Weddings

Dandelion Catering Co. Reviews

Dandelion Catering Co.

Dandelion Catering Co.

Yarmouth, ME
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 25 Reviews
View more information

25 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 25

4 User photos

Sort by:
  • M
    Madi L. Married on 06/19/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing catering!

    Dandelion recently catered our wedding and the food and process was amazing. They have been accommodating and responsive over the past months of planning, were perfectly on schedule, and delivered absolutely delicious food. We received so many compliments on the quality of the food. Highly highly recommend for any of your catering needs!
  • Emma
    Emma Married on 06/12/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So delicous!

    We were thrilled with the delicious food provided by Dandelion. Since we live out of state we had to take a crazy risk and we never got to try it before our wedding, but both did we luck out! The food is amazing. We had a kind of picky group of eaters and there was something that everyone loved. People went back again and again for more. Our photographer said as soon as she heard who was catering she knew it would be good. We got so much support and help from the team at Dandelion during the planning, postponing and re planning process. They were very helpful every step of the way. We loved the options they gave us and we were able to get exactly what wanted.
  • Meghan
    Meghan Married on 11/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    HIGHLY recommend for bar service!!

    We got married in November at O’Maine Studios in Portland, ME. O’Maine suggested we reach out to Dandelion about providing bar services as they frequently worked together on events and weddings. We booked the package where we could bring in our own alcohol and Dandelion would prepare and serve it. We worked with Sami, who was amazing and super responsive. Sami helped us answer many of our questions, including quantities of beer, wine, and ingredients for signature cocktails. During the wedding, staff were friendly and served everyone at our wedding with a smile. We gave Dandelion recipes and ingredients for our signature cocktails and they killed it - guests kept commenting how delicious both our drinks were. We would highly recommend Dandelion’s bar services if you are interested in supplying your own alcohol for your wedding. It was super easy and Sami and her team were incredibly helpful, professional, and friendly.
  • A
    Andrea L. Married on 07/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A delicious afternoon on the water

    We had Dandelion cater an afternoon on The Frances out of Portland, ME and it was fabulous. We received a substantial amount of food for 18 people, and we still ate most of it because it was too good not to! Dandelion had awesome choices to pick from for our boat snacks, and the presentation was beautiful. I highly recommend Dandelion!
  • W
    Wilhelmina Married on 07/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dandelion catered my wedding on July 21st, and it was nothing but amazing! We worked with them to create a vegan menu, their flavors were incredible, not a single other guest was vegan, yet they all had nothing but compliments and many second helpings!
  • K
    Katina Married on 07/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired dandelion catering for our daughter’s wedding. She wanted the food to be vegan. The food was delicious , eye appealing. fresh and very well seasoned. We can only recommend their service .
  • S
    Susan Married on 10/06/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dandelion Catering's website is informative, menu choices elaborate, photos of their exquisitely prepared dishes breathtaking. We were pleased that they offer several delivery options.

    Operations Manager Amy professionally attended to every detail by information, making suggestions, answering our countless questions.

    The evening of our dinner, Sami, Bar Manager, arrived with the bar set up and our clearly labeled food. Our delivery of choice was "drop off”. She professionally and hospitably managed our beverage and food serving tables and did more than her fair share of efficiently cleaning the serving area at the end of the evening. An added PLUS: all of the serving containers, utensils, dinner plates and napkins were environmentally friendly.

    Every bit of food which Dandelion Catering prepared for our dinner was absolutely the best! From the appetizers and salads, assorted sandwiches and casserole, to ending with Maine whoopee pies, our entire meal was not only beautifully created and presented but absolutely delicious in every respect and thoroughly enjoyed by everyone!!! We have received nothing but compliments from our guests for the fabulous assortment of dishes which were served.

