Dana Silverberg Lawson, Life Cycle Celebrant Reviews

53 | Jersey City, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

53 Reviews for Dana Silverberg Lawson, Life Cycle Celebrant

Recommended by 99%

53
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • Lauren

    Lauren · Married on 03/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Wedding 3/30/19

    From our first phone call with Dana, my husband and I knew she would be the one to marry us. She was so upbeat and personable on the phone, genuinely interested in our love story. We spent about an hour on the phone talking with her, just going over how we met, how long we’ve been dating, what type of ceremony we wanted, how our lives are structured, our relationship with our families, etc. The truth is, the time just flew by because she genuinely cared, and it was like talking to an old friend. Prior to meeting Dana, we met with a few other officiants who were very nice and we easily could have went with one of them and been done with it, but I’m glad we kept looking and met Dana. Once we hung up the phone after our first conversation, we knew we were done. We emailed her the next day and met with Dana soon after at Panera to talk again and put a face to the voice. It was a great meeting and we quickly booked her that day. What set Dana apart was that we knew she would make sure that everything was taken care of the way that we envisioned it. She wrote a beautiful ceremony for us, which we worked on together the month of the wedding. On the day of, Dana came and found us the moment she arrived at our venue, which was nice and early. My husband and I both took a deep breath, we knew she had everything under control. She was so calm and reassuring, in that moment, I can’t tell you how glad I was that we chose her.

    Dana nailed it! Dana speaks so beautifully, it’s no surprise our ceremony was perfect. All of our guests came up to us afterwards to tell us how beautiful it was and how much they enjoyed Dana.

    Here’s my advice to anyone planning a wedding: Choose the vendors that give you peace of mind, the ones that you know will deliver for you on your big day. For my husband and I, that was Dana Lawson. Dana was a such a delight to work with before our big day and so incredibly warm and loving at our wedding. She was a true professional, a master of her craft. I would recommend Dana to anyone looking for an officiant.

    Sent on 04/28/2019
  • T

    Taylor · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There were people who came to our wedding who swore to me they would not cry. Dana proved them wrong. Dana worked with us extensively to create a wedding ceremony that captured what we were looking for: personal, intimate, and meaningful. We went back and forth with numerous drafts where Dana offered lots of suggestions and ideas to get us where we wanted to be. We saw Dana at someone else's wedding and knew we wanted her to marry us because of the feeling and environment she created, and she did exactly the same for us.

    Sent on 06/14/2018
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dana handled everything with top professionalism and care. Was very responsive on email, wrote a beautiful ceremony that really captured us as a couple, and took my request to start and finish the ceremony at a specific time for my astronomy chart very seriously ;) and she hit the timing perfectly! Most importantly, she embued the ceremony with such warmth and love, I felt she actually married us with her spirit, not her words. That was unexpected, and special beyond words. I would recommend any couple that wants to married by the higher spirit should choose Dana. As a Catholic, I've never met a priest who could do better ;)

    Sent on 07/02/2017
  • J

    Justina · Married on 03/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As soon as I met Dana, I knew I wanted her to officiate my wedding. When my now wife met her, she knew why - her beaming smile and glowing personality make Dana so pleasant to work with. From the start, she listened to how we met and what we envisioned for our wedding. She took in everything we said and incorporated in ways we couldn't even imagine. Dana exceeded any and all expectation we had. All of our guests have commented what a beautiful ceremony it was - and we owe that to Dana. Thank you so much!

    Sent on 03/29/2017
  • I

    Ilysa · Married on 12/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My now husband and I were really struggling trying to decide who we wanted to marry us. We are both Jewish but did not necessarily want to get married by a rabbi. When we finally found Dana we were so relieved. She is so warm and friendly and by the end of our initial phone call we felt like we had known her forever and knew she was right for us. Dana truly understood what we wanted and made our ceremony completely about us. While Dana offered wonderful suggestions for vows, readings, etc., she gave us the final say which meant so much to us. When our wedding day came everything was perfect and our ceremony was absolutely beautiful (and one of our favorite parts of the day). Our guests, who had never heard of a celebrant, were stunned at how wonderful the ceremony was. Friends who were already married said they wished they had used her and friends who are planning weddings asked for her number. We would recommend that EVERYONE use Dana.

