Dave Norris, Charlottesville-Area Wedding Officiant Reviews

30 | Charlottesville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

30 Reviews for Dave Norris, Charlottesville-Area Wedding Officiant

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

30

5 User photos

Order by:
  • J

    Joseph R. · Married on 09/19/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave Norris was great to work with for our recent wedding!!!

    We were married on September 19th, after rescheduling things due to covid. He responded quickly to our questions, made the process very easy, and did an outstanding job officiating the wedding.

    We highly recommend him as a wedding officiant!!!

    Mr and Mrs Joseph and Bern'Nadette Ryan

    Sent on 09/22/2020
  • Melissa

    Melissa L. · Married on 08/29/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was Fantastic

    Our experience with Dave was amazing. We lost our officiant for our August 2020 wedding less than 60 days out. Dave readily stepped in and helped us design a ceremony that represented us as a couple. During the ceremony my vows went awol, and Dave did a great job thinking in the moment to find them while keeping the ceremony moving forward. Highly recommend Dave to anyone who wants a personal touch at their wedding!

    Sent on 10/04/2020
  • Mel

    Mel · Married on 07/24/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Officiant

    Dave was such a great officiant to work with! When we had to reschedule our wedding, he was willing to still marry us on our originally planned date. Then he also officiated at our rescheduled wedding, so we could marry again with all of our closest friends and family. We wanted a simple, yet meaningful ceremony, and he delivered exactly what we were looking for. He gave us so many ideas when we weren't exactly sure where to start. He made the whole process easy and everyone enjoyed the beautiful ceremony.

    Sent on 07/26/2020
  • M

    Morgan H. · Married on 03/20/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great officiant!

    Dave married my wife and I in March of 2020. We had first reached out to Dave back in the Fall of 2019 over phone and liked how easy going he was. We explained the type of ceremony we would like to have, and he emailed us a few templates to tailor of ceremony too. Between our phone call and wedding day, he walked us through the process of obtaining our marriage license and what we could expect. We had a small (less than 20) family only ceremony and everyone remarked at how beautiful the ceremony was because of Dave's presentation. Dave left us a beautiful note, wishing us a lifetime of happiness and included a nice keepsake wedding certificate. He filed our marriage license the next business day and told us to follow up if we had any questions. I would highly recommend Dave to anyone getting married in the Charlottesville area. His kindness and professionalism made our wedding day as stress free as possible.

    Sent on 06/21/2020
  • Michelle

    Michelle L. · Married on 09/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Officiant!

    Dave was perfect for our wedding! Dave gave us a flat fee, showed up to our rehearsal early, and even provided us with a nice guideline to write our vows from. We put a couple of poems in and he articulated them beautifully! He checked all the boxes and more! Highly recommend.

    Sent on 11/12/2019
  • Deanna

    Deanna · Married on 08/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding officiant

    Our ceremony was the thing I was worried about the most for our wedding day. I had no idea how to wrap my head around everything that went into the ceremony. Luckily we had Dave who gave us an outline to work from, helped us with our whiskey barrel unity ceremony reading and kept the whole ceremony organized and running perfectly. I would highly recommend Dave for your wedding ceremony officiant!

    Sent on 09/05/2019
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 05/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely perfect!

    Dave was the best! He completely let us make the ceremony our own. We wrote our own vows but also did traditional vows as well. He also asked that we give him some bullet points on our "story" and and he did such a great job using that information. It was almost as if he knew us personally! He was recommended by our day-of-coordinator, and it was a perfect suggestion! Would recommend to anyone!

    Sent on 05/20/2019
  • L

    Laura · Married on 04/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Dave!

