Cynthia Brooks Distinctive Catering Reviews

10 | Pasadena, CA
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for Cynthia Brooks Distinctive Catering

Recommended by 83%

10

4.2 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.2
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 3.9
  • Value 4.1
  • Average response time 4.4
Sort by:
  • K

    kelly · Married on 09/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The quality and value was incredible! You know, you never know how everything will turn out until the day of and we (and everyone that attended that's still calling and commenting) we're beyond happy...it was romantic, magical and the food was right on par! CB's entire team is polite, professional and creative. We highly recommend to all!!

    Sent on 10/03/2014
  • ALICE

    ALICE · Married on 07/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely LOVE working with the Cynthia Brooks Catering team. They are so professional, great to work with, and provide the best customer service possible. Their food is top notch and I personally love everyone who works there!

    Sent on 08/01/2012
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 11/06/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cynthia Brooks Catering was the best! I don't know what the other reviewer is talking about! They were so helpful and understanding with my arrangements. I ended up having a smaller guest list than I expected and they kindly worked with me to get the price lower. Also, I did not have a wedding planner or coordinator so the catering manager stepped up and took over the role. She went so far above and beyond what was expected of her. And to top it off the food was outstanding! I would highly recommend them!

    Sent on 05/24/2011
  • F

    Karen · Married on 09/18/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had appetizers before the ceremony, appetizers after the ceremony, two dishes served as a sit-down dinner, full bar, wine. . .the works. Cynthia Brooks Catering did a fantastic job. . .the food was hot and delicious and we still have people tell us how good the food was over a year later!

    Sent on 01/27/2011
  • B

    Brian · Married on 07/11/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cynthia and her team were the perfect blend of friendly, professional, accommodating, honest, and delicious. Our wedding and reception were outdoors, which could have posed to be a problem. But not for Cynthia, everything went so smooth and we got a lot of compliments on the cuisine. If nothing else, order the salmon. We ordered 2 large whole salmons, which was covered in scales made of cucumbers, not only did people rave about it, they took pictures of it. (We didn't get a chance to taste it, cause it went so fast!) From the start, Cynthia made us feel at ease and told us not to think twice about changing around the menu as many times as we liked, and she really did have a lot of good insight for all our questions. Highly recommend. Oh and they had a fresh pasta bar where they cook your pasta on the spot. How can you not like that!

    Sent on 09/16/2009
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/08/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We did not seek out Cynthia Brooks Catering for our wedding but rather were required to use them due to our selection of Middle Ranch Lodge for our wedding venue. (They are the only caterer that you can use.)

    We were not eager to select their menu, although it looked delicious, because were did not want to do typical "wedding food."

    We approached them about serving a Mediterranean menu and, to our surprise, they were eager and accommodating to our request! Not only did they embrace our menu, the result was great! Our guests really enjoyed the simple beef and chicken kabobs, basmati rice and roasted veggies. This was perfect for a hot summer wedding.

    Overall, our experience was enjoyable. The only downside was an error in the beginning where we were mis-quoted for the price of our menu. They compromised with us and made us happy so, as far as customer service goes, we were happy. The whole experience was a positive one and we were very happy with the result.

    Sent on 09/17/2012
  • User5312119 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We first used Cynthia Brooks Distinctive Catering for my son's wedding two years ago, and our experience was so positive that we didn't even consider anyone else when my daughter announced her engagement. Her wedding was at our home, and Cynthia and her crew were absolutely professional, dependable and supportive from beginning to end. We are not particularly experienced entertainers, and we relied heavily on Cynthia for advice on spacing, numbers and menus. The day of the wedding, Cynthia showed up at our house to check that all was on target. During the function her staff were professional and helpful, even in aspects of the reception which were not really their job. Afterwards, one of the most repeated comments from our guests was how delicious the food had been. I would use Cynthia Brooks Catering again in a heartbeat...in fact, I wouldn't consider using anyone else.

    Sent on 08/02/2015
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 11/09/2013

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall, my husband and I were really happy with the catering from Cynthia Brooks. We had a lot of fun at our tasting and Cynthia was very personable and listened to our wants for the meal. Day of, we experienced very good service and everything tasted great! We had many guests that commented that it was the best meal they had ever had at a wedding, so that was brilliant! We also opted to have fresh baked cookies and shots of milk passed around after the bar closed, and those were a really big hit as well, so definitely check out that option! My only complaint is that sometimes it took the staff a fairly long time to respond to my emails with questions or changes to our menu. It's not a huge deal, but a couple of times we did wait a pretty long time for a response.

    Sent on 12/22/2013
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 07/04/2009

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    I would not recommend using Cynthia Brooks catering. Unfortunately, she was the only choice to use at my wedding venue, and I loved my venue. Cynthia herself is rude. She is not flexible at all. We had a lot of difficulty working with her before the wedding. Things we wanted to add she either would not do, or wanted to overcharge for.
    At the wedding, the wrong meat was served, and it was served completely overdone. She never served our dessert, which is supposed to be included in her fee. Also, we ordered drinks for our ceremony and her staff was alte setting it up.
    Unless you HAVE to use her company, do not.

    Sent on 10/10/2009
  • D

    deja · Married on 06/12/2010

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Overall decent food. My wedding turned out extremely well at middle ranch. Cynthia is the exclusive cater for the venue,so there is not a choice to use a different caterer. We ordered the fresh fruit platter and mexican combo for appetizers, which were a hit and nothing left over. The salad was a mix green with feta cheese, cranberries and candied walnuts. Delicious! For dinner people had a choice of steak, fish or vegeterian. For the most part everyone enjoyed the food, the steak was a little to bloody for some of my guest so some people did have to send it back. Also we had called in and give the count of How many fish, steak, vegeterian and kids meal at each table, and the servers were still having problems getting the order out. The bartender was amazing!!! There was never a long wait, she was very quick on her feet, knowledgable, and friendly.

    As far a the Administrative office they will nickle and dime you over everything! I would not use this cater again, and it is ashamed that they are an exclusive cater to such a great place. They told me I had called in an order an additonal meal which I did not, and they wanted me to pay open bar for the Teenagers who were at my wedding and ordering an adult meal. Unless they are the exclusive cater to a place I would steer clear of this company.

    Sent on 06/13/2010

    Cynthia Brooks Distinctive Catering's reply:

    Our goal has always been to have customers conclude the relationship with great praises and recommendations for our services. We are disappointed in Deja’s review and regret that Deja feels mistreated in any way. Unfortunately her final guaranteed guest count and number of guests who attended for dinner varied. Our contract requires you to pay for the guest count guaranteed rather than the number of guests who arrive at the event. As disappointing as this was to Deja, our policy and standard industry practice is you pay for what you ordered.

    All prices and terms are published and given to any prospective client prior to booking at Middle Ranch. To suggest we nickel and dime our clients is a complete misrepresentation of our services as our clients know going in what the charges will be.

    The wedding and reception was very successful. We received numerous compliments from attending guests. Having been in business for 25years we know how important your life celebrations are, please do not hesitate to contact our office.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review