    Dandelion Catering far exceeded our expectations in every aspect of planning, accommodating and presenting their amazing foods products.
  • K
    Katie Married on 07/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired Dandelion Catering for our wedding this past July, and we cannot recommend them enough. We opted for a pig roast, and Dandelion’s pig roast menu is absolutely amazing. Our guests continue to comment on how delicious and memorable the meal was. In addition to their delicious food, the staff is incredibly professional and organized. We highly recommend Dandelion Catering to anyone looking for delicious food and amazing service!
  • User2696802 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dandelion did our wedding in Maine (summer '16), completely knocked it out of the park. We considered several caterers in the area, but they were head and shoulders above everyone else with regards to responsiveness, helpfulness, flexibility, and taste. They not only wowed everyone at the wedding with their creative, delicious menu, but they also made the catering portion of planning stress-free.

    We initially chose Dandelion bc we care a lot about where food comes from, how it’s prepared, and how it tastes (we’re picky). We were sold after a tasting, and you can tell they not only have their heart in the right place, but that they have the highest standards for quality and flavor. Having good food was the most important part of the day for us (besides the getting married part), and we wanted people to feel like they had gone out to eat at a restaurant, as opposed to getting some boring piece of meat/fish/mushroom ravioli plate with green beans/mashed potatoes that weddings seem to suffer from. You only need to browse through their website to get a sense of how creative they are, and the 120 people who came to our wedding can vouch that their food tastes as good as it looks. People couldn’t stop talking about it.