    Sent on 01/23/2017
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dana officiated our wedding June 4, 2016 at the Oakeside Mansion in Bloomfield, NJ. From the first moment we met Dana we knew she was the right choice to officiate on our big day. Her process for writing the ceremony was great: we had an initial discussion where she got to know us and then we filled out a questionnaire discussing our relationship. Dana then took that and turned it into a beautiful ceremony. She gave us options for flow and what we could and could not include. After a couple of drafts we had a very personal and emotional ceremony. Our wedding guests had great things to say about the day (food, music, etc) but EVERY single person we spoke to commented on how amazing the ceremony was. Most people thought that we had known Dana for years because the ceremony was so “us”. Dana was the perfect choice for us and we would recommend her to any couple looking for an officiant.

    Sent on 07/04/2016
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dana was the best wedding decision we made! As an interfaith couple, we struggled on deciding who would marry us. We wanted to be true to ourselves, but also respect our families different backgrounds. Dana helped us to create a beautiful ceremony. It was so special to take part in the process by providing feedback and reviewing the ceremony draft, something my husband and I really enjoyed working on together. I am so glad Dana's name was recommended to us and would highly recommend her to any other couples looking for a very personal ceremony!

    Sent on 02/02/2016
  • C

    Christina · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband has known Dana since high school, so what better way to have a truly personal ceremony. From the day I met Dana, I knew she was perfect for our wedding! She is so incredibly kind, sweet, and genuine. She crafted our ceremony just for us, based on responses we had given her. She presented us with a few different options on how the ceremony could go. She also helped us pick some readings that we loved in our ceremony. She gave us the ideas and had us sculpt the final product, which made it truly memorable and personal. We wrote back and forth until we came up with a final copy. Our guests raved on how wonderful and beautiful our ceremony was! We truly thank Dana for everything she did for us! We could not of asked for a better ceremony, it was absolutely perfect! <3

    Sent on 01/05/2016
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 07/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I feel so lucky to have met Dana through this crazy wedding planning process. She is incredibly kind, genuine, and sweet. She met with us and crafted the most personalized, perfect ceremony for us. I've been to many weddings where the ceremony doesn't necessarily feel like the star of the evening in comparison to the other elements (cocktail hour, reception, etc). In our case, because of Dana, I really feel like the ceremony stole the show! It was heartfelt, loving, and a perfect representation of my husband and I. Thank you so much, Dana!

    Sent on 07/07/2015
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dana was hands down the best officiant I've ever seen at a wedding! I know, I'm a little biased because it was MY wedding, but I've been to many weddings, and nothing has compared to what Dana did. I've gotten so many compliments from some of our 200 guests saying how wonderful our wedding ceremony was because of Dana. People enjoyed her enthusiasm as well as how she personalized the ceremony for us. We obviously loved it too. From the moment she came to our apartment to meet my husband and I, to the moment she said goodbye to us on our wedding day, she was nothing but exceptionally kind and professional. I feel so lucky that I came across Dana because I couldn't have imagined my wedding ceremony going any better. If you're getting married- you need to call her right now. You won't regret it!!!

    Sent on 04/13/2015
  • L

    Laura · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dana wrote beautiful vows for my husband and I. I've known Dana for a long time and she is so down to earth and has a great spirit! I highly recommend having her as your officiant!

    Sent on 07/03/2017
  • J

    Jarad · Married on 05/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OMG I could not be happier with my ceremony. Dana absolutely nailed it! The perfect amount of cute and fun mixed with the perfect amount of happy and tears. After only talking to us for about an hour, she managed to tailor a something that represented us perfectly. The wine box suggestion was GOLD and everyone couldn't stop talking about it. I couldn't tell you how many people approached to tell me how great Dana was. 10/10 would highly recommend =)

    Sent on 05/27/2014
  • A

    Allison · Married on 04/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dana did an amazing job of crafting the ceremony we wanted; something short and sweet, personalized, unique, with some tradition, and yet not boring. She was very prompt in responding to us, providing great ideas, and working with us to tailor the ceremony. If you are anything like me, I never remember the details about other ceremonies, however the guests are still telling us what a great job Dana did and how she really captured us!

