

    Sent on 12/07/2016
  • Mrs. Mac

    Kate · Married on 07/31/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't possibly recommend Dave Norris enough. He is so kind, laid-back, funny and I think almost every time I emailed him with a question, he'd reply within 30 minutes. We have had so many people approach us to tell us how beautiful the ceremony was and what a great job Dave did. What a great guy!

    Sent on 08/03/2016
  • G

    Gabriella · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was an absolute pleasure to work with for our wedding. Originally, my husband and I booked another officiant who had to cancel on us roughly 5 months before the big day, and he recommended Dave as a great replacement, and he couldn't have been more spot-on. Dave stepped in and was extremely accommodating and helpful. He had no problem with us combining elements from our originally-drafted ceremony with elements of his typical ceremony, and the result was fabulous - we felt that it perfectly captured who we are as a couple. We received a TON of compliments from guests about Dave, the length of the ceremony, and the content of the ceremony itself. The beginning of our ceremony included mention of family members who had passed or couldn't be there, and Dave took extra time to ask us how to properly pronounce all of their names, which he nailed! As an inter-inter-racial couple (I'm half Brazilian, quarter Jewish, quarter Irish and my husband is half Korean half Irish), I don't think we have ever had anybody do so well with family names. We really appreciated his kind heart, calm demeanor, flexible attitude, and attention to detail. We would HIGHLY recommend Dave for your Charlottesville-area wedding.

    Sent on 07/06/2016
  • H

    Healy · Married on 06/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave is the besttttt!!!! I talked to him on the phone prior to booking and didn't meet him in person until our rehearsal where he instantly seemed like an old friend. After hearing the type of ceremony we wanted (simple, sweet, non-religious) Dave sent over some sample ceremony scripts for us to take a look at. The day before our rehearsal I drafted some additional background story on us to include in the ceremony and he delivered it exceptionally even though I was so last minute getting the info to him. He would have been able to draft it himself, if I had time to chat with him! If you're having an outdoor ceremony, Dave is an experience public speaker and doesn't need a microphone. During our cocktail hour family members kept coming up to me asking me where we found our officiant because he did such a great job. Definitely recommend him 100 percent!!!

    Sent on 06/23/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After reading all of the fantastic reviews for Dave, we reached out to him to officiate our wedding. Not only is Dave quick to respond to e-mails with any questions or concerns, he offers wonderful advice and tips for creating the perfect ceremony. The day of the ceremony, his calmness helped keep us calm, as well! The way he officiates is awesome - it doesn't sound like he's reading straight from a script, and he can truly grab the audience's attention.

    Sent on 06/19/2016
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was an absolute pleasure to work with!!! I was worried about finding an officiant knowing that my husband and I were not from the Charlottesville area. Once we found Dave, I knew we were in good hands. He made us feel so comfortable and was always available to answer our questions. Dave walked us through the process of planning our ceremony. We had the opportunity to meet Dave about 8 months before our wedding at a coffee shop in Charlottesville just to put a face to a name! We then had a few meetings over skype when it got closer to our wedding date. Dave was extremely professional and performed our ceremony at Early Mountain Vineyard perfectly!! Our wedding was everything that we dreamed of and thanks to Dave our ceremony was FLAWLESS ~ even minutes before the skies opened up with rain! Thanks to Dave for being such a big part of our special day we couldn’t imagine it any other way!!

    Sent on 07/06/2016
  • A

    Annie · Married on 09/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best. Officiant. Ever. Dave was a dream to work with! He went out of his way to Skype, meet in person, answer e-mails...you name it... throughout the planning process. He went above and beyond to incorporate personal touches during our ceremony, which we really appreciated. Our ceremony was perfect, thanks to Dave. Highly, highly recommend!

    Sent on 10/13/2015
  • L

    Laura · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was awesome. So laid-back, yet professional and organized. He really listened to what we wanted our ceremony to be and delivered a very sweet, personal ceremony using the information we provided him about our relationship. He was kind enough to meet with us personally in the beginning which made us feel much more at ease with him as our officiant throughout the process. He was super helpful at our rehearsal as well. We would highly recommend Dave!

    Sent on 10/24/2015
  • User5499185 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't say enough great things about Dave! He performed a beautiful ceremony and worked with us to make sure it reflected our personalities and relationship. He is a kind man who is good at listening and knowing the legal ins and outs of the marriage process in VA. Many of our friends commented that they want him to marry them!

    Sent on 10/06/2015
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 03/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave Norris was wonderful to work with and made every effort to get to know me and my fiance before our ceremony. Choosing an officiant for a destination wedding can be intimidating because it's such a personal component, but Dave made us feel like old friends and that personal touch was very meaningful to our families. He was extremely supportive and we couldn't have been more pleased with our ceremony (except for the chilly temperatures, but that was out of our control!) I definitely recommend Dave as professional, enthusiastic and most importantly, on time! Working with Dave on our wedding was top-notch.

    Sent on 04/24/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review