D. James videography Reviews

10 | Catalina, AZ
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for D. James videography

Recommended by 94% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.5

Awards

10

1 User photo

Order by:
  • Caitlin

    Caitlin B. · Married on 05/02/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely Perfect Livestream

    We worked with Derek for a livestream of our wedding at Tanque Verde Ranch. It was absolutely PERFECT. Livestreaming is really hard to get right - you have to depend on stable wifi, good audio, and a stable platform like YouTube or Facebook. But Derek mastered it. He even figured out how to simultaneously cast it to YouTube and Facebook.
    The livestream was one of the few logistical things I cared about the most for the ceremony and it was delivered seamlessly. My virtual guests were overjoyed to be a part of it and were live chatting along with it. I've rewatched the VOD like five times already, including immediately after I woke up the next day- you don't have to wait for a video to be edited to relive it all! People should be doing this even when the pandemic ends, and absolutely be using Derek when you're in the area.

    Sent on 02/06/2021
  • Adrienne

    Adrienne U. · Married on 04/17/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Day our Lives

    Derek and Christian were so absolutely wonderful to work with! They both showed up right on time to the Air BnB that we got ready at. They were so professional and very easygoing and they definitely made my wedding day so fun and with very little stress! My bridal party got a glimpse of them shooting our first dance, and they said it looked so stunning. We are so excited to see the teaser trailer for our wedding!! And they worked so well with our photographers, The Gawnes. Thank you guys so much for making our wedding day so special!

    Sent on 12/01/2020
  • L

    Lauren E. · Married on 04/02/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend

    Derek is extremely talented in videography. We are so thankful to have our wedding day forever remembered in video form. Besides the beautiful compilation video we have our ceremony and speeches saved forever. Highly recommend videography and you’ll be very happy with Derek.

    Sent on 02/27/2020
  • Ariel

    Ariel · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous Memories!

    Derek was wonderful! He created an amazing, unique highlight video of our day, which brings us and our family so much joy. He also captured the ceremony in its entirety, the speeches, and our first dance flawlessly. We are so happy we trusted him to capture our wedding, and we are so grateful for the videos!

    Sent on 04/19/2020
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After going back and forth with my fiance about videography, we finally decided to interview potential vendors and then decide. After watching some of Derek and Aria's video samples and talking to them on the phone we were certain we wanted Derek and Aria at our wedding!! Out of all of our vendors Derek and Aria were both the biggest team players and the least intrusive! Aria helped me rip apart the bridal suite looking for my wedding ring, and Derek helped our photographer without even being asked. They made our wedding so much less stressful, and went above and beyond at every turn. I highly recommend D. James Videography!

    Sent on 11/04/2014
  • Emilee

    Emilee · Married on 12/19/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was awesome! He was so easy to talk to and listened to everything we wanted. On the wedding day, I honestly didn't even know he was there but he captured everything! Beautiful work

    Sent on 02/01/2016
  • A

    Alexa R. · Married on 11/09/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beat our Expectations

    My husband and I are so thankful to Derek for capturing the essence of our wedding in such a beautiful way. Derek really beat our expectations. There are many companies in this business charging much more, and my husband and I felt that Derek's work was as good or better than some of the much more expensive options. Derek listened to our ideas in the pre-wedding consultation and incorporated that into our final product.

    Sent on 02/27/2020
  • A

    Abby · Married on 03/26/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I always knew I wanted a videographer for our wedding but it was definitely something that got pushed to the back burner during planning so it was became a last minute decision. I was THRILLED when Derek & Aria said their company was available for our wedding date and after meeting with Derek, I knew they were the right choice. I am so thankful we decided to hire D. James Videography. Derek and Aria are SO unbelievably kind and easy to work with. Aria was fantastic with all of our communication and Derek was very professional and on his game- through the planning and on the big day. Our wedding DVD is something I know we will cherish forever and it was worth every penny and should be on everyone's "must have" list! Our highlight film is absolutely beautiful. Derek captured our day from start to finish so perfectly. He accommodated my requests, no matter how silly they seemed. I will say it took a little longer than we expected to receive our final product (to be fair, some of that was on our end with requests) but in the end, we are very happy and would highly recommend D. James Videography! Everyone raved about our highlight film and said that they loved reliving it (even the happy tears) or felt like they had been there. Derek was great at capturing each special moment but not being intrusive or in the way. His work on our highlight film is truly something special and that of a true artist. Your wedding day goes by SO fast and it is honestly amazing to be able to look back and enjoy it over and over again. There is an incredible amount of planning and money that you put into this day, so trust me, you want to be able to remember it and be a part of moments that you may not have even been a part of on that day. His work is phenomenal, pricing is extremely reasonable (and as mentioned early, worth every penny) and end result is priceless. You will not regret working with D. James Videography and your day will forever be remembered with such beauty and all the feels!

    Sent on 01/31/2017
  • A

    Abby · Married on 05/11/2018

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Disappointed

    On the date of first meeting Derek to book him for the wedding he didn’t show up to the meeting. We waited at Starbucks for an hour while calling and e-mailing with no answer, but ended up leaving. He then called saying to meet at a Starbucks of our choice saying he forgot. We sat at another Starbucks waiting while he was stuck in traffic, until he called again asking us to meet at a third Starbucks of the day. On the day of Derek showed up alone when we paid to have 2 videographers in our contract. We were promised to have our video within 2 months to go over editing, but didn’t receive the video until 7 months post wedding. When received, the video was missing my dad’s welcome speech, we couldn’t hear the vows due to the microphone being on the priest who was too far away to pick up what was being said during the vows, and the camera angles were focused on the back of the crowd and we couldn’t see what was going on. I was watching Derek and my photographers walk around rather than what was happening up front. We expressed our disappointment and Derek was very apologetic and agreed to have the rest of the footage and edits to us within a week, along with $300 comping us for the missing videographer. 2 months later, the footage was received but missing the $300 promised in December. Great guy, loved the montage and speeches, just super disappointed by the entire experience start to finish.Read Less

    Sent on 02/21/2019

    D. James videography's reply:

    Abby,
    I apologize for your less than great experience with D. James Videography. It was a series of set backs that unfortunately culminated in a out of the ordinary poor service, including a second videographer who came down with a sickness the day of the wedding. I pride myself on honesty and dependability. The check for $300, as a way of offsetting the loss of the second videographer, was issued and sent out promptly after realizing my error along with the RAW footage (at no additional cost). I have taken the necessary steps to bring an assist on board that will hep me with the administrative work to ensure that future couples will receive a better and more timely response, along with the always wonderful creative work I provide. I wish you guys the best, and appreciate your honest review and critique of my services.

    Derek Carlson
    Owner, D. James Videography LLC.