    Sent on 05/28/2014
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 02/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We do not have words to express what an amazing person and officiant Dana Lawson is. When planning our wedding day, my now husband and I searched and searched for someone who we felt was not only closely aligned with our style and belief system, but someone that would be a part of a moment that we, and our guests, will relive for a lifetime.
    Dana first spent time with both of us, getting to know us and noting our interactions together. We then a provided additional detail about our relationship, and what makes us as a couple great, and what we admire about the other.
    She created the most romantic, personal and wonderful ceremony for us, of which our guests and even the wedding location vendor noted was one of the best they've ever seen. There was not a dry eye in house. :)
    It's clear that Dana truly loves what she does and gains a great deal of joy and satisfaction from her job as a celebrant.
    Both my husband and I wholeheartedly recommend her to any couple that understands that beyond the dress, the cake and the DJ... the wedding is REALLY about the ceremony!

    Nicole and Michael Alos

    Sent on 03/18/2014
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 02/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We do not have words to express what an amazing person and officiant Dana Lawson is. When planning our wedding day, my now husband and I searched and searched for someone who we felt was not only closely aligned with our style and belief system, but someone that would be a part of a moment that we, and our guests, will relive for a lifetime.
    Dana first spent time with both of us, getting to know us and noting our interactions together. We then a provided additional detail about our relationship, and what makes us as a couple great, and what we admire about the other.
    She created the most romantic, personal and wonderful ceremony for us, of which our guests and even the wedding location vendor noted was one of the best they've ever seen. There was not a dry eye in house. :)
    It's clear that Dana truly loves what she does and gains a great deal of joy and satisfaction from her job as a celebrant.
    Both my husband and I wholeheartedly recommend her to any couple that understands that beyond the dress, the cake and the DJ... the wedding is REALLY about the ceremony!

    Nicole and Michael Alos

    Sent on 03/18/2014
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 02/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't even know where to begin to start about the quality of service Dana provided for my husband and I. I put off a lot of crucial wedding details, one of them was not the officiant, I had booked the church first... 3-5 months before the wedding the church canceled because it was during Lent, I freaked out, Dana was so good about my stress and my last minute request!

    My husband and I met with Dana about three weeks before the wedding, we chatted for over an hour and after we left we knew she was perfect, she understood us as a couple with all our quirks and we felt like old friends. When we read the ceremony for the first time it was like she had been there for all seven years of our relationship, our ups and downs, she wrote it with elegance, finesse and just the right amount of humor (which is what we wanted).

    Dana is the example of professionalism without sacrificing the warmth and compassion that we were really looking for. She was willing to work around my husband and my strange schedule, meeting us in the middle of the week late at night to accommodate us. She is one of the sweetest and most caring people I've ever met. Though she has been doing this for years she treated us like her very first couple lending so much attention to detail and eloquent wisdom.

    At the wedding our friends and family couldn't stop talking about how amazing the ceremony was, how US it was, how she knew us so well. Dana set the tone for the wedding day, her ceremony is something we will never forget! I would recommend her to absolutely anyone, she is well worth her fee.

    Sent on 04/13/2014
  • User4772737 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    September 2018 wedding

    We are so glad that we used Dana Lawson as our celebrant wedding officiant! The ceremony was absolutely beautiful, and she captured every part of our story and relationship so perfectly. Dana really took the time to get to know us as a couple, and all of our guests were touched by the warmth and genuine feel of our wedding ceremony. Dana was so easy to work with and made the process of planning our wedding enjoyable and stress free. I am so happy with our decision, and I highly recommend Dana!