    The entire team was super-organized and responsive. They were helpful with developing our menu, and unfazed when we told them we needed gluten free and vege options, or when we made last-minute requests (A couple weeks before the wedding and we realize we need bar service for the welcome dinner on a holiday weekend? No problem). We bought our own alcohol, but they helped us sort out what and how much we needed. We gave them instructions for a couple unusual batch cocktails and they were executed perfectly. Finally, I just wanted to say that the staff was a dream to work with – throughout the process, everyone at one point wowed us with a “gosh, I can’t believe you just went and did that for us” moment/thoughtful gesture. Thank you, Dandelion!
  • L
    Luke Married on 06/25/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We can’t speak highly enough of the team at Dandelion. From day one, we knew we were in good hands. We choose Dandelion to cater our wedding because of their commitment to sustainability and the use of locally sourced ingredients.
    Amy (Operations Manager) and Emma (Event Logistics Manager) are excellent communicators. Their professionalism and organization is equally impressive. We live outside of Boston, so a lot of our planning was done by email/phone. Throughout the process, they were always available to respond to our questions and emails quickly. Christian (Chef/Owner) put together a fabulous menu for us that combined all of our favorite flavors from around the world. When it was time for our tasting in their super hip commercial kitchen in Yarmouth, we were blown away. The presentation and quality of food cannot be beat. We were so pumped to offer our guests such a fantastic menu. Just after the tasting, Emma and Christian took the time to sit down with us to make final tweaks and adjustments. On our wedding day, they hit it out of the park. All the food was prepared and cooked on site at our venue (William Allen Farm). From the gourmet fish and chips served with shots of beer, to the mini banh mi, to the gorgeous charcuterie and oyster display, and of course, to the grilled hanger steak and brined whole roasted citrus chicken (that literally melted off the bone), the food tasted and looked like it was out of a magazine. Our guests cannot stop raving about the food. It is an experience you don’t always get at a wedding. Lastly, the service. The servers and staff were so much fun. They were so warm and kind to our guests. Towards the end of the night, I walked past the catering tent and saw them grooving to the music as they were wrapping up. I hopped in the tent and joined them. My husband and I always wanted our vendors to feel a part of the celebration — so that made us very happy. Our whole experience with Dandelion was just fantastic.
  • K
    Kate Married on 11/07/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We chose Dandelion because we wanted our wedding dinner to embody the quality and creativity for which Portland restaurants are known. They completely exceeded our expectations. Our guests were raving about the food--the appetizers and entrees were amazing and plated beautifully! The service was also a highlight of the evening. The servers and bartenders were warm and friendly while being incredibly professional and unobtrusive. The quality of the food and the graciousness of the staff added up to a truly memorable night. Amy, the manager, was a delight to work with and was responsive and thoughtful throughout the planning process. We highly recommend Dandelion to anyone planning an event and look forward to working with them again!
  • J
    Jess Married on 10/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dandelion catered both our rehearsal dinner (50 people) and wedding (140 people), and also provided our bar service. My husband and I are major foodies and wanted a family-style feast to be one of the highlights of the evening, so we were looking for a caterer that was creative with their menu and preparation. Dandelion did not disappoint. The menus they prepared were unique, well-balanced and absolutely delicious. All of our guests - from meat eaters to gluten-free to vegetarians - are still raving about the food. Since we didn't have a cake, Dandelion made the pies and doughnuts for our dessert buffet, which was really convenient to have one vendor covering all food, bar and bakery needs.
    Finally, the staff at Dandelion is wonderful. Amy and Angela (operations manager and bar manager) were extremely patient with all our questions and special requests. The day of staff was competent, and most importantly, warm and friendly to our guests.
  • D
    Debbie Married on 08/29/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the first email to the tasting to the wedding day Dandelion provided exceptional and professional services. Dandelion listens to the vision of the bride/groom and family and then provides a wedding day filled with delicious and beautiful food and great staff. Once the final menu was established, catering could be checked off my list as complete with confidence that we were in great hands. From the response of our guests, we made a perfect decision selecting Dandelion as our caterer.
  • B
    Bronwyn Married on 08/22/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired Dandelion for our wedding and they did an amazing job! They were delightful to work with and were helpful with executing our menu wishes. Our guests raved about their drop-off buffet for our rehearsal dinner and the food for the day of--I've gotten so many compliments on the cocktail hour food, the lobsters and the presentation. Hiring Dandelion was one of the best decisions we made! Highly recommended!
  • M
    Michael Married on 07/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dandelion catered our wedding in July and we couldn't have been happier with them. In the planning, they were great to work with and willing to talk through the menu with us (including a good chunk of time where bride, groom, and parents were debating what the menu should be - they were patient and good humored about it!). The food was delicious - we had a lobster bake, seafood chowder, and fresh veggies for the main. It was great (and my aunt who is a fancy pants chef said the chowder was phenomenal). The vegetarian/vegan meal they prepared was awesome - multiple guests said it was the BEST veggie meal they had ever been served at a wedding / other catered event. Chris and Christine brought an awesome team to the event, and things went smoothly, and the food was great. Definitely recommend them.
  • E
    Emily Married on 06/30/2018
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nothing but good things to say. Dandelion provided catering for our wedding weekend. They were very responsive, easy to work with upfront, and happily designed a custom vegetarian menu. The food they prepared was simply stunning, and our guests loved it. All the servers were warm and friendly, and the service itself was flawless. Thanks so much!!!
  • N
    Nina Married on 01/02/2016