    Dave did an excellent job officiating our wedding. He got us started by sending us a template that gave us a solid foundation, then we worked with him over a few Skype meetings to make it our own. Some examples include him writing a great personal reflection based on some notes we sent him about our relationship and helping us find and adapt a wine ceremony that felt just right to us. Through the scripting process, he was always accommodating and flexible, and he has an easy-going warm personality that makes him so easy to work with.
    At the rehearsal, Dave did a great job walking us through everything- including a lot of smaller details I had not thought about (remembering to pause to adjust the bride’s train, handing off the bouquet, where to put your hands, etc)- and putting everyone at ease. On the wedding day he was a calming presence, spoke clearly and confidently, and the ceremony went just as we’d hoped. He was a real pro and did a bunch of little things to make our day a success, including some we didn’t even notice in the moment, like stepping out of the photo for the first kiss.
    We got a lot of compliments about how beautiful our ceremony was, and it all started with Dave.

    Sent on 04/28/2019
  • S

    Sylvia T. · Married on 12/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome Experience!!!

    Mr. Norris performed our ceremony which was small with only our siblings and parents surrounding us. Communication prior was helpful with selecting our vows and what our expectations were. He was on time and spoke with each of us before the ceremony. He took care of getting our license dropped off to the courthouse which was helpful. I highly recommend Mr. Norris for his service.

    Sent on 01/23/2019
  • Caroline

    Caroline · Married on 10/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just what we needed!

    When we found out that our friend could not marry us legally in VA we were sad and worried we couldn't have the ceremony we planned. Then we found out about Dave Norris! Dave helped us legally marry so that we could have our friend "officiate" our wedding in VA. Dave kept in contact with us and showed up the day of the wedding a few hours before the ceremony (after our reveal). He performed a quick and (most importantly) legal ceremony, signed the paperwork, and submitted it to the county court house. He even offered to give our friend pointers on officiating!

    Dave was professional, kind, and on-time! He was exactly what we needed! Thank you!

    Sent on 03/09/2019
  • H

    Heather · Married on 10/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave helped us create just the ceremony we wanted

    Dave was such a delight to work with. He had a calming presence, thoughtful responses to all our questions, and a great sense of humor. He had templates and examples to help us plan our ceremony and he also helped advise us on writing our own vows. He led us through a rehearsal that was efficient but spent plenty of time ensuring we had all our questions answered and felt comfortable and ready to go on the day of. We had guests comment after the ceremony that Dave was just radiating positivity the whole time--we felt it too!

    Sent on 03/10/2019
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 09/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was awesome! He was so kind and professional and accommodating. Couldn’t have asked for a better officiant! He is really outstanding and made our ceremony as amazing as we could have imagined. Thank you Dave!

    Sent on 09/23/2018
  • Rebecca

    Rebecca · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave officiated our wedding at Old Metropolitan Hall on 8/18/18, and was absolutely amazing. We wanted someone who did non-denominational ceremonies and was flexible with ceremony format, and Dave was the perfect fit. He was easy to work with, professional, has a wonderful presence, and works hard to ensure your ceremony is exactly as you dream. I highly recommend Dave's services for anyone on their big day.

    Sent on 09/25/2018
  • Q

    Quinn · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was one of the best decisions that we made for our wedding day! He was professional and fun to work with, and he made the planning process so easy. He helped my husband and I customize our ceremony exactly how we wanted it, and we are still getting compliments on how sweet it was even weeks after the wedding. We would recommend Dave to anybody who is looking for an officiant for their wedding!

    Sent on 06/26/2018
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having Dave officiate our wedding! His friendly, relaxed manner helped put us at completely ease on what could have been a stressful day. He worked with us to come up with a ceremony that felt just right for us. Can't recommend him highly enough!

    Sent on 08/27/2017
  • A

    Allyson · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was the perfect officiant for our wedding! He was very kind and well spoken. When we weren't sure which readings we wanted, he had several different options he offered as possibilities. He gave great suggestions for how to run the ceremony smoothly. My husband and I have families that were raised very differently in regards to religion, but Dave worked with us to find a great balance. People from both sides have said it was a beautiful ceremony that they loved!

    Sent on 08/02/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was fantastic! He was accommodating, patient, and calm, and made sure all of the necessary paperwork was taken care of after our wedding.