    Sent on 11/08/2018
  • R

    Robin · Married on 11/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about Dana Lawson. I attended a Dana Lawson ceremony 8 years ago and knew then that I wanted her to someday perform my ceremony. My husband and I did not want a ceremony like every other one we had been to and yet I did want to include some traditional aspects. Dana met with us in person to get to know us and then crafted a ceremony that captured us completely and was everything we wanted and more. We wanted a very different unity ritual - chocolate and peanut butter - and without batting an eye (or giving us a funny look) she said "I can write that" and gave us a ritual that had the perfect balance of lightness and reverence. Almost everyone attending commented on how beautiful the ceremony was and how Dana's delivery and tone set just the right "mood". The venue did not have the ceremony space set up quite right and Dana took charge and made sure everything was perfect. Dana was a very calming presence on a hectic day and with her in charge of the ceremony I had one less thing to worry about. A celebrant costs a little more than a religious officiant but you get so much more for your money. Our ceremony was uniquely ours and was the perfect start to a beautiful event. Go with Dana - you won't regret it.

    Sent on 02/17/2014
  • S

    Stacy and Stephanie · Married on 09/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dana Silverberg Lawson officiated our Wedding on September 22nd 2013. Right from the first time we met we felt a true connection with her. She was interested in who we were as a couple and learning about what we wanted to make our ceremony unique to who we were as a couple. Dana was always available to answer any questions we had. She gave us lots of time and attention and encouraged us to find our true voice. She wrote a beautiful ceremony and was amazing the day of our wedding. We are so happy to have found Dana and couldn't have asked for a more special person to celebrate our special day.

    Sent on 11/12/2013
  • T

    Tim · Married on 07/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were looking for a wedding that was different than any other we had ever been to. We thought the venue we picked would be what people thought was the most special part, us included. We knew Dana was gonna be great but turns out she was what made our ceremony so special!! People cant stop talking about the ceremony and how connected she made everyone feel. Her attention to detail, willingness to do just about anything we needed and her personality were all amazing. I knew from the moment we decided to use Dana that we made the best choice of our wedding process.

    THANK YOU DANA!!

    Sent on 08/11/2013
  • L

    Leslie · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married in June of this year(2013) Dana was our lovely Celebrant. Dana first met with us a few months before our wedding. We liked her pleasant personality and commitment to her craft. We were guided through the process and provided the personal information about ourselves,our family and hopes for the future which Dana used to create our personalized Wedding Ceremony . Our vows were beautiful! We also incorporated a water blending into the Ceremony which we both loved. Our guests really enjoyed the Ceremony and sharing our wonderful day! Many offered comments about Dana and her enthusiasm in bringing my husband and I together in Marriage. My husband and I like her very much and would highly recommend her to officiate your wedding,too!


    Sent on 08/11/2013
  • K

    Kate · Married on 05/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dana Lawson designed a memorable ceremony for our wedding. She listened to us and she took the time to hear our feedback and suggestions in order to craft a wedding ceremony reflecting the personalities of my husband and I while also showing our unconditional love for each other.

    Sent on 08/12/2013
  • User3250174 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am Jewish and my husband is Catholic and we wanted to have some religious traditions in our ceremony, but most of all we wanted to have a ceremony that reflected our love for one another. We found Dana online and read her reviews and decided we would meet with her. She was absolutely perfect. She was very responsive to all our needs and gave us lots of suggestions for our ceremony. We then created our own ceremony based on the choices Dana gave us and then Dana personalized the wording with specific quotes that my husband and I spoke with her about. The Ceremony was everything we dreamed of. After our wedding, we had numerous people tell us that the Ceremony was just like us and it was the nicest one they had ever been to. We can't thank Dana enough!

    Sent on 05/11/2013
  • L

    Laura · Married on 03/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dana is wonderful. We saw her perform a friend's wedding years ago and liked it so much, we wanted her to do ours. She met with us in person, so we felt like we got to know her before the ceremony. Then she had us each fill out a questionnaire, which she used along with her notes from our meeting to create a totally personalized ceremony. She sent us the script ahead of time and let us choose which parts of the ceremony we wanted to include (vows, ring exchange, etc.), so we weren't surprised or disappointed on our big day. The ceremony went smoothly, and was exactly what we wanted. Dana tailored everything to us, so even though we'd seen her do a ceremony before, ours was completely different. During the reception, at least a dozen guests told us it was the best ceremony they'd ever seen, and I have to agree.

    Sent on 04/10/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review