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dandelion catered our wedding for 150 people and we could not have been happier with the food or the service - they did an amazing job! We had a pig roast, which they roast for 24 hours. We were excited at the idea that we might have some leftovers, but even my (mostly) vegetarian uncle had second helpings. They also did the bar service for us - we had two signature cocktails, a negroni and a cucumber margarita (our own recipe) that they pulled off perfectly. They were complete professionals the entire time - dealing with my husband's constantly changing glassware preferences and coordinating with our day-of wedding coordinator and the event space owner. The wedding was a complete success, and everyone has said the food was a major reason why.
  • User1396940 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Christine and Christian at Dandelion Catering did a phenomenal job with our wedding. We asked them to cater a Friday night pig roast, Saturday reception, and Sunday brunch - and each meal was delicious, creative, and served beautifully. Their efforts really made our weekend that much more special. Many of our guests commented that it was the best food they'd had at a wedding, and we agreed. I strongly recommend Dandelion Catering to anyone who is looking for a Maine-sourced, unique, high quality caterer. And they are just the nicest people ever.
  • Anna
    Anna Married on 08/25/2013
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dandelion Catering set up a truly abundant, beautiful and festive outdoor feast for our guests at our wedding. They even came up with special recipes so we could have some of our cheesecakes be wheat-free and sugar-free. They also provided magnificently large tubs of ice for the sodas and our own Champagne. The quality of the catering and attention to detail added immensely to our day.
  • S
    Samantha Married on 07/29/2017
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding was a New England destination wedding. We flew out 9 months before to meet with a few caterers and try their food. Non of the other companies even came close to the taste and presentation of Dandelion's food. So it was an easy decision for us. Amy worked with us on the menu to meet our palette and budget requirements. There was a bunch of back of forth and I never felt that she was annoyed or felt pressured to choose one thing over another. We chose passed appetizers, a plated dinner and used them as our bar tenders, but we provided the alcohol. Everyone we dealt with from day one was responsive, professional, and accommodating. We even ended up using them to cater a small brunch for our wedding party the day of the the wedding and it was perfect. I'll admit, I didn't get to taste all the appetizers, but the ones I had were amazing and we received nothing but compliments on them from our guests. The dinner was hot and tasted wonderful. And very instagramably beautiful! It was definitely restaurant quality, not your typical wedding food. The timing of the service was spot on. No one at a table was waiting for other to be served, which tends to happen often at weddings. This was very important to us, and our guests even complimented us on the flow of the food coming out. They came around often to fill up water glasses and wine and always with a smile. I felt like they had a perfect amount of staff, and everyone seemed to have a purpose and be busy. If your food's taste, presentation and service at your wedding or event is important to you, hire Dandelion.
  • User2407980 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We absolutely loved every step of the process with Dandelion! They provided catering for our rehearsal dinner, reception and provided bar service. We initially chose them because we loved their focus on local ingredients. They happily customized our menu and bar list to exactly what we wanted. The staff and servers were excellent. The food was delicious and we got rave reviews from all of our guests. They do not always respond quickly to emails but have an auto-responding email to let you know that replies are slower than normal during peak wedding season which is totally understandable. We did not have any issues with this and they were very prompt to respond to any questions close to our wedding date. Overall, I would highly recommend Dandelion to any couple.
  • User1783185 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Pig roast at a wedding. Need I say more? Christian and the rest of the staff were amazing. I am still craving our dinner. It was a million steps above normal wedding food. HIGHLY recommended.
  • M
    Melissa Married on 07/25/2015
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dandelion catered our rehearsal dinner for our wedding, and the food was great. We just had them drop off the food (rather than staffing the event), and it all went really smoothly. All of the food was delicious, people absolutely loved the vegan tacos. We chose Dandelion because of how easy it was to select dishes made with local ingredients, and vegan and gluten-free options. We think they did a really great job, and would love to work with them again!
  • User1413614 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Dandelion provides the best "wedding food" I or my guests have ever had. They offer local, seasonal, excellently prepared food, and do fun things like oyster shucking and pig smokes. My guests and I were incredibly impressed with the quality of the food, and the service was also excellent. While they were not as responsive as I would have liked leading up to my wedding, they have since obtained a manager who should change this.
  • User1691630 2+ years ago
    Rating 3.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    While the food was fabulous and the price really couldn't be beat, two years later, I still find myself feeling bad about some of the things that happened. For one, they were late to help us set up for the wedding and late for the wedding! I ended up having to start setting the tables, because we only had a limited window of time. They told us we wouldn't need knives, because the food would be bite-sized, I asked them to get a couple just in case someone asked for one. There were no knives at our wedding. Some of the meat was a little too big to be bite-sized and what about buttering the bread?? This is partially my fault, I could have insisted, but I was reassured we wouldn't need any. We had a meeting at the venue to talk about where the buffet tables would go. So it was a rather unpleasant surprise on the morning of my wedding, to discover that they thought we were doing family style serving -- which wouldn't work given the space the centerpieces took up, and the fact that we had buffet tables set up! I had asked them to make a plate of the appetizers for my husband and I, which didn't happen. Worst of all, the venue needed a copy of their catering license and a mere week before the wedding, still hadn't gotten it. I was completely panicked to the point that I started frantically brainstorming how to feed over 100 guests with no caterer. Overall, the food really was very good and cost-wise, extremely reasonable. I hope for everyone's sake that these kinks have been worked out, and I even feel bad writing this review, because I would hate for it to affect their business, but I've held onto these bad feelings regarding what happened for the past two years and I wish there had been reviews online when I was planning my wedding.