    My husband and I had a tiny wedding - nine people in the building including Dave and our photography team - but our ceremony was exactly what we wanted. Dave was so easy to work with and our guests thought the ceremony was beautiful.

    Sent on 06/30/2017
  • L

    Laura · Married on 04/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was the perfect choice for our officiant. He was great with helping us create a ceremony that suited us and even drove down from Charlottesville to Richmond for us. He was always organized and responsive to emails. Thanks Dave!!

    Sent on 05/02/2017
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything that Dave did for us leading up to, and on our wedding day was perfect! I had many people ask me how we knew him because the ceremony seemed so personalized! He is sincerely great to work with, and I'm very glad he was the one to marry us!

    Sent on 04/03/2017
  • J

    Julie · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was fantastic!! He followed our wishes for a short and sweet ceremony and was very helpful at the rehearsal. He kept in touch via email and answered any questions we had. He also took care of our paperwork after the wedding so we did not have to worry about it on our honeymoon!

    Sent on 12/19/2016
  • Courtney

    Courtney · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was amazing! He was exactly the kind of officiant we were looking for. After we spoke on the phone with him the first time, we knew he was going to be perfect for our wedding. He has a great, soft speaking voice and he worked with use to tailor our wedding to exactly how we wanted it. Would highly recommend him if you are getting married in the Charlottesville area!

    Sent on 12/07/2016
  • Mrs. Mac

    Kate · Married on 07/31/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't possibly recommend Dave Norris enough. He is so kind, laid-back, funny and I think almost every time I emailed him with a question, he'd reply within 30 minutes. We have had so many people approach us to tell us how beautiful the ceremony was and what a great job Dave did. What a great guy!

    Sent on 08/03/2016
  • G

    Gabriella · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was an absolute pleasure to work with for our wedding. Originally, my husband and I booked another officiant who had to cancel on us roughly 5 months before the big day, and he recommended Dave as a great replacement, and he couldn't have been more spot-on. Dave stepped in and was extremely accommodating and helpful. He had no problem with us combining elements from our originally-drafted ceremony with elements of his typical ceremony, and the result was fabulous - we felt that it perfectly captured who we are as a couple. We received a TON of compliments from guests about Dave, the length of the ceremony, and the content of the ceremony itself. The beginning of our ceremony included mention of family members who had passed or couldn't be there, and Dave took extra time to ask us how to properly pronounce all of their names, which he nailed! As an inter-inter-racial couple (I'm half Brazilian, quarter Jewish, quarter Irish and my husband is half Korean half Irish), I don't think we have ever had anybody do so well with family names. We really appreciated his kind heart, calm demeanor, flexible attitude, and attention to detail. We would HIGHLY recommend Dave for your Charlottesville-area wedding.

    Sent on 07/06/2016
  • H

    Healy · Married on 06/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave is the besttttt!!!! I talked to him on the phone prior to booking and didn't meet him in person until our rehearsal where he instantly seemed like an old friend. After hearing the type of ceremony we wanted (simple, sweet, non-religious) Dave sent over some sample ceremony scripts for us to take a look at. The day before our rehearsal I drafted some additional background story on us to include in the ceremony and he delivered it exceptionally even though I was so last minute getting the info to him. He would have been able to draft it himself, if I had time to chat with him! If you're having an outdoor ceremony, Dave is an experience public speaker and doesn't need a microphone. During our cocktail hour family members kept coming up to me asking me where we found our officiant because he did such a great job. Definitely recommend him 100 percent!!!

    Sent on 06/23/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After reading all of the fantastic reviews for Dave, we reached out to him to officiate our wedding. Not only is Dave quick to respond to e-mails with any questions or concerns, he offers wonderful advice and tips for creating the perfect ceremony. The day of the ceremony, his calmness helped keep us calm, as well! The way he officiates is awesome - it doesn't sound like he's reading straight from a script, and he can truly grab the audience's attention.

    Sent on 06/19/2016